Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 404ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
needs polishing and reconsideration

1    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: Mythy
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2014
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: All holes have a diagram of the hole

Nice Scenery

Wide open park with plenty of room
Cons: Hills.... lots of 'em.

Poor Navigation

Hole layout doesn't take advantage of terrain

Zero wooded holes

Inconsistent hole difficulty.

OOB is Briars, Prickers and Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: It was my intent to play here as part of a 3 day jaunt which included a little bit of discing while visiting friends in three states (PA, NJ, DE). Of the four courses I had on the list, this was the only one that I made it to, it left me wishing I had chosen a different one.

Finding the first tee (and any tees for that matter) was made difficult by lack of directional signage or an available map.

The grass was ALL crabgrass, mowed crabgrass, but crabgrass nevertheless crawling with little crawling bugs that resembled sand fleas at the beach.

Some of the "fairways" were no wider than walking paths leaving no aid for an intermediate distance player, and as previously mentioned OOB are thick with Prickers and Poison Ivy...

ZERO wooded holes unless you would count the pin tucked into the back end of the second grove on 14 requiring a complete circumnavigation of trees to get around to the pin on a par 4...

The pin placement could be laid out so much better to create a smoother, more enjoyable course... Instead I found myself going down a hill in the hot sun to the pin only to play back up the same hill to the next pin... The "paths" or "tight fairways" on the holes are completely unforgiving leaving beginning layers chasing errant throws into prickers...

Course is passable, but with the tight "almost fairways", minimal signing, and a layout that just runs you up and down hills, there must be a better layout that this course could be reconfigured to, OR there might be a more fun course nearby. With potential a little polishing, a little more friendly OOB landscaping (it could still be OOB, but does it need thorns? I think not), and a small layout change might improve things

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course in the Wilm. Area

5+    6/9/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: mhstoia
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful, larger fairways, and good variety. Most holes are straight, or off to the right, so straight disc and disc with good turn are encouraged. I usually throw a Destroyer on straight, and a Sidewinder/Beast on those right of center (RHBH Thrower)
Cons: Wind, and the occasional hole where throwing your disc in the tall rough seems unavoidable (hole 11)
Other Thoughts: Favorite course I have played in Delaware so far.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Will Definitely Play Again

1    6/7/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: IAMGT
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Change of elevation
-Variety in types of holes
-Multiple holes that leave you with the thought you would love to play that hole again
-Concrete Tee Pads
-Can be easy and difficult at the same time
-Tee boxes are always within eye sight of where you are finishing off
-Signs do give a general idea as to where you should be throwing
Cons: -Many tee boxes are close to the pins from the previous hole which could make it dangerous if there are many people on the course
-not always clear which Pin the basket is in
-Make sure you have a spotter on holes where the grass is high or you will never find your disc. Couple of blind holes require a spotter as well
Other Thoughts: After playing Iron hill in the morning, and White clay right after that, my friends and I were unsure as to whether we wanted to make the trek to Brandywine. After relaxing for a half hour, we made the decision to go because of what some friends of ours had said about the course. We could not have been happier or more rewarded. This is a really beautiful memorable course. There were so many holes that as we stood on the box, we thought this was a sweet looking hole. There is not a ton of variety in the types of shots you have to throw at this course, but you definitely want to keep your disc in site because tall grass and thick woods can grab your disc quickly. I am always a fan of Innova disc catchers, but the mach baskets were usually easy to find because of the open layout. The downhill throws such as I think 11, 14, and 15 are really picturesque holes that are the types that you say to yourself....I would really love to ace this. Being only a half hour from finishing at White clay earlier in the day....I would recommend this course to anyone close to it. My friends and I all agreed that out of the three, would probably all choose to play Brandywine again before Iron Hill, and lastly White Clay. The open layout allows for novice players to score well, but the challenge of distance and accuracy can really push an experienced player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Be accurate

2-4    11/10/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: argo_yamato
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2014
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It plays pretty long with lots of hills. A few of the downhill holes allow for some big drives. It is a very scenic course and has a few water hazards to deal with.

The signage is OK for the most part.
Cons: Thick disc eating brush. You can see where it has been mowed on some holes but on others not so much. Quite easy to miss a fairway and lose one in the high thorny rough.

The tee pads are concrete but a few are uneven and cracked in places.
Other Thoughts: Bringing water and sunscreen is a good idea. The course is really nice but there is very little shade and it can get hot.

You do have to pay but it is only $6 if you are out of state. So if you go car pooling is a good idea, splitting a $6 parking fee among a few people is not a big deal.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Older, Physically Demanding Scenic Course!

1    7/17/2013   8/20/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brandywine Creek DGC must have been a monster course 30 years ago when it first opened. Even today it's length, many uphill throws, constant winds, narrow fairways and hostile roughs can make it a tough day at the office.
The park is a lovely piece of land with some epic views of the surrounding countryside. There is a kiosk at the start as well as a practice basket and picnic table.
The tee pads are getting a little on the old side. The baskets, although older, still catch well enough.

# 4 is pretty much an epic hole being a long downhill over a creek with some nasty rough along the way to get you into some serious trouble.
Cons: $6 out of state plates gets a little costly after playing more than a few of these Delaware state parks courses.

The ever present winds certainly could lead to some frustrating rounds.

