Lynchburg, VA 
Liberty University Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #5 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 295ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lynchburg's must-play course

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: crazyeyes1052
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The signage is probably among the best I've seen anywhere in terms of getting you from one hole to the next.
-I love the elevation change and the use of it on several holes where you throw over a valley or straight down a steep incline.
-Very nice scenery set on the hills above Liberty University. There's a bench on 12 or 13 that lets you overlook Lynchburg.
-Very challenging fairways that really make you work for a good placement as many of the holes do not allow you to drive right for the pin.
-Nice balance of open and tight fairways.
Cons: -While the fairways are challenging, they are also incredibly frustrating and some take blind luck to work through
-Lots of opportunities to lose discs in tall grass and thick parts off of the fairway
-While getting from one hole to the next is clear, the signage for the tee pad and pin locations can be misleading. Combine that with the tees not being visible for most holes is also frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I was in town for business and wanted to check out the local courses. I was very impressed with Liberty's course in terms of the challenges it posed and good balance of shots. A lot of the issues I had, I think, are isolated to first time users of the course and don't really take away from the course itself being very good.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Play the front 9 twice

1    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: MapsFly
Played: 40  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain in the woods
College course open to the public
Good directional signage
Front 9 plays quickly (this would make a great 9 hole course which I would have chosen to play twice rather than the whole 18)
5 - Creative hole design for all skill levels and throwing styles
10 - Birdie opportunity with an accurate and long drive
17 epic view (throw your whole bag-putters too) what do you do when school is in session and students are all over the rec fields? It would be a shame to have to skip the hole but you would have to for safety (many students will throw anyway); the wind makes many throws unpredictable, even over stable discs. That would be a letdown to skip this hole and then finish the round on a filler hole (18).
Cons: While the turf pads are ok (though funny looking), I would definitely opt for concrete for the blue tees; I know the course design doesn't lend itself to bringing in a concrete truck, so it would be difficult.
Played right after a rain and gnats where absolutely everywhere (the welcome sign warns about the bugs) (this was very distracting and frustrating putting with gnats flying up my nose) but no sign of ticks or mosquitos
Back 9 plays disjointedly and requires much more thinning of rough and maintenance of fairways to be enjoyable.
Tee box sign layout is different for each hole making it seem disorganized; bring benches and tee signs closer to the tee boxes and lay them out similarly for each hole.
Not many birdie or ace opportunities from blue tees; this will tempt some players to play for par and lay up rather than go for too much risk with too little reward.
1 - blind tee shot (ace run)
4 - no good drive options for lefties from blue tee (forehand, backhand, overhand, roller, chicken wing ).
6 - blind tee shot; please remove middle of fairway tree near bridge marked for removal, it is right in the middle of the birdie attempt lane making it an unfairway.
11 - blind tee shot; thorny green (ouch)
13 - blind tee shot; thin the rough and trim the fairway (almost impossible to make recovery shot just to get back on the fairway if you go for the green and get in the rough (bring a spotter for this hole).
14 - filler hole; fairway needs cut; it was so overgrown I couldn't see OB roped areas.
15 -thick rough (ace run)
16 - blind but nicely designed otherwise
18 - filler hole but OB rope and raised basket adds to hole enjoyability (ace run with risk).
11-15 could use some redesigning
Other Thoughts: This is much better than most college courses which generally have safety concerns and lack of professional design standards. I thoroughly enjoyed holes (2-10, 16-17). Course is pretty far from main campus; good for safety, bad for marketing it to potential student players. Lynchburg is not really near anything and is not easy to drive to, so the course will likely receive primarily local and student play. Now is the time (summer) to do another trimming/cutting pass on the whole course since all the leaves are on the trees and bushes. Good luck Liberty University disc golf club, you have a course with a lot of potential.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 LU

1    7/14/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is nice, quiet course set away from the academic portion of the university. It's mostly wooded with plenty of elevation used.

Other Pros:
- nice tee signs at short tees
- 2 tees per hole
- 2 basket positions (see kiosk for "A" or "B" position)
- easy to navigate
- was not crowded at all
- nice variety
- practice basket
Cons: I think my biggest complaint would be the tees, they are boxed in gravel which is fine but they are too short. After #18 it seems that you have to walk through #1's fairway to go back to parking lot.

Other Cons:
- thick thorns and growth can eat up errant throws
- No amenities: trash cans, benches, or bathrooms
- holes # 1 & 2 tee signs are missing (posts are still there, check kiosk map before playing those first 2 holes)
- #18 is a boring, filler hole. Not a great way to end.
Other Thoughts: #17 was my favorite. A 400ft downhill bomb over the intramural field.
The address given on the main page will bring you into the middle of campus, I google mapped the course and used 400 Liberty Mountain Drive and it got me right there.

It is worth playing here, bring some good hiking shoes!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 LU

5+    1/12/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: Jeremy Reynolds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has great potential. It has some very nice fun holes right off the bat. Holes1 and, 2 make for a great a fun way to start a game and you throw over a ravine to an open field (hole one) Then from an open field to the woods (hole two). Basically you are on a mountain and each hole has a unique layout making the entire course a fun challenge. Hole 17 one word epic,you throw from the side of a mountain over a huge field. The view is breath taking.
Cons: They have been working on this, but it is still kind of thick and to hard to place a shot in the fairway on certain holes. Tees leave something to be desired especially if you are used to a concrete/brick tee. Baskets sometimes change location and i am and never sure which one to throw to.
Other Thoughts: Liberty's course will kick your butt if you are not in shape. The course is long and at some points the hills seem sooo steep. If played regularly this course will whip ya into shape!

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center