Blairsville, PA 
Pine Ridge Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / --   4 / 389ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Interesting Mix of Holes

1    6/7/2014   6/19/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 62  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pine Ridge Park is a quiet little park a few miles away from Blairsville and the highly trafficked route 119. I enjoyed this park setting, which was very well maintained and offered a nice variety of hole types despite being on a small piece of land.

The tee signs were in great shape and very helpful in giving the hole length, par, and an accurate description of the hole. Mach 3 baskets were also in great shape and easy to spot.

There is a decent variety here in terms of hole type, as the course offers a few open holes (1, 5, 8), holes with multiple line options amidst the trees (2, 3, 6, 7, 9), and one with a tight, specific line to hit (4). There aren't any major elevation changes here, but the elevation present is used effectively. I really enjoyed hole 3's downhill birdie-run with multiple flight paths and hole 6's uphill shot to a well-protected basked. Hole 8 also offers some nice downhill elevation.

The road O.B. made a few holes more dangerous in holes 2, 3, and 5. I also really enjoyed the use of the stream on hole 3.

Navigation is intuitive and walks are short to the next tee, as the course plays back and forth across the road and then loops back to the parking area.

Its short distance between tees and short holes make for a nice quick round.
Cons: -Not a whole lot of opportunities for score separation as there is a very limited variety in hole length - all holes are in the 240-390 foot range. Only one par 4 and it didn't feel like a true par 4.
-Some thick, thorny rough on a few holes. It is pretty easily avoidable, but hard to find your discs when you've landed in it.
-The tees are natural and sometimes it isn't clear where exactly to throw from.
-No amenities present and not a lot of room for parking. Come prepared knowing there are no water fountains or bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Pine Ridge definitely shows some promise, and I really enjoyed the technical challenge on some of these holes. Holes 2, 3, and 9 offer some unique looks and challenges, but the rest of the course is too straight-forward for me to rate the course any higher than a 2. However, it's definitely worth stopping here for a quick round if in the area or on your way to IUP or Deer Lakes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Park 9

1    6/7/2014   6/11/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 65  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pine Ridge DGC offers a pleasant amount of technicality relative to its being a short city park 9. OB factors in on several holes, tightening up 2's landing zone considerably and making for a scary downhill shot on 3. Elevation is well-utilized, with uphill shots on 2 and 6 and downhill shots on 3 and 8, in addition to 5's sloped terrain. Woods play a role throughout, whether it be by providing a border on shots or obstacles to direct around. Shot variety and line-shaping are decent, with 4's big RHBH anny, hyzers on 2 and 7, and some straight or straight-ish shots. I'd say Pine Ridge's technical challenge is a bit higher than the average short park course.

Navigation is very intuitive, and the course makes a nice efficient loop. This course would be great for a quick round when you're pressed for time. Tees are well signed.
Cons: Pine Ridge's brevity in both distance and hole count reign in its potential. A 9 hole course with seven sub-300' holes that isn't too densely wooded can only offer so much. I appreciate how Pine Ridge maximizes its surroundings, but that isn't necessarily saying much.

The tee boxes for the natural tees weren't themselves marked on my visit; this made it hard to determine where to stand at a few points.

There are some opportunities to find the rough and have to search for a disc here if you aren't careful and/or are a wild-armed beginner. The road is in play on a few spots (3, 5, 7), as is a power line on 5.

Bathrooms and water aren't readily available from the course.
Other Thoughts: Pine Ridge is a weird bird in some ways: the shots and landing zones are more technical than what you'd normally find at a park course like this, but the short distances and absence of pro tees lend themselves more towards beginners. It's hard to identify a target audience for this course. Not necessarily a pro or a con, just an observation.

Pine Ridge is well superior to Getty Heights, so if you're looking to add a 9 in to your trip to IUP, look here first.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shows some real promise

1    6/7/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: jhilton
Played: 47  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This makes a nice partner course with IUP. Great mix of shots. Really nice tee signs and excellent baskets. This park is relatively empty so plenty of room to have fun. Also there is plenty of land here so it would be easy to add more holes.
Cons: Very buggy, no tee pads, only 9 holes, the brush on the sides is quite thorny, punishing the less than great throwers a bit more.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little nine holes with a really nice mix of shots. Looking around it is as if there are a few missed opportunities in the design. When we played it, we went back to a couple holes to lengthen then into even better par 4s.

We began with hole 6. If you walk back to the big rock in the ground near the tee for hole 3 you get a really nice placement drive up onto a plateau to then throw your approach from. Adds a lot more character to this hole.

