Logan , OH 
Hocking Peaks Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #7 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 153ft.   3 / --   3 / 207ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Short Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 How cool is it to RIP while others ZIP

1    9/18/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Playing this DISC GOLF COUSE at HOCKING PEAKS (with other activities such as a ZIP LINE/ OGO BALL/ GIANT SLIDE/ ATV rides) PARK was a privledge and it was an honor to play here today.

FRIENDLY and VERY PROFESSIONAL STAFF.

Good selection of discs available for purchase or rent in the office.

As soon as you start your round you know your going to be treated 1st class as the hosts has put in a good cement staircase to get to hole # 1 and a great wooden staircase to get to hole # 10. The Flow of the course is excellent as both the front and back 9's loop around their respective hills to get you back where you started (the only flaw was getting to hole #5 tee box from # 4's basket, but it was explained when signing in so it wasn't a problem)

Descriptive tee signs.

Innova yellow banded baskets, although Innova Baskets aren't my favorites they're very usefull at this DGC as it would be really hard trying to find a DGA or a Discraft basket in these woods.

Well Maintained and mostly trash free.

Starting at hole # 6 you start to play within the ZIP LINE course. How cool is it to RIP while others ZIP. A few of the Zippers we're facinated with the throws that my friend Fleetwood and I we're throwing inside their ZIP course. And both Fleetwood and I we're just amazed with their ZIPPING and all the different Challeges they had to incounter throughout the ZIP course.

Although it seemed like we we're allways throwing up hill, this DGC had a few beautifull downhill holes (some going through steep ravines and others being downhill bomb drives through the beautifull Hocking Valley).

Benches scattered throughout the DGC. (I liked hole # 17's bench as they cut out the hill a little and made the bench flush with the ground.

The greens we're very fast in most places.

Good cardio-vascular workout at this DGC, some people who are out of shape might be intimedated by the steep hills, but the DGc is playable, just watch your step going through the ravines (especially hole # 4).

a pre made Haunted Forrest was set up through holes #6 - # 8 and added to the charm to an already exciting DGC.

Plenty of Parking (although isn't not a cement/ blacktopped parking lot like one might find in town)
Cons: The only thing I didn't care for was the short tee boxes with mixed gravel inside the boxes. It was like teeing off on marbles. I'm accustomed to longer cement tee boxes and this DGC plays longer than it is because of the hills, so I didn't understand the short tee boxes (and told the owner John in a friendly manner of my opinion). I understand not having cement tees to date at this DGC as that takes time and money and my rating will go up when they address this issue.

If you happen to stray off the fairway you will pay the price as the rough is ruff ruff in most places. I'd suggest having a spotter.

some of the fairways/ green areas are to narrowly brush hogged/ mowed.

no next tee signs (I would suggest some kind of colored duct tape on a spoke inside the basket well pointing in the direction of the next tee. You could use 2 colors for the holes that have 2 tees).

No Hocking Peaks Disc Golf t shirts/ hats for purchase :( I would of loved to sport your park's logo on a DG t shirt)
Other Thoughts: I'll be back, but with more friends. As I want to try the ZIP LINE and the various challenges they have through out the ZIP LINE course. The ZIP LINE costs $65.00.

I realize the DGC isn't the money maker on this property, but with all the money this company has put into the DGC, $5 fee is very reasonable.

Sometimes I wish I had a personal Zip Line to transverse this property. Hocking County is beautifull anytime of the year and from all the hillsides that the holes are laid out on you can testify for yourself of the beauty that surrounds you everywhere you look.

I'd make sure you don't go by your GPS and look at a map for the best route to this park as I didn't bring a map and went by my GPS. St. RT. 664 should be traveled by motorcycle and not by car if you have a little led foot like me.

