Spearfish, SD 
Spearfish Canyon Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: SpearfishDGA Hole #6 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Mountain Disc Golf at its Best

1    7/30/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: Bioxena
Played: 82  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazing views, challenging holes, great hike, TOTALLY FUN DISC GOLF! This is mountain disc golfing at its best. The course has wonderful signs not only telling you where the holes are, but which direction to the next tee box. Overall a well marked course.
There is a nice combination of technical holes and holes that have a bit more options to throw.
The hanging baskets on some of the holes are creative and give this course a nice signature look.
Cons: Not for a beginner if that is what you are looking for. Not a fan of blind holes, where you can't see the basket from the tee box, but not everyone would see that as a negative.
It seemed as if all the holes went up the mountain, but maybe that was just me. :-)
Other Thoughts: It is quite the hike, so if you are expecting an easy park course you will be disappointed. This corse is not for the faint of heart. However if you are a fan of mountain disc golf, this is one of my favorites. Makes me almost wish I lived in Spearfish! :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Put it on your bucket list.

1    6/22/2015   6/23/2015
Review By: hollman
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
This review was updated on 6/28/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Only mountains can offer the kind of course features that mountains offer; It has those unique features of rocks, cliffs, large timber, etc.
I thought it flowed very well despite it feeling like I might otherwise be lost wandering around in this area. No problems finding the next tee.
Lots of picnic tables and other amenities.
The hanging baskets. A bit of a novelty, but you can't really complain when you get to play (four) hanging baskets.
Hole #27 is probably the most extreme elevation drop I've played. It's one of those holes you come up to it and you feel like a young kid again unlocking something secret in a video game. Overall, many extreme elevation changes keep this fun.
Lots of trees and natural vegetation, but not overgrown.
Very "native."
Great signage and markers.
A lot of passion is supporting this course.
Cons: Climbing up and down a couple hillsides can be a bit tricky. I was worried about my young kids making it up and down okay, but the fact that they made it tells me that "a kid can do it." Still, if you have physical limitations, this one will be a challenge for you in places. I imagine this course has a bit shorter of a season due to the potential for large snow accumulations and mud, but I only played it once in late June, so I'm not sure.
Other Thoughts: Right after parring the first hanging basket (hole #7?), I ran into Don Altmyer and another player, who were stepping up to play the cliff hole #27. I learned that Don is the course designer. It was nice to talk to the two and get a feel for the passion and care that goes into this course. They took time to offer tips on the nuances of the course and current playing conditions. Apparently, there is alternate parking up top and they often play some of the upper holes when they feel like mixing it up. That is good to know since playing all 27 holes isn't always practical for those who can only spare an hour in the area. A hike/bike trail at the start of the course looks like fun if that also interests you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

2-4    6/10/2014   6/6/2015
Review By: cogitoergosum
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My personal favorite course, one of the more beautiful courses you can come across in secluded Spearfish Canyon. Great terrain, elevation changes, and woods to play around.
Cons: The only negative thing that could be said about this course is that some of the holes could be longer. Exceptional course though, and the elevation and obstacles make up for length in almost every case.
Other Thoughts: This is a destination course, and while you're at it, play Pageant Park over in Custer, SD.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Black Hills Delaveaga!

5+    5/20/2015   5/30/2015
Review By: donaltmyer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 hole lay out reminds me of the Santa Cruz Delaveaga course.
1. Professional grade tee signs and sponsor signs. Tee signs show what basket position (60 pipe positions) and preferred flight pattern and the next tee arrow. Next tee arrows are also on the ground at the bottom of each basket.
2. Tee pads are gravel composite and do not hurt your knees like concrete pads.
3. Picnic tables on every hole, trash cans on every third hole.
4. Variety of shots required, elevation changes and good use of pine trees.
5. 27 spot putting green
6. Beautiful Welcome Board and Sign with scorecards.
7. Beautiful views of Spearfish Canyon, Lookout Mountain and Tee 20 can see Montana on a clear day.
8. Four Hanging Baskets! One hanging basket is adjustable and can be rotated 180 degreees.

Cons: 1. Heavy work out, 27 holes takes nearly 3 hours, bring water.
2. No restrooms or water.
3. Brown House near Tee 18 has a mean black dog that will bark and charge disc golfers, will submit if you throw rocks or sticks.
Other Thoughts: I have played over 300 courses and this course is in my top 5, it is only three miles from Exit 14 on the I 90, if you are passing through you must play this unique and challenging course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/7/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: SpearfishDGA
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Quiet, remote, challenging, variety, beautiful surroundings, layout is easy to follow, good use of terrain, a lot of roll away potential (i guess that is a pro), nice peeps.
Cons: Gunshots...that's it! The rest was great!
Other Thoughts: Great Course, you should check it out!!

