Venice, FL 
Pinebrook DGC Share
Uploaded By: prerube Hole #5 (Taken 12/2010)
3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Area



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Not Really for Beginners

1    1/11/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Good shot variety
* Easy to navigate.
* Quality tee pads and accurate signage.
* Calls for extreme accuracy.
* Very pretty between 4-8
* Easy to find.
Cons: * All holes are very short.
* I like the tightness, but there seems to be just as much luck as accuracy involved.
* Not much distance variety.
Other Thoughts: Pinebrook is located in a multi use park in Venice, FL. Croquet, volleyball, hiking and basketball were all visible while being separate from the disc golf area. The course itself contains 3 relatively open holes from 140 to 210 ft. Then five very tight holes. The five tight holes are not long, but contain fairways no larger than standard halls and low ceilings as well. Typically the baskets stand behind an even more narrow area that requires a pin point and I do mean pinpoint shot. The course is not actually hard, but it is tough to park your drives. There really are that many spidery limbs sticking up everywhere. Hole nine is a basically open hyzer hole to end things up. Even though this course is early beginner length, I think beginners could learn their line shaping somewhere else. Watertower is a half hour away, also tight, and much more forgiving. I enjoyed my time here, but it is more a course to play if you live in the area, or are just passing through.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

interesting

2-4    12/8/2013   12/9/2013
Review By: jselleh
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good for practicing short technical game,makes you really look at all options.
Cons: Watch where your walking or you can get a branch in the face or trip over something sticking out of the ground.
Other Thoughts: Good design for the space and terrain.nice job Hos.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Under the Venician Moon

2-4    2/8/2012   2/24/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 736  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice grippy concrete tees for this short recreational course.

2) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, Distance and a general hole map. All the information a guy can ask for.

3) Some extremely tight holes make for really interesting and unique shots. Apparently these trees are Brazilian Pepper trees . . .perhaps I have another new favorite plant for disc golf. Sure you wouldn't want to run 18 holes through this stuff, but I think it creates such a unique area for some short technical holes with low ceilings. Very unique holes that I have never played before.

4) Nice discatcher baskets are very visible on all the holes.

5) Variation of shots from hyzers, anhyzers, and a straight shot or two. Basically you can pick your favorite gap on the middle holes and just execute but the other hole allow you to pick and choose how to get close.

6) Plenty of birdie opportunities and aceruns . . .but if you miss your line you will be punished.

7) Alternate pin placements on each hole make for a course that can be changed up and not remain static all the time.

8) Seems to be well maintained although there isn't much to this except some lawn mowing and possibly an occasional pruning run (but it isn't old enough to have needed any pruning since the original carving probably.
Cons: 1) The biggest drawback to these holes is they are all simple touch shots. Break out your few different mid-ranges and test your technical skills. While these are all fun throws, the fact that they are all basically so technical doesn't really allow for much variety in terms of disc selection or throws.

2) Distance variation is not big enough to force you to throw different discs and shots.

3) Generally this is a hyzer friendly course with only a couple of anhyzers.
Other Thoughts: I had to laugh about the croquet fields next door . . .all I could think about is in Saving Silverman Jack Black says that he takes dumps on the lawn and the other guy says he plays croquet out there. When we were there the croquet club was in full force . . .about 40 70-80 year old people dressed in all white. I love croquet but not enough to join a club . . . but to each his own.

This was a fun quick course to play along the west coast of Florida. Although it is lacking in size it is not lacking in fun. Run for the aces if you want or just try and park all the holes . . . either way they are all pretty fun throws. The only thing this lacks is variety in shot shape and distance. This is strictly a technical short course. I had fun and so did my wife . . . especially when I got off the fairway and it took a 45' putt for a 5 on a hole less than 200' . . . while she took a 3!

This would be a fun glow round too!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun place to play!

1    1/24/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Entry level course:Good for beginners, learning how to throw lines, and shot shaping.
-Par 3 pitch and putt.
-Though the first few holes play across a field, the course is primarily segregated from the rest of the park.
-Concrete Tee's, Signs w/map & distance, Map at the start.
-Alt pin placements (Discatcher Baskets)
-Great use of terrain.
-Maximized the use of a small area
-Great fun factor
-Short course with good challenges
-Clean Park in a Safe Neighborhood. Very well taken care of!
-Bathrooms at the start, and garbage cans throughout the course.
-Great Beginner/Starter course
-You'll have to strategically work your lines.
-If you are looking for a quick round, or perhaps a rest stop on a trip. It's very close to the interstate.
-Could be played with a putter and a mid-range. ...perhaps even just one disc.
For what it's worth...
-Multi-use park
-Croquet Court, and a really nice one at that, for those of you that would like to get your Croquet on. (Inducted into my list of sentences I never though I'd say!)
Cons: This course is really to small to have many cons. It is what it is. You should know by this point if you want to play here or not. It's not Flip City, it's just a really small course that is a fun to play!

-It is really small. (Which isn't necessarily a con, but it is what it is)
-Some of the brush that you play through is very thick and covers most of the fairway. Although, the fairways are short enough that salvaging par is easy. I still had fun playing around it.
-I've also been told that the Brazilian Pepper trees here can be equal to Poison Ivy. Just a heads up, there is a lot of Brazilian Pepper trees. Bring some Benedryl or an Eppie pen. ...just in case!
-It appeared that the Croquet Players have set up a line of Demarcation. Disc Golfers stay on their side, The Croquet players will stay on theirs. Yes, there were signs!

Other Thoughts: Here is the deal with this Neighborhood Park Rec course. It's small, it's short, and delightful. It can be played in roughly 15-20 minutes. I really enjoyed myself here, and could probably have played it two or three more times.

