Lakewood, WA 
Fort Steilacoom Park - Northwest Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 465ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Destination Course

5+    1/15/2011   2/24/2011
Review By: LouTran-45383
Played: 75  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2011
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is truely one of the premiere courses in Washington. Not only does it have 4 awesome and challenging courses, but it also has a shorter am course for the rec players. Its hard to find a course in the NorthWest where you can play such a variety of shots and such a great variety of fun challenging holes. There are many opportunities to show off a big arm, and there are plenty of tight skill shots in the trees.
Cons: Can be a bit challenging to follow your first time out. Best to hook up with a local, or play the pro course which is the easiest of the courses to follow.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Western Washington.

Northwest- tight and the most challenging, with lots of trees.

Southwest- Open with many chances to throw bombs, easiest of the big courses

Pro- Classic old school course with a variety of shots and elevation, a chance to use every shot in the book.

Alt- similar to the pro course with different tee pads, scoreable course for accurate players

There are variations of each of these courses, but without proper signs they are hard to follow

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Fort Stilly

5+    8/11/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: ShibbyStan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Big course with multiple holes and fairly local.
Cons: Because of vandalism some baskets have been stolen and signs destroyed so it can be kind of confusing on where to go.
Other Thoughts: Fairly good course to play. Wish it was better kept up by players tho. Pick up your trash people and respect your local courses!

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A local review

5+    3/29/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: Travis Pne
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very great for beginners as well as having tougher layouts for more advanced players. The highly wooded area is a great landscape making for a challenging round. New holes have been recently added and are a reason for a former player to return!
Cons: As all the other reviews for this course have stated it does have a very complex designe. Also families have been known to slow down course play, but friendly courtesy usually prevails and you will play through eventually.
Other Thoughts: The tdga (tacoma dga) website has printable map layouts for the southeast and northwest courses. There is a few hole changes to the NW course but the SE course is rated and ready to be played.I am willing to guide any new players at this course. I may not be very expeirienced in the game, but i do spend alot of time a week at this course and will play a round with people trying to learn this great coarse. Call or text me to set up a playing time.... 253-431-5909 or contact me on here and i will try to help.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 You have to get to know it!

5+    10/21/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: aarikc17
Played: 75  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has almost everything thing there is to offer at a golf course. There's long and short holes, technical with OB, technical with woods, some elevation, and two totally seperate 18 hole courses that can be played.

All of the teepads are concrete. The only thing missing from this course is water hazards.
Cons: I can see how this course can be hard to navigate, anytime I am out on the course and see someone struggling to find their way I'll stop my round and show them around.

Some of the signs are missing.

Got knocked down half star for less than decent signage, and another half star for the crossing layouts.
Other Thoughts: OK there are 5 main courses that get played fairly regularly and 2 more that don't get played as much.

Here are the courses:

SW- Fairly long and open and is marked decently with most marking either on signs or in yellow paint on the concrete.

NW- This one plays mostly through the woods and is technical with some long holes coming into play

Pro- This course is well marked as well playing across the entire park

Am- Follows pretty close to Pro and is probably the easiest to follow and starts up at the parking lot.

Alt- This is my favorite course but is hard to navigate towards the middle and end but offers the most in my opinion.

There are also an AM27, Pro27, and Alt27 courses but are really hard to navigate.

Give this course a chance and you won't regret it!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Not sure if I even played a designed hole.

5+    7/9/2014   5/31/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2014
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is plenty of variety between long holes and short technical holes with wonderful elevation changes. Most of the tee signs, tee pads and baskets are in excellent condition. There are many alternate tees and baskets that will keep the course fresh. There are lots of benches to sit down at when you need them.
Cons: The course is impossible to navigate, even when you find a tee sign it has four different options to play and almost none of the baskets have numbers on them so you think you are throwing to the right basket but there are three others around that could be the right basket as well. I don't think I even played a designed hole the entire day, I just threw my drive and went for the nearest basket I could find and made it up as I went along. I asked a group of locals and they said they play it thier own way and that there isn't really a number "1" or a "18" hole because it can be played many different ways so even the locals don't know how it's played! I was frustrated by all of this and it drained a lot of the fun out of it for me. Also my buddy left a disc in a bush accidentally and he went back for it about fifteen minutes later and it was gone and no one called him to give it back. Due to the many versions of the course people were playing, the course became a cluster with people playing different holes but playing the same baskets or fairways.
Other Thoughts: The course eventually goes to another part of the park in the back nine (I think) that is totally different from the rolling hills and long open drives and is a more technical, shorter area that is much easier to navigate. If this course was just that, one course with signs and got rid of the confusion it would be a four star course for sure. If you don't mind making up your own way to play then you won't mind too much and if you like to play a standard 18 holes then you should avoid this.