The town of Logan is nearby and has the "Hamburger Hill" that all towns usually have, it also has a grocery store and several gas stations. So stock up before you go out to Hocking Peaks Park and stay the whole day at this fun adventure park.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 ZiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiP

1    7/18/2011   7/27/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking
- Nice office with plenty of discs to buy. Don't forget to grab one of their nice scorecards.
- Very friendly staff
- Nice sign at the entrance to the park
- The tees are a little small but they are well taken care of and I love the log boarders on them
- Multiple tees on 7 holes
- Excellent tee signs at every tee
- There are some much needed benches as some in the group may need a rest on this tough hike
- Baskets are in excellent condition and well labeled
- The flow is pretty good. The course plays like two 9 hole courses. Hole #1 is actually behind the office, up a set of stairs and the front 9 ends right near there. To get to the back 9 you cross the road and head up the zig-zagging staircase, be careful, I broke about 30 spider webs going up that staircase LOL. The back 9 ends right near the top of the staircase which is also near the parking lot.
- There is definitely a mix of shots here. Left and Right turns, tons of blind shots over hills. You will need a good deal of skill to play this course well and keep your disc in the thin fairways. The constant elevation changes that is the trademark of the entire Hocking area add a great challenge to the course and provide you with a chance to test your stamina.
- You really get the chance to rip a few drives out over some valleys and the views from the top of the hill, #13-15ish, are just fantastic
- The scenery is pretty with the rolling hills and thick forest
- The distance of the course is short overall but there are 4 holes over 400'
- Not much traffic at all on the course. I had to wait a few times to let zip liners fly by so I could throw under the zip lines but other than that I was totally alone out on the course.
- No vandalism and the course had pretty good upkeep on the fairways and there was some trimming done in the woods.
Cons: - No course map
- Next tee signs are needed
- The fairways are uncomfortably thin leaving you with little room for error due to the fact that the rough on either is all tall weedy grass full of thorns that can swallow a disc right up. I Highly recommend you do NOT play this course alone like I did. You will need a spotter to watch where your disc lands even around the areas that are not blind corners. My suggestion to the park is to mow all that down and plant a few trees in strategic areas. If that can't be done then maybe at bushhogging the area (which is mowing with a device hooked to a tractor that could eat up that rough but leave you with an area that is clearly not the fairway)
- A few more benches would be a great addition due to the fact that this can be a grueling hike in the hot and humid summers.
- Hole #7 needs a more direct defined path to the basket
Other Thoughts: - I found the course to be a fun visit but I may not play the course again. I did not like the rough around much of the open holes. Just too small of an area for my meager skills to hit. I spent far too much time hunting discs in the weeds and thorns. Having said that, if the rough gets taken care of, I would love to try it again with a group of friends to help as spotters.
- Keep an eye out for snakes when in the rough
- I found the course to be very challenging. You definitely need to consider your shots carefully because of the risk of losing a disc.
- The most challenging hole is #12. Blind shot up and over a hill, then plan your approach to try to get through the small path to another open area where the basket is.
- Hole #6 was my favorite. Tough shot from the long tee. You have to get through a small opening which then opens up into a valley that you have to cross. The basket is on the far side of the valley at the top of the hill. And all of this is under the zip lines so keep an eye out for zippers :)
- Hole #15 was my second favorite. Just a beautiful downhill shot with a slightly turning fairway
- I found the course to be decent. I will go back to the course to try my hand at OGO ball, paint ball and the zip lines but I have no plans to play the disc golf course again at this time. It's only $5 to play but I think that with upgraded rough and concrete tees, then charging $10 would be well worth it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Fun

1    5/27/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Pro & Am Tee Pads on Most Holes
New Baskets
Clubhouse with Disc Sales On-Site
Open & Wooded Holes
Good Use of Elevation
Great Tee Signs
Tee Signs at Pro & Am Tee Pads
Front & Back Nine End at Clubhouse/Parking Lot
Many other Activities On-Site
Ample Parking
Great Staff (Very Friendly & Helpful)
Benches on Some Holes
Beautiful Scenery
Cons:
Pay to Play Should Have Conrete or Rubber Tees
Wooded Fairways need Paths/Footing is Bad
Closes Around 6:00PM
Other Thoughts:
Hocking Peaks DGC course is located off Route 664 just outside Logan, Ohio in the Hocking Hills Region. The hills provide beauty as well as challenge on this 18-hole, par-61 course. Enter the park through the large gate and proceed to the traffic director. From here they will send you further into the park to the clubhouse near the start of the course to pay for your round.

