Wilmington, DE
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 239ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Be accurate

1    11/10/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: argo_yamato
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.7 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It plays pretty long with lots of hills. A few of the downhill holes allow for some big drives. It is a very scenic course and has a few water hazards to deal with.

The signage is OK for the most part.
Cons: Thick disc eating brush. You can see where it has been mowed on some holes (just look for the mower destroyed discs) but on others not so much. Quite easy to miss a fairway and lose one in the high thorny rough.

The tee pads are concrete but a few are uneven and cracked in places.
Other Thoughts: You do have to pay but it is only $6 if you are out of state. So if you go car pooling is a good idea, splitting a $6 parking fee among a few people is not a big deal.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Older, Physically Demanding Scenic Course!

1    7/17/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brandywine Creek DGC must have been a monster course 30 years ago when it first opened. Even today it's length, many uphill throws, constant winds, narrow fairways and hostile roughs can make it a tough day at the office.
The park is a lovely piece of land with some epic views of the surrounding countryside. There is a kiosk at the start as well as a practice basket and picnic table.
The tee pads are getting a little on the old side. The baskets, although older, still catch well enough.

# 4 is pretty much an epic hole being a long downhill over a creek with some nasty rough along the way to get you into some serious trouble.
Cons: $6 out of state plates gets a little costly after playing more than a few of these Delaware state parks courses.

The ever present winds certainly could lead to some frustrating rounds.

#9 struck me as a particularly diabolical hole especially after trudging uphill on the previous holes in the sweltering sun. And after finally reaching the top of the hill on # 9 and finding the basket hidden way in the little wooded grove, I knew this course was well beyond my pay grade.
Other Thoughts: I wish when I played Brandywine that I known of the significance of the rock walls. Hell, I thought they were built by disc golfers recently. The course is beautiful and challenging. It's just not the course to play by yourself at the end of a hot day after already playing four other courses that day.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very upset at my visit

1    6/14/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: dsmdave
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting in a very nice park.
Great layout of the holes to see many parts of the park.
Cons: The signage for the park is terrible and needs updated.
This course is a disc eater full of poison ivy. It has some big throws but discourages this by staying narrow. If they just knocked down the fields it would get a better rating from me.
It gets windy.
Some new pins or flags on top of the pins would also be helpful so that they can be seen from the t pad.

0 of 18 people found this review helpful.

The granddaddy of me all in DE

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great elevation and challenging winds. Bring your big boy pants and prepare to walk a lot of hills. Good concrete tee pads. Great contrast to the newer, tighter, more technical Canby park west.
Cons: Hills are a blessing and a curse. When wind is blowing the beast and some other holes can become nightmarish. Sticker bushes and underbrush can be a bane in early summer.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Scenic, Open Course

2-4    5/25/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: sqorbit
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied holes and elevations. Long and short holes for a variety of shots and skils.

The course is very scenic and in a quiet area of the park. The course has everything from wide open holes to holes that push through the woods and tall grass. Uphill and downhill holes offer a great variety. Easy to find.
Cons: Wind! First time I played the wind was challenging and definitely added to the course on the open holes. 2nd time I played wind was really kicking up and made it frustrating for us as beginners to play at all. Due to my own poor judgement of disc and shots I lost a Teebird that got taken by the wind. A experienced player might enjoy the windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course, but my personal suggestion would be to avoid it as a beginner. The tall grass and brush add to the course but make it frustrating for beginners to find lost discs. It's $6 per car for out-of-state to enter but you can really enjoy the park after a round too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful but Frustrating

1    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic, 18 hole open course in a nice state park. Very challenging course with tremendous elevation figuring into all but about 2 or 3 holes. Practice basket and porta pottie on site. Course has sufficiently sized tee pads, signs and working Mach 5 baskets at every hole. Some really nice holes here- #1 is a tee shot from between two trees, #3 is a diagonal shot to a basket over a rock wall and signature hole #4 is a long downhill shot then a right turn to a basket in the flat over a creek- as good a hole as there is anywhere. Two basket placements per hole. Navigation is pretty easy. Decent balance of distance and shorter holes.
Cons: Wind can be brutal and wreak havoc on your round. Signs and several tee pads need upgrades, and the welcome board by the practice basket is a disaster. Favors the guy with the big arm. Inaccurate throws lead to loads of trouble with unforgiving rough. Fairway grass sometimes not cut. Pay to play. Some "next tee" signs would be helpful. Ticks all over the place- bring spray. Benches and bag poles would be welcomed.
Other Thoughts: Brandywine is loved by many for its topography; scenic views, elevation and beautiful rock walls are ever present. It will be disliked by those who favor technical courses or people who don't have big arms. The wind here can be absolutely brutal, and quite honestly can make for a rotten round. I didn't have much fun the day I played here but have nonetheless rated the course objectively and appreciate its challenges.

