Wilmington, DE
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 285ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 An old favorite

5+    9/29/2007   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 181  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.7 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great scenic vistas, and lots of wide open space make the flight of a disc pretty spectacular. Elevation comes into play on many holes, adding a nice control element to all the bombing going on.
Cons: Teepads are tough. Generally too short, or without adequate run up/approach lines. And I hate to say it, but the wide open nature of the course leaves it lacking in overall quality.
The park fees for DE State parks are pretty steep (at least $5), which wouldn't be that big a deal if the park staff was a little friendlier to the DG community.
Have witnessed a number of issues with the Park Staff being less than friendly or accomodating to disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has long been a favorite of mine, and I have seen and played it in several configurations over the course of 20 years. Played it in a hurricane, played it in howling 40-50mph winds, played it in still foggy mist. Always fun, with a few ultra classic holes. Maybe not worth a trip across the country, but definitely worth a detour if you're passing through the Mid Atlantic states.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Let em rip.

5+    1/23/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 237  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most beautiful course in northern Delaware, Brandywine is the perfect course for those who like to reach back and let em fly. Big holes, lots of open space and dramatic elevation changes. The course is set up with nice big concrete tee pads, quality baskets and nice signage. Since the course is so open finding you next tee is easy. While the course is very open, no one hole is a simple completely open shot to the basket. Use of tree lines, single trees elevation, water and old stone walls keeps things interesting. And speaking of interesting, Brandywine is almost always windy. Tees are from the highest elevation in Delaware and as such, the course is always windy, its just a question of how windy will it be. My favorite holes are 4, 12 and 14. Big beautiful down hill shots were you can just stand back and watch your disc soar. In contrast these are followed by big uphill holes, but its all good fun.
Cons: Um.. the wind. Occasionally its just too much and I feel the course is unplayable. Large cross-country meets are often held here and sometimes people will actually park their cars on the course. During the summer the rough gets thick so keep an eye on your discs.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the tri-state area. Also, be mindful of park rules. They're just doing they're jobs, but the park rangers can be real sticklers. Stop at all stop signs, no matter how ridiculous they seem. I've even heard stories of golfers getting kicked out just for having unopened containers of alcohol in their car.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/3/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: mmmatt
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has wonderful scenery, as well as a good challenge. This is the windiest course I've ever played at, making even the simplest putt into a need to focus. Add into that the uphill and downhill drives and the wind becomes even more of a factor. The course starts out basic with a straight shot along a stone wall that runs along the top of the ever-present hill. On number 4, it ramps up the difficulty with a long downhill shot where you must avoid the Brandywine Creek and various thorny patches. This hole is nicknamed Beauty and is an amazing hole to play.
Beauty is followed by Beast, which is the most difficult hole on the course. 666 ft (number of the beast) up a long, steep hill, ending with a choice of tight shots. The more direct shot on the right is between thick vines and a large tree, on the left a more open shot between the large tree and a line of trees on the left. It's a big risk/reward shot since the basket is on the right side of the green.
Hole 14 is what I would consider the big hole on the back 9. This is a downhill shot about 300 ft with the Brandywine creek behind the green. The catch is that the pin is completely sheltered from the front by a patch of trees that covers the basket 180 degrees. When I played the wind was blowing directly at the teepad, making a long accurate drive to lay up for a birdie that much harder.
Cons: After the front 9, the variety of holes feels like it decreases. The course resorts to down the hill, up the hill, down the hill, up the hill with few obstacles, with the exception being hole #14 as described above.
I'm not sure if there were bathrooms at the park, but I wish that there were some near the course. Given the openness of this course, there really isn't any place to hide if you really need to go.
Other Thoughts: I can see that this course could be overgrown off of the fairways in the summer. My buddy and I almost lost a few discs in the rough in the winter and I could imagine the trouble we would have had in the summer!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty and the Beast

5+    7/3/2001   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 111  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes with the opportunity to air it out (and watch your disc sail gracefully deep, deep into the schull!). Good variety of tee shots, beautiful setting with wonderful rolling hills and stone walls that put a nice twist on pin placement. Upside-down putt brutal in the wind.
Cons: Some blind shots, easy to lose discs if they have not cut the grass, entry fee, overzealous park rangers (true for many Delaware courses).
Other Thoughts: I made a mini-tour of my favorite MADC courses before I moved out West in 2001. Drove 100 miles to play Brandywind, and left wondering why I had not made that drive more often. I miss the Beauty (my scores range from 2-10).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Fn

