Lynchburg, VA 
Liberty University Share
Uploaded By: XCaliber Hole #1 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 387ft.   3 / 447ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Challenging, but needs work.

5+    9/17/2013   9/17/2013
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: I am working on updating my review and doing a hole by hole evaluation of the course. It will be up in a couple of days.
Cons: - Can become overgrown realllllll quick!
- The signs are inaccurate and terrible.
- Some of the fairways are pretty unforgiving.
- They need to install bathrooms and a water fountain.
- The course honestly needs to be played more. This really isn't a con i guess but the paths just need to be stomped down, but this will come with time.
- There are trees throughout the fairways that just need to go. You can get punished for a perfectly good shot.
- A lot of the holes just do not have a good line. They honestly seem forced on some holes.
- Most of the wooded holes only have one look at them. There is one line. This really isn't a complaint I guess but I am just a fan a courses that give you multiple options.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Bring your "A" game!

5+    9/13/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging but fun.
-Many different types of shots and variety of turns and distances.
-Easy to navigate course.
-Good workout due to the hilly terrain.
-Nice disc catcher baskets and each hole has two tees with nice tee boxes (astro turf).
-Peaceful setting.
-Much better since they cleared out many of the disc trapping weeds and briars.
Cons: Only thing I can say is, this is not a beginner course. It is a lot of wooded holes with tight narrow alley ways. Also it can be a hike because it is basically on the side of a little mountain.
Also bring plenty of "Off" spray because the ticks and chiggers are bad if you throw your disc into some spots off the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Great course and a must play when in Lynchburg, Va.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lynchburg's must-play course

1    5/23/2013   5/23/2013
Review By: crazyeyes1052
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The signage is probably among the best I've seen anywhere in terms of getting you from one hole to the next.
-I love the elevation change and the use of it on several holes where you throw over a valley or straight down a steep incline.
-Very nice scenery set on the hills above Liberty University. There's a bench on 12 or 13 that lets you overlook Lynchburg.
-Very challenging fairways that really make you work for a good placement as many of the holes do not allow you to drive right for the pin.
-Nice balance of open and tight fairways.
Cons: -While the fairways are challenging, they are also incredibly frustrating and some take blind luck to work through
-Lots of opportunities to lose discs in tall grass and thick parts off of the fairway
-While getting from one hole to the next is clear, the signage for the tee pad and pin locations can be misleading. Combine that with the tees not being visible for most holes is also frustrating.
Other Thoughts: I was in town for business and wanted to check out the local courses. I was very impressed with Liberty's course in terms of the challenges it posed and good balance of shots. A lot of the issues I had, I think, are isolated to first time users of the course and don't really take away from the course itself being very good.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

course needs work

2-4    3/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: quiggdisc1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course is set in a beautiful place and is a great place to take pics. and some great shots that you wont find anywhere else.
Cons: this course needs alot of work. lots of trees and thorns. there are more than a few shots that have no fairway at all. you are looking at a tree line and just kinda have to guess on a good way to go. the tee signs are nice but very misleading. and no bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: beautiful but lots of trees and thorns

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Forgettable

1    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: jordanferg92
Played: 36  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Signage with alt tees, map, distance, and pars
2. Front 9 is well maintained
3. Unique large turf tees
4. Unique floating basket on hole 12
5. Great use of elevation changes
Cons: 1. Back 9 was poorly designed and maintained
2. Thick undergrowth on the open holes
3. Basket placement on signs are slightly misleading (pretty typical though)
Other Thoughts: This was an enjoyable course. It really had some unique holes. Hole 12 for example was a floating basket which I have never seen done before. There are also a couple nice short ace runs on this course. Signs leading you to the next tee was a nice thing to see as well as the benches at most holes. However I just can't get past the back 9 and how rough it was. Also be aware that the school is currently undergoing construction and holes 1, 17, and 18 are not currently present. Overall this was a great challenging course, but the back 9 needs work and the construction needs to end before I will be revisiting this course. Definitely worth checking out though.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough but decent

1    5/7/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: MarlinRoth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I got into disc golf while at college at Liberty. My first course that I learned on was Peaks view park, and then Liberty's course was my second course to try.

Basically, it is a huge workout and very tiring. When it is hot outside there is lots of bugs and hiking and you have to be very persistent to not quit before you finish.

I liked throwing a disc off the cliff at tee 17.
Cons: Sometimes it is difficult to find the next tee, at least for the first time through.

Not extremely beginner friendly but has a lot of fun holes.

Only a few holes with minor water hazards.

