Berrien Springs, MI 
Andrews University Share
Uploaded By: MGroothuis Hole #13 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 327ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
New Map Needed---So, I made one! :)

1    12/17/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- Plays through a gorgeous campus in southwest Michigan. The campus itself and the surrounding area is beautiful. BEWARE, the campus has OTHER PEOPLE on it and could pose a hazard, be careful.

Baskets-ChainStars- in great repair and easy to see.

Teesigns/pads- Teesigns seem to have accurate distances on them and the pads seem to face the baskets

Unique looks- there are many unique looks here that you don't expect on a campus course. the mini-tunnel on #13, the tight ceiling on #17 and many other places have impressive looks.

Challenge/Variety- I tend to disagree with the review that said this is not a beginner course. the length is fair and the pars are adjusted on the longer holes. VERY beginner friendly.
Cons:
NAVIGATION- I can't say enough how much you need a map and a good review. I used disc'n'dav's review EXTENSIVELY to help navigate. I made a map to reflect the new layout and had timg remove the outdated map.

Teepads-not in the best repair and potentially could be slick when wet.

Potential danger- crossing roads, paths and other busy areas with students can be tricky and dangerous if you're not careful
Other Thoughts:
please respect this campus. no drinking, smoking or unruly behavior is not too much to ask

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

tough to navigate

1    9/17/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: discNDav
Played: 295  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On a college campus which is very well maintained with cut grass and no litter seen.

The newer baskets are great!

This course can be LONG in places which is a bonus since I like throwing 2 drives sometimes rather than approach shots. Lots of a variety of shots required (once you find the tees).

Not tightly wooded, you shoot around large mature trees on most of the holes.

Very scenic landscaped campus.
Cons: Terrible navigation problems, the course simply isn't marked very well. I met another lost golfer while trying to find hole 1 so we played together which made it easier. Without my notes from another review, I would not of found several holes. Look for the wooded post but these aren't always obvious from the previous basket.

LONG walks between some holes especially btw 13 and 14, go right of the building, cross the street, go left some more.

Cross the street and play a hole, cross back sometimes, see other thoughts.

The info on the tee posts shows the distance but no indication of left or right or straight, twice we shot at the wrong basket in view.

The tee pads are plastic green fencing nailed into the ground and can be slippery. Several times I stepped to the left or right of them.

Pedestrians can slow play since you are on a campus.
Other Thoughts: I didn't notice the yellow ribbons on the baskets pointing you towards the next tee until hole 7.

Under directions, I added go the past main college campus to L on Grove and then L on Walnut Ct, this will put you near #1.

I didn't register and didn't know I was suppose to until now.

Print the map here but as reviewed earlier
7 is now 1, 8 is now 2, 9 is now 3 and so on.

Cross the street after 3 to 4.

Cross the street btw 6 and 7.

Cross the street to #9, tee is near shed.

Cross the street #10, behind the gatehouse, the basket is a dogleg left, not the one you see on the right.

Backtrack towards 10 to get to 11.

Cross the street for #13.

#14 tee is bitch to find, the basket is long and left not long and straight (that's #15 basket).

#17 tee is L and behind the row of pine trees.






4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Here's how to read the map!!

2-4    9/3/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: YRNINVegas
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/24/2012
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mown grass, no worries about losing discs when playing alone (except for maybe 14 if you shank a hyzer into the woods, for you RHBHers...)
Clean campus. Andrews holds high standards for its students and its facilities. Props.
Different looks from the tees. There were some interesting thoughts about lines on some, while there were enough grip-n-rips to maintain some levity.
Excellent baskets (even though one of my putts got summarily spit out)
Tee signs are simple and elegant.
Distance range is good, from a 218 uphill wooded to a number of 275-ish ace-if you're-brilliant-and-too-lucky-to-not-be-in-a-casino, with 3 holes over 500. Nice variety.
No crowds, but I play mid-afternoons when normal people work. Crossed paths with one other player.
Cons: Flow is broken by some loooooonnnnng walks. Again, 13 to 14 pretty much lost me, except I was able to log into this site to get a clue from another reviewer.
8 has some poison ivy under the trees designed to kidnap errant tomahawks.
Tees are brutal. 9's is a concrete extension from the sidewalk now, about 20' ahead of the tee's signpost.
17 is not visible from 16 basket. You have to go past the bushes into what you might think is someone's backyard.
There are NO trashcans and only one portapotty in The Grove near 14 tee.
It would be difficult to hold any events here, as SDA prohibits use of the course from Friday dusk through Saturday for Sabbath.
Other Thoughts: Word is the U bought the materials to build concrete teepads, but don't have the manpower. I may call the college and find out how to get the job done. (Having your name on a "this teepad brought to you by" sign would be pretty cool, no?) They've put new maps on #1 and #14 tees that are hand drawn on a two-sided sheet. Better than nothing, and at least numbered correctly, but a little crude. I'll leave this up in case you'd rather the map from dave...Here's how to read the map that davetherocketguy linked...

