Inver Grove Heights, MN 
The Valley DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkdisc Hole #2 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 410ft.   4 / 500ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Walk Through The Valley Of The Shadow Of...

1    6/13/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The more I think about this course, the more impressive it really is. The design and challenge of this course never stops coming at you. The variety of shots required on this course it amazing. There is plenty of elevation, there are plenty of trees, the water comes into play and it seems like every shot must be thought out. There are several longer holes that require placement shots. Even the shortest holes are filled with some challenge. The park itself looked well maintained and there is lots of care that goes to this course. The local crowd seemed to be of high quality and really putting the effort into keeping this course and making it better. Tee pads were in good condition and baskets were good as well.
Cons: There are places on this course that get really muddy with rain or hold water to create small ponds. There is at least one place where two holes cross and there are a few places wehre pedestrian walkways come into play. There are a couple of places where the walk for one basket to the next tee is longer than one would like. A couple of tee pads are on walkways (poor hole one does not make a good impression because of this).
Other Thoughts: The quality of disc golf that this course asks you to play is very high making it a bit of a challenge for lower level players. Having a map for this course would be extremely beneficial. Be sure to park as far away from the street as you can get otherwise you may be walking a long ways. Please look out for other park users around the baseball fields and on the walking paths. This course is really of high quality and feels like a higer level course than some of the others in the area. This course makes you throw a good shot in order to get your chance at birdie.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Little Course

1    4/19/2014   4/19/2014
Review By: alexjensen
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Wonderful shot variety. You play up and down hills. Through the woods, and in the open fields. Both long and short tees on every hole, the longs play like true pro tees.
2. Beautiful park. The park is very nice and caters to disc golf very well. It is fairly wooded, and there isn't much extra foot traffic.
3. Very difficult. This course was pretty challenging. Granted we played it on a day when the wind was very strong, it was still more challenging than most courses. You will play both hiesers and anhiesers through the woods. Holes from 200 to 600 ft long.
4. Easy to get to. Enough said, it's a short drive from downtown. I was traveling to the airport from Wisconsin and it was a perfect stop along the way.
5. Cement tees.
6. Every hole has distance marked. All holes are marked on the long tees with the distance to the short and long pin locations.
7. Water comes into play, and it's about 350' effective feet to clear the water from the longs. My favorite hole on the course.
8. You can drink. I love a beer while playing DG, here nobody will bat an eye. (Check CONS #5 for the counter of this.)
Cons: 1. The course could be much more well marked. We had several holes that we did not know where to go next, or several tees where we could not figure out where the pin was.
2. The wind f***in sucked. More of a personal problem I know.
3. The course seems pretty busy. We were here on a less than perfect day and there where still many groups. Expect it to be crowded over the summer.
4. Some of the holes require a lot more luck than skill. There are definitely a few holes that are more luck oriented than skill. This could be a pro, but when there really isn't a good line on a hole it's annoying.
5. There are not nearly enough garbage cans. A few of the holes have a lot of garbage around the tees clearly from the lack of cans. If you drink, save your cans until you get to a disposal unit.
Other Thoughts: This is a phenominal course. Anything that gets 4.0 from me is one of the top courses I've played. You would be dumb not to play this if you where in the twin cities area. Honestly a great course, even if the navigation of it is a bit annoying.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Time to Play is Now...

