Lynchburg, VA 
Liberty University Share
Uploaded By: KenTyburski Hole #10 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 404ft.   4 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Blue Tee

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Play the front 9 twice

1    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: MapsFly
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain in the woods
College course open to the public
Good directional signage
Front 9 plays quickly (this would make a great 9 hole course which I would have chosen to play twice rather than the whole 18)
5 - Creative hole design for all skill levels and throwing styles
10 - Birdie opportunity with an accurate and long drive
17 epic view (throw your whole bag-putters too) what do you do when school is in session and students are all over the rec fields? It would be a shame to have to skip the hole but you would have to for safety (many students will throw anyway); the wind makes many throws unpredictable, even over stable discs. That would be a letdown to skip this hole and then finish the round on a filler hole (18).
Cons: While the turf pads are ok (though funny looking), I would definitely opt for concrete for the blue tees; I know the course design doesn't lend itself to bringing in a concrete truck, so it would be difficult.
Played right after a rain and gnats where absolutely everywhere (the welcome sign warns about the bugs) (this was very distracting and frustrating putting with gnats flying up my nose) but no sign of ticks or mosquitos
Back 9 plays disjointedly and requires much more thinning of rough and maintenance of fairways to be enjoyable.
Tee box sign layout is different for each hole making it seem disorganized; bring benches and tee signs closer to the tee boxes and lay them out similarly for each hole.
Not many birdie or ace opportunities from blue tees; this will tempt some players to play for par and lay up rather than go for too much risk with too little reward.
1 - blind tee shot (ace run)
4 - no good drive options for lefties from blue tee (forehand, backhand, overhand, roller, chicken wing ...).
6 - blind tee shot; please remove middle of fairway tree near bridge marked for removal, it is right in the middle of the birdie attempt lane making it an unfairway.
11 - blind tee shot; thorny green (ouch)
13 - blind tee shot; thin the rough and trim the fairway (almost impossible to make recovery shot just to get back on the fairway if you go for the green and get in the rough (bring a spotter for this hole).
14 - filler hole; fairway needs cut; it was so overgrown I couldn't see OB roped areas.
15 -thick rough (ace run)
16 - blind but nicely designed otherwise
18 - filler hole but OB rope and raised basket adds to hole enjoyability (ace run with risk).
11-15 could use some redesigning
Other Thoughts: This is much better than most college courses which generally have safety concerns and lack of professional design standards. I thoroughly enjoyed holes (2-10, 16-17). Course is pretty far from main campus; good for safety, bad for marketing it to potential student players. Lynchburg is not really near anything and is not easy to drive to, so the course will likely receive primarily local and student play. Now is the time (summer) to do another trimming/cutting pass on the whole course since all the leaves are on the trees and bushes. Good luck Liberty University disc golf club, you have a course with a lot of potential.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/2/2013   5/7/2012
Review By: Bhoffman09
Played: 58  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. Course requires you to have a good whip on the back nine and accuracy on the front in the woods. Big fan of some of the huge, downhill shots on the back nine, too.

Wind comes into play at the end of the back nine/beginning of front nine making it particularly challenging at times. Hole 19 and 20 have precarious basket positions which make them even more challenging in the wind.

I am definitely a fan of the hanging basket hole as well as the updated, 20 hole layout. There was a couple new shots on the back which made great use of elevation and the potential wind factor.
Cons: From a year ago:
Some holes on the front nine. There are a few exceptions, but there are at least 3 different holes which will penalize a player even for a shot down the fairway. It was laughable at how a couple fairways had trees blocking the supposed route to the baskets. Very frustrating to throw and simply hope to get lucky.

// I was surprised to play this course again a year later and find this to still be true. The remodel of hole 6 into two holes was a great adjustment (even though the rough on current 6 is jail), but holes 3 and 9 still have fairways which end about 200 feet from the teepad and from then on it is random trees. This would be a 3.5+ star course for me if about 4 trees were cut down on each of those two holes.
Other Thoughts: With the elimination of some trees on the front nine to create more distinct lines to the basket, this course would be great. It has good variety, requires stamina to traverse the mountain, concentration to hit the narrow gaps, and a strong arm to conquer the longer holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    1/24/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: stoner04
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New disc catcher baskets
Good blend of open and wooded holes
Excellent signs and flow
Great use of elevation
Beautiful mountains in the distance especially at sunset
Cons: Sports turf tees are not level
need to thin out a few wooded holes
Thick unforgiving rough(thick small trees and briers)
lots of mud
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes offer an opportunity for some spectacular shots but if you miss your line you will be deep in the rough. Do not throw an understable driver on 17 you will possibly kill a student playing on the intramural field. hole 18 is a filler hole so you have a complete course otherwise useless. Eventually this course will be Excellent but give it time unless its on your way.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible tees. Awesome course

