Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 404ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Older, Physically Demanding Scenic Course!

1    7/17/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brandywine Creek DGC must have been a monster course 30 years ago when it first opened. Even today it's length, many uphill throws, constant winds, narrow fairways and hostile roughs can make it a tough day at the office.
The park is a lovely piece of land with some epic views of the surrounding countryside. There is a kiosk at the start as well as a practice basket and picnic table.
The tee pads are getting a little on the old side. The baskets, although older, still catch well enough.

# 4 is pretty much an epic hole being a long downhill over a creek with some nasty rough along the way to get you into some serious trouble.
Cons: $6 out of state plates gets a little costly after playing more than a few of these Delaware state parks courses.

The ever present winds certainly could lead to some frustrating rounds.

#9 struck me as a particularly diabolical hole especially after trudging uphill on the previous holes in the sweltering sun. And after finally reaching the top of the hill on # 9 and finding the basket hidden way in the little wooded grove, I knew this course was well beyond my pay grade.
Other Thoughts: I wish when I played Brandywine that I known of the significance of the rock walls. Hell, I thought they were built by disc golfers recently. The course is beautiful and challenging. It's just not the course to play by yourself at the end of a hot day after already playing four other courses that day.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Scenic, Open Course

2-4    5/25/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: sqorbit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied holes and elevations. Long and short holes for a variety of shots and skils.

The course is very scenic and in a quiet area of the park. The course has everything from wide open holes to holes that push through the woods and tall grass. Uphill and downhill holes offer a great variety. Easy to find.
Cons: Wind! First time I played the wind was challenging and definitely added to the course on the open holes. 2nd time I played wind was really kicking up and made it frustrating for us as beginners to play at all. Due to my own poor judgement of disc and shots I lost a Teebird that got taken by the wind. A experienced player might enjoy the windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course, but my personal suggestion would be to avoid it as a beginner. The tall grass and brush add to the course but make it frustrating for beginners to find lost discs. It's $6 per car for out-of-state to enter but you can really enjoy the park after a round too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Place but becomes Repetitve

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great place to throw a round of Disc Golf! I came from Lehigh Valley, PA to enjoy this course.The rolling hills and old stone walls make for a great environment. You almost feel what it would have been like to be hiding behind the 3 foot hand crafted stone walls during the ancient days America, fighting for our freedom. There are an equal amount of downhill launchers, uphill heaves, and level shots that will test all the skills of your game.
Cons: There are no holes in the woods, they are all in open fields with a patch of trees here and there. This place will eat your disc if you miss the fairway. Long grass and trees with crazy vines are everywhere. We had 3 discs get stuck in trees, recovered all 3 and found another, but by throwing rocks, sticks, and having to climb up a tree to get them. No trash cans anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Very good course with fantastic scenery. While the elevation changes provide a nice variety, it gets slightly repetitive. Some of the tees and baskets are weathered and could use upgrading. All in all, I recommend playing Brandywine. The course play is above average and the park itself is great.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation, Wind, and Beautiful Views

1    6/9/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brandywine State Park is very easy to get to and is situated in a picturesque park. Despite the proximity to the bustling Route 202 corridor between PA and DE, the course has an isolated, top of the world feel. The course offers gorgeous scenery and vast, beautiful, panaoramic views of the surrounding rolling, wooded, hills.

Although most holes played straight and open, Brandywine features a good variety of hole lengths and extensive changes in elevation. Additionally, there are several holes that make use of water as OB. The rotating pin positions adds some additional variety to the course layout when played over time. One eye catching aspect of the course was the incorporation of rock wall both as aesthetic and as an obstacle (hole 9 is a great example of this).

Although a bit small and showing signs of wear, the concrete tees were a nice touch and provided ample footing. All things considered, the baskets were in pretty good shape. Albeit a small thing, one feature that was a standout was that the baskets included flags positioned at the end of tall polls. This was helpful in not only finding the basket, but in determining disc/shot selection by seeing what kind of wind you'd need to deal with. The tee signs were old school and didn't always show the right distance/position information, but they gave you the right idea as far as how the fairway was shaped and where the basket was located.

By and large, the course was mostly safe for pedestrians and was laid out in a manner that avoided other public areas.
Cons: As far as the layout goes, a lot of the holes were repetitive from the standpoint that they were either a straight, open, uphill drive or a straight, open, downhill drive. Despite having some trees as obstacles, the course is very open and doesn't make much use of the surrounding woods.

The rough here is very rough indeed. There is a ton of tall grass that borders many of the fairways, making it difficult to find stray drives. Additionally, many holes have an immense amount of shule, overgrowth, and briars that not only causes problems finding discs, but can be a painful experience.