Read it this way...MAP is now CURRENT...got it?

7 is now 1, 8 is now 2, 9 is now 3

From 3, the new 4 is not marked on the map. Cross Grove Ave. to find the teepad. (It's about the direction of "o" in "Grove" on the map, if that makes any sense...) It's the only hole on that side of the street.

10 is now 5, 11 is now 6, long walk across the entrance boulevard. 12 is now 7, 13 is now 8, 14 is now 9, 15 is now 10, 16 is now 11, 17 is now 12 (heading back toward your car If you parked next to HPAC), 18 is now 13, and now the long walk...trust me now...2 is now 14, 3 is now 15, 4 is now 16, but the tee is closer to AH than is marked, but visible from 15 basket. 5 is now 17, and 6 is now 18.

Notice I didn't mention what on the map is #1. My speculation is that that basket got moved to the new #4, and along with the change in where to start, is the only real change to the course.

The course is pretty and varied enough to give you this resource. I enjoyed the course, even getting lost as I did. Hope you do too.
(Enjoy it that is...not get lost.)

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hope you like walking

1    9/1/2013   7/22/2012
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - There are very nice DGA baskets with large numbers on the tops making them easy to pick out.
- If you have a big arm and are fairly accurate this is the course for you. Not a lot of obstructions and certainly not a lot of heavy underbrush on any of the holes except for the most errant of shots. Even noobish players that can consistently drive 250' will find themselves within putting distance on many of the holes after their second shot.
- All of the holes are on mowed grass. What the course lacks in challenge, hills, water hazards it certainly makes up for in length. Roller throwers rejoice.
- I don't recall seeing any course design no-no's as in fairways crossing each other or crossing busy walkways or roadways. #16 does cross a drive but it does not seem busy. If I wanted to be really picky, the basket for 7 seemed like it was a little close to the line between the 8 tee and basket.
- I also like the hole markers at each of the tee boxes.
- As of the update on this review, there are now CONCRETE tees. This is a fantastic addition over the nonsense that used to be there. Very nicely done with a nicely roughened surface for fantastic grip off the tee.
- To assist in navigation when it isn't obvious on the map, there are bricks at each basket shaped in an arrow to indicate the next tee.
- MAPS! Yes, they now have maps at the first tee...WAHOO!!
Cons: - The layout is not the best and VERY spread out. The walk between 13 and 14 is just absurd.
- There are also no typical items that DG'ers love to have on a course; trash cans and benches - or at least there are very few of them. Since smoking and drink are strictly forbidden it certainly isn't necessary to have a can on every hole but it may not be a bad idea to spread out a few throughout.
Other Thoughts: I would like to mention that I do really appreciate Andrews University making a course that is open to the public just down the road from where I live. In spite of all the walking it was fun and a great place to work on my rather whimpy drives.

I've worked with SDA folks before and regardless of your religious views they are very nice people even though they are strict. Please respect their rules because they did not have to make this course open to everyone. I also want to applaud whoever got this course installed in the first place. Campus politics can be difficult if not impossible to work with. Job well done.


3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 this is for nav. help!

1    5/26/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good overall design of most holes, mostly longer than average, up to 600 ft. Very flat, all mowed grass terrain with well manicured trees.
Tee signs
Free parking in visitors lot
Little rough
Very forgiving on bad shots, but you do have to work to get the good shots.
Cons: Tees suck, better off teeing to the side
Some ivy on a few holes
You can get lost for hours!
Other Thoughts: Navigation Aid:
After #6- cross entrance road #7's tee is near the main road (by a few large tress, about 500 ft walk)
#9- across road to left, near a shed
#10- back across same road, hidden behind gatehouse shack!!
#11- backtrack, similar shot, basket way left around woods
#13- if you notice #18 (behind hole #1 and near parking lot), #13's tee is across street from #18's tee, next to 16's basket for some reason
#14- huge walk- around to the right of building behind and to right of #13 basket, then across street, towards pavilion down by edge of woods!
#17- hidden behind pine like bushes near intersection left of #16's basket

