Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 285ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Open Fields, Tall Grass

1    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Ironman611
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Nice Scenery, Multiple Tee Shots
Cons: Narrow Fairways with tall grass on either side makes loosing discs easy
No variety to course, all open fields with tall grass
A lot of walking up and down hills far distances
Other Thoughts: Its like playing at a school football field, not much more fun

3 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Hilly course!

1    4/2/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All tees are concrete and were kept very clean. Each basket has a flag on it that makes it easier to see when going up hill. A very fun and challenging variety of terrain will make you use all your shots. Even though it may look like a "just huck it" course, it's definately not. Signs at every tee that map out the hole. Very nice stairs are put in where steep uhills exist, making the climbs a little easier on the legs. Hole 17 actually uses an old barn as an obstacle. Some of the greens are very fast and challenging. You're P&A game will be tested nicely. Practice basket next to the first tee is a nice added bonus. Course itself is kept very very clean. I didn't spot 1 peice of trash which shows that the locals really care about the course.
Cons: No Major Cons to speak of. The uphill walks could be tiring if you're not in really good shape. The tee sign maps aren't very detailed so finding the pin isn't always "super easy." Park goers often walking around the course can be annoying if they dont' realize whats going on. A couple holes were a little repetitive and boring.
Other Thoughts: The area that this course is in is amazing. Its very calm and peaceful. The "Local Pro" was there doing some fixing up to the course and he was very nice and made me feel welcome. Very old rock walls are really cool if you're into that kinda stuff. Grills and picnic tables near parking lot incase you want to have a bbq after you play. If you get to hole 15 (long downhill), and nobody is playing close behind you. There's a big rock right next to tee. Take some time and just sit and look around and you see beautiful countryside for miles. Very picturesque.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hilliest course around!

1    3/21/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
25 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was well kept and clean. The tee pads were all of concrete and in great condition (except hole 3). There is an amazing array of variations in shots on the front nine holes. Shots range from a shot in between two trees and along a stone wall (hole 1) to down a hill over a creek and around a wooded area (hole 4 nicknamed the Beauty) to a 666 ft. shot straight uphill (hole 5 nicknamed the Beast). It is not a very technical course and lets you just grip and rip most of the shots. Most of the holes, all except for one I think, has two sets of tees to shoot from. There are signs at the beginning of every hole and it clearly is marked for where each tee pad is and what basket you're shooting too. On the way to hole 1 there is a practice basket and a message board that has some valuable information; such as tournaments that are coming up and events like Tuesday doubles night. Some of the baskets are a little tricky as they are right on the edge of a hill so if you overshoot the basket you are running for your disc. On hole 16 you have to drive around a barn and shoot at a basket behind it. That hole was especially fun because we tried to see who could get closest to the barn without hitting it.
Cons: The cons are few and far between but there are a couple. Hole 3's tee pad is cracked in the middle and slanted down the hill. There is a worn out area behind it that most people tee off from. The course is very hilly and quite long so it might cause problems for those of us that aren't in the best shape. Also it probably isn't the best course for beginners (I shot a 90) and I have been playing for six months. The summer time fee is $5 and I hear that the park rangers are a huge pain in the ass (I went in the winter so I didn't have to pay the fee or deal with the rangers.) There also were some cross country runners that ran down the fairways and by the tee pads; this impeded some of our shots and made us wait until we had clear shots. The variety of holes after the front nine decreases and starts to become repetitive.
Other Thoughts: There is a whole other side to the park that you could easily add another nine holes and make a good course into a great course. I did not have to pay an entry fee as I went during the winter months, the rangers were not a problem as I didn't run into any; although I have heard they can be. The course was well worth my drive (2 hours) and I played nearby Anson Nixon Park. Bellevue is also an option at about five miles away. All in all a great park and course with courteous locals. Dogs are also allowed as long as they are leashed.

25 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 An old favorite

5+    9/29/2007   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great scenic vistas, and lots of wide open space make the flight of a disc pretty spectacular. Elevation comes into play on many holes, adding a nice control element to all the bombing going on.
Cons: Teepads are tough. Generally too short, or without adequate run up/approach lines. And I hate to say it, but the wide open nature of the course leaves it lacking in overall quality.
The park fees for DE State parks are pretty steep (at least $5), which wouldn't be that big a deal if the park staff was a little friendlier to the DG community.
Have witnessed a number of issues with the Park Staff being less than friendly or accomodating to disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has long been a favorite of mine, and I have seen and played it in several configurations over the course of 20 years. Played it in a hurricane, played it in howling 40-50mph winds, played it in still foggy mist. Always fun, with a few ultra classic holes. Maybe not worth a trip across the country, but definitely worth a detour if you're passing through the Mid Atlantic states.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Let em rip.

