Green Bay, WI 
Perkins Park Share
Uploaded By: Dread-and-Alive Hole #5 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 284ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Quaint and overall Enjoyable

1    6/26/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: ledH3ad
Played: 33  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 2 tee boxes provide additional variety and allow a player to create there own 9/18 hole course
- Lightly wooded provides some moderate challenge on this flat terrain
- A few longer holes provided some opportunities to let let loose on this primarily short/med course.
Cons: - The set up plays as an 18 hole course that shares a basket between the front and back 9. As long as there isn't too much foot traffic, you won't run into too much congestion at the pins
- I hope there is a plan for some concrete tee pads (this will really help identify tees and save the ground around them)
- signage could be better. this being the first time playing this course, I didn't find it easy to navigate, and I even had a map with me!
- The layout actually has you back tracking a little, nothing major, but the course in the middle comes to a point, and the players have to walk back down the fairway of 6 to get to hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Decent course through a nice park. Will play again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Contrast to other GB course.

1    5/28/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Dual tees on this course. They are completely different lines and holes so they were able to create 18 different holes by altering the lines and only needing 9 baskets. This is different than many courses which make short and long tees but don't alter the hole much except adding distance. These tees are marked by Red and Blue posts
2) Nice signs with Hole #, distance, Par and an average map of each hole.
3) There is a nice course map showing the entire course.
4) There is a nice variety of shot shaping needed on this course especially if you end up playing all 18 holes. You will need to throw a lot of different shots.
5) Decent distance variation with holes from 100's to 400's. I would have liked to see the standard deviation to be more, but with a couple in the 400's a few in the 300's most in the 200's and 1 in the 100's that is pretty decent.
6) This is definitely a beginner friendly course because the fairways are forgiving even though there are trees on every hole.
7) Mowed wall to wall in the fairways, and mulched/leaf debris underneath the mature trees, so losing a disc would be tough, although I had one disc fall out of a tree while I was throwing my upshot . . . I guess the wind knocked it out. I have never seen a Pro Beast before now!
8) Next tee directionals help guide you through the course, which can be confusing with the red and blue tees being separated by such a big distance sometimes.
9) Many holes have options for throwing, I do like to have some shots defined as only one option, but it is nice to be able to throw your favorite shot to try and execute.
10) Nice new baskets.
Cons: 1) I am not sure if the coloring of the holes is supposed to indicate long versus short, but some of the short tees were blue, which seemed weird. I guess I would rather have seem all the blues play harder and/or longer, and all the reds would be easier and shorter. This would make sense for playing an appropriate 9 for your ability. I guess as it is set up now it doesn't discourage people from playing any holes. I guess I just wish it was consistent.
2) One of the directionals was incorrect, while one of the tees was forward the other was about 200' in the opposite direction. It was confusing to say the least, especially for me trying to play both sets of tees simultaneously.
3) Some minor elevation changes on a couple of holes, but the majority are fairly flat. On this course with low branches and lots of trees, it is less noticeable than on a more open course.
4) Grass/dirt tees are always a negative. I just like a consistent surface in place for the tee shots.
5) I do believe that they could definitely get 18 holes in this park with a better routing and 9 more baskets. There is a lot of wasted space with the current setup because of needing to keep tees away from one another. If they only have $ for the 9 baskets, I can understand why they did what they did, but the alternative would be better in my mind with 18 tees and 18 baskets.
6) I didn't see any facilities but I would guess there might be something over by the ball fields, but that is fairly removed from the disc golf course.
7) This course lacks natural beauty, while the mature trees are majestic and tall, they are somewhat messy looking and unmaintained. Many of the trees could use a proper thinning and also a raising of the lower branches.
Other Thoughts: While this course isn't the prettiest, it isn't the most challenging, it isn't the funnest, it still has some redeeming values. I could see this being a perfect recreational course for people, specifically the one disc wonders and casual players. It doesn't present enough challenge or provide any majestic holes for the tournament level players, but it does a good job in attracting families and beginners in my opinion. There is a place for a course like this and it fits the need in the Green Bay area in contract to Pamperin, Triangle, and Pinecrest. Each has their own values.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/10/2011   9/22/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Perkins park has lots of mature trees with no underbrush. There are two sets of tees and nine baskets. The course is set up so the alternate pads play like a different hole rather than simply long or short pads. To me this makes it feels a lot more like an 18 hole course with 18 different holes than the majority of 9 holers I've played. The natural tees are well marked by red and blue 4x4's standing up with tee signs on them. There are also next tee signs by each basket so navigation is relatively easy except in one place.