#9 struck me as a particularly diabolical hole especially after trudging uphill on the previous holes in the sweltering sun. And after finally reaching the top of the hill on # 9 and finding the basket hidden way in the little wooded grove, I knew this course was well beyond my pay grade.
Other Thoughts: I wish when I played Brandywine that I known of the significance of the rock walls. Hell, I thought they were built by disc golfers recently. The course is beautiful and challenging. It's just not the course to play by yourself at the end of a hot day after already playing four other courses that day.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Very upset at my visit

1    6/14/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: dsmdave
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting in a very nice park.
Great layout of the holes to see many parts of the park.
Cons: The signage for the park is terrible and needs updated.
This course is a disc eater full of poison ivy. It has some big throws but discourages this by staying narrow. If they just knocked down the fields it would get a better rating from me.
It gets windy.
Some new pins or flags on top of the pins would also be helpful so that they can be seen from the t pad.

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

The granddaddy of me all in DE

5+    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: Jblevins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great elevation and challenging winds. Bring your big boy pants and prepare to walk a lot of hills. Good concrete tee pads. Great contrast to the newer, tighter, more technical Canby park west.
Cons: Hills are a blessing and a curse. When wind is blowing the beast and some other holes can become nightmarish. Sticker bushes and underbrush can be a bane in early summer.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Scenic, Open Course

2-4    5/25/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: sqorbit
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied holes and elevations. Long and short holes for a variety of shots and skils.

The course is very scenic and in a quiet area of the park. The course has everything from wide open holes to holes that push through the woods and tall grass. Uphill and downhill holes offer a great variety. Easy to find.
Cons: Wind! First time I played the wind was challenging and definitely added to the course on the open holes. 2nd time I played wind was really kicking up and made it frustrating for us as beginners to play at all. Due to my own poor judgement of disc and shots I lost a Teebird that got taken by the wind. A experienced player might enjoy the windy conditions.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course, but my personal suggestion would be to avoid it as a beginner. The tall grass and brush add to the course but make it frustrating for beginners to find lost discs. It's $6 per car for out-of-state to enter but you can really enjoy the park after a round too.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful but Frustrating

1    4/15/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic, 18 hole open course in a nice state park. Very challenging course with tremendous elevation figuring into all but about 2 or 3 holes. Practice basket and porta pottie on site. Course has sufficiently sized tee pads, signs and working Mach 5 baskets at every hole. Some really nice holes here- #1 is a tee shot from between two trees, #3 is a diagonal shot to a basket over a rock wall and signature hole #4 is a long downhill shot then a right turn to a basket in the flat over a creek- as good a hole as there is anywhere. Two basket placements per hole. Navigation is pretty easy. Decent balance of distance and shorter holes.
Cons: Wind can be brutal and wreak havoc on your round. Signs and several tee pads need upgrades, and the welcome board by the practice basket is a disaster. Favors the guy with the big arm. Inaccurate throws lead to loads of trouble with unforgiving rough. Fairway grass sometimes not cut. Pay to play. Some "next tee" signs would be helpful. Ticks all over the place- bring spray. Benches and bag poles would be welcomed.
Other Thoughts: Brandywine is loved by many for its topography; scenic views, elevation and beautiful rock walls are ever present. It will be disliked by those who favor technical courses or people who don't have big arms. The wind here can be absolutely brutal, and quite honestly can make for a rotten round. I didn't have much fun the day I played here but have nonetheless rated the course objectively and appreciate its challenges.

More than 30 years old, Brandywine still packs a punch but needs considerable attention. New signs are needed here and several tee pads have seams which can affect your stance and throw. In my opinion, before new courses like Iron Hill are tweaked, more attention to upgrades needs to be given to places like Lum's, Brandywine and Cape Henlopen- historic places that have been good to the sport. A trip to Brandywine is recommended, but prepare for a physically demanding and possibly frustrating afternoon.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lovely

5+    12/29/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Fantastic scenery. Lots of elevation. Nice challenge. Good signage and concrete tees. Navigation is fairly easy without a map. Some really fun and memorable holes with alot of opportunity to air it out.
Cons: Some tees in need of repair with some slight slopes and cracks. A little repetitive with the open shots. Park fee of $6 out of state between February and December. In the summer the rough is really brutal, and it can still be so in the spring, fall and winter, as well. The elevation can also be seen as a con due to some tough hikes, but it also provide, at least for this slacker, some well needed exercise.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course multiple times and it was one of my first few ever. In the beginning I hated this course due to some of the hole lengths, the elevation and the fact that most of the holes are completely open. However, as I have improved my game, I find these same aspects to be absolute pros. I recently played here in a little snowstorm and I have to say it was one of my favorite DG experiences of late. The elevation can be tough with some long walks and throws uphill, especially #5 "THe Beast", but it truly does add to the whole experience as well. The pin placements help to augment each hole's layout and some are just great including 4, 6, 9, 14 and 16. Great use of existing strucutres including the rock walls, the water, an old well and the barn. Being as the course is open and set up high in rolling hills, the wind can truly become an added challenge, but I enjoy the ability to learn my discs better while playing this course. Overall, Brandywine is a little older of a course for an area that boasts Iron Hill and Carousel, but I still very much enjoy its uniqueness and it holds up very well as its own experience. It provides a great chance to learn how to throw for distance as well as to break in new discs. It is a solid course with a good dose of individuality and lots of fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.