5+    1/9/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: frabs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes/shots
Flows well
Excellent signs
Discatcher baskets
Multiple Tees
Challenging (Easily the hardest course I've played)
Hole 17

Cons: Horrible tees that feel almost dangerous
Thick rough, easy to lose a disc
Physically exhausting
Ugly landscape at times(rock, bulldozer tracks)

Other Thoughts: The biggest problem with this course is the short unlevel gravel tees. A lot of times I barely have room for a run up, or choose not to do one out of fear of rolling an ankle. The course plays through the woods and up a mountain, so you will leave tired. Most of the holes are interesting and can be played multiple ways, so it is worth playing more than once (but not in one day).

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    7/14/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is nice, quiet course set away from the academic portion of the university. It's mostly wooded with plenty of elevation used.

Other Pros:
- nice tee signs at short tees
- 2 tees per hole
- 2 basket positions (see kiosk for "A" or "B" position)
- easy to navigate
- was not crowded at all
- nice variety
- practice basket
Cons: I think my biggest complaint would be the tees, they are boxed in gravel which is fine but they are too short. After #18 it seems that you have to walk through #1's fairway to go back to parking lot.

Other Cons:
- thick thorns and growth can eat up errant throws
- No amenities: trash cans, benches, or bathrooms
- holes # 1 & 2 tee signs are missing (posts are still there, check kiosk map before playing those first 2 holes)
- #18 is a boring, filler hole. Not a great way to end.
Other Thoughts: #17 was my favorite. A 400ft downhill bomb over the intramural field.
The address given on the main page will bring you into the middle of campus, I google mapped the course and used 400 Liberty Mountain Drive and it got me right there.

It is worth playing here, bring some good hiking shoes!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Shut Early, Open Late

1    4/23/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 412  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Two tee locations/two pin positions per hole.

Other than 1&2, where the signs are missing (the posts remain), the signage is very good. If the two tee locations are far apart, each will have its own sign, otherwise, they'll share one. Plenty of signs along the course to direct you to the next tee.
The tees are too small and filled with rough gravel, making for very uneasy footing. Indication of current basket position at teesign would be most useful.

Disc loss chances are high - spotter advised. Some holes on the back nine have very thick shule on both sides of very long, descending fairways, and some holes have your drive disappear around turns and/or open-n-over ridges. Number-15 has both :-( Don't be left on #14, or find mini-ponds, and grassy knolls covered with long tufts of grass.
Other Thoughts:
From entering the wooded slope to find basket-2, to exiting the woods with the drive from tee-11, you'll find a collection wooded shots that wind back-n-forth across two wooded hillocks. Technicians should be pleased by the various combinations of rights/lefts/straights, flats/minor elevation changes, couple across valleys, over ridges, variable tightness ready to challenge them. Number-16 is a left-turner which also plays in a small patch of woods.

After across valley number-1 and the first half of left-turning number-2, you'll need to wait until number-11 to find open skies above your head. The thick woods of the front nine yield to a landscape containing an occasional tree but filled with thick bushes and plentiful ground cover. Quite short 12 and 18 should provide ace runs/birdy opps, while 11, 13, 15, and 17 offer plenty of length and downhill runs.

Favourite hole: #17. With a tee set high on a ridge, you have expansive views to the west. The ridge steadily descends to the left, with a collection of pines planted along it, with the basket 400+ feet away at the end of the treeline. Directly in front of the tee the ridge drops very steeply, with intramural fields on the flat land below you. A very natural flight path would be straight out over the athletic fields many feet below, availing you many seconds to admire the flight of your (hopefully) left-turning disc.

Least favourite hole: #7. Flat and in the woods, relatively open, then at the 200' mark, thick, chaotic smattering of mid-sized hardwoods - seems like only random luck will permit your disc to go much further.

Good course offering both technical work and bombing chances.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Did I play the same course as everybody else?

1    5/4/2011   5/4/2011
Review By: Yank it Right
Played: 68  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 16.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a new course in Virginia.

