Eldorado, IL 
Karel Park Share
Uploaded By: Almighty_Ed Hole #15 (Taken 9/2012)
-- / --   3 / 355ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good mix of holes

1    6/10/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 93  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great use of elevation change
2. Concrete tee pads even though some are the actual park road
3. Chance for an ace over the water
4. Lots of shade
5. Great use of land (the park is not extremely big)
6. Course flows very smooth
7. Easy to find all the holes
Cons: 1. Can get wet on the holes in the woods
2. Some of the holes towards the back of the woods are a bit overgrown
3. Somewhat of a short course but not too bad
Other Thoughts: This course starts out with a few holes in a city park style setting with some obstacles but not a ton and you work your way towards a small lake and play around there and then into the woods you go!! I personally liked the first part of the coruse the best but the holes in the woods are challenging and not redundant. You eventually work your way out of the woods for the final 2 or 3 holes. Solid course. Id go more but its kind of in the middle of nowhere.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

fun in the sun

1    9/29/2012   9/30/2012
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful little park with bathrooms and soda machines. Nice places to sit and picnic and watch the kids play on the park equipment.
18 holes with very different looks even though most are in some crowded wood settings. Good elevation changes and on every hole there is a good chance of making par even though your drive goes a little askew. Some great placed OB make the shorter holes tough but fair. Ace runs abound and the novice will like it here just as well as the seasoned pro. Discatcher baskets in very good condition and concrete pads make this course a wonderful addition to an area in Southern Illinois that has very little to offer us Discers.
Cons: The flow is a little off for me. 17 should have been the finishing hole but the walk back up the hill from 18's basket isn't too bad.
You do get close to throwing around parked cars and playground equipment so the novices should watch out. The walk down the steep hill on the north side of the park is dangerous but I hear there will be steps put in to remedy that situation. Watch your step in the fall cause the hickory nuts and persimons(sp) make the downhill paths even more dangerous. Could use more parking space away from the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and will be back. Hope to see the stumps removed and the stairs put in. Even though this is a tad bit remote it is very worth the drive and I am looking forward to the upcoming tournaments.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tech course

5+    1/12/2012   1/12/2012
Review By: Matthew234
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been extended in four areas adding more distance and added challange; also five baskets have been placed bringing the total to 15 baskets. Two more should be going in very shortly, bringing the course total to 17. This course offers three very cool water shots at baskets 2,3,6; Baskets7,8 have a creek shot that when dry is in bounds and if it is wet then it is a water hazard. There are numerous mature trees and hills throughout the park, which add to the challenge of playing at this course. We have slowly made better routes to the baskets, and are currently in the progress of making signs and better tee pads, but felt it was necessary to concentrate on building the pathways, before we put in the concrete pads and signs. We have added an epic hill shot that has some distance and a nice left fade to it, among numerous other shots. Precision and accuracy are key elements to playing in this park, so I suggest coming out and playing it; also leave your input so we can further better the course. Its a great game, so rip it up and have fun!
Cons: This course is also shared by the community and we had to work the course around gathering areas for family's and their children. So let em rip; but be courteous to the other people who have come to enjoy the park in other ways.
Other Thoughts: This park offers water in many areas(except in winter), the park has great upkeep. It gets crowded in the summer making it harder to play some baskets due to the fact it is a public park. Winter it is usually disc golf paradise with no one around. I look forward to the completion of this course and hope that you will give this course another shot or maybe try it for the first time. No matter what leave the drama behind and have fun for a few rounds at Karel park. Peace

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 New 10 Holer

1    8/17/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a small town park that is very well kept. It's a very quiet and peacful park.

When you arrive park near the restrooms where the pop machines are located. There is a practice basket located nearby. The tee pads are not marked so finding them is difficult. Look for wood chips. I asked the park guy to mark them with flags.

The course flow is pretty good. There are no long walks.

There are mature trees, rolling hills, and a pond which add challenge.

This is a very beginner friendly course and a good additon to an area that does not have many course.
Cons: The tees are very hard to find. There are no tee signs. They are wood chips laid on the ground.

The land offers some really awesome holes which the designer did not utilize.

This is a pretty short course. More skilled players will throw a mid range or putter on most holes.
Other Thoughts: I talked to the park worker and this course is still being worked on. Tee signs are still being made and they may possibly add more holes.

Tee locations.
#1. Near the road under the trees.
#2. On the elvated area framed by wood.
#3. Just right of the basket near the road.
#4. Across the road by the tree line.
#5. On top of the hill.
#6. On the flat just back of the path that runs down the pond.
#7. Right behind the building.
#8. Between 2 trees near the creek.
#9. Just northwest of #8's basket.
#10. Walk up the stairs and hang a left. The tee is in the grass.

If you are in the area i'd stop to play it. I wouldn't drive to far out of the way to play this course. If it had tee signs I would have rated this course. 3.0.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/5/2012 Designer Response by: Almighty_Ed
This review is no longer accurate as all 18 holes have been installed and the existing 10 have been revised. New concrete tee pads and signs have been added as well.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.