Spearfish, SD 
Spearfish Canyon Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: SpearfishDGA Hole #16 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 298ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Last of the hanging baskets.



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    4/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: biffman
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the best signage i have seen on a course, good description of hole layout and directions to next tee box. they even have stones by the baskets that point to the next tee box if you get turned around. excellent use of elevation, nice variety of shots, beautiful scenery.
Cons: not much of a con, but the tee boxes get a little slippery when the tiny pebbles and dirt cover the rocks on the tee boxes, just need to make sure you clean them off if you're wondering about your footing
Other Thoughts: anyone traveling thru the black hills should stop and give this course a try you won't be disappointed. played the course last year before it was expanded to 27 holes, the spearfish disc golf club did an excellent job with the expansion

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Naturally Inviting!

5+    3/10/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: Coolio_Hyzer
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Shot variety
-Layout is very intuitive
-Good variety of hole lengths
-Signage is great
-Picnic tables @ each tee
-Challenging for intermediate to advanced
-Um HELLO 27 holes!
-Terrain (ups & downs & all arounds)
-Basket locations (especially the hanging baskets, and #13 platform basket)
-Wildlife is abundant
-Secluded
-Quite(except for the gun range)
-Great cardio workout
-Gravel tee pads (i liked it better than concrete because they were easier on my knees)
-Trash cans every few holes
-Friendly locals
-Natural beauty!
-Deadwood is close
-Spearfish Canyon is STUNNING, i recommend a drive down the canyon before or after your round.
-The community of Spearfish has many greta activities and restaurants
-The city campground is within walking distance of the course, the campground is tucked into the city park with spearfish creek running nearby. This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds i have ever stayed at.
Cons: -Gun range can be a challenge to putting @ times.
-Little "stickers" that get all over your socks & shoes & pants.
-Losing a disc is quite possible.
-A dog from the house near the course was very aggressive towards me!
Other Thoughts: Wow! Great course period. Where do I begin? I had a really nice and challenging round. Each hole has 3 pin positions making this course into anything from a "rec" course to a championship level course. Lots of wildlife, and peace and quite except for the gun range which is close by, there were intermittent gun shots. My only other real negative, which has nothing to do with the course really, was a very aggressive dog that came up to me and growled and barked, I finally had to throw a rock at it to make it leave, it ran straight up the hill to the brown house that sits just off the course. Lots of elevation change on this course, bring hiking boots and plenty of water. The course has two very distinct sections, the lower 5 holes are tucked into an oak grove, when you climb up and out of the Canyon you play through a more open pine forest. Extremely fun course nestled in the beautiful Black Hills of SD. If you are anywhere near you have to check it out. I would recommend a beer at the local brewery after your round, Crow Peak Brewing has great micro-brews. This course is definitely naturally inviting!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best in South Dakota

2-4    9/29/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: Jeff Filipek
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: My favorite South Dakota course. Great lay out, shot variety and directional signage
Cons: I thought it was a great workout, but if you are very new to the game or out of shape this could be very challenging.
Other Thoughts: Site of 2013 South Dakota State Championships

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best Yet

1    6/2/2013   8/11/2013
Review By: optimalben
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 16.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Outstanding course; if you're in the neighborhood, don't pass up the chance to play this one. I was there about 3 weeks ago, and my round was magnificent. It helped that I "deuced" all of the "signature" holes, including a near ace on 18, which is straight down a cliff, and the hanging basket one in the picture.

The course is plenty challenging, VERY well guided, i.e., signs and diagrams of the holes, and the scenery is spectacular. Ever been frolfing and had a bunch of deer just meandering along next to you? Neither had I before I played here!

