Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #10
3 / 510ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Be prepered for the killer B's!

1    3/27/2009   5/28/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 156  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not many courses around like this one. Dramatic elevation comes into play on practically every hole. Spectacular Vistas. Nice concrete tees are holding up pretty well after all these years.Huge stone wall comes into play on 1/3 of holes. Ego boosting off the hill throws on Holes 4,11,12,and14 will remain in your mind as well as Ego crushing climbs uphill on Holes 5,13,15 and 18. The beauty, the beast, the bastard, the barn, so many fun holes here. I really enjoyed the Bastard (hole 6) Its a downhill to a protected basket with a very fast green that encourages you to miss and roll down a slope where you have plenty of trees to negotiate back uphill to the pin. You could get a 2 or a 6 on this hole. Hole 9 shoots over the wall and into the woods behind it depending on pin position. Hole 14 is a delightful hole and really tests your ability, can you really hyzer around that tree line down there or should you lay up and play it safe to avoid being on the wrong side of those huge Delaware trees. Let's not forget the wind here. When it blows straight in your face, you can pull out your fastest most stable driver and throw it straight into the gusts and watch it miraculously flip over or hold a line without fading at all. When the winds at your back throw your understables straighter and further than you ever thought possible. So much fun playing the wind here! Can you putt in the wind? Makes for very interesting rounds for competition amongst friends or a tournament because with the score separations on the hillsides and the wind anything can happen and often does. I agree with the prior reviewer who encouraged you to just stop and take in the 360 degree views of this plae...It really is an amazing piece of property for disc golf.
Cons: The tee pad on hole 3 is really hurting, be careful. The thorns and high grass off the fairway on some of these holes look like they could really spoil a good time. Hole 17 is the only let down hole on the course....just a mando around a tree to a short basket. 18 is a gradual rise uphill overall an Anti-climactic way to end a spectacular day. Stream could come into play a bit more, rather than just lurking in the background I would like to throw over it etc. to add more beauty and challenge. I also think the woods around hole 11 were begging to be used as well. Maybe just one or two woods holes to even out the big air experience here.
Other Thoughts: The beauty, beast, bastard and barn...seems theres room for a bitch, a babe, a bunker and a bye bye birdie on this beautiful Brandywine course. Best played in the late fall, winter or early spring to avoid nasty high grass, hot sun and evil shule as well as the $6 park fee. If your sick of trees after playing Iron Hill come here and play the great wide open. I cannot fathom a more amazing and challenging day of disc golf with two equally distinct courses only 20 minutes apart from one another. You get the hardest wooded course ever created at Iron Hill and the perhaps the wildest wind course ever at Brandywine....a day few will ever forget!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 long, open and hilly

5+    5/23/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 328  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This courses lets you "air it out" on almost every hole, it is long, open and very hilly. You can play a whole round here and not hit a tree on your tee shot if you are playing well.

Great use of the elevation changes, I like this on open or wooded courses. Flags on top of the baskets are a nice touch and are important due to the almost constant wind here.

This course is VERY scenic with beautiful views from some of the highest points in Delaware and stone walls built along the rolling hills. It is also very clean, I didn't see any litter!

Holes 4 & 5 are aply named "Beauty and Beast"
Cons: The park fee for a non-Delaware car is $6.

The wind can be a huge factor.

A few uneven cement tees can be dangerous, be careful especially on 3 and 4.

Walking up and down the hills here can be very taxing if you are not in good shape. It would be nice to have benches
near some of the tees.
Other Thoughts: If the grass in the park has been cut; great. If not, the rough can be brutal with tall grass and thorns making it easy to loose a disc. This can be a huge FUN factor in playing the course or not.

Other reviewers mention multiple tees but I saw none of them on 5/23/09. If there are alternative tees, they must not be cement or used only during tournaments.

The park rangers can be a hassle in all Delaware parks, be careful. I saw no park staff on an early Saturday morning though The park fee was on the honor system.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: lennyb6
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: If you are looking for a good walk, you've found it. Most of the holes are long and wide open. The Beast is 666 ft - huge uphill climb. Nice day out in the sun.
Cons: Rough can make for a nice long disc search especially on some of the blind uphills.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Open Fields, Tall Grass

1    5/11/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Ironman611
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: Nice Scenery, Multiple Tee Shots
Cons: Narrow Fairways with tall grass on either side makes loosing discs easy
No variety to course, all open fields with tall grass
A lot of walking up and down hills far distances
Other Thoughts: Its like playing at a school football field, not much more fun

3 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Hilly course!