5+    1/23/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 249  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most beautiful course in northern Delaware, Brandywine is the perfect course for those who like to reach back and let em fly. Big holes, lots of open space and dramatic elevation changes. The course is set up with nice big concrete tee pads, quality baskets and nice signage. Since the course is so open finding you next tee is easy. While the course is very open, no one hole is a simple completely open shot to the basket. Use of tree lines, single trees elevation, water and old stone walls keeps things interesting. And speaking of interesting, Brandywine is almost always windy. Tees are from the highest elevation in Delaware and as such, the course is always windy, its just a question of how windy will it be. My favorite holes are 4, 12 and 14. Big beautiful down hill shots were you can just stand back and watch your disc soar. In contrast these are followed by big uphill holes, but its all good fun.
Cons: Um.. the wind. Occasionally its just too much and I feel the course is unplayable. Large cross-country meets are often held here and sometimes people will actually park their cars on the course. During the summer the rough gets thick so keep an eye on your discs.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the tri-state area. Also, be mindful of park rules. They're just doing they're jobs, but the park rangers can be real sticklers. Stop at all stop signs, no matter how ridiculous they seem. I've even heard stories of golfers getting kicked out just for having unopened containers of alcohol in their car.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/3/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: mmmatt
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has wonderful scenery, as well as a good challenge. This is the windiest course I've ever played at, making even the simplest putt into a need to focus. Add into that the uphill and downhill drives and the wind becomes even more of a factor. The course starts out basic with a straight shot along a stone wall that runs along the top of the ever-present hill. On number 4, it ramps up the difficulty with a long downhill shot where you must avoid the Brandywine Creek and various thorny patches. This hole is nicknamed Beauty and is an amazing hole to play.
Beauty is followed by Beast, which is the most difficult hole on the course. 666 ft (number of the beast) up a long, steep hill, ending with a choice of tight shots. The more direct shot on the right is between thick vines and a large tree, on the left a more open shot between the large tree and a line of trees on the left. It's a big risk/reward shot since the basket is on the right side of the green.
Hole 14 is what I would consider the big hole on the back 9. This is a downhill shot about 300 ft with the Brandywine creek behind the green. The catch is that the pin is completely sheltered from the front by a patch of trees that covers the basket 180 degrees. When I played the wind was blowing directly at the teepad, making a long accurate drive to lay up for a birdie that much harder.
Cons: After the front 9, the variety of holes feels like it decreases. The course resorts to down the hill, up the hill, down the hill, up the hill with few obstacles, with the exception being hole #14 as described above.
I'm not sure if there were bathrooms at the park, but I wish that there were some near the course. Given the openness of this course, there really isn't any place to hide if you really need to go.
Other Thoughts: I can see that this course could be overgrown off of the fairways in the summer. My buddy and I almost lost a few discs in the rough in the winter and I could imagine the trouble we would have had in the summer!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty and the Beast

5+    7/3/2001   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 128  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes with the opportunity to air it out (and watch your disc sail gracefully deep, deep into the schull!). Good variety of tee shots, beautiful setting with wonderful rolling hills and stone walls that put a nice twist on pin placement. Upside-down putt brutal in the wind.
Cons: Some blind shots, easy to lose discs if they have not cut the grass, entry fee, overzealous park rangers (true for many Delaware courses).
Other Thoughts: I made a mini-tour of my favorite MADC courses before I moved out West in 2001. Drove 100 miles to play Brandywind, and left wondering why I had not made that drive more often. I miss the Beauty (my scores range from 2-10).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Fn

2-4    12/25/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: branden14
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really had to focus on my driving for this course! The holes are really long and really push to see how far you can throw it!
I really like how they used the terrain.
Very structured course.
Cons: Throwing up those huge hills got pretty annoying! I kind of got tired of having to just throw as far as I possibly can each time!
Other Thoughts: I really liked playing this course; a lot different then other courses I have played!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a great day of golf

2-4    7/23/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: fbrookes
Played: 106  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.8 Years
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: this is the best course in the pa/nj/del area, in my opinion. very interesting placements, gret change in elevation, beautiful to look at
Cons: be prepared for a long walk, wind will mess with your shot bad

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Ty9339
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.7 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is one of the most challenging courses i've ever played. its one big elevation change after another. with some beautiful scenery. hole ones tee box has a really cool effect where you have to throw through two trees right out the gate. theres a very cool stretch from hole 4 to 6 the holes are nick named the beauty, the beast and the fatherless.
Cons: the winds is always a factor. you're on the side of a mountain. when we played there the wind was gusting at around 30 to 40 miles an hour. not a good course for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: i'd love to play this course with no wind

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.