I'd have to say this is the best course I've played to date, all the stuff about small sample size notwithstanding. Oh, one last thing: there's a bunch of stumps and rocks that make perfect beer holders (which I did not avail myself of because I was there at, like 8 a.m.) all over, and that's one more valuable perk!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/7/2013   4/17/2013
Review By: woodman
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of challenging holes, everything from narrow tightly treed lanes to wide open meadows. Three hanging baskets make for some very interesting shots especially hole 4 with its steep steep hillside to a basket hung from a chain suspended between two trees. Lots of different ecosystems. Oak forest on the lower four holes, pine forest on most the upper course and some beautiful meadows filled with flowers, sumac and cactus. Lots of wildlife. Amazing signage, new map and welcome board at entrance. Easy to follow trails. Course will be expanded by nine holes making for a huge 27 hole course, will take more than 3 hours to play a round.
Cons: Located in South Dakota the course gets hit with lots of snow during the winter months. If you happen to throw wide on a few holes there is a really good chance of loosing a disc. Really rough roughs.
Other Thoughts: Wood cleaned from fairways has been chipped and used around baskets and on some trails, looks great and keeps weeds and grass down.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A new favorite

1    6/5/2012   6/5/2012
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2013
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Possibly the best signs I have seen. They have a picture of the hole with the proper line drawn on the picture along with the baskets circled. Each hole is named and has a distance on it. The signs also lead to the next hole so look for that before finishing the hole.
-Lots of elevation on most every hole. Holes 4 and 18 are just plain awesome due to this.
-A fair amount of trees for it to be fun but not too hard.
-One of the more scenic courses I have ever played.
-Some tees concrete and I think the rest of them will be done fairly soon. Even if not, most of the natural tees aren't horrible.
-3 hanging baskets. Two are legit and one is ok.
-Practice basket with slabs in the ground to indicate a putting game.
-Worn paths to next hole along with slabs that point to the next tee.
-This course was the perfect level and challenge for me and had a very high fun factor.
-A few good ace runs!
-Not too many people here, a very secluded course.
-May see some cool fauna, hopefully not mountain lions!
-Close to Deadwood!
Cons: -Most holes were a tad short. I like having a few ace runs here and there but I have a feeling some won't like this feature.
-Could lose a disc here and there.
-Tees are mostly natural (for now, I'm pretty sure they're just not done yet.
-May have to watch out for hikers, horse riders, etc but not too often.
Other Thoughts: The first review should be taken off. The guy played the course before it was close to done and his score for the course reflects that. This course is great and a 3 is not acceptable. You should bring your hiking shoes and water. The course plays fairly slow.

Update as of 5/10/13: course is prepared for a big tournament which is fine. However, the detailed signs don't reflect that. I would have thought that concrete tees would be installed by now. The course is more clear and easily navigable this time around. Bright flags are on the top of baskets for added visibility. The new holes are longer and harder than the old ones. Newly layed mulch and landscaping added to the feel.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A Hidden Gem

2-4    5/22/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: DarkSasquatch2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful area
Fun set up
Easy to navigate
Some interesting basket placements
Cons: You can't just walk in and play, you'll need to bring good shoes. Not really much of a con.
However, some are pretty basic
Other Thoughts: The new gravel tee-boxes and signs make this course even better than it already was. A hidden gem in Spearfish. If you are a fan of disc golf and hiking, you have to check it out.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/23/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: falcon79
Played: 140  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With the course map, available at the beginning of the circuit, makes navigating a breeze. With a little more time, the trails between each hole will cover when the maps are gone.

Holes 4 and 18 are the signature holes, taking you first up out of, and then later back down into, the Spearfish Creek bottom. Thankfully, the designers chose not to hang the #9 basket out over the edge of the valley.
Cons: Hiking boots are a must, at least until the recently cut underbrush is cleared. The tee boxes are dirt, and will be a problem when wet. Distances would be helpful on a few of the holes, as the elevation change makes eyeballing tougher.
Other Thoughts: The course is a challenge for old, fat, out-of-shape flat landers (me), but there are plenty of picnic tables, stumps and logs to catch your breath. This is definitely worth a side trip if you are in the area.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.