Once you've paid, head to the rear of the clubhouse and head up the concrete stairs to your right. The tee pads, pro and amateur, for hole 1 will be on the hill at the top of the stairs, just to your right.

The first three holes are all wide open with well-mowed grassy fairways. While the fairways are mowed, go off of them and you will be punished. The rough is tall grass with a mix of thorn bushes and other weeds. Not only can you come out with cuts and possibly bleeding, finding your disc to begin with can be a challenge. These holes also have elevation in play, but nearly every hole on the course has some elevation change come into play.

Hole 4 is one of the more unique holes that I have played. The tee pad is near the top of of a small ravine with a small creek in the bottom. The very tight, wooded fairway plays the length of the creek, using the area above the creek as the actual fairway. The basket sits just to the right of the creek near the bottom of the ravine.

After hole 4 you will come back out of the small wooded area, the tee pad just on the edge of the woods is hole 9. Continue up the hill past this tee pad and the tee pad for hole 5 is about 10-20 yards away. Hole 5 is a wide open shot, again it has a nicely mowed grassy fairway, with tall grass as the rough. Another nice uphill elevation change adds challenge to what would otherwise be a fairly plain hole.

Hole 6 takes you back into the woods with a short, but tightly wooded, ravine shot. This time you won't be playing down the length of the ravine, but across. The basket is hard to spot, but if you walk to the right of the tee pad you can see it just left and behind the platforms for the zip line. This hole is also the first that plays around the zip line course. While there was no one on the course while we were visiting, please be careful of riders that might come into play on the next few holes.

Hole 7 is a short, extreme downhill shot. Moderately wooded, this can be a very easy birdie, but if you do overshoot the hole, or come up short, the rough can easily hide your disc and is made up mostly of thorn bushes. Also be careful on this one as you make your way from the tee pad to the basket. The hill is very steep and the path is small to non-existent, sticks, logs, and leaves all make the footing very unsure. It is also very slippery when wet so be sure to take your time. They could really use some stairs, bridge, or rope railing here to hold onto as you make your way down.

Hole 8 is a beautiful wooded downhill shot. It plays near a small creek and has many trees to protect the basket. Another one where you should watch your footing. The small creek that runs near the basket has mudd that feels like quick sand. I had a small mis-step and sank past my ankles, nearly losing my shoe. While I'm sure this isn't a problem all year round, it is something to look out for if there is water in the creek.

Hole 9, one of my favorites on the course, is a mostly open hole with one catch. About 50 feet of the tee pad is a thick patch of trees with an almost circular window to toss through. If you don't make it your disc can end up sitting pretty bad either on the same/wrong side of the woods, or down in the small ravine that holds the fairway/basket for hole 4. From the woods/ravine its another 300 feet to the basket, so its not a place you want to be and a great upshot would be needed to make 3 from the woods.

Once you are finished with hole 9 make your way back down the stairs you started on and back down to the clubhouse. This would be a great time to stock up on beverages and/or snacks either at the clubhouse or your car. At this point we had been playing about an hour and a half and obviously were only nine holes in. Once you have your beverages make your way up the other set of stairs opposite the ones you just came down to get to the back nine.

The tee pad for hole 10 will be right at the top of the stairs. The hole is one of the easier, more straight forward holes on the course and shouldn't pose any problems as long as you stay out of the rough, it can be thick on both sides of the fairway.

Hole 11, another shot over a small ravine with water, is the last wooded hole on the course. Short but techincal, it can go either way. Make it through the trees and easy par. Catch a bad bounce of a tree and your shot can leave you with a lot of work, either down in the ravine, deeper in the woods, or with the same shot to contend with again if you hit a tree early.

