Disc Golf Store
Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #1
3 / 387ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket: As seen from left side of fairway. Tee #2 in foreground.



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Good Course in the Wilm. Area

5+    6/9/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: mhstoia
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful, larger fairways, and good variety. Most holes are straight, or off to the right, so straight disc and disc with good turn are encouraged. I usually throw a Destroyer on straight, and a Sidewinder/Beast on those right of center (RHBH Thrower)
Cons: Wind, and the occasional hole where throwing your disc in the tall rough seems unavoidable (hole 11)
Other Thoughts: Favorite course I have played in Delaware so far.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Will Definitely Play Again

1    6/7/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Change of elevation
-Variety in types of holes
-Multiple holes that leave you with the thought you would love to play that hole again
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Can be easy and difficult at the same time
-Tee boxes are always within eye sight of where you are finishing off
-Signs do give a general idea as to where you should be throwing
Cons: -Many tee boxes are close to the pins from the previous hole which could make it dangerous if there are many people on the course
-not always clear which Pin the basket is in
-Make sure you have a spotter on holes where the grass is high or you will never find your disc. Couple of blind holes require a spotter as well
Other Thoughts: After playing Iron hill in the morning, and White clay right after that, my friends and I were unsure as to whether we wanted to make the trek to Brandywine. After relaxing for a half hour, we made the decision to go because of what some friends of ours had said about the course. We could not have been happier or more rewarded. This is a really beautiful memorable course. There were so many holes that as we stood on the box, we thought this was a sweet looking hole. There is not a ton of variety in the types of shots you have to throw at this course, but you definitely want to keep your disc in site because tall grass and thick woods can grab your disc quickly. I am always a fan of Innova disc catchers, but the mach baskets were usually easy to find because of the open layout. The downhill throws such as I think 11, 14, and 15 are really picturesque holes that are the types that you say to yourself....I would really love to ace this. Being only a half hour from finishing at White clay earlier in the day....I would recommend this course to anyone close to it. My friends and I all agreed that out of the three, would probably all choose to play Brandywine again before Iron Hill, and lastly White Clay. The open layout allows for novice players to score well, but the challenge of distance and accuracy can really push an experienced player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful but Frustrating

1    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic, 18 hole open course in a nice state park. Very challenging course with tremendous elevation figuring into all but about 2 or 3 holes. Practice basket and porta pottie on site. Course has sufficiently sized tee pads, signs and working Mach 5 baskets at every hole. Some really nice holes here- #1 is a tee shot from between two trees, #3 is a diagonal shot to a basket over a rock wall and signature hole #4 is a long downhill shot then a right turn to a basket in the flat over a creek- as good a hole as there is anywhere. Two basket placements per hole. Navigation is pretty easy. Decent balance of distance and shorter holes.
Cons: Wind can be brutal and wreak havoc on your round. Signs and several tee pads need upgrades, and the welcome board by the practice basket is a disaster. Favors the guy with the big arm. Inaccurate throws lead to loads of trouble with unforgiving rough. Fairway grass sometimes not cut. Pay to play. Some "next tee" signs would be helpful. Ticks all over the place- bring spray. Benches and bag poles would be welcomed.
Other Thoughts: Brandywine is loved by many for its topography; scenic views, elevation and beautiful rock walls are ever present. It will be disliked by those who favor technical courses or people who don't have big arms. The wind here can be absolutely brutal, and quite honestly can make for a rotten round. I didn't have much fun the day I played here but have nonetheless rated the course objectively and appreciate its challenges.

More than 30 years old, Brandywine still packs a punch but needs considerable attention. New signs are needed here and several tee pads have seams which can affect your stance and throw. In my opinion, before new courses like Iron Hill are tweaked, more attention to upgrades needs to be given to places like Lum's, Brandywine and Cape Henlopen- historic places that have been good to the sport. A trip to Brandywine is recommended, but prepare for a physically demanding and possibly frustrating afternoon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lovely