Although more obstacles would be helpful at this course, hole #16 seems to have some unfair obstacles. The hole plays in between a tree with low branches and a large barn. For those drives that strayed too far left and into the area of the barn, the possible upshot(s) seemed to be unnecessarily punishing and could easily add several throws to the recovery.

Some indicators pointing to the next tee would be helpful for the holes were the subsequent tee isn't adjacent to the previous basket.
Other Thoughts: Wind is a major factor at this course. I was tempted to drop this into the "Cons", but you can't ding a course for weather conditions outside the control of the designer. For example, can you ding a course in Seattle as being too wet? Anybody that plays this course needs to be prepared for wind blowing in all directions. Further, given the elevation and wide-open nature of the course, you could also get significant updrafts. The short of it is that the wind is really a roll of the dice on every throw.

The implications of the pay-to-play aspect are minimal. It's only $6 if you're out of state and $3 for DE residence (year-round park passes can also be purchased). In the grand scheme of things $6 is not a whole lot to spend to play a decent course.

As far as my rating is concerned, I'd say Brandywine is a 3.75. I'd love to give this course a 4.0, but given some of the vanilla hole layouts and the growth surrounding the course, I don't feel comfortable rounding up, so I gave her a 3.5. By moving the baskets into positions that would force more thought-provoking shot selections and by cleaning up the bristly rough, this course could easily slide up to the higher rating.

The overall take away from Brandwine is positive. It's a fun course and the combination of rolling hills and unpredpictable wind provide ample challenge. I fully plan on playing this course again and would recommend this course to others.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Open and windy

2-4    12/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: 1978
Played: 167  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nice course in northern D.E. The setting is pretty and old timey. You play around a field and old rock walls. The use of the layout varies so that you alternate going up hill and down hill. 3, 4, and 9 are awesome looking holes. THe practice basket area is really cool. There are blocks starting at like 5 feet that pinwheel around the basket at increasing distances to aid in practice putting. Tee signs are nice and informative.
Cons: Being one of the highest spots in DE. this course is very windy. It helps that the course is basically wide open with little obstactles. I prefer a course where you have to think a little to play shots. Here you can just grip and rip with little thought to shot placement. Especially in the winter when the grass is short there is little challenge to the course. Tee pads are a little short, somewhere around 8'. Most are made from 2 different sections that have settled at different angles. This leaves rises in the middle of the pads that are trip hazards. The tee pads were not poured level so you have to throw from up, side, and down hill lies off the tee. If you look at the picture for hole #3 here you will see exactly what I am talking about. Some of the basket locations are too close to the next tee box and there is enough traffic here for it to be dangerous. On a few holes like hole 2 you are in the fairway of the last hole teeing off, this is a pet pieve of mine. The oldschool baskets are ok but they can be hard to see. Pay to play courses are no fun :-(
Other Thoughts: If I lived in the area and could justify a park pass I would play here often. I play mostly wooded courses in Charlotte NC and have grown to appreciate shot selection. I think this course reduces that cereberal part of the game with the low amount of obstacles. All in all a nice course that was a pleasure to play. It is not however a 5, which is a perfect course that could use no changes. The condition of the teepads alone prevent this course from recieving a 5.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Be prepered for the killer B's!

1    3/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not many courses around like this one. Dramatic elevation comes into play on practically every hole. Spectacular Vistas. Nice concrete tees are holding up pretty well after all these years.Huge stone wall comes into play on 1/3 of holes. Ego boosting off the hill throws on Holes 4,11,12,and14 will remain in your mind as well as Ego crushing climbs uphill on Holes 5,13,15 and 18. The beauty, the beast, the bastard, the barn, so many fun holes here. I really enjoyed the Bastard (hole 6) Its a downhill to a protected basket with a very fast green that encourages you to miss and roll down a slope where you have plenty of trees to negotiate back uphill to the pin. You could get a 2 or a 6 on this hole. Hole 9 shoots over the wall and into the woods behind it depending on pin position. Hole 14 is a delightful hole and really tests your ability, can you really hyzer around that tree line down there or should you lay up and play it safe to avoid being on the wrong side of those huge Delaware trees. Let's not forget the wind here. When it blows straight in your face, you can pull out your fastest most stable driver and throw it straight into the gusts and watch it miraculously flip over or hold a line without fading at all. When the winds at your back throw your understables straighter and further than you ever thought possible. So much fun playing the wind here! Can you putt in the wind? Makes for very interesting rounds for competition amongst friends or a tournament because with the score separations on the hillsides and the wind anything can happen and often does. I agree with the prior reviewer who encouraged you to just stop and take in the 360 degree views of this plae...It really is an amazing piece of property for disc golf.
Cons: The tee pad on hole 3 is really hurting, be careful. The thorns and high grass off the fairway on some of these holes look like they could really spoil a good time. Hole 17 is the only let down hole on the course....just a mando around a tree to a short basket. 18 is a gradual rise uphill overall an Anti-climactic way to end a spectacular day. Stream could come into play a bit more, rather than just lurking in the background I would like to throw over it etc. to add more beauty and challenge. I also think the woods around hole 11 were begging to be used as well. Maybe just one or two woods holes to even out the big air experience here.
Other Thoughts: The beauty, beast, bastard and barn...seems theres room for a bitch, a babe, a bunker and a bye bye birdie on this beautiful Brandywine course. Best played in the late fall, winter or early spring to avoid nasty high grass, hot sun and evil shule as well as the $6 park fee. If your sick of trees after playing Iron Hill come here and play the great wide open. I cannot fathom a more amazing and challenging day of disc golf with two equally distinct courses only 20 minutes apart from one another. You get the hardest wooded course ever created at Iron Hill and the perhaps the wildest wind course ever at Brandywine....a day few will ever forget!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 An old favorite