On hole 8, while it is cool as a down hill par 3, it is even better as a big rhbh hyzer throw par 4. To accomplish this, we teed off from the small island of land surrounded by road right at the park entrance. This gives you about 200 ft to the turn down hill and then all of the downhill of the regular hole 8. Plus it lets you rip a big hyzer bomb, which is always fun.

Hole 5 looks like it could also be lengthened out easily, but we were a bit crunched for time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Oh My Bugs

1    9/21/2012   9/25/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a scorecard with a map right next to the first tee. There is a nice mix of open ones and in the woods ones. There is a big elevation change on #8. The road is near so you have to be accurate on your drives. The signs are great.
Cons: The map is kind of hard to follow and you just have to wander in a general direction to find number 2. The map shows all of these bridges that do not exist. There are 9 million bugs on you at all times which sucks.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a nice 9 holes. It would be much better if there were less bugs. I would recommend it to a friend if they lived close to it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid course

1    9/21/2012   9/23/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 78  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a box with a scorecard/map at hole 1. The signs at each hole are very nice. There is good variety ranging from short wooded shots to one long downhill teeshot across a field.
Cons: The map kind of lies about the trip from hole 1 to hole 2. The map and signs tell you to go across a bridge past the basket. There isn't a bridge that I could find and the tee for #2 is back towards the parking lot more than the map shows. There are a few thick, thorny patches that can be pretty painful if you throw into them. Very buggy cource.
Other Thoughts: Nothing amazing, nothing terrible. Definitely worth playing if you are in the area, but I wouldn't make a special long trip for it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park course

5+    7/11/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: discdug
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice clean course. Well maintained.
Cons: Only 9 holes. Bugs make it impossible to play in summer. A path or bridge needed between holes 1 and 2. Lots of snakes there. Full of poison ivy!!!!! Early spring and late fall are best times to play!
Other Thoughts: Needs 9 more holes. Please make a path way between holes 1 and 2.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  my first course

1    8/7/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: jimmyw
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: some prety cool shots, prety place
Cons: bug spray is a must, poison ivy is every where so get some of that preventive stuf
Other Thoughts: needs sprayed for that poison ivy i dont even play hole 8 or 9 because even thinking about playing there will get u poison ivy

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A nice stretch break to/from PIttsburgh!

1    7/11/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course plays in a well-maintained park near Blairsville, PA. Evidence of maintenance on the 9 holes is shown with cut grass, cleared fairways, and nice signage. All in all, the course is rather pretty and scenic -- especially at that golden hour right before dusk when I played here.

- Players will observe different shots that favor both lefties and righties with hyzer and anhyzer shots, respectively. All players will experience some ace runs, particularly on #1, 3, 5, and 8 due to the openness and straightness of the holes' design. The best hole IMO is #6, with its well guarded grove of trees atop a hill; it's almost begging for a roller shot! Wooded holes are also present on holes #2 and 9, both requiring you to navigate a hyzer line while avoiding trees.

- The course appears to be heavily monitored by cameras, which hopefully means that it'll curb any vandalism.

- It's right off US-22 and a great stop whether you're coming to or from Pittsburgh. Dean's Diner isn't too far away and their pies are top notch!
Cons: - Good thing I brought a map, because navigation is slightly counter intuitive and I didn't see any information kiosk or maps provided. Tees are quite simply grass with a 12" wooden stake in the ground to denote the tee.

- One thing that bugged me was that the signs didn't face the direction of the basket; rather, they were turned 90 degrees. Perhaps this is nit-picking, but I found this to be strange.

- No parking by the first hole that I observed; I parked a few hundred yards down the road.

- The course simply lacks difficulty, and I'm not even very good. Despite having two wooded holes and some doglegs here and there, I didn't find myself being challenged and I felt like I had to put the brake on a lot of my drives for fear of either going past the pins or putting my disc along the omnipresent road.

- Finally, I was kind of let down when I saw on here that all 9 holes had water in play. It seemed too good to be true, but there wasn't any water in play except for a tiny tiny drainage ditch about 15" wide that played by hole 3.
Other Thoughts: - Perhaps some of the issues I addressed will be resolved once the course gets out of its infancy. There's clearly more land on site with which to add another 9 holes, so I'm hoping that frequent patronage from the dg community will compel the county to add more baskets and tees in the future.

- All in all, I had a good time. It's fits the mold of a typical recreational municipal course. With the beauty and TLC so far on the 9 holes, this is a prime candidate for a course to introduce to a beginner. As far as playing a championship caliber course, however, go north to Indiana or continue heading west to the Steel City.

- Geographically, this course fills in a nice gap between IUP's College Lodge and the rest of the courses in Pittsburgh. Best of all, it's right along US-22 so make a visit sometime!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.