5+    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Fantastic scenery. Lots of elevation. Nice challenge. Good signage and concrete tees. Navigation is fairly easy without a map. Some really fun and memorable holes with alot of opportunity to air it out.
Cons: Some tees in need of repair with some slight slopes and cracks. A little repetitive with the open shots. Park fee of $6 out of state between February and December. In the summer the rough is really brutal, and it can still be so in the spring, fall and winter, as well. The elevation can also be seen as a con due to some tough hikes, but it also provide, at least for this slacker, some well needed exercise.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course multiple times and it was one of my first few ever. In the beginning I hated this course due to some of the hole lengths, the elevation and the fact that most of the holes are completely open. However, as I have improved my game, I find these same aspects to be absolute pros. I recently played here in a little snowstorm and I have to say it was one of my favorite DG experiences of late. The elevation can be tough with some long walks and throws uphill, especially #5 "THe Beast", but it truly does add to the whole experience as well. The pin placements help to augment each hole's layout and some are just great including 4, 6, 9, 14 and 16. Great use of existing strucutres including the rock walls, the water, an old well and the barn. Being as the course is open and set up high in rolling hills, the wind can truly become an added challenge, but I enjoy the ability to learn my discs better while playing this course. Overall, Brandywine is a little older of a course for an area that boasts Iron Hill and Carousel, but I still very much enjoy its uniqueness and it holds up very well as its own experience. It provides a great chance to learn how to throw for distance as well as to break in new discs. It is a solid course with a good dose of individuality and lots of fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scenic with rolling hills

2-4    12/22/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenery- rolling hills make or beautiful views overlooking brandywine valley. The use of walls divided fairways as well as a beautiful asset to the course.
Good variety with what they had- overall the variety was ok (see cons). That being said, with the land that they were given, you could tell the thought was there. I enjoyed the addition of the creek on hole 4 which offered variety as well as an enjoyable challenge. Although you may not have to use all the shots you have in your bag, the defined fairways dictate many different lines.
Tee signs and baskets in good shape- baskets were a little bit rusty but caught well. I have heard that baskets are changed but have never witnessed different pin positions. The some of the concrete pads are showing wear but most are in good shape.
Elevation- this is the biggest pro for this course and for me the difference between a 3 and a 4 because of the shear immensity of the elevation changes and the use of it throughout the course.
Cons: Grass can get very high -For the quality of this course I was not impressed with the level of maintenance. The grass was high which led to me losing a disc.
Variety- as said before variety was ok. I said what parts hd variety, but many holes lacked variety. There were too many straight and uninteresting shots.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy a round and a nice piece of history when you come to this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A disc golfer was born

5+    6/1/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 40  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely incredible course...This is mostly a field course with some woods patches and holes right along the woods. There's a beautiful stone wall slicing through the course making the place look like 18th or 19th century America. A wide array of different shots due to elevation changes, tree obstacles, a creek affecting a few holes, deadly brush bordering fairways on quite a few holes, and a cool barn to bootleg around. This course is home to The Beauty and The Beast, holes 4 and 5--the first of which is a thin fairway downhill bordered by chaos (which you pretty much need to throw beyond from the tee to play successfully) down to a park road and a creek with a bridge over to the basket; the latter hole 5 is a monster steady uphill hole that big arms have trouble reaching basket vicinity in 3 shots (this hole also bordered on the right by chaotic death bushes). Seemingly easy open shots prove tougher with wind, making the course tricky at times. Holes 12 and 14 are ego boosting open downhill holes. The first hole on the course immediately shows the course's aesthetic superiority. Rarely ever crowded. Tee boxes in good shape. "Around the World" varied distance stone markers on practice basket for putting games.
Cons: Could use better signs with accurate pars and distances. For new players, signs to next holes would be beneficial. This place eats discs on errant throws throughout most of the course, so be careful. Basically, watch your throws on the front 9! Pay to play a con for some. Some cross country meets cutting through fairway, so watch out for runners in the spring and fall. Wind can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played. It is THE reason I fell in love with the sport. It will always be my homest of home courses. Absolutely gorgeous rolling hills with surrounding woods.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  My home course

5+    6/24/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: Chizult
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is situated in the most beautiful part of Delaware. The downhill tee shots are some of the most exciting shots I've seen anywhere in DG. There is no hole in DG that is more beautiful and challenging than the beauty (#4). It's my home course, I play it frequently, and after a woods course I have to come to Brandywine to release some of the pent up aggression. Let's just say that with this as my home course accuracy is not my strong suit.
Cons: Grass! I hate tall grass rough, but I guess they have to do something on the course to penalize you for an errant shot and trees in this park are out of the question.

