Churchville, NY 
Churchville Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
4 / 350ft.   4 / 527ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Pro Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Short Beginner Friendly Course

2-4    6/10/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 25  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 0.5 Years
Pros: - A good variety of shot types
- Rubber tee pads for longs are ok as long as they aren't wet.
- Next tee arrows on trees & White markers for each hole made navigation easy (although I did check the map a few times my first time through)
- Park is nice & clean and well maintained.
- Bathrooms on site
- Very few chances to lose a disc
Cons: - Short tees are listed, but I couldn't find them. There are a few that are apparently the same as the longs but I only find ONE short tee (hole 4 I think) and I spent ~5 mins looking for the short tee on holes 1&2 with no luck. Why even list short tees if they aren't marked. Would be much nicer to bring the wife / kid along if the short tees were easy to locate.
- Tee signs would be nice.
- Some safety concerns with crossing fairways and a few holes packed in VERY tight. For example hole 4 & 5 are at 90* from each other with 4 ending just inside the tree line. Hole 5's tee is ~50' to the right of the fairway (looking at the pin) and throws completely across it down the tree line. This crosses fairways and has your drive from 5 going right over the short side of the circle for 4. Not sure what they were thinking here trying to get in a little extra length. Another fun one is hole 14's teepad & hole 18. When throwing a FH line for 18 I watched my drive go RIGHT over the teepad for 14 and fade back to the pin. There is no way I'd throw a drive from either of those if another group was on the respective hole (I won't tee from 5 if anyone is approaching 4 nor throw from 18 if anyone is on the 14 teebox). There are a few others that are closer than comfortable but they aren't as bad as those 2.
- On the short side - especially the back 9
Other Thoughts: Overall a typical park course that does a decent job of making some interesting holes & approaches, just keep in mind par is very generous here. Lots of ace runs and you will use a good variety of shots. I can't get past the safety issues and there are many other (better) courses that I'd rather be at in the area.

nice to play

1    5/4/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: jkanick38
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice short course that lets you experience open holes and some challenging low shots under trees fun to play with a midrange for practice or try new things
Cons: confusing tee locations and baskets. no good signage just numbers on trees. missing tee pads on a few holes don't remember what ones. the tee at number 5 is located too close to the hole 4 basket within 30 ft
Other Thoughts: needs improved signs this would greatly improve the flow of the course great potential

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners and practicing you drives!

5+    8/3/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Can be played very quickly. Two people can play in about an hour
- Some nice wide open holes to really fling your discs on
- Not many chances to lose discs
- Lots of short holes for ace opportunities
- Despite pretty wide open holes there are enough trees so that some control is involved. Most shots even if their bad wont kill you.
- Good confidence builder
- Multiple tees pretty well marked in ground, but not necessary because course is so short
- Pretty fun for a park course
- Bathrooms open during summer near parking lot
Cons: - It can be difficult to navigate if you haven't played before
- Some tee markers (on the tees or on the trees) and some baskets may be wrong because of recent course redesign
- No good signs with description of hole and some flypads may be missing at some holes.
- Sometimes town soccer can cut awfully near to the course
- Some discrepancy between where the tees
are at some holes because of redesign
- Not difficult enough to be a pro-level course
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course to bring beginners to because of the low frustration level and very minimal chance of losing discs. It is also is fun for average players and good players who don't mind a quick relaxing round of golf. Once the tee issues are fixed along with maybe some good signs this is definitely a 3 course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

1    8/1/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: BgGrls Dont Cry
Played: 21  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great use of trees to force a variety of shots. New rubber tee pads installed. Not crowded.
Cons: Not easy to navigate first time out. Some tee pads seem to have been moved from different holes, so the yardage is incorrect.
Other Thoughts: Great for those without long drives. Play it as a par 3.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Holes are a challenge, pars are not.

2-4    10/2/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some deceptively fun holes in a nice park.
Cons: No teepads, holes are only marked with small colored plaques on the ground. Can make it a challenge the first time navigating. The natural tees are in fairly decent shape, however.

