Red River, NM
Red River Ski Area Share
Uploaded By: Todd Ripp  



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Red River Really Like it !

1    9/22/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: gmarteeny
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: The course setting at 10,000 ft is a great start, it's absolutely beautiful up there. The front 9 is for the hulk arms and the back 9 more for intermediate players. I was made aware that the courses were originally designed as two separate 9 hole courses. The course flows thru the terrain well, lots of elevation changes, aspen groves, tight fairways and open fairways with guarded baskets and nice tee boxes.They have pro and am tee boxes on most of the holes. The tee pads are a rubber surface that works quite well and it's the only surface the forest service will let them put in. I like that after 9 holes you are back at the lodge where you can refuel and get rid of trash and use a restroom if needed.
Cons: It was a little rough starting out on the front 9 with all of those long holes, would be nice if the two courses were blended together a little more as to spread out some of those monster holes. With just a few tweaks this course could be great, it has all of the terrain mtn disc golfers love.The pricing for DG'ers using the lift needs to be worked on a little, can be a little expensive from what I understand. You can hike this one and play at no cost but you better be in GOOD shape cause it's a haul up and down the mtn.
Other Thoughts: Justin, Moss, Dawson, Brian, Kat and Krissy Thank you soooo much for your hospitality. We really enjoyed our time spent with you guys and can't wait to come back again, yes I will bring some of the colorado posse to check out RRDGC. Oh and Nate thanks for setting this all up even though you couldn't make it.

Shorts and Longs Now

2-4    6/19/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Kuel
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This just in....Short tees have been added to many of the holes
-Elevation and slope, lots of it.
-a good mix of tight and technical with some opportunities to air it out
-score cards kept in the restaurant at top
-good signage
-solid rubber tee pads with gravel underneath boxed by 2x4s
Cons: -Navigation from hole to hole can be tough
-First nine are very long with a very short back nine
-Long and expensive lift ride (take your PDGA card for a substantial discount)
-The signage can be misleading. Hole 8 comes to mind specifically as it makes it appear you have to play to the right side of the fairway for a clear approach to the pin but you can play to the hole from the left side too with minimal trees in the way
Other Thoughts: -I went two times with in a three day period and in that time they installed the short tee pads.
-Another reviewer said it and I didn't listen so I paid the price. Learn from my mistake and take a poncho. I figured I'd just take cover in the trees if it started to rain. What I didn't take into a account was the 30 minute lift ride and the storm that hit while I was up on it the lift. Coldest I have ever been in my entire life.
-Red River is a great place to vacation in the summer. Hit up this course if you're there, you won't be disappointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Long way to the TOP spot.

5+    10/1/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: nightwing
Played: 80  Reviewed: 18
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Gorgeous Mountain Setting.
-Huge Big Air Shots.
-Truly Challenging Front Nine. (See Cons).
-Easy 'Casual' Rounds on the Back.
-Clean Tee-Pads and Graphic Hole Maps
-Mix of UP/Down and Right/Left shots
-Fun and Challenging Pin and Tee placements
-Beautiful Ski Slope Fairways.
-Good Base Support: Disc Shop at Sitzmark Sports, Fun Pubs, Mallette Park is a 2nd course in Town, Useful Tournament Area near lift etc.
Cons: -LONG SLOW LIFT! 25 MINUTES EACH WAY!
-Chairlift access = a Short Day and a Short Season
-Not a great deal for non-PDGA players.
-Not a great course for Advanced/Intermediates.
-Needs 2 or 3 sets of Tee-Pads
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful course that truly rewards both the pros and the very casual players. If you want the challenge, take the time and spend the money and get to BIG RED. Or if you happen to be in Red River and are taking the chair anyway, by all means borrow a couple of discs and play the easy Back Nine.

However, it can't be ignored that some players want an experience that is more balanced than what they will find here. The Front Nine plays VERY long and tough, and the one set of Tee-Pads is just not set up for mixed play.

Similarly, if you are local and can ride free, or if you are a PDGA member and can ride for $5.00, OR if you are a tourist and just want to ride once, it's all good. But for typical amateur players, paying 15.00 per ride is too much. Paying Half Price after your first time would be about right.

There is nothing Red River can do about the long and slow chairlift ride. Unlike Angel Fire's Detachable High Speed that still runs double time in the summer, a fixed grip chair has to slow down even more than in the winter, to allow tourists and families to get on and off safely.

Similarly, there is nothing much they could do about the short day and the short season. Just get there in the summer by lunchtime or so and enjoy!

Bring everything!!! This is a high mountain environment. Water-RainGear-Food-Good Shoes-Sunblock/glasses you name it. Bring it.

Fill the gas tank and bring your friends on a supreme road-trip. Make an accurate Disc Golf map! This course is 'The New Northern Anchor' on an area that has 4 other 'Destination Courses' and a few 3 star courses, all within about a 2 hour drive from Taos or Santa Fe.

Some of the limitations here are addressable. Red River may be a higher rated course soon enough. Judging by the BIG-TIME FUN support at the first tournament, Big Red will just get better and better.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The new king of NM Mountain Courses

1    7/29/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 71  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing course! Very well balanced between short/long, up/down hill, left/right turning shots.

Definitely tests your entire game.

Off the fairway is punishing in the fact that you will lose strokes without punishing your body by tearing through gnarly brush and undergrowth.

It has many two shot holes that require both length and accuracy.

Amazing views on the course and lift. Excellent risk/reward factor.

Excellent tee pads and signs.

Only $5 to ride the lift if you show your PDGA card.
Cons: Lifts close at 4pm so you either have to finish by then or hike down.
No potable water at the top (although bottled is available for sale)
Other Thoughts: This course has replaced sipapu as the best mountain course in the state and it isn't even close.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

WOW WOW WOW WOW

1    7/19/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The views on this course are really stunning. The aspen trees are a treat. You can ride the ski lift up to the top and back down. All the equipment was in great shape. I like that the course has a hard nine and an easy nine. It's a real ball buster as you have to hike up and down several times. Some really great downhill shots. I played extremely well here with a 59. Also the town the course is in is neat. If you are in the area with your family they can easily be entertained with other things while you play.
Cons: Not for faint of heart. A lot of hiking. Also I'd like to see a lot better course markings. I spent a lot of time and effort searching for the next hole or the basket. Could use Pro / Am tees like Sipapu.
Other Thoughts: This is destination course. With the other courses in the area do yourself a favor. Get some buddies, get in the car, and drive to Northern New Mexico and play all of these mountain courses. They are all amazing and better than any courses you play where you live.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

ripp

5+    9/20/2011   12/7/2011
Review By: Todd Ripp
Played: 52  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: The most stunning views no matter what hole your on. The course is on land that was mining camps, there is still lots of old stuff to check out from those days on a tee pad. killer elevation shots, and some of the most challenging lines iv seen with D.
Cons:
must take chair lift
Other Thoughts: GOTTA PUT RED ON YOUR LIST!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/30/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: collin67
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing views, technical mixed with distance, high mountian weather. I found the holes to be alot of fun. Big elevation change in and around aspens and cedar trees. Tee boxes are nice with a since foam rubber mat on top of a built up and leveled box area.
Cons: Hole descriptions are not all completely accurate. Some of them are also hard to read do to the paper was not laminated and water got to them. Directions from hole to next tee needs to be better. Eighther at tee box or at the hole.
Other Thoughts: A must stop is at Sitzmark sporting goods and Mark the store manager. Very knowledgeable about dg and the courses in the area. The whole area, Red River, Angelfire, and Taos are cool to check out. There is a course at the top of Angelfire ski area as well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.