Disc Golf Store
Lakewood, WA
Fort Steilacoom Park - Northwest Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Print and bring a map

5+    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 41  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of parking
- Porta Potties
- Practice field on site
- Concrete tees
- Lots and lots of baskets / tees
- Benches on many holes
- Great use of elevation and terrain.
- Sgts Grove is seriously awesome.
- Can be a long/tough or short/easier course depending on how you piece together a course.
Cons: - No trash cans - which leads to a lot of litter on the course.
- Lots of graffiti on the baskets
- Several NEW very low end (no inner chains!) baskets on KEY holes - but very nice high end baskets hiding in places that will hardly ever see action
- No signage - no tee numbers on concrete tees, no numbers on hardly any baskets, tees that do have signs are missing any signage (see vandalism issue noted above) Print out a map from this site (see media tab) and bring it.
Other Thoughts: What to say.... This course COULD be a premier destination golf course - but it falls short in several ways - many of them due to vandals. I was very disappointed to find baskets with no inner chains on several of the MAIN holes - they're new and maybe they'll upgrade them later with inner chains, but that's just rinky dink. Meanwhile, in other parts of the park you'll find brand new mach 5 baskets hidden in parts of the park I couldn't even imagine where the tee pads for them could have been. (Back side of Sgts grove). Some great new holes back there, but would rather see money being spent on better signage and trash cans then even more baskets here - seriously - how many baskets do you need? I suppose if you're a local and have the course down pat it's no big deal, but for players not familiar with the course - it's ridiculous trying to find your way around. Which is how I think the locals like it here. The grafitti on many of the baskets, benches and signs made me cringe playing with my pre-teen son.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Reviewing the Home Course

5/10/2008   5/10/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 23.9 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: My ratings are probably a bit biased, as this is my home course and one I play at least several times a week, but I think that this is my favorite place I have ever played, and I have played Morley, DelaVeaga, and a couple dozen other courses throughout the country. It has a wide variety of hole types, uphill, downhill, short, long, blind, tight, and wide open. The signage is constantly improving, and if you haven't ever been here before, the chances are good you can latch onto a group so that you can find your way around. The maintenance level here is also outstanding. From when I started playing the course 15 years ago or so, it has been cleaned up and professionalized immensely.
Cons: I wish there were some holes that involved water, for one. Of course, other than building a man made lake, this is just impossible. Also, I miss the maps that used to be displayed here on the bulletin board near the parking lot. Although I can play the pro, alt, NW, SE, 27, amateur, and a few others that we have invented from memory, I realize that many people can't. Even if the maps were available online, or at least one map of each course was posted, it would be an improvement.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Steilacoom DGC

5+    8/18/2007   4/17/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2012
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Although the course is located next to a corrections facility, this 40 acre lot is full of landscape, including several trees and other native growth, rolling hills, elevation shots, and some OB's. This course provides a great deal of challenges and requires every shot in the bag. There are several tight fairway shots, some uphill and downhill shots, big open drives, and big putts on the side of hills. This course has a lot of variety and incorporates a lot of the land and elements. Tee pads for the most part are all cement and in pretty good shape along with the tee signs. Tournaments are a blast to play here as well since a lot of the locals are out there and helping to navigate throughout the course. The local course pro is very helpful and informative, and sells discs if needed
Cons:
The course can be really confusing for first timers. There are old tee pads everywhere and with so many baskets it can be easy to make up a new hole by accident. I have played the course three or four times and still get confused and overwhelmed. Baskets are a little run down and trash and vandalism can be a problem at times. However, I know many locals are pro active and try hard to keep the place clean.
Other Thoughts:
Fort Steilacoom DGC could be the best course in the state if they took the time to reconfigure the layout. They have plenty of room and materials for a professional 27 hole course. It could be the De LaVeaga of the Northwest!!! There is so much potential here at Fort Steilacoom and if fixed, this course truely could be excellent!

UPDATE:
Due to funds from team golf, the course will be adding new tee signs to both courses which should fix a lot of the issues at this course. I look forward to playing and hopefully adjusting my rating accordingly. However, there are TWO distinct courses here and they should fix the course information on dgcr and nwdiscgolfforums to show this as they are unique in their own way.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.