The course has a great balance of hole lengths. More than half the course is in the 225-280ft range, but there's a few over 300 and a couple over 400. I was happy to see it had a good shot variety with some RHBH turnovers and some of the holes have multiple routes through the trees.
Cons: We had a tough time finding 13's tee pad. Instead of following the next tee arrow towards 4 & 13, walk the opposite direction and you'll find 13's tee on the right side of hole 4's fairway behind some trees.

On hole 13 there wasn't much of a route to the basket so poke and hope. Thankfully this was the only hole where I encountered a fairway that relies on luck.

Hole 15 is an out and back hole.

The course is flat and has natural tee pads. The tee area is in good shape and I didn't notice any root in the way so they didn't bother me at all.

With as much space as they have in the park, it's a shame this isn't a full 18 hole course.
Other Thoughts: While there isn't one hole that stands out as the signature hole, I feel like the course is fairly solid and uses the land fairly well.

Overall this seems like a nice intermediate level course that anyone can play and have fun at. It's not incredibly challenging, but it does take a skilled shot to navigate the trees and get your birdie.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 If DG Was a Restaurant, This Would Be Perkins

2-4    3/13/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 92  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 16.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. While overall pretty bland, there is a good mix of tee shot types required (upshots will be pretty standard given the sparsity of trees and obstacles). As a RHBH player, there were several holes that demanded anhyzers of varying distances from me, as well as hyzers and some where a straight-on shot is your best option. Hole #1 is a cool opener, requiring a RHBH anny and presenting the only significant elevation change on the course. Holes #4 and #14 both play over 400' and let you rip a good drive. The hole lengths vary from 168' to 426', with most falling in the 225'-300' range.
2. Signage. There are descriptive and colorful tee signs at each hole (blue for the "Front 9," red for the "Back 9"). The tees are marked with large colored 4 x 4 posts that are easy to find, and the dual colors help since this is a 9-basket course with 18 tees (not just alternate tees for each hole; the different tees attempt to change things up as best as possible).
3. Navigation. "Next Tee" signs are abundant, but can be slightly confusing since there is only 1 sign after each basket (that is, with only 9 baskets and 18 tees, the signs will indicate something like 3 and 12 --->, but the respective tees won't necessarily be in that EXACT direction; just look for the colored posts). As I started the Back 9, I ran into a local (Chris, who also had some helpful insights into the course design, restrictions on the layout, and plans for future layouts), which helped a lot in navigating the final holes, but it wouldn't have been too much of an issue without a local.
4. Baskets. Nice new baskets that catch well and haven't been vandalized.
Cons: 1. Bland. Most of the holes (despite the lightly wooded location) just have zero "wow" factor and could benefit from some tweaking in the final pin positions (I understand that permanent locations will be finalized at a later date, so there's hope that some more challenging pin placements can be put in). Granted, most of the blandness comes from the terrain itself---it's just completely flat, and even with abundant trees you can't really visualize a top-notch course existing in this park. This course would benefit immensely from some man-made obstacles like mounds or a few small ponds. Even a mando (which I usually am opposed to, unless it's for safety reasons or to avoid conflict with other park activities or ending up on private property) could add some much-needed spice to this course. Despite the crazy amount of trees at this park (you'll see cool little clusters of trees dotting the fairways), there aren't any really trick pin locations tucked into these areas. Every basket is visible from the tee, and while helpful, I think a truly blind hole (or two) could be designed to add some variety.
2. Tees. Currently there are natural tees, which are designated by blue posts for the Front 9 and red posts for the Back 9 (again, you are only playing to 9 baskets; the Front and Back play to the same pins respectively). The posts at the tees are more than 15' apart, and currently there is no designated "tee boundary" between these posts, which leaves a VERY generous area to tee from (have you ever noticed a tee that, if it was just 5 feet more off to the side, would give you an ideal shot?...at Perkins, you have a very wide tee area to choose from, so this could lead to some questionable "legal" tee shots and/or foot faults. I understand that concrete tees are planned and will be proposed (and perhaps a 1/2-disc increase in my rating will occur after such), but I can only comment on the current state of the tees, which are too wide. The tee for #11 is awkwardly close to the road and didn't provide much of a run-up (though not much is needed on this 235' hole).
3. Maintenance. The tees are obviously not maintained in the winter months (most were slushy when I played, and those that weren't were pretty muddy, but since there's such a generous tee width this allows you to tee of from whatever area is most comfortable for you). There were also no trash cans on the tees, and given how GB courses are treated by the public, I anticipate litter will be a problem in the near future.
4. Navigation. There are a few areas where the walk to the next tee is awkward, specifically from #6 to #7 and likewise from #15 to #16; these holes require backtracking up close to the just-played fairway. Depending on how busy this course is and the fact that you could have 2 groups playing to the same basket while you attempt to walk to the next tee, this could be an issue.
5. Signage. The distances on some of the signs are questionable, but not really an issue since all baskets are visible from the tee. If you can gauge what disc you need based on the line(s) you can see, you won't need to rely on the tee signs other than as an aide to your round.
6. Bathrooms were locked. This is probably a seasonal thing, as GB Park restrooms are always open during normal park hours in the on-season. Just be aware that if you play here in the off-season, the convenience of having a restroom nearby is NOT an amenity included in winter DG.
Other Thoughts: This course is yet another Eagle Scout project, and while it's cool to see Scouts incorporating DG more and more into their projects, I can't help but feel that these courses could benefit from more input from experienced players or local pros. I would love to see some pin locations changed out here to present a bit more challenge; that is, more baskets in proximity to the abundant mature trees scattered around this park. It's nice to see clear lines to the hole, and even here it's obvious when you can just throw a simple hyzer around some sparse obstacles or whether you'll need to work on your anny, but there just aren't any real landing areas or risky greens. It felt as though any shanked shot off the tee had an equal shot at par as a well-placed shot, and really the only way to combat this downfall would be to plant a lot more foliage (we're good on the trees, but big bushy shrubs are lacking and could really change things up out here). Thanks to Chris for playing the Back 9 with me and providing me with some insider knowledge on the design process and describing some of the expected bureaucratic red-tape that was encountered. I will definitely up my rating once proper tees are installed and maybe some landscaping is done. This course definitely has potential, but even with a lot of work I don't see this being a "must-play" course for any traveling DGers. It's simply too flat and lacking any natural obstacles.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good variety for a dual-pad 9-holer