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent for a university course

2-4    4/3/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: Noill Golf
Played: 113  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fair course with lots of bomber runs. Each tee had a post in the ground and a small sign indicating hole no. and hole length. The baskets have yellow tape on the upper and lower rings of the lower entrapment device (basket) indicating the direction to the next tee... this proved very helpful as some of the holes are very far from each other. All of the holes are on fields that are mostly open but there are enough trees to provide obstacles. Without the trees it would just be a bunch of flat runs.
A few holes were shorter but use obstacles very well. For a flatland course, I was impressed that they found ways to make it more interesting.
The students and locals walking around all seemed excessively kind... I was having trouble finding hole no. 1 and I asked for help (I didn't get good answers but they all seemed to really want to help me).
Cons: The course seems to have changed a lot from the pictures I saw posted here. I spoke with some locals that were having a hard time spotting the course themselves. Luckily, I had my monocular with me and was able to use it to scan around to find the next tee. At the time I played this the course had some long gaps between pin to next tee (the worst offenders: Pin 6 to tee 7; Pin 9 to tee 10; Pin 12 to tee 13; Pin 13 to tee 14 <--crazy long). The course makes you cross over the street five or six times... this can be OK but on busy days at the university it could prove to be a bit troublesome.
Other Thoughts: The best place to park is at Parking Lot 4 toward the back left (a visitors lot as well so no university parking sticker required). This will leave you very close to the first hole. Teepads were mostly rubber mesh with a submerged brick front (about three bricks long and about 3 - 4 feet across the front of the teepad). These rubber mesh pads were OK on some tees but were getting buried on others. Some teepads were natural (only a few). Holes 14 and 15 play in the most wooded part of the course though it is still pretty open... running along these holes is a wooded valley that I would love to see at least 3 additional holes put in... that space looks very promising but alas there is only a hiking trail and no baskets in that valley... big sigh on that.
OK. for those that are going to this course:
Hole 11 is going to make you want to shoot over an OB area as it is directly between the tee and the pin... go for it! It's very do-able. If you don't make it... sorry :D
When you finish hole 6, check the yellow strips on the basket for the direction of teepad 7. Walk in that direction and cross over the road. Keep going toward a big tree in the distance. You will see the post indicating teepad 7.
When you finish hole 12, check the yellow strips on the basket for the direction of teepad 13. Walk in that direction, you will walk along the parking lot and will even pass up teepad 18 on your way. Teepad 13 is just across the street from teepad 18... you will see the post for teepad 13 and the basket for hole 16 to the right and about 30 feet away.
When you finish hole 13, check the yellow strips on the basket for the direction of teepad 14. Walk in that direction toward the main road. Make a left on that road (you will need to cross over the road as well). You will see the Custodial Services building (also a sign that says "The Grove"). You will also see a pavilion next to the Custodial building. Teepad 14 is right next to the parking lot there (You can see the post indicating the hole). This is the longest walk from a pin to next tee that I have ever experienced and add to this that it is impossible to spot teepad 14 from pin 13...this is a fun little area that they moved holes 14 and 15 to...seems worth it but what a walk from 13!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Andrews works both long and short games

2-4    7/25/2010   7/25/2010
Review By: MGroothuis
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/10/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being at a very nice local university, the grounds are very well maintained. Baskets are brand new.

This is a great course to open your arm up and let your distance discs bomb...you'll need them.

Lots of room for being carved out of university grounds. Errant throws need to be WAY off before you get into trouble. Holes are a good distance away from sidewalks, roadways, and general pedestrian areas. Nearly impossible to lose a disc.

Course and Pro par is only 4 strokes apart.
Cons: Not too much variety in the holes. All very flat, with lots of long bombs with strategically placed trees. A couple of sharp dog legs, but that's about it.

Lots of walking between some of the holes. 100-150+ yards in some cases.

Course layout is very confusing to a newcomer.

I do not like the tee pads. It's a combination of heavy plastic mesh and a front brick border. The mesh is very slippery (especially with shoes wet from dew). I have to throw from the grass next to the tee.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a very nice course. Met new players here, joined in with them for a good friendly round of golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.