Lakewood, WA
Fort Steilacoom Park - Northwest Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
One time-1000 baskets

1    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets and pads everywhere and I'm just talking about the Northwest course. There are two other courses here. Some very great looking holes, some very challenging holes, and one great across a canyon hole. Need to know the course or you are lost!!! Lost!!! Lost. Try to get someone with you who has played the course.
Cons: #1 con...no signs pointing to next pads and some of these pads are way hidden. #2...no arrows pointing to basket locations---well there are some but they are wrong! No trash cans---so pack you need to pack your trash out...easy.
Other Thoughts: We were lucky. We were searching for #3 pad when a couple said they would show us the way. If they hadn't we would never have played the 'official' course. Many people playing there had their own course laid out. One foursome was behind us about 3 holes then in front of us for a couple then we passed them on another hole---they were having great fun anyway.
I read were there is a lot of vandalism here...that's sad. It would be great to have a box with maps but the creeps would ruin that.
I did have a great round and a lot of fun. Will play it again when in Tacoma area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Classic layouts....

1    3/23/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 108  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.1 Years
Pros: - Very 1990's layouts with some long straight drives most of the time.

- Only three or four holes that has elevations.

- Most of it are flat with some trees in play.

- Good concrete tees.
Cons: - Confusing for visiting players. Need locals to guide around.

- Where's the porta john?

- Very old 1990's tee signs that needs to be updated. No "next tee" signs.

- Not all tees have benches.

- Cross-over fairways. Hated that!!

- Gets quite crowded on warm days or weekends. Most of them are just bunch of newbies.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to go for making good long driving shots.

However, I was already confused on where is Hole 1 is at and which is North and South courses. Need course map for both courses.

Cross-over fairways are one of my pet peeves. I almost got hit from tee #1 when I'm shooting from the tee #10 (?) nearby #1 basket.

I don't mind to visit there again when they fix up the course to be more user-friendly.

Print and bring a map

5+    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of parking
- Porta Potties
- Practice field on site
- Concrete tees
- Lots and lots of baskets / tees
- Benches on many holes
- Great use of elevation and terrain.
- Sgts Grove is seriously awesome.
- Can be a long/tough or short/easier course depending on how you piece together a course.
Cons: - No trash cans - which leads to a lot of litter on the course.
- Lots of graffiti on the baskets
- Several NEW very low end (no inner chains!) baskets on KEY holes - but very nice high end baskets hiding in places that will hardly ever see action
- No signage - no tee numbers on concrete tees, no numbers on hardly any baskets, tees that do have signs are missing any signage (see vandalism issue noted above) Print out a map from this site (see media tab) and bring it.
Other Thoughts: What to say.... This course COULD be a premier destination golf course - but it falls short in several ways - many of them due to vandals. I was very disappointed to find baskets with no inner chains on several of the MAIN holes - they're new and maybe they'll upgrade them later with inner chains, but that's just rinky dink. Meanwhile, in other parts of the park you'll find brand new mach 5 baskets hidden in parts of the park I couldn't even imagine where the tee pads for them could have been. (Back side of Sgts grove). Some great new holes back there, but would rather see money being spent on better signage and trash cans then even more baskets here - seriously - how many baskets do you need? I suppose if you're a local and have the course down pat it's no big deal, but for players not familiar with the course - it's ridiculous trying to find your way around. Which is how I think the locals like it here. The grafitti on many of the baskets, benches and signs made me cringe playing with my pre-teen son.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/7/2004   8/7/2012
Review By: wolfsblood
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: My home course for 12 yrs. Played it 300+ days a year since 1st time playing disc. Unlimited # of holes and tees...so much you can play around other groups by making your own course. Endless possibilites to cater too time and player restraints. Sgts Grove rules.
Cons: more and more people and vandlism

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Tons of holes!