1    10/7/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: Ace D
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long course compared to others in the Green Bay area. Painted wooden posts for the tee areas. There are signs with arrows after each basket to help navigate the course. Course is almost entirely grass and very flat. There are only 9 baskets, but most of the alternate tees are different enough to make it feel like a full 18 holes (much more varied tee placement than Pamperin). Some of the alternate tees are hundreds of feet away from each other, so there is a completely different fairway to shoot. None of the holes are completely open. There are always large trees present but never thick brush or bushes.
Cons: There is a lot of walking between holes, often a hundred feet or more. Sometimes you must cross other fairways or walk along them in order to get to the next tee. If you crave elevation change, you won't find it here. A few of the signs' measurements are clearly off by 25-75 feet. Some of the direction signs point in a baffling direction (in times when the reds and blues are in opposite directions, there will be an arrow pointing between the two locations, and therefore pointing at neither of them).
Other Thoughts: Playing the course as 18 holes is easy, unlike Pamperin, each 9 is not necessarily the short or long 9. Blues and reds take turns having the longer holes. With concrete or brick teepads, and maybe some logs to line the fairways and walking routes, this course could become the best in the Green Bay area. Good variety of holes in a nice park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work. The park terrain and location lacks.

1    9/15/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 168  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2010
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The dual tee setup for these 9 baskets is better than simply having a long and a short tee. In a limited park area, I prefer this type of dual tee design for a 9-holer. Some of the second tees actually do change up the shot by nearly 75%, so playing an 18 hole round isn't entirely awfully boring. One thought though would be to have the tees for 'holes" 10-18 be nowhere near the 1-9 tees. In this case, you could essentially play at each basket from to completely different directions so that each hole would be 75% different or more, except at the green, but you'd be approaching the green from a different direction anyway. Perkins park terrain and layout could allow this style - it would be nice to see. Like playing backwards through the course #1 tee to #9 basket, #9 tee to #8 basket, etc. Either way though, the dual tee design and playing 18 on a 9 basket course is a con because it introduces traffic problems with other groups.
Brand new baskets on a brand new course.
The tees signs were decent and fairly depictive, but I think some distances were off. The next tee signs are completely helpful and NECESSARY because you can see tee posts and baskets all over the park. Some of the next tee signs didn't point well at the location of the other dual tee.
Cons: The lack of meaningful and unique terrain at the park is the biggest con. It is simply a flat park, smack dab in the middle of a highly residential area, with a lot of mature trees. The design is such that sure some thought went into the layout, and thus the flow is okay, but really because of the makeup of the park terrain and features, you could take any given tee and move the basket anywhere within a 100' radius and you'd still have a similar disc golf hole. Same thing can be said oppositely, you could move tees anywhere within 100' or more and throw at the same basket for a pretty similar shot through tall mature trees with low branches.
Many of the low branches could be trimmed to open up alternate routes and primary routes.
9 holes disguised as an 18-holer. The reason this type of course design is simply a disguise is because the green area is still the same, so at most, you change 75% of the hole by moving the tee, and typically just change the first 1/4 to 1/3 of the hole. Although the tees are labelled red and blue, they do not correspond to PDGA skill level design standards, they just identify the back nine and front 9. Many instances exist where if a tee were moved just 25' in one direction or another, a second route would open up, or a higher skill level player may choose a different flight (over the predominant RHBH anhyzer hole design).
The tees are just natural right now. No problems with being not level because the whole park is flat, but they will become a muddy rutted mess soon.
The front tee marker posts (6' tall colored 4x4s) are spaced about 15' apart. This introduces a HUGE tee area which can drastically change the shot. This does not follow PDGA design criteria for maximum width of the front of a designated tee area.
