Greenwood, IN 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #1
3 / 210ft.   3 / 282ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Pro Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Starter Corse

2-4    4/27/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.3 Years
Pros: Course is aimed towards beginner or intermediate players. Advanced players will have no trouble with this course.

Baskets - 9 grippy chainstar baskets. No issues with spit outs.

Tees - 2 concrete sized tees per hole (pro and am). The biggest difference between the tees is that one is further than the other. The lines are almost identical.

Variety - Most holes are on the shorter side but range from 178 (am tees) to 420 (pro tees). Holes 1, 3, and 9 have younger trees that are starting to grow. They will definitely be a factor on hole 1 when they fully grow in.

Wind is the biggest factor.

Great sings. Easy to navigate. No risk of confusion.

Clean multi-use park where disc golf does not interfere with any other the other activities. There is a walking path that could come into play if a disc is overthrown.

Great course for beginners to learn the sport of for an intermediate / advanced player to learn new discs.

No risk of losing a disc.

Many ace runs.

Very peaceful.

Tons of potential for improvement or expansion!
Cons: Course is for the most part completely wide open and 100% flat.

Course could really use 15-25 more trees. It would make this course more challenging and would make it more of a course for advanced players to play.

There is a sledding hill near holes 6-8 that is not used for disc golf. Rearranging these holes to incorporate the sledding hill would definitely improve this course by adding challenge and elevation. In my opinion, this course would be a 2.5 or a 3 if the hill was incorporated into play.

Minimal challenge for a seasoned player.
Other Thoughts: Although this course was more on the simple side, I played it with my girlfriend who is not very experienced. With that being said, this course is ideal for introducing the sport to a new or newer player. It will definitely boost their confidence.

I've now played it twice since it opened. There weren't any signature holes to bring me back but it was nice to play something that I was not used to playing. Hole 1 stands out the most to me.

If you are looking for potential for an ace or are new to the sport, this course is for you. If it is too easy, I would recommend Mt. Gilead in Moorsville, Blue Heron in Franklin, or any of the 18 hole Indianapolis area courses.

A Good Start

5+    8/24/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: jeffhoots
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Thanks to the city of Greenwood to put in a disc golf course in a relatively new park. The expression "better to light one candle than to curse the darkness" is appropriate here. The south side of the Indianapolis Metro area needs more disc golf courses, and here one is. While it has a way to go, it is a great place for beginners, families, those who want to work on their game, and those who live nearby and cannot invest the time to drive to a more "seasoned" course farther away.
Cons: It is a newer park without many trees or other challenges. So, expert or veteran players will not be challenged. The most challenging parts of this course are the wind and seeing how close to the basket one can get.
Other Thoughts: Despite the "nine baskets in the middle of a field" reality, I enjoy this course. It is in a park that includes a playground, restrooms, basketball, tennis, and a walking path. So, when we go out as a family, those of us who golf, do so, and the younger kids go to the playground. That works for us. Other times, when we want more challenging courses, and we have to drive to get there, we do so.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Training

2-4    12/1/2011   12/15/2011
Review By: jenb
Played: 82  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 2 sets of concrete tee pads. I can't see giving any course with concrete tees a half star. Yes, I'm talking to you, Mashnut.

Safe and clean. The area is nice and the terrain is not hazardous and easy to walk.

Not busy at all.

Tee signs are nice and make course navigation a snap.

Bathrooms were nearby, but not sure if they are kept locked or not.

Good wind training. It's wide open, and the course meanders so as to require drives from all directions, so various wind angles are present.

Good perspective training, because it's deceptively hard to park holes when the basket is out in the open with no nearby reference objects.
Cons: Only nine holes.

Lack of variety, as in no elevation or wooded holes.

Gets boring pretty quickly, and lacks replay value. Not so much good clean fun as good training.
Other Thoughts: This course is an excellent trainer course, but lacks the variety needed to keep newbies coming back. Blue Heron has been added within driving distance, but it's too much of a leap in difficulty. I think there is still a gap in the area for a safe and fun course that is not too frustrating for casual players.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Its a start

2-4    8/19/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Grover
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 32.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets, multiple tees per hole,
ample paved parking, great neighborhoods surrounding park, very clean, great for beginners (wide open, with only a few small trees and no blind shots to make).

Not a lot of traffic (making it solid for some Safari Golf).
Cons: Its just a big flat field. I think the course is developing as the park is being built and the surrounding area grows and develops. As the trees grow and maybe the hill can be utilized and the finishing touches are made on the course, this can be a nice little 9 holer, but for now (today) it doesn't have a lot to offer in the way of challenges and unique shots.
Other Thoughts: Given that a pole hole is better than no pole hole and 9 holes is better than one, then this passes the test as a real disc golf course.

It counts.

And given the lack of courses of any kind in this well populated (and growing) area, I can't help but applaud building this course (and hope it leads to more). I don't want to say anything bad about it for that reason, but to be fair to this website, I have to say this is strictly for beginners right now (and hopefully the beginners in this area will grow with the course and others to be added). It is not a destination course for players looking for any challenges (yet). I am heartened by comments in other reviews hinting at more to come - I hope it happens, but as of today (8-19-10), it is what it is. A start.

Also, use the north parking lot (signs say "Greenwood Schools Transportation" or somesuch) and not the south "Freedom Park" lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Friendly

5+    8/6/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: acbigcheese
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A course on the Southside of Indy.
Concrete teepads (coming Summer 2010). Decent use of the land that is there. As previously stated in other reviews, this was tillable land a year ago. Beginner Friendly.
The land lends itself for fun, long safari possibilities. Walking paths mostly not an issue.
Cons: For advanced players--> beginner friendly.
Uneven terrain.
Other Thoughts: Jerry (course designer) stated it well in a general article about disc golf mentioning the course. He explained that you can not just install a championship caliber course in an area that does not have any courses. This course is a step to more challenging courses in Greenwood and surrounding areas. (this means you Franklin, IN)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First community course,always a beginner course

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2011
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: •Mach V targets •Concrete tees & signs •trees have been planted •two tees per hole •easy to figure out next tee location •paved parking,with few trash cans •Very nice Bathrooms •Nice playground for the kids,4 slides!
Cons: •Wide open,with wind being the only obsticle •Flat,with deep ruts from mower,could twist an ankle or trip if your not careful,if the grass is tall •Trees are not much,if any,of an obsticle •trees only come into play on #1,#2,#3 • no bathrooms or water fountain •No Alternate pin placements •the south end of the parks pond was not utilized? With the paved trail circling it, I don't see it happening.
Other Thoughts: Use the North parking lot. As soon as you see The "Greenwood Community School Corp. transportation" sign turn right. #1 on the northside of the lot,throwing back to the entrance. Cross the entrance south for the #2 tee. If your in the area please "get a round in". If the course gets used I believe they parks Dept may add another 9. I'm sure Jerry Suiters "hands were tied" as far as what land the parks dept. would let him use. He has also designed Camp Cullom in Franfort,IN. Boondocks in Knightstown,IN. and McCulloch in Muncie,IN. I hope, can be fix with another 9 added to utilize the HUGE man-made sled hill. The south parking lot has alot more scattered trees and small mounds that will be a big improvement over the "front 9"

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.