Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 434ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The granddaddy of me all in DE

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great elevation and challenging winds. Bring your big boy pants and prepare to walk a lot of hills. Good concrete tee pads. Great contrast to the newer, tighter, more technical Canby park west.
Cons: Hills are a blessing and a curse. When wind is blowing the beast and some other holes can become nightmarish. Sticker bushes and underbrush can be a bane in early summer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge for Advanced Players

5+    2/26/2009   6/8/2009
Review By: john501
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Idyllic, pastoral setting. Long, Long, Long. Significant elevation changes on both front and back make for a fun, very challenging round.
Cons: Wide open. Players who enjoy the finesse required by wooded courses will not find much of interest at Brandywine. Wind can be extreme.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that is well worth the hour-plus drive out of Philadelphia to play. Bring your longest driver and plenty of water because it is a real workout.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: lennyb6
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a good walk, you've found it. Most of the holes are long and wide open. The Beast is 666 ft - huge uphill climb. Nice day out in the sun.
Cons: Rough can make for a nice long disc search especially on some of the blind uphills.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty and the Beast

5+    7/3/2001   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes with the opportunity to air it out (and watch your disc sail gracefully deep, deep into the schull!). Good variety of tee shots, beautiful setting with wonderful rolling hills and stone walls that put a nice twist on pin placement. Upside-down putt brutal in the wind.
Cons: Some blind shots, easy to lose discs if they have not cut the grass, entry fee, overzealous park rangers (true for many Delaware courses).
Other Thoughts: I made a mini-tour of my favorite MADC courses before I moved out West in 2001. Drove 100 miles to play Brandywind, and left wondering why I had not made that drive more often. I miss the Beauty (my scores range from 2-10).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Ty9339
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is one of the most challenging courses i've ever played. its one big elevation change after another. with some beautiful scenery. hole ones tee box has a really cool effect where you have to throw through two trees right out the gate. theres a very cool stretch from hole 4 to 6 the holes are nick named the beauty, the beast and the fatherless.
Cons: the winds is always a factor. you're on the side of a mountain. when we played there the wind was gusting at around 30 to 40 miles an hour. not a good course for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: i'd love to play this course with no wind

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATED-- Awe inspiring beauty-- one of my Top 10 favorite courses!

1    8/2/2004   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2009
20 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My Rating: 9.5 (out of 10)

Wow! This course is on some astoundingly beautiful land! There are rolling hills, old trees, green fields, a creek, and scenic countryside everywhere you can see. The beauty engulfs you! There are also scenic stone walls that come into play. One hole plays near a farm house and barn, too. Although it's more open than I typically prefer, this is one of my top 10 favorite courses!
-There are fantastic elevation changes! One of the most memorable aspects of this course is that there's either a drop or rise on every hole with 10 holes having a change of 25 ft. or more. The signature holes 4 & 5, Beauty and the Beast, are the longest on the course. Beauty (hole 4 and 518 ft) has a 40 ft elevation drop then the Beast (hole 5 and 666 ft.) has an elevation gain of +45 ft. to a protected basket!
-There are 2 sets of tees on 17 holes.
-Some baskets are tucked into the woods or precariously perched on the edges of hills to add to your thrill at shot making.
-All the Basics are there: great tee signs with maps, ample concrete tees, good Mach V baskets.
-They have a great amenity to mark the current basket layout that I wish more courses would adopt. They use an ingenious, yet simple, system with a ring around the tee sign pole to show the current basket position.
-Good Amenities: there's a practice basket and a message board. Restrooms and water available at the park office
Cons: Not much at all…
-Being so open, there are a few too many straight holes. The layout I played was to the mixed A & B basket positions and it had 10 Straight/ 5 Left/ 3 Right.
-Pay to play. $5 for out of state.
-Because it's so open I hear that it can be hot in the summer and it doesn't have much shade.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

You be the judge-

My favorite hole: 16. You drive toward the farm house and barn with stately old trees and luscious green grass.

-The land is rather open without too many obstacles so you can really air it out, especially on the downhill shots. If you like tight, wooded holes you won't find them here, though.
-Since the course is located at the highest point in Delaware strong winds can be a factor. I think this just adds to the challenge.
-The holes tend to be long. The mixed layout I played had 5< 299/ 5 of 300-399/ 6 of 400-499/ 1>500/ 1 of 666. Newer players and shorter throwers may find it daunting.
-On a few back nine holes if you go off the mowed fairway you may have trouble finding your disc in the high rough.

I played at sundown and it was simply fantastic! This course is well worth making a trip to play. If you're anywhere in the area don't miss it!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

20 of 24 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.