The absolute worst part of this course is the occasional lack of maintenance by the park staff, particularly not mowing the fairways. There have been times in the spring where the grass has been knee high. That makes for a long round: trudging through knee high grass, climbing those hills, and having to look for your disc after a perfect drive that landed in the middle of the fairway. My favorite time to play is on calm winter days. The grass and the rough are guaranteed to be short from November to mid-March.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this course is a must if you're in the area. There are few courses that allow you to air it out like Brandywine and few places anywhere in the northeast that are as beautiful to play. Fall is especially a picturesque time to play the course. If coming from a long distance to play in the spring or early summer I would call first to confirm that the course has been recently mowed (and let the staff know that you'll be skipping the park if it is, in fact, not recently mowed). I love Brandywine, but I avoid it like the plague when the fairways are tall.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Setting for Historic Course

5+    5/12/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: hawk12
Played: 166  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a setting to play DG, historic battelfield with rock walls that were rebuilt in the Great Depression (by DuPont family employing people without work), Imagine charging up those hills with cannons and muskets shots at you - wel that is how exciting the disc golf is here.
Wonderful use of the space - for a mostly wide open are with little trees in play, this course plays great with not much repetition.
Downhill bombs, uphill crushing holes, cross hill shots - all made more challenging by the prevailing winds that seem to be stronger at Brandywine than the rest of DE.
Some holes are duecable, and others are much tougher more like par 4s.
This is one of the earlier courses in the area, 1980 - and is still more advanced than some newer courses. For todays plastic and longer thowers - amazing design way ahead of its time.
Cons: pay to play - $3 in state per car, $6 out of state.
Allows certain types of players to excell - Long throwers that use stable plastic do much better than short arms and understable plastic throwers - based on prevailing winds, length and terrain.
The park does not maintain the course as good as they could, and the park has not been overly friendly to volenteers - go figure...
Some of the tees have aged, need some leveling and have cracked, but after 30 years that happens.
This park also caters to the Cross County course, as its one of the better courses in the state parks and hold many large high school meets every year.
Other Thoughts: Nice scenery, great views of the creek, rolling hills surround park, historic site adds some intrigue and nostalgia.
Those rock walls are amazing, but some spots have deteriorated and are falling down, would be nice if the park could get experienced masons to repair them.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful windy hill beast.

1    11/22/2009   11/23/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The scenery was great with lots of elevation changes and several risk vs. reward shots and decent flow.

There was a practice basket set up with stones to play around the world or horse while you wait for hole 1, wait for your friends, or warm up.

Putting areas were perfectly groomed and overall the course was well maintained.

multiple pin positions and cleary visable cement tee pads and decent signage.

Long flags helped make the pins visable over the elevation changes and showed wind direction (very important here)

I like hole 9, putting over the rock wall, but holes 4 and 5 are the signature holes "the beauty" and the "the beast".
The beast was a 666ft totally blind up hill shot (basket hinding under a broken tree in the brush). Holes 6 and 10 have risky drop offs that make you think about your approach.

Once you get away from holes 1,9,and 10 there is little other traffic on the course.
Cons: worst con: putting $6 in an envelope, sliding the envelope into an honor system box in the parking lot and walking away from your $.
All holes seemed to have the same formula: wide open with trees around the baskets.
If I did not take notes and prepare mysleIf, I would have wasted alot of time finding some of the baskets and would never have found hole 17.
Tall grass and thorns can eat your plastic, so watch your throws very carefully, you may need spotters in some areas.

I am sure this course is brutal in the summer with the long walks up and down the hill totally exposed to the sun for hours, bring water!
Other Thoughts: Before you go to this course go to the links section and take check out the course walk through (take notes).

The wind makes the course much colder in the fall and winter and adds a whole new play element.

Be prepared for atleast a 2 hour work out. The course is shorter than Carousel, but a harder workout. The distance between pins is 6,000-7,000 feet (which is over a mile for the math inclinde)

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Brandywind

5+    10/24/2001   10/24/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've been 'round this track many times, and (almost) always had fun. If you want to improve your wind game, this is the place. It's located on the highest point in the state- admittedly Delaware is not known for altitude- and it gets severely windy here. Some days a ten foot putt is going to be be the hardest shot you play. (some windless days that's true...for me!) It's scenic, and varied, and wide open. #15 has always been my favorite hole because of it's look, not because I play it particularly well. Honorable mention to #3, a very birdiable affair with elevation danger if you miss left.
The famed beauty/beast combo is somewhat over-rated, with beauty being far superior to beast as a golf hole. Driving on the beast is just plain uncomfortable, and awkward. But the beauty is a joy to drive on, provided you don't go right, or get unlucky and land in the creek. Love it- play here if you can. Pick a windy day for maximum challenge.
Cons: Very few cons here. Can be rather brutal on a hot day, and there are some strange drives required on a few holes. The grass gets tall so watch your disc closely. There have been days when it's just TOO WINDY to have a good time.
Other Thoughts: When this course was first installed, it was a 9 holer, and the late great Pryor Hendrix shot a round of 18- total score. Pryor did stuff like that. I miss him.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.