Wilmington, DE 
Brandywine Creek State Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #1
3 / 387ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket: As seen from left side of fairway. Tee #2 in foreground.

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Pretty Fn

2-4    12/25/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: branden14
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I really had to focus on my driving for this course! The holes are really long and really push to see how far you can throw it!
I really like how they used the terrain.
Very structured course.
Cons: Throwing up those huge hills got pretty annoying! I kind of got tired of having to just throw as far as I possibly can each time!
Other Thoughts: I really liked playing this course; a lot different then other courses I have played!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 a great day of golf

2-4    7/23/2008   8/14/2008
Review By: fbrookes
Played: 108  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.8 Years
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: this is the best course in the pa/nj/del area, in my opinion. very interesting placements, gret change in elevation, beautiful to look at
Cons: be prepared for a long walk, wind will mess with your shot bad

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.


7/17/2008   7/17/2008
Review By: Ty9339
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this is one of the most challenging courses i've ever played. its one big elevation change after another. with some beautiful scenery. hole ones tee box has a really cool effect where you have to throw through two trees right out the gate. theres a very cool stretch from hole 4 to 6 the holes are nick named the beauty, the beast and the fatherless.
Cons: the winds is always a factor. you're on the side of a mountain. when we played there the wind was gusting at around 30 to 40 miles an hour. not a good course for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: i'd love to play this course with no wind

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and wide open

2-4    4/5/2008   4/29/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 50  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2008
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and not much trouble to get into, so it's a good test of your arm strength. Beautiful stone walls and elevation come into play often and provide different challenges than most Pennsylvania/northeast courses. Wind and water also come into play.
Cons: Not for beginners as the holes are fairly long. No tight wooded holes, so it can start to seem repetitive ("chuck it as far as you can"). Fairways are poorly groomed during the summer, if at all... lost my first disc ever at "beast" on the blind drive.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you get good directions...this place can be tough to find. Consider a trip in the winter when there's no park fee and the fairways are not overgrown.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Long, hilly and windy. On a non Windy day (if there is such a thing) you can enjoy a frustration free round. Add in the wind and its not a walk in the park. Long positions played tough, but fair.
Cons: Cost is semi-steep for non-Deleware residents to enter the park.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 UPDATED-- Awe inspiring beauty-- one of my Top 10 favorite courses!

1    8/2/2004   8/2/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 340  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 36.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/14/2009
20 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: My Rating: 9.5 (out of 10)

Wow! This course is on some astoundingly beautiful land! There are rolling hills, old trees, green fields, a creek, and scenic countryside everywhere you can see. The beauty engulfs you! There are also scenic stone walls that come into play. One hole plays near a farm house and barn, too. Although it's more open than I typically prefer, this is one of my top 10 favorite courses!
-There are fantastic elevation changes! One of the most memorable aspects of this course is that there's either a drop or rise on every hole with 10 holes having a change of 25 ft. or more. The signature holes 4 & 5, Beauty and the Beast, are the longest on the course. Beauty (hole 4 and 518 ft) has a 40 ft elevation drop then the Beast (hole 5 and 666 ft.) has an elevation gain of +45 ft. to a protected basket!
-There are 2 sets of tees on 17 holes.
-Some baskets are tucked into the woods or precariously perched on the edges of hills to add to your thrill at shot making.
-All the Basics are there: great tee signs with maps, ample concrete tees, good Mach V baskets.
-They have a great amenity to mark the current basket layout that I wish more courses would adopt. They use an ingenious, yet simple, system with a ring around the tee sign pole to show the current basket position.
-Good Amenities: there's a practice basket and a message board. Restrooms and water available at the park office
Cons: Not much at all...
-Being so open, there are a few too many straight holes. The layout I played was to the mixed A & B basket positions and it had 10 Straight/ 5 Left/ 3 Right.
-Pay to play. $5 for out of state.
-Because it's so open I hear that it can be hot in the summer and it doesn't have much shade.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)

You be the judge-

My favorite hole: 16. You drive toward the farm house and barn with stately old trees and luscious green grass.

-The land is rather open without too many obstacles so you can really air it out, especially on the downhill shots. If you like tight, wooded holes you won't find them here, though.
-Since the course is located at the highest point in Delaware strong winds can be a factor. I think this just adds to the challenge.
-The holes tend to be long. The mixed layout I played had 5< 299/ 5 of 300-399/ 6 of 400-499/ 1>500/ 1 of 666. Newer players and shorter throwers may find it daunting.
-On a few back nine holes if you go off the mowed fairway you may have trouble finding your disc in the high rough.

I played at sundown and it was simply fantastic! This course is well worth making a trip to play. If you're anywhere in the area don't miss it!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews, http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

6/12/2007   6/12/2007
Review By: CraigC
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/29/2008
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Course is wide open with few trees. Beautiful scenery in the surrounding countryside.
Cons: A bit hilly, so it gives you a good workout! Bathrooms are far away.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.


5/19/2007   6/12/2007
Review By: Obiwankaneobi
Played: 144  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course where wind and hills offer the challange not trees. Alternate pins and concrete pads with good signs. Fun to play and watch giant airshots.
Cons: Fees, no benches, water and bathroom are far away and the rough is often out of control. The course is dated wihtout much changes since the early 1990s. Once the standard is now more like average.
Other Thoughts: Would be great if the park would embrace disc golf and let the course expand and improve.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Brandywind (no, not a typo)

2-4    10/20/2015   5/29/2007
Review By: adlacro
Played: 79  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2015
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you're looking for a place to crush drives hundreds of feet, then look no further than this wide open course in northern Delaware. It's an 18 hole course with baskets that are still in pretty good shape, they show a little age but are still really usable. Some holes will offer birdies opportunities to those who can accurately drive a couple hundred feet, and there are some longer holes with a precarious basket location or use one of the stone walls. Now while the course mostly is really open, there are some trees, and by all means you need to avoid them. Locally known for the 3 B's. 4 (the beauty) is a super downhill par 3 that will cross the creek, which has trees on both sides. A well placed drive will net you an easy three, but danger lurks all down the right hand side and also if you leave it short left. 5 (the beast) is a nasty uphill 675' shot that plays more like 800. The treeline comes into play on your last approach shot. 6 (another b-word) has a right turn to a pin location that if you go long, is an absolute drop-off.
Cons: Only one tee and basket at each hole (but they switch the pin location from time to time). The wind will be a major factor. Disc control and selection will be even more crucial. While the long grass was cut really short this trip, I have played where off the fairway it was really easy to lose discs. I highly recommend a spotter. Some of the concrete tees are not completely smooth, so watch your run-up.
Other Thoughts: Nominal fee to park (honor system at times). The course has a pretty good mix of uphill and downhill holes, and it is one of my favorites. While no means a destination course, if you are nearby playing some other courses (say Iron Hill for one) and want something different, come play Brandywine. It will definitely teach you how to throw in wind.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.