5+    7/22/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tons of holes, massive variety of shots and elevation. Very well maintained. Great fun for all levels of ability.
Cons: Can get pretty crowded on nice days considering this is one of the best courses in the state. The massive amount of holes makes it hard to figure out which 18 belong together and in what order,
Other Thoughts: Love this place!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Noob Review

1    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 35  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I traveled in from Illinois and found this course here on DGCR. There are a huge number of holes here. I played 27 holes and I know I did not throw at every basket I saw! Every place I tee'd from was concrete. They use the terrain in an outstanding manner. They use the vegitation and elevation at every opportunity. Many holes to challeng all levels of play. There were also benches in many locations, a great place to take a breather as you try to play all these holes.
Cons: Signage and Maps! if you are a "Noob" to the course there is no way to be able to follow the course. There are many differeent styles of baskets, not a big con but I like seeing the same style of basket on a course. Basket #s very few have numbers on them and there are several holes where there are multipule baskets in view from the tee that could be used and no way to determine which one is the correct one. There was an unsual amount of trash on the course and few places to dispose of it. They also have different course lay outs that use the same baskets, you can end up crossing eachothers paths during play or playing the same baskets from different tees at the same time.
Other Thoughts: The local players have a gold mine here. So many holes to play from so many different tees. I gave it a middle of the road rating but it would be very easy to increase it. Better signs, course maps, get it cleaned up. If it had those 3 things, it could easily be a 4.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Favorite course

5+    5/25/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: Jrbtfc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Big. Big enough to handle a lot of people. Cement tees at every tee. Great place for everyone. There is even a practice put basket right at the start.
Cons: Ray isn't there every day.
Confusing the first time.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a Goodie.

5+    12/2/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jbl39
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Way more than 18 holes of golf. You could easily spend all day here.
-Open field for driving practice just feet away from the parking lot.
-Great elevation shots and hilly areas that come into play.
-Bench areas for R and R.
-Nice wooded shots that almost require use of different throwing techniques (i.e. sidearm, tomahawk).
-Different ways to play 18 holes, only tried 3 different course variations to date.
-Shots exceeding 450' on some holes.
Cons: -You simply need a map or a guide for this course. The hole numbers start out making sense but quickly become confusing. If you're just looking to have fun you can absolutely skip holes and make your own 18, but some people are sticklers.
-There are a few holes that just seem too wooded. It is difficult to find the truest path of flight no matter what you try to do. You just have to deal with it.
-It is VERY easy to lose discs, despite the course not looking that way. I've found other's lost discs.
-Extremely busy on weekends. Lots of mob golf groups.
-A little more litter than other courses in the northwest. Golfers need to learn to pack it out at this course.
-Impossible to locate baskets at first glance for a few of the holes.
-A few of the holes come close to a residential area. New players run the risk of throwing their disc into someone's yard.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a worthwhile course, but a few of the holes are let downs. It's almost worth skipping a hole here or there. The first part of the course is amazing and makes for an almost-perfect disc golfing experience, but the latter half of the course (where big elevation shots come into play by the parking lot) becomes increasingly difficult to navigate and some of the holes are just tedious.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/8/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: BleedCrimson33
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with a good range of skill level play. A ton of baskets and holes. There was 5 courses from multiple tee boxes. Also met some great locals that showed me around the course and I plan on going back to play the grove which is a short skill shot course.
Cons: A little hard to navigate for a first timer to the course. Would recommend a paper map at the bulletin board or finding a local to bring you through the course. Or maybe better signage through out the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course was great and probably one of the most enjoyable courses I have played in awhile. If I lived in this area I would be proud to call this my hometown course. This course is a hidden gem!!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Destination Course

5+    1/15/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: LouTran-45383
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2011
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is truely one of the premiere courses in Washington. Not only does it have 4 awesome and challenging courses, but it also has a shorter am course for the rec players. Its hard to find a course in the NorthWest where you can play such a variety of shots and such a great variety of fun challenging holes. There are many opportunities to show off a big arm, and there are plenty of tight skill shots in the trees.
Cons: Can be a bit challenging to follow your first time out. Best to hook up with a local, or play the pro course which is the easiest of the courses to follow.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Western Washington.

Northwest- tight and the most challenging, with lots of trees.

Southwest- Open with many chances to throw bombs, easiest of the big courses

Pro- Classic old school course with a variety of shots and elevation, a chance to use every shot in the book.

Alt- similar to the pro course with different tee pads, scoreable course for accurate players

There are variations of each of these courses, but without proper signs they are hard to follow

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.