5+    11/3/2012   11/5/2012
Review By: 1_Nation_Under_Par
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An excellent 18-hole pay-to-play course with cement tee pads. A challenging variety of lengthy sparsely wooded holes in tight quarters, with gradual to extreme elevation change. You will use almost every disc in your bag.
Cons: The pond on a windy day. I personally hate that pond so much, unless I clear it. Other than that, an excellent course.
Other Thoughts: A must play in the twin cities area. The course is now in the winter lay-out (short tee locations). For those of you without the season pass, the trailer is gone for the winter so it is currently free to play as of 11/3/12.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    7/24/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large, multi-use park, well spread out in a few different sections. There is a baseball field by a few holes at the start, but it shouldn't cause any interference. Seems pretty free and clear for DG overall, except for a walking path.
- Holes are pretty well balanced between fairly wide open, or full of hazards, or in thick woods/forest. The first hole in the woods is #2, a 400'+ BEAST that starts with an uphill, blind forest shot that continues through a dense grove of skinny trees, and ultimately ends right through a gap. The long pin is ridiculous, you need a cannon to get down there. #3 is a cool RHFH flick shot through a row of diagonal trees, #5 is a steep uphill shot with nastiness all along either side of the fairway. Accuracy is a must, and distance is helpful. #13 is a downhill valley shot through a small gap, #14 is a mega RHBH flex line cut out of the forest with skinny trees on the approach, and #15 is a near 180 degree dogleg right around dense woods. All of these holes need good accuracy to stay out of big trouble.
- A good amount of holes have huge hazards that take away lines, and punish errant shots well. #9, for instance, is a valley shot over a whoooole bunch of nastiness, if you don't clear it off the tee, you might never clear it all!!! #10 coming back is a downhill anny or hyzer, either shot must go way wide of a large row of trees. #6 is uphill, with enough trees to force a perfect shot to get to the pin. #11 uses a large pond as a huge hazard, it takes a big league drive to get over the water from the long tee. #16 is an elevated shot that hyzers deep in the forest at the end, while #18 is an uphill hole with the basket tucked in some woods.
- Elevation changes are ever present here, from minor to major. Some gentle downhill slopes on #1, #4, #7, #12, and some more serious ones on #10, #11, and #13. Gentler uphill slopes on #2 and #18, and some very noticeable ones on #5 and #6. The bigger changes make a huge difference in the way the holes play, both off the tee and near some baskets.
- Water is used well to provide punishment. The large pond is in play on #8 and #11, with a swamp directly in front of/right of the tee on #8, and a huge part of #11's fairway. Drop zone is probably used often. Another pond plays to the right, and behind of the pin on #13, with a downhill green sloping to the water. A real concern on approaches or long putts. A few other areas are prone to swampiness as well, like the right of #4, and by the pin on #15.
- Excellent teepads, baskets, and signs. Top notch. Map located at the front of the course; it can be helpful at spots, like crossing under the road to get to #12.
Cons: - Swampy areas seem like they could be a problem, the area by the fence on #4 isn't too bad, but the pool of water directly in front of the basket on #15 seems like a constant flood potential.
- A few spots where the holes are kind of close. #16 shoots over #11's basket, and #4 is susceptible to RHBH hyzers that fade too early. Not a huge deal in either case.
Other Thoughts: - All in all, a pretty tough course that has lots of hazards to contend with, some tricky, wooded doglegs, and decent to good elevation changes. The pro tees add both length and difficulty, and the short tees are a lot more forgiving to newer players (except #9!). Should be a good test of a wide range of skills; line-shaping, distance, accuracy, and shot placement. I would recommend it to more advanced players, true beginners might be overwhelmed in multiple spots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Loved the course, of course, for certain

1    11/16/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: djschnabel
Played: 141  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 17.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course for Advanced/Pro players. Two sets of tee boxes, great flow, variety of shots, length, different shots for each hole (mostly). The course is set up in a (duh) valley, You have elevation, some water, woods, and kept grass to play across.
Cons: Tee pads suck, and are inconsistent. Lack of garbage cans. From the long tee, it's a shot to clear the water on hole 11.
Other Thoughts: You wanna hear it? Here it goes...

I really enjoyed the course. I played Slacker League here today (Every Wednesday at 11 AM). Great group of guys, variety of skill levels. Back to the course though, it includes a wide variety of shots, including those holes that should be gimme 2's for everybody (3, 4, and 12) and those that will challenge the best players (2, 8, and 11). You throw up hill, you throw downhill, you throw across the hill (9), you have a wicked L to R hole (15), and holes to air it out. Today was pretty windy (15-20), so having those stable-overstable discs are a must.

I don't remember seeing any garbage cans, but it is 11/16/2011. In Minnesota. I thought the course was kept, but for a pay-to-play, I'd expect to see at least cans. There wasn't trash everywhere, only a few things on a few holes. Parking may be an issue, if there is baseball/softball games going on. There were paths near or in the line of tee shots on a couple of holes, but I was told it wasn't really an issue, as they don't get used much.

For a pay to play, I'd expect to see at the very least, better teepads, these look to be archaic. This was a very enjoyable course to play, I shot like Ship High In Transit, but I still had a hell of a time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Underrated

5+    11/2/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: J Blaze
Played: 56  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I had not played here since the new holes were put in and man!!! What a nice surprise. This course went from a 2.5 rating to a 4. They got rid of a couple of the shorter holes and now there are some beautiful legit par 4s (six of them I believe). Lots of throwing options every hole.