2-4    12/25/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: branden14
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really had to focus on my driving for this course! The holes are really long and really push to see how far you can throw it!
I really like how they used the terrain.
Very structured course.
Cons: Throwing up those huge hills got pretty annoying! I kind of got tired of having to just throw as far as I possibly can each time!
Other Thoughts: I really liked playing this course; a lot different then other courses I have played!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a great day of golf

2-4    7/23/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: fbrookes
Played: 103  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: this is the best course in the pa/nj/del area, in my opinion. very interesting placements, gret change in elevation, beautiful to look at
Cons: be prepared for a long walk, wind will mess with your shot bad

0 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 

7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Ty9339
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is one of the most challenging courses i've ever played. its one big elevation change after another. with some beautiful scenery. hole ones tee box has a really cool effect where you have to throw through two trees right out the gate. theres a very cool stretch from hole 4 to 6 the holes are nick named the beauty, the beast and the fatherless.
Cons: the winds is always a factor. you're on the side of a mountain. when we played there the wind was gusting at around 30 to 40 miles an hour. not a good course for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: i'd love to play this course with no wind

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and wide open

2-4    4/5/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and not much trouble to get into, so it's a good test of your arm strength. Beautiful stone walls and elevation come into play often and provide different challenges than most Pennsylvania/northeast courses. Wind and water also come into play.
Cons: Not for beginners as the holes are fairly long. No tight wooded holes, so it can start to seem repetitive ("chuck it as far as you can"). Fairways are poorly groomed during the summer, if at all... lost my first disc ever at "beast" on the blind drive.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you get good directions...this place can be tough to find. Consider a trip in the winter when there's no park fee and the fairways are not overgrown.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Long, hilly and windy. On a non Windy day (if there is such a thing) you can enjoy a frustration free round. Add in the wind and its not a walk in the park. Long positions played tough, but fair.
Cons: Cost is semi-steep for non-Deleware residents to enter the park.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATED-- Awe inspiring beauty-- one of my Top 10 favorite courses!

1    8/2/2004   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2009
20 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My Rating: 9.5 (out of 10)

Wow! This course is on some astoundingly beautiful land! There are rolling hills, old trees, green fields, a creek, and scenic countryside everywhere you can see. The beauty engulfs you! There are also scenic stone walls that come into play. One hole plays near a farm house and barn, too. Although it's more open than I typically prefer, this is one of my top 10 favorite courses!
-There are fantastic elevation changes! One of the most memorable aspects of this course is that there's either a drop or rise on every hole with 10 holes having a change of 25 ft. or more. The signature holes 4 & 5, Beauty and the Beast, are the longest on the course. Beauty (hole 4 and 518 ft) has a 40 ft elevation drop then the Beast (hole 5 and 666 ft.) has an elevation gain of +45 ft. to a protected basket!
-There are 2 sets of tees on 17 holes.
-Some baskets are tucked into the woods or precariously perched on the edges of hills to add to your thrill at shot making.
-All the Basics are there: great tee signs with maps, ample concrete tees, good Mach V baskets.
-They have a great amenity to mark the current basket layout that I wish more courses would adopt. They use an ingenious, yet simple, system with a ring around the tee sign pole to show the current basket position.
-Good Amenities: there's a practice basket and a message board. Restrooms and water available at the park office
Cons: Not much at all…
-Being so open, there are a few too many straight holes. The layout I played was to the mixed A & B basket positions and it had 10 Straight/ 5 Left/ 3 Right.
-Pay to play. $5 for out of state.
-Because it's so open I hear that it can be hot in the summer and it doesn't have much shade.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

You be the judge-

My favorite hole: 16. You drive toward the farm house and barn with stately old trees and luscious green grass.

-The land is rather open without too many obstacles so you can really air it out, especially on the downhill shots. If you like tight, wooded holes you won't find them here, though.
-Since the course is located at the highest point in Delaware strong winds can be a factor. I think this just adds to the challenge.
-The holes tend to be long. The mixed layout I played had 5< 299/ 5 of 300-399/ 6 of 400-499/ 1>500/ 1 of 666. Newer players and shorter throwers may find it daunting.
-On a few back nine holes if you go off the mowed fairway you may have trouble finding your disc in the high rough.

I played at sundown and it was simply fantastic! This course is well worth making a trip to play. If you're anywhere in the area don't miss it!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

20 of 24 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.