Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 387ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Fun and wide open

2-4    4/5/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and not much trouble to get into, so it's a good test of your arm strength. Beautiful stone walls and elevation come into play often and provide different challenges than most Pennsylvania/northeast courses. Wind and water also come into play.
Cons: Not for beginners as the holes are fairly long. No tight wooded holes, so it can start to seem repetitive ("chuck it as far as you can"). Fairways are poorly groomed during the summer, if at all... lost my first disc ever at "beast" on the blind drive.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you get good directions...this place can be tough to find. Consider a trip in the winter when there's no park fee and the fairways are not overgrown.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Long, hilly and windy. On a non Windy day (if there is such a thing) you can enjoy a frustration free round. Add in the wind and its not a walk in the park. Long positions played tough, but fair.
Cons: Cost is semi-steep for non-Deleware residents to enter the park.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATED-- Awe inspiring beauty-- one of my Top 10 favorite courses!

1    8/2/2004   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2009
20 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My Rating: 9.5 (out of 10)

Wow! This course is on some astoundingly beautiful land! There are rolling hills, old trees, green fields, a creek, and scenic countryside everywhere you can see. The beauty engulfs you! There are also scenic stone walls that come into play. One hole plays near a farm house and barn, too. Although it's more open than I typically prefer, this is one of my top 10 favorite courses!
-There are fantastic elevation changes! One of the most memorable aspects of this course is that there's either a drop or rise on every hole with 10 holes having a change of 25 ft. or more. The signature holes 4 & 5, Beauty and the Beast, are the longest on the course. Beauty (hole 4 and 518 ft) has a 40 ft elevation drop then the Beast (hole 5 and 666 ft.) has an elevation gain of +45 ft. to a protected basket!
-There are 2 sets of tees on 17 holes.
-Some baskets are tucked into the woods or precariously perched on the edges of hills to add to your thrill at shot making.
-All the Basics are there: great tee signs with maps, ample concrete tees, good Mach V baskets.
-They have a great amenity to mark the current basket layout that I wish more courses would adopt. They use an ingenious, yet simple, system with a ring around the tee sign pole to show the current basket position.
-Good Amenities: there's a practice basket and a message board. Restrooms and water available at the park office
Cons: Not much at all…
-Being so open, there are a few too many straight holes. The layout I played was to the mixed A & B basket positions and it had 10 Straight/ 5 Left/ 3 Right.
-Pay to play. $5 for out of state.
-Because it's so open I hear that it can be hot in the summer and it doesn't have much shade.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

You be the judge-

My favorite hole: 16. You drive toward the farm house and barn with stately old trees and luscious green grass.

-The land is rather open without too many obstacles so you can really air it out, especially on the downhill shots. If you like tight, wooded holes you won't find them here, though.
-Since the course is located at the highest point in Delaware strong winds can be a factor. I think this just adds to the challenge.
-The holes tend to be long. The mixed layout I played had 5< 299/ 5 of 300-399/ 6 of 400-499/ 1>500/ 1 of 666. Newer players and shorter throwers may find it daunting.
-On a few back nine holes if you go off the mowed fairway you may have trouble finding your disc in the high rough.

I played at sundown and it was simply fantastic! This course is well worth making a trip to play. If you're anywhere in the area don't miss it!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

6/12/2007   6/12/2007
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/29/2008
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Course is wide open with few trees. Beautiful scenery in the surrounding countryside.
Cons: A bit hilly, so it gives you a good workout! Bathrooms are far away.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Brandywine

5/19/2007   6/12/2007
Review By: Obiwankaneobi
Played: 144  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 23.4 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course where wind and hills offer the challange not trees. Alternate pins and concrete pads with good signs. Fun to play and watch giant airshots.
Cons: Fees, no benches, water and bathroom are far away and the rough is often out of control. The course is dated wihtout much changes since the early 1990s. Once the standard is now more like average.
Other Thoughts: Would be great if the park would embrace disc golf and let the course expand and improve.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Best DE course!

2-4    4/28/2007   5/29/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2008
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Brandywine is a beast, with considerably long fairways and man, this course has elevation. Signature numbers 4 and 5 play very tough with penalties for staying off the fairway.
Cons: Delaware State Parks charge fees, and this is a shame to live near there, discover the gems of courses, and have to pay to enter. Only con about this place.
Other Thoughts: More would play this course if you didn't have to pay the entry fee. Fees only apply 3/1-11/30

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.