Greenwood, IN 
Freedom Park Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #2
4 / 303ft.   4 / 383ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Beginner Friendly

5+    8/6/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: acbigcheese
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A course on the Southside of Indy.
Concrete teepads (coming Summer 2010). Decent use of the land that is there. As previously stated in other reviews, this was tillable land a year ago. Beginner Friendly.
The land lends itself for fun, long safari possibilities. Walking paths mostly not an issue.
Cons: For advanced players--> beginner friendly.
Uneven terrain.
Other Thoughts: Jerry (course designer) stated it well in a general article about disc golf mentioning the course. He explained that you can not just install a championship caliber course in an area that does not have any courses. This course is a step to more challenging courses in Greenwood and surrounding areas. (this means you Franklin, IN)

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Freedom Park

2-4    8/4/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: erkerkhof
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to follow, wide open, looks like it will be well taken care of. Plenty of room for modifications.
Cons: Wide open, no signifigant obsticles at all. That being said, it is a old hay field so it is flat, and wind has a major roll in playing this course. If it werent soo windy i would prefer the holes to be 50-75 ft longer, maybe more on some.
Other Thoughts: I believe if i had a say in things, i would recommend: saving the $ for pouring the concrete for the short tees, as i would like the holes longer, and purchase more trees. And lay out the trees so as to include some cunning mandatories into play. I believe that would definately save this bland course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First community course,always a beginner course

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: •Mach V targets •Concrete tees & signs •trees have been planted •two tees per hole •easy to figure out next tee location •paved parking,with few trash cans •Very nice Bathrooms •Nice playground for the kids,4 slides!
Cons: •Wide open,with wind being the only obsticle •Flat,with deep ruts from mower,could twist an ankle or trip if your not careful,if the grass is tall •Trees are not much,if any,of an obsticle •trees only come into play on #1,#2,#3 • no bathrooms or water fountain •No Alternate pin placements •the south end of the parks pond was not utilized? With the paved trail circling it, I don't see it happening.
Other Thoughts: Use the North parking lot. As soon as you see The "Greenwood Community School Corp. transportation" sign turn right. #1 on the northside of the lot,throwing back to the entrance. Cross the entrance south for the #2 tee. If your in the area please "get a round in". If the course gets used I believe they parks Dept may add another 9. I'm sure Jerry Suiters "hands were tied" as far as what land the parks dept. would let him use. He has also designed Camp Cullom in Franfort,IN. Boondocks in Knightstown,IN. and McCulloch in Muncie,IN. I hope, can be fix with another 9 added to utilize the HUGE man-made sled hill. The south parking lot has alot more scattered trees and small mounds that will be a big improvement over the "front 9"

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.