There are 3 bigger and more challenging courses in the area. Pinebrook is a course that is excellent to introduce people to the sport. It's also a great course to take your friends that may not play regularly, but aren't wanting to take on a more challenging course. It could also be a great place to take a date or a spouse that is not necessarily into the sport, but could still have a good time. It's perfect for the neighborhood that surrounds it.

If you are in the area, it's worth checking out. It plays quick, and you might find yourself having fun. Perhaps you would just like to add another notch to the proverbial "Played Belt" on your profile. If you are doing a road trip, this course fits nicely between the Sarasota Courses and the North Port Charlotte course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than being bitten by a gator

2-4    4/1/2011   1/11/2012
Review By: Grungedude42
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park was clean, and in a nice neighborhood.
Signage and tees were in good shape.
Thick trees used well as obstacles, helped define the holes.
Tricky layouts help polish hyzer shots, fun ace runs.
Cons: -Short. Leave your drivers at home. I wound up using the nearby soccer field afterwards to stretch out a Wraith and get it out of my system.
-Holes far too narrow, but ok for the little space investment.
Other Thoughts: Played it while on vacation, wished a better course was available nearby. I will likely play it again this year, unless I want to explore.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Putter Practice

2-4    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: KGB84
Played: 107  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course Sign w/ course layout
- Short walk to first tee from parking lot
- Signs at all tees w/ distances an hole layout
- Cement tees
- Nice Innova baskets
- Multiple pin placements
- Well maintained park
Cons: - Very short holes
- Holes through the Brazillian Pepper are very luck based even for the short length of holes
- Packed into a very tight area
- Park is a heavily trafficked multi-use park
- NO DOGS ALLOWED
Other Thoughts: I decided to play this course to add another one to the list. I found it to lack any challenge for a player of my skill level. This course caters well to the beginner, shorter thowing players and players looking to get in some good putter practice. I imagine this course could be very fun for some safari golf. Not worth taking a trip for this one. However, it could be good warm-up if passing on the way to another course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Break From Beach

1    9/10/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: 1978
Played: 180  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed my break from the beach here. Tee pads were sufficient. Signage helped. The park was clean and safe. This is a great beginner park. Even advanced players can practice here with putters and mid ranges trying to hit tight lines. There was a varying array of holes and many looked quite different. This is the perfect place to bring someone for their first round of disc golf. It breeds confidence and the desire to keep playing. I appreciated being able to leave the beach, get some lunch, and get in a quick round that everyone could enjoy, before continuing on to vacation stuff.
Cons: This course is the only one in the area and it is not to the level that would inspire great golf. Holes were all really short. Many offered less than 6' of a putting green. The trees protecting the baskets were neat to look at but too crowding to be on a disc golf course. Even the most overgrown holes were not hard 2's and I could see someone getting bored here quickly. The course doesnt separate players and might frustrate better players who see beginners playing at the same level. The course basically plays around a spot of "woods" counter clockwise...so basically a majority of the holes are hyzers if not totally straight.
Other Thoughts: I'd play here again if I was collecting teeth in Venice..however, I wouldn't detour a trip to stop here. All in all a decent course for the area. I would play here if I lived nearby. It just doesnt hold up in layout, design, and looks to 3 rated courses in more developed disc golf towns.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

5+    3/12/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice & clean park. No drivers needed played the entire time with a JK Pro Aviar X and a Buzzz. Nice flow good benches for rest but not needed. I played 6 rounds in less then a hour.
Cons: None to mention. Some fairways didn't have defined lines but all holes where dueces if not easy threes
Other Thoughts: Very safe neighborhood I felt I never had a bogey even playing kaplinko off the shull. Great place to practice low putts and control shots. My first shot on one with a Buzzz missed the basket by a foot so big arms need to forget driving.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putter Park, Exceeded expectations

2-4    12/31/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course, with multiple tees. course has so much character, it has a novelty putt putt feel. True beginners may still throw 6-7 shots on a 100 ft hole because it is so tight and technical. Every hole is easily duecable, but a bad throw can lead to a bogey or even double bogey on a dinky hole.
Bathrooms available.
Cons: 7 of the 9 holes are 160 feet or shorter, no need for drivers here.
Lots of pinball play, tossing a putter into a pile of trees and see where it goes.
One of the new players I was with griplocked a disc on hole 3 and launched at an 80 year old man in a croquet feild. Hole 2 has you throwing directly at the road, the road is far enough back, but a new player can still easily over throw into the road.
Idiots write all over the tee signs when they get an ace, ITS A 90ft HOLE!
Other Thoughts: I had a blast here!
Great course for such a tiny space, but it doesn't feel like a real course, more of a novelty. Saying that hole 7 has a low ceiling is an understatement, you have to duck when you walk to the basket.
This course can be done in no time at all and you can be on your way to Watertower or Norht Chralotte. It is a good warm up for your putter.
NO DOGS ALLOWED.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Short But Sweet

5+    12/15/2010   12/16/2010
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/28/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is what this area has needed for some time, a short course to teach children and beginers on. This is probably the shortest course that I have ever played! But it is not the easiest. There are a few open holes, but most of the holes are carved out of a dense forest creating some very narrow fairways, and low ceilings. More advanced players may leave your drivers at home and practice here with your mids and putters.

There are clean and modern restrooms close to the course.

Nice sinage, concrete tee-pads, plenty of garbage cans and benches/picnic tables.

Cons: Some might consider the short length a con, but I sometimes like to play a course like this for a change of pace.

WARNING there are alot of Brazilian Pepper trees on this course. If you are allergic to Brazillian Pepper tree (related to Poison Ivy) stay far away from this course!
Other Thoughts: A nice clean little course, in a nice clean park, in a nice clean neighborhood!

Basketball, baseball, tennis and croquet facilities on site.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.