5+    9/29/2007   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great scenic vistas, and lots of wide open space make the flight of a disc pretty spectacular. Elevation comes into play on many holes, adding a nice control element to all the bombing going on.
Cons: Teepads are tough. Generally too short, or without adequate run up/approach lines. And I hate to say it, but the wide open nature of the course leaves it lacking in overall quality.
The park fees for DE State parks are pretty steep (at least $5), which wouldn't be that big a deal if the park staff was a little friendlier to the DG community.
Have witnessed a number of issues with the Park Staff being less than friendly or accomodating to disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has long been a favorite of mine, and I have seen and played it in several configurations over the course of 20 years. Played it in a hurricane, played it in howling 40-50mph winds, played it in still foggy mist. Always fun, with a few ultra classic holes. Maybe not worth a trip across the country, but definitely worth a detour if you're passing through the Mid Atlantic states.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Let em rip.

5+    1/23/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 241  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most beautiful course in northern Delaware, Brandywine is the perfect course for those who like to reach back and let em fly. Big holes, lots of open space and dramatic elevation changes. The course is set up with nice big concrete tee pads, quality baskets and nice signage. Since the course is so open finding you next tee is easy. While the course is very open, no one hole is a simple completely open shot to the basket. Use of tree lines, single trees elevation, water and old stone walls keeps things interesting. And speaking of interesting, Brandywine is almost always windy. Tees are from the highest elevation in Delaware and as such, the course is always windy, its just a question of how windy will it be. My favorite holes are 4, 12 and 14. Big beautiful down hill shots were you can just stand back and watch your disc soar. In contrast these are followed by big uphill holes, but its all good fun.
Cons: Um.. the wind. Occasionally its just too much and I feel the course is unplayable. Large cross-country meets are often held here and sometimes people will actually park their cars on the course. During the summer the rough gets thick so keep an eye on your discs.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the tri-state area. Also, be mindful of park rules. They're just doing they're jobs, but the park rangers can be real sticklers. Stop at all stop signs, no matter how ridiculous they seem. I've even heard stories of golfers getting kicked out just for having unopened containers of alcohol in their car.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/3/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: mmmatt
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has wonderful scenery, as well as a good challenge. This is the windiest course I've ever played at, making even the simplest putt into a need to focus. Add into that the uphill and downhill drives and the wind becomes even more of a factor. The course starts out basic with a straight shot along a stone wall that runs along the top of the ever-present hill. On number 4, it ramps up the difficulty with a long downhill shot where you must avoid the Brandywine Creek and various thorny patches. This hole is nicknamed Beauty and is an amazing hole to play.
Beauty is followed by Beast, which is the most difficult hole on the course. 666 ft (number of the beast) up a long, steep hill, ending with a choice of tight shots. The more direct shot on the right is between thick vines and a large tree, on the left a more open shot between the large tree and a line of trees on the left. It's a big risk/reward shot since the basket is on the right side of the green.
Hole 14 is what I would consider the big hole on the back 9. This is a downhill shot about 300 ft with the Brandywine creek behind the green. The catch is that the pin is completely sheltered from the front by a patch of trees that covers the basket 180 degrees. When I played the wind was blowing directly at the teepad, making a long accurate drive to lay up for a birdie that much harder.
Cons: After the front 9, the variety of holes feels like it decreases. The course resorts to down the hill, up the hill, down the hill, up the hill with few obstacles, with the exception being hole #14 as described above.
I'm not sure if there were bathrooms at the park, but I wish that there were some near the course. Given the openness of this course, there really isn't any place to hide if you really need to go.
Other Thoughts: I can see that this course could be overgrown off of the fairways in the summer. My buddy and I almost lost a few discs in the rough in the winter and I could imagine the trouble we would have had in the summer!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.