1    4/2/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: LeftyToss
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All tees are concrete and were kept very clean. Each basket has a flag on it that makes it easier to see when going up hill. A very fun and challenging variety of terrain will make you use all your shots. Even though it may look like a "just huck it" course, it's definately not. Signs at every tee that map out the hole. Very nice stairs are put in where steep uhills exist, making the climbs a little easier on the legs. Hole 17 actually uses an old barn as an obstacle. Some of the greens are very fast and challenging. You're P&A game will be tested nicely. Practice basket next to the first tee is a nice added bonus. Course itself is kept very very clean. I didn't spot 1 peice of trash which shows that the locals really care about the course.
Cons: No Major Cons to speak of. The uphill walks could be tiring if you're not in really good shape. The tee sign maps aren't very detailed so finding the pin isn't always "super easy." Park goers often walking around the course can be annoying if they dont' realize whats going on. A couple holes were a little repetitive and boring.
Other Thoughts: The area that this course is in is amazing. Its very calm and peaceful. The "Local Pro" was there doing some fixing up to the course and he was very nice and made me feel welcome. Very old rock walls are really cool if you're into that kinda stuff. Grills and picnic tables near parking lot incase you want to have a bbq after you play. If you get to hole 15 (long downhill), and nobody is playing close behind you. There's a big rock right next to tee. Take some time and just sit and look around and you see beautiful countryside for miles. Very picturesque.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hilliest course around!

1    3/21/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/31/2010
25 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was well kept and clean. The tee pads were all of concrete and in great condition (except hole 3). There is an amazing array of variations in shots on the front nine holes. Shots range from a shot in between two trees and along a stone wall (hole 1) to down a hill over a creek and around a wooded area (hole 4 nicknamed the Beauty) to a 666 ft. shot straight uphill (hole 5 nicknamed the Beast). It is not a very technical course and lets you just grip and rip most of the shots. Most of the holes, all except for one I think, has two sets of tees to shoot from. There are signs at the beginning of every hole and it clearly is marked for where each tee pad is and what basket you're shooting too. On the way to hole 1 there is a practice basket and a message board that has some valuable information; such as tournaments that are coming up and events like Tuesday doubles night. Some of the baskets are a little tricky as they are right on the edge of a hill so if you overshoot the basket you are running for your disc. On hole 16 you have to drive around a barn and shoot at a basket behind it. That hole was especially fun because we tried to see who could get closest to the barn without hitting it.
Cons: The cons are few and far between but there are a couple. Hole 3's tee pad is cracked in the middle and slanted down the hill. There is a worn out area behind it that most people tee off from. The course is very hilly and quite long so it might cause problems for those of us that aren't in the best shape. Also it probably isn't the best course for beginners (I shot a 90) and I have been playing for six months. The summer time fee is $5 and I hear that the park rangers are a huge pain in the ass (I went in the winter so I didn't have to pay the fee or deal with the rangers.) There also were some cross country runners that ran down the fairways and by the tee pads; this impeded some of our shots and made us wait until we had clear shots. The variety of holes after the front nine decreases and starts to become repetitive.
Other Thoughts: There is a whole other side to the park that you could easily add another nine holes and make a good course into a great course. I did not have to pay an entry fee as I went during the winter months, the rangers were not a problem as I didn't run into any; although I have heard they can be. The course was well worth my drive (2 hours) and I played nearby Anson Nixon Park. Bellevue is also an option at about five miles away. All in all a great park and course with courteous locals. Dogs are also allowed as long as they are leashed.