Cons: Signage. Maybe provide maps? I would not have had a clue about the new holes if someone there wouldn't have told me!
Other Thoughts: Very underrated metro course. With the added holes, the course went from Geek to Sheek!


1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    10/6/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: intelligence385
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2011
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great Course with plenty to offer for everyone.
Wide variety of shots not catered to any one style of throwing
Plenty of room to air out a long shot and really have some fun
Easy to find your disc if you have a bad toss
Cons: Restrooms are sparse
Litter

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Overall Enjoyment

1    5/28/2011   6/4/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well groomed.
Nice field for warming up right next to the parking lot.
Light traffic, no waiting at tee pads
Shots that go every way, long, short, left, right, straight. Very fun
Cons: There needs to be better signage.
They need to upgrade the new holes on the south side.
I would suggest more trash cans dispersed throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: Each and every hole is just fun. I have only played this course once but the skill needed for each shot presented definately kept me on top of my game.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So much potential.

1    5/30/2011   5/30/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 94  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and nice baskets. Multiple basket locations and tees on most every hole. good mix of long bomber with some good technical thrown in. Well maintained course that will require you throw every shot in your bag at least once. Short and tight, long and open, left turns, and right turns are all here.

Holes 1-11 and 16-18 are old holes that are super well maintained. Holes 12-15 play across the road (there is a tunnel underneath) and are new, tee pads are gravel boxes and the fairways are not obvious.
Cons: No signs, no maps, no fucking clue where anything is. Seriously that is 1 full star down right there. You can stand on a teepad and see multiple baskets at times, with no indication which one you are shooting at. No indication what teepads are for what holes, GIANT FAIL. 12-15 need a lot of clean-up they are still super rough and frankly feel like another course when compared with 1-11 and 16-18. Fairway Flyerz has a booth there to sell $5 wristbands, and the dude working it when we were there is a moron. Argued with me that a Hornet is just a rebranded Nebula.

In a couple spots you are crossing where people are throwing, that is just poor design, and since they just redid a bunch of it I really think they could have fixed that.
Other Thoughts: I played this course a few times before it went to pay to play and didn't really care for it, and now with the new holes I still don't really care for it.

Edit: Bumping up to 4 stars as they have added a nice course map at the beginning, and signage on every hole. Made for a much more enjoyable round.
The lack of navigation is a massive fail that annoys me, and the course just feels like it could be so much more. It's still a good course that I think a lot of people would enjoy (just not me) but it could be so much more.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New and Improved

5+    4/28/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: JoshEpoo
Played: 66  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Valley DGC, formerly known as North Valley and often referred to as Inver Grove Heights, is a great intermediate to advanced level course.

It's got a fantastic balance of challenges including elevation (both uphill and downhill holes), tightly wooded fairways, long bombs (some high risk/reward, some just challenge you to throw far to score a birdie), short technical holes, and tricky pin positions.

One of my favorite aspects of this course is that many of the holes offer multiple interesting routes to the basket. The variety and balance that this course presents is what really makes it stand out.

16/18 holes are great and often demand a good tee shot, a great approach, a bold putt, or a combination of those elements. Even the shortest hole on the course, hole 3, is a neat hole. If you're looking for a challenging course that isn't overly punishing, this is it. There are a lot of birdies to be had for anyone who can throw 350'+ and a bunch of challenging pars for those who don't throw as far.
Cons: Hole 1 and 18 are the two worst holes on the course. Unreachable in 1 for a lot of people, but essentially gimme 3's if you don't have the arm to 2.

The new layout has improved the flow of the play a lot, but you still walk across hole 2's fairway to get from hole 4 to 5.
Other Thoughts: The pay to play format has been a source of some controversy but I support it. Great changes were made to the course last year and most people got to enjoy them for free. This year you have to pay.

The Valley is a high caliber course and, in the past, keeping it clean was a problem. I am hoping that the city and Fairway Flyerz will get the garbage under control, but I'm not the type who would give demerits to a course that offers awesome disc golf because of garbage lying around unless it was really terrible.

The amenities that you might expect at pay courses are not present here, but the course offers great disc golf. You can purchase a season pass which I believe also gets you access to Kaposia for the whole year for $30, or pay $5 for the day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.