Lakewood, WA
Fort Steilacoom Park - Northwest Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #20
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
Steilacoom DGC

5+    8/18/2007   4/17/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 176  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2012
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Although the course is located next to a corrections facility, this 40 acre lot is full of landscape, including several trees and other native growth, rolling hills, elevation shots, and some OB's. This course provides a great deal of challenges and requires every shot in the bag. There are several tight fairway shots, some uphill and downhill shots, big open drives, and big putts on the side of hills. This course has a lot of variety and incorporates a lot of the land and elements. Tee pads for the most part are all cement and in pretty good shape along with the tee signs. Tournaments are a blast to play here as well since a lot of the locals are out there and helping to navigate throughout the course. The local course pro is very helpful and informative, and sells discs if needed
Cons:
The course can be really confusing for first timers. There are old tee pads everywhere and with so many baskets it can be easy to make up a new hole by accident. I have played the course three or four times and still get confused and overwhelmed. Baskets are a little run down and trash and vandalism can be a problem at times. However, I know many locals are pro active and try hard to keep the place clean.
Other Thoughts:
Fort Steilacoom DGC could be the best course in the state if they took the time to reconfigure the layout. They have plenty of room and materials for a professional 27 hole course. It could be the De LaVeaga of the Northwest!!! There is so much potential here at Fort Steilacoom and if fixed, this course truely could be excellent!

UPDATE:
Due to funds from team golf, the course will be adding new tee signs to both courses which should fix a lot of the issues at this course. I look forward to playing and hopefully adjusting my rating accordingly. However, there are TWO distinct courses here and they should fix the course information on dgcr and nwdiscgolfforums to show this as they are unique in their own way.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 what a mess

3/8/2008   3/8/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 154  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 12.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Amazing amout of "potential"
-Lots of fun tee shots.
-Fun with a guide.
-Great terrain.
Cons:
-No guide, no way!
-Multiple types of baskets, most in crappy condition
-Teepads are questionable at times
-Marooned teepads everywhere.
Other Thoughts:
I don't know how many ways I can say that it's a bad idea to have what seems to be 40 teepads strewn out over a course with 27 (i think) baskets. It's a total mess, and I even had a guide when I played it.

This chunk of land has SO MUCH potential,it's unfortunate that the locals can't figure anything out and make some concrete decisions on what to do. Hopefully someone will step up and take that task on.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Recent Improvements But Still Too Many Layouts!

5+    8/21/2003   2/21/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2008
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice physical setting for a course with just enough elevation change to allow for a couple of those big-air throws that we all love. The holes on the orginal and second design were, for the most part, well thought out and challenging. Muliple tees provided something for everyone from the novice to the very skilled player.
Cons: As the first reviewer commented, the locals kept building more and more and more layouts! It's amazing that no-one considers the player visiting the course for the first time. With 14 different layouts, it would probably be impossible to keep them all straight, even with the best signage.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth a visit, it's a challenge to play and a bigger challenge to find the right baskets. Find a local and follow them! I just played the course again after a two year absence and was pleasently surprised. Someone has done a wonderful job with new signs and some newly painted benches. The rating that I previously gave this course ( 4 stars) has been bothering me for quite some time now. After some thought, I've decided that because this course is so incredibly confusing for a first time player/visitor that it just can't be rated that high and that I was probably letting my home boy bias factor in to my rating.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lost potential from too many confusing layouts

1    6/9/2007   8/9/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 295  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2008
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The map book shows 14 different layouts! The local players must like lots of variety.
Cons: There's a Chinese story about an over zealous artist who made a very good drawing of a snake but he kept adding to his picture and ruined it by adding legs. It means that some good things can be ruined by continuing to add too much, and this is the case at Fort Steilacoom. The course map shows 14 different layouts that combine tees and baskets in a multitude of configurations! I've never seen a course with so many different layouts. Although the locals must like the variety it's horrendous for a newcomer to try to navigate! When you add to it that the tee signs aren't very good, and many have been vandalized the course is incredibly frustrating to navigate. In addition there are serious safety issues from crossing fairways as people are playing alternate layouts. Discs could be flying all over the place. One reviewer suggested wearing a football helmet to stay safe. The course pro should keep in mind that "Frustration foils fun" and this course is extremely frustrating to navigate. There's some nice terrain there and some nice holes, so I think it would be a lot better to reduce the number of layouts and focus on making 27 good holes with tees and baskets that are easy to find and well maintained.
Other Thoughts: Course Level- I'm guessing White level, but the course was so confusing that I have little confidence in knowing what layouts the holes I played were really part of, thus I'm not sure of their lengths, so I can't determine the level.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.