Pars are REALLY easy. There's a par 5 on a 250-300 ft hole. I've double eagled it, and shouldn't be able to.
Other Thoughts: When we first pulled into the parking lot we all groaned. Wide open field with baskets. Great. Playing the course, however swayed us and made it worth a trip back. There's little to no elevation changes, but the course designer did a great jog of working with the obstacles he had. There always seems to be a tree where you want to throw, but there's always a path to be found... Often a fairly challenging and rewarding shot. Play it as par 3's, however to challenge you scorecard.

Worth a trip: If you're in the area playing another course, you could throw a quick and rewarding round here, but I wouldn't make the trip for this course alone.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Simple but good

2-4    5/17/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: WillACarpenter
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well mowed, baskets are in great shape (especially since they're rather old) Bunch of old growth trees placed directly in your way.
Cons: Rather easy course...Someone called it Ellison without the hill, and the trees spread out across the entire course. Point taken.

If you're looking for a tournament caliber course, this isn't it.

Tees are marked on the ground and on some trees, can be hard to find and the back and forth layout is a bit strange at first.

a very few of the baskets have been placed in the wrong slots...and they're all right near eachother making it really confusing...bring a map.
Other Thoughts: If you're not a snob and you don't need cement pads and luxuries and a perfect layout, then you'll make some fun on this course.

I enjoy it, I'd play it, and I'd be glad to have it in my hometown...but as it stands it's one of the farther away courses in the area and simply doesn't have as much to offer as Parma and Basil...or even MCC.

But this course has no deal breaker type flaws. If you're looking for some place else to play, or you're passing through...stop by and play.

If you're in the area for a short time and want to play some courses...hit up Parma/Basil/MCC/Widener/Ellison instead.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/21/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 64  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: variety of hole types from long and wide open to short and technical.

a number of ace-run holes keep playing here exciting.

very little places to lose plastic.

multiple hole placements throughout the year mix it up periodically.

pretty open throughout most of the course really gives you a chance to open up and sling some long drives.

pretty no-nonsense layout make it great for practice, a misplaced drive isn't going to kill your score here.
Cons: seasonal, baskets are only in from april to november. would be a great course for winter play.

typically windy, great for drives but sometimes it can really effect your up-game.

parts of the course can be wet until about mid-july.

difficult to navigave unless you've been here before, tees are plates on the ground, some of them have trees with numbers by them. be sure to bring a map your first time here, or email me, i'm listed as a guide.
Other Thoughts: this course is typically not very busy. its a really nice course to just go and throw for the sake of throwing. other than that, its not much to write home about. kind of a forgotten course of the rochester area, definitely not one of the more popular ones but still enjoyable. lots of chances for aces here, fun to play a second round at after playing weidner park.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I cant believe i forgot to review this course

5+    8/19/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very easy layout all the holes are easy to find.
Cons: No signs and the whole course is very flat and on open fields
Other Thoughts: The course is nice to play a quick round or in conjunction with other courses around the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice small local course

5+    5/9/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: swiltse
Played: 22  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice small course in a local park. Mixture of open and wooded holes. Easy for a beginner or someone looking for quick practice. Good variety of holes. Not usually many people playing.
Cons: Course is fairly short. Tees can be hard to locate if you don't know where they are, some of them are marked with square plate on ground. No real signs, just a few numbers on some trees. Can get a little muddy when wet.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned on and still play regularly cause it's close to work. Despite how short it is, I really like this course because of the different hole configurations it offers. This course was laid out very well for the compact design. Not usually many people playing so you can go as fast or as slow as you want. If they ever put signs and teepads in I'd give it a 4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 On the easier side...

1    6/10/2004   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not too difficult, a nice course layout.
Cons: Not remarkable or too memorable. It was soggy in spot, so bring waterproof shoes. It was mildly entertaining, but kind-of ho-hum/boring.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make a special trip back just to play there, but would play again, if I happen to every find myself in Churchville again...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.