2014 UPDATE:

This course along with the SE are both much easier to navigate and enjoy than they were when I first played this course ten years ago. Rating bump -

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/21/2009   2/21/2009
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2009
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great hole variety, numerous short technical holes with a nice bunch of 500'+ holes for some really big arm shots.
Many of the holes are well thought out to use the terrain well, lots of elevation change, dog legs and creatively placed baskets.
Benches all around.
Despite the odd and sporadic signage, the holes that do have signs have really nice pictures with directions and distances.
Well maintained.
Solid tee pads for the most part.
14 unique layouts.
Cons: Definitely confusing for the first few times there.
Although parts of the course are very well marked some parts lack any signage at all.
Long walkouts in areas, some places where the course could consolidated for more fluency.
Some of the baskets are very old and not regulation.
A small number of the holes have very odd tees, some are very short, or not level.
Other Thoughts: There are honestly two ways to review this course and both are valid in some ways. If you only play this course once, don't live in the area and have no reason to come back, it might leave a sour taste in your mouth. It's no secret that this course has some layout issues, and some signage issues that make it very confusing. But that doesn't mean it's a bad course; it's just a locals course in many ways. If you think they complain about the 14 unique and interesting layouts they can play, you're crazy. So you can review it as a one off experience, or as a person who takes the time to learn it's ways. If you get the chance, I'll echo earlier statements to GET A GUIDE or find someone out there and tag along. If you can't, stick to one the main courses, NW, SE or the Pro 18, if you accept that you might have to walk to a few different tee pads and back track when you find it's not the right hole, then it's definitely possible to find your way around on your first time here. Most of the holes list the courses they're part of, and some of the pads that shoot to multiple baskets have separate pictures detailing this. All in all, I'd heartily recommend this course to anyone living even remotely near in WA, if you like order and a simple style in your courses and you're driving through, skip Steilly and venture over to SeaTac or White River.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Good Times

5+    5/16/2001   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course with lots of excellent shots and all types of elevation. Great scenery of Rainer on many holes. You can throw lots of different lines on many of the holes as well. Lots of different layouts which change the feel of the course and I will also put in pros and cons. Very challenging because you have a mix of tight and open holes. Once you figure out the layouts, its so much fun!
Cons: Too many layouts for someone who has never played there before. Not any maps when I played there so it was very hard to navigate. Signs can be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Meet up with some locals if you can and they can show you around.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, signage could be better

5+    11/25/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: Czech21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is a wonderful course and has some beautiful views of Mt. Rainier. I must admit I was lost the first couple of times playing, but there are so many options, I just had fun. Now, after having a few guided outings, the course has lost the tiny bit of lost and frustrated factor.
Cons: Signage, lack of easily available map/s
Other Thoughts: The rating on this course is far lower than it should be, it is a beautiful course, that has a few flaws. Play it a few times, find your way, and you'll never be able to get enough.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 What were they thinking???

7/29/2008   7/29/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great, near perfect disc golf type landscape. Lots of different types of holes. Some hills. Well maintained. Long and challenging.
Cons: Horrible layout and marking. Something like 7 different courses using 40 tees and baskets. Nothing is marked well. It's impossible to play a full course here, due to the confusion. It gets frustrating and makes it hard to enjoy.
Other Thoughts: The rating is due to it being impossible to just go here and play an actual round. How can it get a good rating if it cannot be played? Someone please fix this place as it's utter nonsense. DO NOT attempt to play a 'round' here if you go without a local or a map. Just make your own round up.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Big course with many options

5+    5/28/2008   6/2/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 8/12/2008
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course with many holes and course designs to choose from. The map book I have claims 40 baskets and 70 tee pads. If you go when it isn't two crowded you wont have any problems. For me it is a joy to go when it is not crowded and pick whatever route I want. Keeps things fresh and prevents "course burnout".
Cons: There are several reviews that list the multiple layouts as a drawback. I am starting to have more sympathy to this problem. The last time I played I ran into a group that was having problems with the layout and I tried to help them. They really should make the map book more readily available AND try and sign the course better for first time players.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend getting the map book from the local pro. This will help you understand the course options. Although there are trees throughout the course there are only a few holes that I would consider very dense. More times than not you will find a clean line. The course really has three sections NW, middle and SE. The main course layout covers all three sections but other layouts may concentrate in one area or the other. There are a few holes that throw off a steep side to the baskets below and a few that throw back up. Other than that the course has very little elevation change. A few par 4's and there are even a few par 2's as alternate holes.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.