HOle 12, another one of my favorites really took us by surprise. By this point you will have thrown a couple different holes that look exactly like this one from the start. Just in front of the tee pad is a rolling hill with the basket over the hill down a perfectly mowed fairway. Only this hole is different. Once you throw over the hill your next shot will have to travel through a window of trees and over the small ravine from hole 11. From there just up a short hill to the basket. A lot of thought and planning had to go into this hole and the guys at Innova did a great job.

The rest of the holes, 13-18, are all pretty open. While normally I find this monotonous and boring theses holes still had character. Holes 13 and 14 have great elevations changes, of course, and also boast some of the best views of the Hocking Hills on the course. I could sit on the bench by the tee pad for 14 and watch the sunset over the hills, this is one of the most scenic course I have yet to play in the state of Ohio.

HOles 15 and 16 are two great sweepy downhill shots. Again the views are great and the holes themselves are beautiful with green, grassy, perfectly mowed fairways. The maintenance on the open holes really is incredible. The pathways from basket to the next tee pad are mowed as nicely as the fairways making navigation easy to see and follow, another great touch to this course that is not only functional, but also visually appealing.

Hole 17 is another must get bridie. A nice, short anhyzer (RHBH), go off the fairway and you can be in deep. The rough on holes 15-17 can be disc eaters so keep an eye on your discs and maybe even get a spotter down by the woods. I lost one on 16 and all three of use saw where it went in. Be especially careful in the rough on these three holes, the briars are particularly big and can really tear through some skin.

The last hole is pretty standard. A medium length hyzer shot over a rolling hill its nothing spectacular, but a decent finish to the course bringing you right back out at the clubhouse and the parking lot. The path back down to the clubhouse/parking is pretty much non-existent and you'll want to be careful making your way down. There are some holes and dips that could easily roll an ankle, but just be on the lookout and you should have no problems.

Overall I really enjoyed this course. Its one of the most visually appealing courses in Ohio and is fair for all levels of play. One thing you'll want to be aware of is the amount of time it takes to play the course. I think it ended up taking the three of us right around 3 hours or so to play all 18. That said, also keep in mind that they try to close around 6:00PM to 6:30PM and an employee must stay on property while you play. We got there late, around 6:20ish, they were suppose to close at 6:00. She politley asked if we could come back another day, but once she found out we drove an hour to play she kindly let us make our way up to the clubhouse to pay and start our round. This really made our day and I give a big shout out to the staff. We made sure we left a little extra for the attendant to make it worth her time as we really appreciated getting to play the course. One last thing you'll want to know before you head to this course is that it is a hike. Elevation is present on every hole and there is a lot of walking up and down fairly large hills. None of us are in great shape by any means and we made it through, but there were some breathless moments for all of us for sure.

I only have a couple knocks on the course, and none of them will really keep me from playing this one again. The first, and biggest con, is having to pay $5 per round for a course with natural tees. I think for that price some concrete or rubber tees are in order. The other cons, using that term loosely, would just be from the lack of traffic or newness of the course. Some of the wooded fairways don't really have paths worn/cleared making footing pretty rough in some spots. I'm sure that it will get a lot better over time and become less of an issue. The course could also use some trash cans, there are none on the course, and a few more benches throughout.

The pros on this course more than outweigh the cons so if you are in the area stop by and check it out. The park has many other activities as well so you could make a day, or weekend trip easily. Besides disc golf they have a zip line and ropes course, giant water slide, paintball, atv rentals, and OGO Ball (Look it up.) I can't wait to get back out and check out some other activities as well as play this course a few more times.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good