Some fairways need maintenance.
Other Thoughts: I was exhausted and my friend didn't like the course simply for the hiking aspect of it, but if I can get someone to join me, I will be visiting the course more frequently this year since I'm on that side of campus any way.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Play the front 9 twice

1    6/18/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: MapsFly
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain in the woods
College course open to the public
Good directional signage
Front 9 plays quickly (this would make a great 9 hole course which I would have chosen to play twice rather than the whole 18)
5 - Creative hole design for all skill levels and throwing styles
10 - Birdie opportunity with an accurate and long drive
17 epic view (throw your whole bag-putters too) what do you do when school is in session and students are all over the rec fields? It would be a shame to have to skip the hole but you would have to for safety (many students will throw anyway); the wind makes many throws unpredictable, even over stable discs. That would be a letdown to skip this hole and then finish the round on a filler hole (18).
Cons: While the turf pads are ok (though funny looking), I would definitely opt for concrete for the blue tees; I know the course design doesn't lend itself to bringing in a concrete truck, so it would be difficult.
Played right after a rain and gnats where absolutely everywhere (the welcome sign warns about the bugs) (this was very distracting and frustrating putting with gnats flying up my nose) but no sign of ticks or mosquitos
Back 9 plays disjointedly and requires much more thinning of rough and maintenance of fairways to be enjoyable.
Tee box sign layout is different for each hole making it seem disorganized; bring benches and tee signs closer to the tee boxes and lay them out similarly for each hole.
Not many birdie or ace opportunities from blue tees; this will tempt some players to play for par and lay up rather than go for too much risk with too little reward.
1 - blind tee shot (ace run)
4 - no good drive options for lefties from blue tee (forehand, backhand, overhand, roller, chicken wing ).
6 - blind tee shot; please remove middle of fairway tree near bridge marked for removal, it is right in the middle of the birdie attempt lane making it an unfairway.
11 - blind tee shot; thorny green (ouch)
13 - blind tee shot; thin the rough and trim the fairway (almost impossible to make recovery shot just to get back on the fairway if you go for the green and get in the rough (bring a spotter for this hole).
14 - filler hole; fairway needs cut; it was so overgrown I couldn't see OB roped areas.
15 -thick rough (ace run)
16 - blind but nicely designed otherwise
18 - filler hole but OB rope and raised basket adds to hole enjoyability (ace run with risk).
11-15 could use some redesigning
Other Thoughts: This is much better than most college courses which generally have safety concerns and lack of professional design standards. I thoroughly enjoyed holes (2-10, 16-17). Course is pretty far from main campus; good for safety, bad for marketing it to potential student players. Lynchburg is not really near anything and is not easy to drive to, so the course will likely receive primarily local and student play. Now is the time (summer) to do another trimming/cutting pass on the whole course since all the leaves are on the trees and bushes. Good luck Liberty University disc golf club, you have a course with a lot of potential.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/2/2013   5/7/2012
Review By: Bhoffman09
Played: 58  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation. Course requires you to have a good whip on the back nine and accuracy on the front in the woods. Big fan of some of the huge, downhill shots on the back nine, too.

Wind comes into play at the end of the back nine/beginning of front nine making it particularly challenging at times. Hole 19 and 20 have precarious basket positions which make them even more challenging in the wind.

I am definitely a fan of the hanging basket hole as well as the updated, 20 hole layout. There was a couple new shots on the back which made great use of elevation and the potential wind factor.
Cons: From a year ago:
Some holes on the front nine. There are a few exceptions, but there are at least 3 different holes which will penalize a player even for a shot down the fairway. It was laughable at how a couple fairways had trees blocking the supposed route to the baskets. Very frustrating to throw and simply hope to get lucky.

// I was surprised to play this course again a year later and find this to still be true. The remodel of hole 6 into two holes was a great adjustment (even though the rough on current 6 is jail), but holes 3 and 9 still have fairways which end about 200 feet from the teepad and from then on it is random trees. This would be a 3.5+ star course for me if about 4 trees were cut down on each of those two holes.
Other Thoughts: With the elimination of some trees on the front nine to create more distinct lines to the basket, this course would be great. It has good variety, requires stamina to traverse the mountain, concentration to hit the narrow gaps, and a strong arm to conquer the longer holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/24/2012   1/28/2012
Review By: stoner04
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New disc catcher baskets
Good blend of open and wooded holes
Excellent signs and flow
Great use of elevation
Beautiful mountains in the distance especially at sunset
Cons: Sports turf tees are not level
need to thin out a few wooded holes
Thick unforgiving rough(thick small trees and briers)
lots of mud
Other Thoughts: Some of the holes offer an opportunity for some spectacular shots but if you miss your line you will be deep in the rough. Do not throw an understable driver on 17 you will possibly kill a student playing on the intramural field. hole 18 is a filler hole so you have a complete course otherwise useless. Eventually this course will be Excellent but give it time unless its on your way.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Horrible tees. Awesome course

5+    1/9/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: frabs
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide variety of holes/shots
Flows well
Excellent signs
Discatcher baskets
Multiple Tees
Challenging (Easily the hardest course I've played)
Hole 17

Cons: Horrible tees that feel almost dangerous
Thick rough, easy to lose a disc
Physically exhausting
Ugly landscape at times(rock, bulldozer tracks)


Other Thoughts: The biggest problem with this course is the short unlevel gravel tees. A lot of times I barely have room for a run up, or choose not to do one out of fear of rolling an ankle. The course plays through the woods and up a mountain, so you will leave tired. Most of the holes are interesting and can be played multiple ways, so it is worth playing more than once (but not in one day).

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.