Disc Golf Store
Venice, FL 
Pinebrook DGC Share
Uploaded By: The Miniac  



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great short course

5+    3/12/2011   3/12/2011
Review By: g1nked
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice & clean park. No drivers needed played the entire time with a JK Pro Aviar X and a Buzzz. Nice flow good benches for rest but not needed. I played 6 rounds in less then a hour.
Cons: None to mention. Some fairways didn't have defined lines but all holes where dueces if not easy threes
Other Thoughts: Very safe neighborhood I felt I never had a bogey even playing kaplinko off the shull. Great place to practice low putts and control shots. My first shot on one with a Buzzz missed the basket by a foot so big arms need to forget driving.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putter Park, Exceeded expectations

2-4    12/31/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course, with multiple tees. course has so much character, it has a novelty putt putt feel. True beginners may still throw 6-7 shots on a 100 ft hole because it is so tight and technical. Every hole is easily duecable, but a bad throw can lead to a bogey or even double bogey on a dinky hole.
Bathrooms available.
Cons: 7 of the 9 holes are 160 feet or shorter, no need for drivers here.
Lots of pinball play, tossing a putter into a pile of trees and see where it goes.
One of the new players I was with griplocked a disc on hole 3 and launched at an 80 year old man in a croquet feild. Hole 2 has you throwing directly at the road, the road is far enough back, but a new player can still easily over throw into the road.
Idiots write all over the tee signs when they get an ace, ITS A 90ft HOLE!
Other Thoughts: I had a blast here!
Great course for such a tiny space, but it doesn't feel like a real course, more of a novelty. Saying that hole 7 has a low ceiling is an understatement, you have to duck when you walk to the basket.
This course can be done in no time at all and you can be on your way to Watertower or Norht Chralotte. It is a good warm up for your putter.
NO DOGS ALLOWED.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A great small course

1    10/31/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: kfellmy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very tight shots on some holes. Every hole has some type of obstacle. Putters and Midrange discs only. No drivers needed. I loved the tightness of the course, it will make me a better player in tight spots. You could use an ultimate disc and play this course just fine. I like this course in such a small area. This the type of course I would like on my own property.
Cons: Only 9 holes, not that difficult. Take newbies here to learn how to play tough and tight courses. I really don't have any cons for this course. I believe every course has something good about it.
Other Thoughts: Played this on a Sunday and there was no one around. Good fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pinebrook park dgc

2-4    7/14/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 258  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 38.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/9/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very convenient to I-75. Very quick play-time. Only really need a putter and maybe a mid-range. Plenty of shade on the wooded holes. Birdie & Ace % is likely to climb for regular players. Multiple pins. Excellent grip on tee pads.
Cons: Not going to give you much practice for driving. Some very punitive rough in wooded areas. Fence behind #9 pin is OB and has prongs. Be careful to stay in bounds.
Other Thoughts: Installed in early July 2010, this compact entry-level 9-holer is an efficient use of space between soccer fields and baseball fields. Prior to installation, it was, obviously, a landfill area for all of the other larger projects in the developmental stages of the park. Hence, you will find large chunks of concrete and dirt mounds.

The area was nowhere near ideal for a disc golf course, but with some clean up, has become a fun, beginner-friendly track that should help the newer players concentrate on the most important part of the game; basic short throws and putting. There is literally no need for a driver on this course.

Holes 1-3 are fairly open with minimal trees and bushes to navigate. Some young oak trees were planted on the fairway of #2. At hole 4 you get your first taste of Bra-peps (Brazilian pepper trees), an invasive and very aggressive specie to Florida.

There are several usages of the natural arches that occur with Bra-peps. Fairways 5 & 7 provide multiple "minimalist" windows for a line to the green. Even unsuccessful drives (up-shots, really) should leave the player within putting distance.

The 4'x8' concrete pads have an excellent grippy surface and there are 2 pin positions per fairway.
Due to the compact nature of the course, most longer pins are on roughly the same line as the short.

The course is easy to navigate. "Next tee" signs direct you on the transition from 1 to 2 and from 4 to 5.

The long position of hole #5 sits behind a mound to create a challenging putting situation. A flag is on order for the basket.

#6 is the shortest hole on the course and a flat-out ace-run. The longer pin position was installed in the fall of 2010 after the area grew in a bit. Call it "poor baby-sitting" with some unskilled labor cutting too much on another hole, which encroached on fairway #6.

Hole #8, provides a direct sight-line and a sweeping right turn. This fairway, like a few others requires an accurate throw and the rough is very punitive. Stay on the fairways!! Time will open the areas up a bit.

The only glaring safety issue is the green of #9, which is bordered by a chain-link fence. Rather than remove the fence bordering the fairway, the parks department installed a 30' high net above the fence making nearly impossible to go OB. Fairway #4 also borders a baseball diamond's outfield. Another tall net was installed here. The county also planted other bushes as barrier replacements for those bushes knocked down by tractors loaded with concrete when pouring the tees.

I expect that many players will find this course to be "beneath them", while others will love the course because it will increase their birdie and ace percentage.

If you show up expecting a crusher course, you will be disappointed. But if you find yourself there with an open mind, a putter, and maybe a mid-range, you should find it a fun change of pace.

The Miniac

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.