Also, due to the dual tee design and holes actually labelled 1-18, because you're only playing 9 baskets congestion on busy days will definitely be a problem - who has the ROW?
The greens are wide open and flat - no risk inherent on the green from rollaways or tree protected pins.
Being in the middle of the residential area, and having the ball diamond really inhibits the ability to lose yourself in a round of disc and enjoy peaceful tranquility.
There is no water, no defined OB (except maybe the ball diamond if you get too shanky), no elevation, no unique terrain, no risky greens, no wide long wide open ripper holes over 450', no downhill bombers, not super tight tunnel woods, and just not any variety at all. Every hole is essentially the same.
I don't recall any restrooms that were nearby, but with the larger park I'm sure there were some within 1000' or so. There are no trash cans or benches on the course and because I'm positive the morons from the neighborhoods who can walk to the park and vandalize it will begin shortly, along with leaving hordes of litter (we sure hope not).
Other Thoughts: In trying to figure out how to rate this course, I had to go into my list of previously reviewed courses and do a comparison. Of the GB 9'ers, I'd choose to play this one last, overwhelmingly last. In comparison to Indian Creek which I believe has horribly underutilized some good park areas, I'd choose Indian Creek over Perkins any day! So, we're down to a 1 disc rating at best. Is Perkins as bad as the 0.5 disc courses I've played - NO! But it is so repetitive, so lacking in quality design that truly considers PDGA player skills and designs, and so "blah", that it is simply worth 1 disc only. Maybe some elevated tees, terraced greens, other gimmicky landscaping style attributes would add a little character? I don't know that the park itself will ever be able to offer much due to the flatness, right along houses, apartments, and a ball diamond. And just wait until all the leaves fall off all those trees - I hope the parks department mows and breaks up the leaves often, or discs will be a pain to look for. Perkins could be better by "creating" more design oriented holes with some branch cutting, tree clearing, and properly sized tees with some type of material, but the park will never yield anything better than a Typical course.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Diamond in The Ruff

5+    9/14/2010   9/14/2010
Review By: dj51dj
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice long holes, 2 or 3 over 400,
- a lot of space and room to grow.
-sign's are up now
very nice park
Cons: doesnt flow very well and there are 2 tee's for each basket and can be a mess when 2 groups are at each tee.
- should be made into 9 holes for better flow or 18 with 18 baskets.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Tee's are in

5+    9/8/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: Gleck33
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I am not going to talk up my own course, I just encourage everyone to go out and have fun!
Other Thoughts: The tee's have just been put in. I encourage everyone to now go and check out the course from the real pads, and I hope you all have a great time.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Incomplete

1    8/1/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: cydisc
Played: 169  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 18.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -New baskets
-Nice shady park with mature trees throughout.
Cons: -No tees yet
-Mostly righty hyzer shots
-No signs
-Flat terrain
Other Thoughts: I'd wait until the course is complete before trying to play it. Since all that's out there are the baskets and some small staking flags, it's very difficult to find the holes. It would have been better to wait until signs were up before listing the course.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Another 9er in GB

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: Shuie
Played: 615  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -has nice DGA Baskets
Cons: -had lots of standing water there when i played but i had rained quite heavily the past week.
-tons of misquitos
Other Thoughts: the course is brand new and doesn't even really have markers up for tee pads yet.. besides the orange flag with that being said if they are making the oragne flags the shorts and are adding long this would make the course even better... concrete tee a must... and some alt pin placement..... i will be checkin in on this park a bit more often as i am hoping it will continue to get better..

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.