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Worth coming to Spearfish

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: Maxrosen
Played: 44  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -27 holes of fun!
-Excellent signage, with arrows at the end of the hole pointing to the next tee
-Mostly challenging technical drives
-Setting of course is on the side of a hill which the course design utilizes very well
-Multiple shot options on most holes
-If you think you're a good disc golfer-- this course will test your skills
-4 hanging baskets!!! All of which make their holes way more challenging and fun
-Easy parking and easy getting to the course
-Awesome putting green
Cons: -Rocky/uneven tee pads... have to deduct a half star from my rating because of them. Definitely had to modify my steps...
-Probably not the best beginner course, I am an AM1 player and I felt very challenged
Other Thoughts: -Right off I-90, this gem should be played by any disc golfer making a cross country trek.
-Got to the course at sunrise, it took me about an hour and a half to play. I was hustling up the hill but took my time coming down due to many rocks, branches, and uneven ground
-I was out of breath after about 3-4 holes, mainly due to elevation but also because you start off going right up hill.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Challenging Course

5+    4/15/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: Kong916
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging
-Solid layout for being 27 holes
-Each sign is very detailed
-Most of the course is very well managed
-Easy access, close to town
-Very peaceful, besides the occasional blast from the gun range
-The recent expansion to 27 holes was very well placed
-Nice practice putting area
Cons: -Not all holes have concrete tee pads
-A few of the new holes have a lot of unkempt overgrowth
-My dog always gets coated in these tiny sticky balls that take forever to get out of her coat
-I've heard there are mountain lions and my dog is strictly for companionship and there is nothing protective about her
Other Thoughts: Being from Northern California, this course reminds me of home. Many trees and a hilly terrain makes this course very challenging. The group that put this course together did an excellent job.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/19/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: biffman
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: the best signage i have seen on a course, good description of hole layout and directions to next tee box. they even have stones by the baskets that point to the next tee box if you get turned around. excellent use of elevation, nice variety of shots, beautiful scenery.
Cons: not much of a con, but the tee boxes get a little slippery when the tiny pebbles and dirt cover the rocks on the tee boxes, just need to make sure you clean them off if you're wondering about your footing
Other Thoughts: anyone traveling thru the black hills should stop and give this course a try you won't be disappointed. played the course last year before it was expanded to 27 holes, the spearfish disc golf club did an excellent job with the expansion

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Naturally Inviting!

5+    3/10/2014   3/11/2014
Review By: Coolio_Hyzer
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2014
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Shot variety
-Layout is very intuitive
-Good variety of hole lengths
-Signage is great
-Picnic tables @ each tee
-Challenging for intermediate to advanced
-Um HELLO 27 holes!
-Terrain (ups & downs & all arounds)
-Basket locations (especially the hanging baskets, and #13 platform basket)
-Wildlife is abundant
-Quite(except for the gun range)
-Great cardio workout
-Gravel tee pads (i liked it better than concrete because they were easier on my knees)
-Trash cans every few holes
-Friendly locals
-Natural beauty!
-Deadwood is close
-Spearfish Canyon is STUNNING, i recommend a drive down the canyon before or after your round.
-The community of Spearfish has many greta activities and restaurants
-The city campground is within walking distance of the course, the campground is tucked into the city park with spearfish creek running nearby. This is one of the most beautiful campgrounds i have ever stayed at.
Cons: -Gun range can be a challenge to putting @ times.
-Little "stickers" that get all over your socks & shoes & pants.
-Losing a disc is quite possible.
-A dog from the house near the course was very aggressive towards me!
Other Thoughts: Wow! Great course period. Where do I begin? I had a really nice and challenging round. Each hole has 3 pin positions making this course into anything from a "rec" course to a championship level course. Lots of wildlife, and peace and quite except for the gun range which is close by, there were intermittent gun shots. My only other real negative, which has nothing to do with the course really, was a very aggressive dog that came up to me and growled and barked, I finally had to throw a rock at it to make it leave, it ran straight up the hill to the brown house that sits just off the course. Lots of elevation change on this course, bring hiking boots and plenty of water. The course has two very distinct sections, the lower 5 holes are tucked into an oak grove, when you climb up and out of the Canyon you play through a more open pine forest. Extremely fun course nestled in the beautiful Black Hills of SD. If you are anywhere near you have to check it out. I would recommend a beer at the local brewery after your round, Crow Peak Brewing has great micro-brews. This course is definitely naturally inviting!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best in South Dakota

2-4    9/29/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: Jeff Filipek
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: My favorite South Dakota course. Great lay out, shot variety and directional signage
Cons: I thought it was a great workout, but if you are very new to the game or out of shape this could be very challenging.
Other Thoughts: Site of 2013 South Dakota State Championships

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.