Five or six really cool shots, but also 5 or 6 from a design standpoint were odd. and Five or six filler type( or ones that felt the same) holes. (Holes 11-17 are a really good stretch for the course.) I really like the uphill ace run and were it was positioned in the course it felt like the right time for that hole.

Good use of elevation for the most part.

Even what I loved the view from 17 etc... Not a great Golf Hole. At least where the B pin is. Put that pin in the woods with a nice fair lane out of the field into and now you can get some scoring seperation from people going for the pin and by having some trouble on the upshot to the pin. For most players the second shot is not a golf shot either a 80-130 foot upshot.
Cons: - No bathrooms - No trash cans - No signage on holes 1 & 2. -No Benches.

Tee Pads are atrocious. Big bomber holes with 5 foot teepads that are already unlevel and have like #50 gravel in em. (get some crush and run or trail dust and tamp them). Unfortanetly in the rules of disc golf you have to tee from the tee pads but on quite a few of the longer holes i went to the side. Secondly if you're going to make them short don't put a back log on the Tee box so at least you can step onto without a big up and down step.

In the woods there are some specific trees I would remove a designer, but also as a designer and being on a college campus once you cut it its gone and usually you lose some smaller stuff from damage unfortanetly. Hopefully as the course grows in they can trim it up. (Hole 11- low ceiling shot downhill across ravine the short stuff growing up just across the road has to go. Its a low ceiling shot already)

Hole 13 - Long hole downhill out of reach for most am and rec players. Please run a bobcat (its sitting beside the intramural fields) trail into the woods on both sides so you can at least walk through to try and find you disc. If you're out of the fairway you're lost and that really can deject your average rec player.

From a design point in the woods I would have liked to see more demand for different shot shapes. (baskets were in B postion). Almost all the holes were turn right at the end from the whites and were a pro style hyzer-flat shot shape to get there.

Hole 18 is a filler hole (open field no trouble out of reach for rec, but a two for pros no scoring seperation within division. Not really a golf hole) after a great hole 17.
Other Thoughts: I played the white tees only was pressed for time a little and I will play again and edit the review if I feel like I did any injustices. Very few amenities out at the course. - No bathrooms - No trash cans - No signage on holes 1 & 2. -No Benches +signage up for paths to next hole at baskets +signage was up for basket position. - Blind shots/landing areas (alot of em). This course does has potential, but in no way deserves a 4 or 4.5 or 5 rating as is. Could get there, but not even close now.

There were quite a few across ravine shots and downhillers on the Par 4/longer holes, but i was really looking for the hole where you would shoot flat or down and then finish with a uphill up shot with some distance. At times on the times there were holes that end up with shots that are not a golf shot for more advanced players.

Usually I take notes as I play when I am going to review a course and this I didn't so next time I play I will and if necessary edit review, but I feel like it is a fair review in comparison to other area courses.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/28/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: pinseeker853
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Played alot of course and this one has all the shots. From long to short. Open to tight. Left to right, right to left.
Cons: Just needs a little bit of love to make it a GREAT Course. Line the fairways in the woods. A couple trees here and there.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Liberty Univ.

1    2/11/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: pierregolf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2011
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: -good ideas on lines
-pretty view/surroundings
-baskets and signs
Cons: -short uneven ...scarry tee pads
- tee pads are really short and need some work
- first 6 holes were really tight but i felt like more of a poke and hope and less of a skill shot. #2 was an exception.

- more holes need to be cleared out up high
Other Thoughts: after hole 8 the course seemed to get much better. fun course all and all

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/12/2011   1/25/2011
Review By: Jeremy Reynolds
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has great potential. It has some very nice fun holes right off the bat. Holes1 and, 2 make for a great a fun way to start a game and you throw over a ravine to an open field (hole one) Then from an open field to the woods (hole two). Basically you are on a mountain and each hole has a unique layout making the entire course a fun challenge. Hole 17 one word epic,you throw from the side of a mountain over a huge field. The view is breath taking.
Cons: They have been working on this, but it is still kind of thick and to hard to place a shot in the fairway on certain holes. Tees leave something to be desired especially if you are used to a concrete/brick tee. Baskets sometimes change location and i am and never sure which one to throw to.
Other Thoughts: Liberty's course will kick your butt if you are not in shape. The course is long and at some points the hills seem sooo steep. If played regularly this course will whip ya into shape!

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.