More than 30 years old, Brandywine still packs a punch but needs considerable attention. New signs are needed here and several tee pads have seams which can affect your stance and throw. In my opinion, before new courses like Iron Hill are tweaked, more attention to upgrades needs to be given to places like Lum's, Brandywine and Cape Henlopen- historic places that have been good to the sport. A trip to Brandywine is recommended, but prepare for a physically demanding and possibly frustrating afternoon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lovely

5+    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Fantastic scenery. Lots of elevation. Nice challenge. Good signage and concrete tees. Navigation is fairly easy without a map. Some really fun and memorable holes with alot of opportunity to air it out.
Cons: Some tees in need of repair with some slight slopes and cracks. A little repetitive with the open shots. Park fee of $6 out of state between February and December. In the summer the rough is really brutal, and it can still be so in the spring, fall and winter, as well. The elevation can also be seen as a con due to some tough hikes, but it also provide, at least for this slacker, some well needed exercise.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course multiple times and it was one of my first few ever. In the beginning I hated this course due to some of the hole lengths, the elevation and the fact that most of the holes are completely open. However, as I have improved my game, I find these same aspects to be absolute pros. I recently played here in a little snowstorm and I have to say it was one of my favorite DG experiences of late. The elevation can be tough with some long walks and throws uphill, especially #5 "THe Beast", but it truly does add to the whole experience as well. The pin placements help to augment each hole's layout and some are just great including 4, 6, 9, 14 and 16. Great use of existing strucutres including the rock walls, the water, an old well and the barn. Being as the course is open and set up high in rolling hills, the wind can truly become an added challenge, but I enjoy the ability to learn my discs better while playing this course. Overall, Brandywine is a little older of a course for an area that boasts Iron Hill and Carousel, but I still very much enjoy its uniqueness and it holds up very well as its own experience. It provides a great chance to learn how to throw for distance as well as to break in new discs. It is a solid course with a good dose of individuality and lots of fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scenic with rolling hills

2-4    12/22/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 1.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenery- rolling hills make or beautiful views overlooking brandywine valley. The use of walls divided fairways as well as a beautiful asset to the course.
Good variety with what they had- overall the variety was ok (see cons). That being said, with the land that they were given, you could tell the thought was there. I enjoyed the addition of the creek on hole 4 which offered variety as well as an enjoyable challenge. Although you may not have to use all the shots you have in your bag, the defined fairways dictate many different lines.
Tee signs and baskets in good shape- baskets were a little bit rusty but caught well. I have heard that baskets are changed but have never witnessed different pin positions. The some of the concrete pads are showing wear but most are in good shape.
Elevation- this is the biggest pro for this course and for me the difference between a 3 and a 4 because of the shear immensity of the elevation changes and the use of it throughout the course.
Cons: Grass can get very high -For the quality of this course I was not impressed with the level of maintenance. The grass was high which led to me losing a disc.
Variety- as said before variety was ok. I said what parts hd variety, but many holes lacked variety. There were too many straight and uninteresting shots.
Other Thoughts: Enjoy a round and a nice piece of history when you come to this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Place but becomes Repetitve

1    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: GMarlin13
Played: 43  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a great place to throw a round of Disc Golf! I came from Lehigh Valley, PA to enjoy this course.The rolling hills and old stone walls make for a great environment. You almost feel what it would have been like to be hiding behind the 3 foot hand crafted stone walls during the ancient days America, fighting for our freedom. There are an equal amount of downhill launchers, uphill heaves, and level shots that will test all the skills of your game.
Cons: There are no holes in the woods, they are all in open fields with a patch of trees here and there. This place will eat your disc if you miss the fairway. Long grass and trees with crazy vines are everywhere. We had 3 discs get stuck in trees, recovered all 3 and found another, but by throwing rocks, sticks, and having to climb up a tree to get them. No trash cans anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Very good course with fantastic scenery. While the elevation changes provide a nice variety, it gets slightly repetitive. Some of the tees and baskets are weathered and could use upgrading. All in all, I recommend playing Brandywine. The course play is above average and the park itself is great.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A disc golfer was born

5+    6/1/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely incredible course...This is mostly a field course with some woods patches and holes right along the woods. There's a beautiful stone wall slicing through the course making the place look like 18th or 19th century America. A wide array of different shots due to elevation changes, tree obstacles, a creek affecting a few holes, deadly brush bordering fairways on quite a few holes, and a cool barn to bootleg around. This course is home to The Beauty and The Beast, holes 4 and 5--the first of which is a thin fairway downhill bordered by chaos (which you pretty much need to throw beyond from the tee to play successfully) down to a park road and a creek with a bridge over to the basket; the latter hole 5 is a monster steady uphill hole that big arms have trouble reaching basket vicinity in 3 shots (this hole also bordered on the right by chaotic death bushes). Seemingly easy open shots prove tougher with wind, making the course tricky at times. Holes 12 and 14 are ego boosting open downhill holes. The first hole on the course immediately shows the course's aesthetic superiority. Rarely ever crowded. Tee boxes in good shape. "Around the World" varied distance stone markers on practice basket for putting games.
Cons: Could use better signs with accurate pars and distances. For new players, signs to next holes would be beneficial. This place eats discs on errant throws throughout most of the course, so be careful. Basically, watch your throws on the front 9! Pay to play a con for some. Some cross country meets cutting through fairway, so watch out for runners in the spring and fall. Wind can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played. It is THE reason I fell in love with the sport. It will always be my homest of home courses. Absolutely gorgeous rolling hills with surrounding woods.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.