25 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 An old favorite

5+    9/29/2007   1/29/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 186  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 34.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great scenic vistas, and lots of wide open space make the flight of a disc pretty spectacular. Elevation comes into play on many holes, adding a nice control element to all the bombing going on.
Cons: Teepads are tough. Generally too short, or without adequate run up/approach lines. And I hate to say it, but the wide open nature of the course leaves it lacking in overall quality.
The park fees for DE State parks are pretty steep (at least $5), which wouldn't be that big a deal if the park staff was a little friendlier to the DG community.
Have witnessed a number of issues with the Park Staff being less than friendly or accomodating to disc golfers.
Other Thoughts: This course has long been a favorite of mine, and I have seen and played it in several configurations over the course of 20 years. Played it in a hurricane, played it in howling 40-50mph winds, played it in still foggy mist. Always fun, with a few ultra classic holes. Maybe not worth a trip across the country, but definitely worth a detour if you're passing through the Mid Atlantic states.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Let em rip.

5+    1/23/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 267  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 10.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most beautiful course in northern Delaware, Brandywine is the perfect course for those who like to reach back and let em fly. Big holes, lots of open space and dramatic elevation changes. The course is set up with nice big concrete tee pads, quality baskets and nice signage. Since the course is so open finding you next tee is easy. While the course is very open, no one hole is a simple completely open shot to the basket. Use of tree lines, single trees elevation, water and old stone walls keeps things interesting. And speaking of interesting, Brandywine is almost always windy. Tees are from the highest elevation in Delaware and as such, the course is always windy, its just a question of how windy will it be. My favorite holes are 4, 12 and 14. Big beautiful down hill shots were you can just stand back and watch your disc soar. In contrast these are followed by big uphill holes, but its all good fun.
Cons: Um.. the wind. Occasionally its just too much and I feel the course is unplayable. Large cross-country meets are often held here and sometimes people will actually park their cars on the course. During the summer the rough gets thick so keep an eye on your discs.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the tri-state area. Also, be mindful of park rules. They're just doing they're jobs, but the park rangers can be real sticklers. Stop at all stop signs, no matter how ridiculous they seem. I've even heard stories of golfers getting kicked out just for having unopened containers of alcohol in their car.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    1/3/2009   1/4/2009
Review By: mmmatt
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has wonderful scenery, as well as a good challenge. This is the windiest course I've ever played at, making even the simplest putt into a need to focus. Add into that the uphill and downhill drives and the wind becomes even more of a factor. The course starts out basic with a straight shot along a stone wall that runs along the top of the ever-present hill. On number 4, it ramps up the difficulty with a long downhill shot where you must avoid the Brandywine Creek and various thorny patches. This hole is nicknamed Beauty and is an amazing hole to play.
Beauty is followed by Beast, which is the most difficult hole on the course. 666 ft (number of the beast) up a long, steep hill, ending with a choice of tight shots. The more direct shot on the right is between thick vines and a large tree, on the left a more open shot between the large tree and a line of trees on the left. It's a big risk/reward shot since the basket is on the right side of the green.
Hole 14 is what I would consider the big hole on the back 9. This is a downhill shot about 300 ft with the Brandywine creek behind the green. The catch is that the pin is completely sheltered from the front by a patch of trees that covers the basket 180 degrees. When I played the wind was blowing directly at the teepad, making a long accurate drive to lay up for a birdie that much harder.
Cons: After the front 9, the variety of holes feels like it decreases. The course resorts to down the hill, up the hill, down the hill, up the hill with few obstacles, with the exception being hole #14 as described above.
I'm not sure if there were bathrooms at the park, but I wish that there were some near the course. Given the openness of this course, there really isn't any place to hide if you really need to go.
Other Thoughts: I can see that this course could be overgrown off of the fairways in the summer. My buddy and I almost lost a few discs in the rough in the winter and I could imagine the trouble we would have had in the summer!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Beauty and the Beast

5+    7/3/2001   1/3/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 36.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes with the opportunity to air it out (and watch your disc sail gracefully deep, deep into the schull!). Good variety of tee shots, beautiful setting with wonderful rolling hills and stone walls that put a nice twist on pin placement. Upside-down putt brutal in the wind.
Cons: Some blind shots, easy to lose discs if they have not cut the grass, entry fee, overzealous park rangers (true for many Delaware courses).
Other Thoughts: I made a mini-tour of my favorite MADC courses before I moved out West in 2001. Drove 100 miles to play Brandywind, and left wondering why I had not made that drive more often. I miss the Beauty (my scores range from 2-10).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.