Lakewood, WA 
Fort Steilacoom Park - Northwest Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 284ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Middle Level of three great courses all from one parking lot...

1    8/7/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: 53Clubs
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The easier of two 18 hole courses on the property and more challenging then the 9 hole course on the same property, this is a great, well balanced course with enough challenge and variation to keep any player interested and unintimidating enough to allow any level player to be comfortable and have great fun.
Some in the woods, some in open grass, but no real underbrush to eat your discs (with a couple notable exceptions in the hole 13-14 world where you do really need to keep your eyes open).
Perfectly groomed and superbly planned holes with great pin placement. If this 18 hole course were the only thing here, it would be worth an hour drive to play regularly - but it is only 40% of a masterfully built and maintained DG complex.
Cons: Navigation can be tough - if you have someone nearby or anyone who has played it, bring them with your first time - if not, find someone there (this is only one of the great things about disc golfers - they are always willing to help, and frequently willing to just have you tag along).
The only 'real problem' with this course is that it is too far away for me to play every day - if I could, though,... I certainly would.
Other Thoughts: I really can't say enough good stuff about this complex - a great 9 hole shorted course, then two great 18 hole courses with varying levels of challenge - 45 outstanding holes before you ever have to get back into your car.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One time-1000 baskets

1    6/12/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets and pads everywhere and I'm just talking about the Northwest course. There are two other courses here. Some very great looking holes, some very challenging holes, and one great across a canyon hole. Need to know the course or you are lost!!! Lost!!! Lost. Try to get someone with you who has played the course.
Cons: #1 con...no signs pointing to next pads and some of these pads are way hidden. #2...no arrows pointing to basket locations---well there are some but they are wrong! No trash cans---so pack you need to pack your trash out...easy.
Other Thoughts: We were lucky. We were searching for #3 pad when a couple said they would show us the way. If they hadn't we would never have played the 'official' course. Many people playing there had their own course laid out. One foursome was behind us about 3 holes then in front of us for a couple then we passed them on another hole---they were having great fun anyway.
I read were there is a lot of vandalism here...that's sad. It would be great to have a box with maps but the creeps would ruin that.
I did have a great round and a lot of fun. Will play it again when in Tacoma area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Classic layouts....

1    3/23/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: DeafDiscGolfer
Played: 113  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 18.5 Years
Pros: - Very 1990's layouts with some long straight drives most of the time.

- Only three or four holes that has elevations.

- Most of it are flat with some trees in play.

- Good concrete tees.
Cons: - Confusing for visiting players. Need locals to guide around.

- Where's the porta john?

- Very old 1990's tee signs that needs to be updated. No "next tee" signs.

- Not all tees have benches.

- Cross-over fairways. Hated that!!

- Gets quite crowded on warm days or weekends. Most of them are just bunch of newbies.
Other Thoughts: Nice place to go for making good long driving shots.

However, I was already confused on where is Hole 1 is at and which is North and South courses. Need course map for both courses.

Cross-over fairways are one of my pet peeves. I almost got hit from tee #1 when I'm shooting from the tee #10 (?) nearby #1 basket.

I don't mind to visit there again when they fix up the course to be more user-friendly.

Print and bring a map

5+    7/19/2014   11/18/2012
Review By: Phlick
Played: 47  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 32.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Plenty of Parking
-Port-a-potties on site
-Good pads, baskets and tee signs.
- *LOTS* of practice baskets!
- Field on site for field work.
- Disc sales on site (mobile vendor)
- Well taken care of course. Little/no litter/graffitti/vandalism (YEAH!!!)
- Active club/events
Cons: - No/Few trash cans on course. Pack it out.
- Hole 1 not real easy to find for visitors.
- Navigation from Hole 12 to 13 is still tricky
- Benches are lacking.
- No running water (Bring plenty!)

Other Thoughts: Revising my review from 2011 due to many improvements made to the course which addressed many of my original 'Cons'.
(Namely vandalism/graffitti, trash, and navigation issues) Moving from 3.5 stars to 4.0.

Overview/Background -
There are 3 'official' courses at 'Stilly' - two *VERY* good 18 hole courses (NW and SE) and a good 9 hole course ("Ray's Nine"). This review is for the NW 18 hole course. The parking for this course is in the gravel parking lot adjacent to the field in front of the port-a-pottie. Parking is plentiful and I've never had or heard of issues with break ins, but as always you should hide any valuables and lock up your vehicle. The NW course is more wooded, a little shorter and a little more technical than the SE course. Of the two 18 hole courses, If I could only play one, it would be NW due to the scenery (Sgt's Grove is awesome!), elevation, and technicality (vs the challenge of pure length on the SE course).