1    5/10/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: 3dunlap3
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -open fairways
-not extremely hard to find a disc if you throw it off the fairway
-has some really nice long holes
-all holes have a hole map which is nice because alot of holes you can't see the basket
-only $5 to play which isn't bad at all
-good mixture of wooded holes and open field holes
Cons: -could use some markers to show where the next tee is( when you get there they will explain how the course is laid out but we forgot not too long into playing)
Other Thoughts: -wear boots and jeans because we found about 20 ticks on us throughout the course
-and watch out for rat snakes we saw a 4 foot black rat snake on hole one
-very fun course will definitely being going back
-they offer rental disc packs for $3 that's a good deal
-very friendly people that work there

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/25/2010   10/27/2010
Review By: Django
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2010
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is designed for a challenge, really pushes your technical limits.
Good variety of woods, fields and elevation.
Scenic views
High replay value
Good pro shop
Cons: Still not 100% cleared out off fairway
Many difficult areas to play out of
Other Thoughts: I love this course, but it can also be the bane of my existence. Cant wait til next spring when it'll be a lot more cleared out and have a higher "forgiveness" factor

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Right up my alley

1    10/2/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 139  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 12.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well Designed
Great Land for Disc Golf
Lots of Elevation Changes
Good mix of Wooded to Open Holes
Good shot variety
Good mix of distances
Friendly Staff
Many many other great things to do on site
Challenging but suitable for different skill levels
Pro Shop on site
Combination great game of Disc Golf and killer nature hike
Mowed, maintained, and trash free
Cons: Pay to Play
It can wear you out, very hilly
Crowded
Soft Dirt Tee Pads
Heavy Brush
Other Thoughts: I have a type when it comes to Disc Golf courses. It's all about the lay of the land to me. I love the nature aspect of the sport, wooded and hilly will win me over every time. So when I found out there was a new Disc Golf in the Hocking Hills area I was pumped.

We arrived at the course and were greeted by some very friendly staff. They took the time to give us a tour of the course on a souped up golf cart. The tour alone was pretty fun, the course plays around some ATV trails.

The course plays up and down 3 rolling hills. The 1st few holes are open holes the wind up the first hill. Hole number 4 was the first stand out hole, it curves back down the hill though a small ravine. I really liked that one. Then you go back up the hill and down into the woods into several holes that play up and down another ravine around their zip line course. Those are the best holes in the course, a lot of fun. Look out for zip liners though they zip around over your head and sometimes pass right through your flight path. It didn't bother me a bit though, I had fun watching them. After wards you cross by the pro shop and start back up an even bigger hill. This is the part of the course that could wear you out. I'm a fat guy with a bad knee and really had no problems. Once you get to the top there are 3 really really great holes with some pretty sweet elevation changes. It ends with a 500+ footer around the side and down a big hill.

There are a few problems. The course is raw as most new courses are. Keep you discs on the fairway or be ready to be cut up or spend some time digging through heavy brush. Plans are in the works to clear some of that out. The tee pads are natural which I prefer but on some of them the dirt seems soft and can hinder a run up. Some of the middle holes you can run into traffic from zip liners and some of the other activities that are on site but I didn't find it much of a problem. Also it can be a little tricky to navigate if you don't know where your going. They've only been charging 5 bucks which is a fair price, 12 may be a little steep

Overall though it's a very good course and will be even better with time. I had a blast playing it. Make a day of it, there are plenty of other great things to do on site there as well. This course is a must for locals. I would also recommend it for road trippers.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/13/2010   9/15/2010
Review By: DanJones
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course in a beautiful setting. Course is very hilly, with a good mix of open and wooded shots. Very well designed, cyclical front and back 9, each on opposing ridges, with fully stocked Innova pro-shop in between. Several holes underneath zipline/challenge course, several epic holes on wide open ridge, with great views of surrounding hills.
Cons: while tee boxes are complete and signs are now in, course is still rough, in need of clearing and trail building on several holes. Price is listed as $12, but they have only been charging $5
Other Thoughts: I am a Hocking Peaks employee, and have done a lot of work on the course, but take my word as an avid disc golfer that this is a great course, well worth a visit. Course will be improving steadily through the fall, and will be open all winter.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.