Churchville, NY 
Churchville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 199ft.   3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Pro Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 short, easy course

1    6/15/2009   8/22/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 212  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good mix of open fairways and progressively more trees and obstacles as you go through the course. some of the trees, etc make for interesting holes. nice, clean park with bathroom facilities and a playground (if you're bringing the family).
Cons: -very short. it's a real birdie fest here. there are only a couple longer holes.
-very difficult to navigate. i would have been walking around looking for the next tee for hours if i hadn't brought a map. no signs and the tee markers are even with the ground and sometimes hidden by grass.
-since there are no signs and the holes are short, it's tough to tell which basket you should be playing to at times. some of them are fairly close to tell without a map.
Other Thoughts: relatively decent course but it really suffers from lack of signage and the monotony of the geography on which the course is located. river and trees add some interest but not really enough.
given the other great courses around rochester, there's little reason to drive all the way out to churchville just to play this course. if you must, play it once just to see and then head back to baker, parma, basil marella and ellison park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Play, tough navigation

2-4    7/19/2007   7/19/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, very clean park to play in. Lots of birdie holes here. Nice use of mature trees and stream on front nine. Back nine is a lot tighter with more trees.
Cons: Not very well marked tee boxes. Metal plates sit flush with ground and no signs to let you know where the hole goes.
Other Thoughts: Very short course. Only one really long hole, #4 i think, to let your arm loose. #15 is was just kind of crammed in and is not a very fun hole. There are a bunch of good holes here though so give it a try.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

2-4    5/1/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to get birdies. Good mix of open holes and well guarded holes. Not an intimidating course or overwhelming course. Some water is utilized.
Cons: Difficult to navigate without a map.
Other Thoughts: A fun course with a solid design and good utilization of the space available. Excellent course for beginners.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Walk in the park

7/10/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: MarkN
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly open, park setting. Possible for relative newbies to get respectable score, but can be deceptively challenging including lots of trees (force accuracy or luck) and a stream or roads that can come into play.
Cons: Trees are frustrating. No signage nor maps available. Tees marked by metal plaques on ground, distances written on some very doubtful. Some poison ivy in/around woods and also on park trees.
Other Thoughts: Fortunately there were plenty of arrows spray painted on the lawn to lead me from the basket to the next tee. New pin placements on a few, including #5 which is now closer to road (be careful lefties & right sidearms). I wasn't always sure which target was correct, especially #17 - can't see basket from tee, tee faces #18. Spotter might help on tee shot out of woods when basket out of sight (at least for inconsistent tossers like me).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Always Windy

5/4/2008   5/4/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pars can be made even by us not-so-good players. Like the mix of open field (1-5) and progressively tree filled fields (6-14) only true woods hole is the short 15.
Cons: Hardly any elevation changes. I've played it 1/2 dozen or so times and seems to be always windy which wreks havoc on my forehand drive. Course quite soggy still in the beginning of May
Other Thoughts: Agree with other reviewers - tough to find tees if you don't know the course. Tee pads or sign posts would be helpful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2/21/2008   2/21/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course, All flat, front 9 holes are not bad, last 9 seemed to be forced in because of lack of space. Over all the course is short, I believe at one span you play 4 holes in a row all under 200 feet. Good course for beginners, experienced players may get bored. I like going here for a relaxing care free round and I like to take new players here who are just starting out. I took a new player to 4 courses in the Rochester area and he liked this one the best.

There are long PIN positions which make this course much better overall. Pin positions change every so often.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Could have been great

2-4    10/2/2007   10/2/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2008
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is very easy, especially the front 9. good variety for such a small area.
It would take very little effort to turn this course in to a 4 out of 5.
Cons: Finding the tees takes longer than playing the holes. The excitement of hitting birdie after birdie is destroyed by the frustration of not being able to find the pins. After awhile you felt like making up tees just so you could keep up momentum.
Other Thoughts: If this course was labled with above ground pegs it would have been a 3.5
Signage would have made it a 4.0
I would have settled for spray paint saying "next pin this way"

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner course in a great park

8/25/2007   9/1/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located right on Main Street in a great small town park. The shorter holes in the latter portion of the course cater to beginners who can't drive for distance, but there is enough tree coverage here to keep it from getting too simple.
Cons: My first time through I found it took less time to play a hole than to find the next tee, as the only markers are flush with the ground (with white being longer than blue). The first few holes are rather open and uninteresting, with Main Street a little too close for comfort.
Other Thoughts: I'd classify most of the holes as "pitch and putt". But this actually made it rather enjoyable for me. It was a good place to wind down after getting beat up by the nearby Baker Farm course earlier in the day.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open course in a park setting

6/10/2007   6/10/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 245  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/16/2007
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, multiple pin placements.
Cons: A lot of shorter holes
Other Thoughts: Churchville is definitely an enjoyable course but it's nothing extraordinary. Most holes play in relatively open fields with no weeds/rough in sight so if you want to practice your drives, come here. The creek comes into play on #5 (at least on a bad shot) but otherwise there aren't any holes where you need to worry about losing a disc.

Like Jim said, this is a great course for beginners or intermediate players but for anyone looking for a really challenging course Churchville probably won't be on your radar. That said, it's still fun to play, especially if you like to "grip it and rip it" without worrying about losing a disc :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Morale-booster :)

5/24/2007   5/24/2007
Review By: jim owens
Played: 50  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly. Fairly short and open. Some challenges.
Cons: Too short and easy for most advanced golfers. A birdie-fest but a morale booster.
Other Thoughts: Still an enjoyable day for intermediate level golfers like me. Great place to bring newbies.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.