Hole one is a little hard to find for first timers, (From the parking lot it's across the road to the right, tucked into the blackberry). Course Navigation has been greatly improved with good laminated paper signs posted on posts at every tee box. Most baskets (but not all) have a 'next tee' marker or sign somewhere close to the basket, greatly improving navigation. Contrary to what other reviewers have said, in it's current layout there are no fairway crossovers and tee pads are far enough away from them that errant discs are not a concern. Tee pads are all concrete, large and generally pointing in the right direction towards the baskets. There has been a lot of work done on this course over the past two years - and it shows. There are two new holes (11 and 12) which are very well designed and add a lot to the course. The course plays very fair, with several longer holes to stretch out your distance drivers, lots of 320-360' par 3's, and very few flat out ace runs. It's a difficult course that will test your mettle and make you a better player. This course is good enough on it's own, but when you add the SE course and the 9 hole Seick course, Stilly is quickly turning into a world class destination disc golf park. Keep up the great work Huckers!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/7/2004   8/7/2012
Review By: wolfsblood
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.7 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: My home course for 12 yrs. Played it 300+ days a year since 1st time playing disc. Unlimited # of holes and tees...so much you can play around other groups by making your own course. Endless possibilites to cater too time and player restraints. Sgts Grove rules.
Cons: more and more people and vandlism

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of holes!

5+    7/22/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tons of holes, massive variety of shots and elevation. Very well maintained. Great fun for all levels of ability.
Cons: Can get pretty crowded on nice days considering this is one of the best courses in the state. The massive amount of holes makes it hard to figure out which 18 belong together and in what order,
Other Thoughts: Love this place!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Noob Review

1    7/8/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Redleg
Played: 38  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I traveled in from Illinois and found this course here on DGCR. There are a huge number of holes here. I played 27 holes and I know I did not throw at every basket I saw! Every place I tee'd from was concrete. They use the terrain in an outstanding manner. They use the vegitation and elevation at every opportunity. Many holes to challeng all levels of play. There were also benches in many locations, a great place to take a breather as you try to play all these holes.
Cons: Signage and Maps! if you are a "Noob" to the course there is no way to be able to follow the course. There are many differeent styles of baskets, not a big con but I like seeing the same style of basket on a course. Basket #s very few have numbers on them and there are several holes where there are multipule baskets in view from the tee that could be used and no way to determine which one is the correct one. There was an unsual amount of trash on the course and few places to dispose of it. They also have different course lay outs that use the same baskets, you can end up crossing eachothers paths during play or playing the same baskets from different tees at the same time.
Other Thoughts: The local players have a gold mine here. So many holes to play from so many different tees. I gave it a middle of the road rating but it would be very easy to increase it. Better signs, course maps, get it cleaned up. If it had those 3 things, it could easily be a 4.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course

5+    5/25/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: Jrbtfc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Big. Big enough to handle a lot of people. Cement tees at every tee. Great place for everyone. There is even a practice put basket right at the start.
Cons: Ray isn't there every day.
Confusing the first time.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but a Goodie.

5+    12/2/2011   1/5/2012
Review By: jbl39
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Way more than 18 holes of golf. You could easily spend all day here.
-Open field for driving practice just feet away from the parking lot.
-Great elevation shots and hilly areas that come into play.
-Bench areas for R and R.
-Nice wooded shots that almost require use of different throwing techniques (i.e. sidearm, tomahawk).
-Different ways to play 18 holes, only tried 3 different course variations to date.
-Shots exceeding 450' on some holes.
Cons: -You simply need a map or a guide for this course. The hole numbers start out making sense but quickly become confusing. If you're just looking to have fun you can absolutely skip holes and make your own 18, but some people are sticklers.
-There are a few holes that just seem too wooded. It is difficult to find the truest path of flight no matter what you try to do. You just have to deal with it.
-It is VERY easy to lose discs, despite the course not looking that way. I've found other's lost discs.
-Extremely busy on weekends. Lots of mob golf groups.
-A little more litter than other courses in the northwest. Golfers need to learn to pack it out at this course.
-Impossible to locate baskets at first glance for a few of the holes.
-A few of the holes come close to a residential area. New players run the risk of throwing their disc into someone's yard.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a worthwhile course, but a few of the holes are let downs. It's almost worth skipping a hole here or there. The first part of the course is amazing and makes for an almost-perfect disc golfing experience, but the latter half of the course (where big elevation shots come into play by the parking lot) becomes increasingly difficult to navigate and some of the holes are just tedious.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/8/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: BleedCrimson33
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course with a good range of skill level play. A ton of baskets and holes. There was 5 courses from multiple tee boxes. Also met some great locals that showed me around the course and I plan on going back to play the grove which is a short skill shot course.
Cons: A little hard to navigate for a first timer to the course. Would recommend a paper map at the bulletin board or finding a local to bring you through the course. Or maybe better signage through out the course.
Other Thoughts: Overall I think this course was great and probably one of the most enjoyable courses I have played in awhile. If I lived in this area I would be proud to call this my hometown course. This course is a hidden gem!!!!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.