Layout Extinct

Centreville, VA 
Bull Run Regional Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: mtomlin05 Hole #1 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 163ft.   3 / 244ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 an oldie but...

5+    4/12/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is wooded. There are other amenities in the park such as camping, picnicing, and a water park. The old Mach I's have been upgraded. There are improvements underway, #8 is now a real golf hole. It will be great if someone can breath some life into this old girl. The battlefield is nearby.
Cons: Short. Flat. Deadfall has laid bare some fairways that used to require some skill to navigate. Fee to enter the park if you don't live in the area.
Other Thoughts: Folks have tried to expand/redesign this course for years and met with steadfast resistance from park management, so it's very encouraging to see some holes getting changed. That said, the entire park is mostly flat so I don't see this ever being a top course. I hope I'm proved wrong.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Getting a revamp

2-4    4/12/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 453  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Park in which it is located is very historic and has a bunch of activities for others.(mini golf, pool, play grounds, blue bells in the spring). It has been taken up as someone's project.
Cons: If you have to pay to get into the park. New layout still needs wearing in and clearing hopefully. If there is a second set of tees I couldn't see them. Not all fairways have nice obvious lines, if at all. Baskets are older, and signage is in transition. Hole 3 is called the swamp and that is literal. Tees are a mix of the old concrete and newly marked natural tees.
Other Thoughts: I was forced to go on a blue bell hike with the girlfriend so I made her sit threw a round of 18. I had heard it had been taken up as someone's project, but still expected to see the shorter older course I played over a year ago. I was surprised to see there had been some movement of holes and tees, and it seemed to overall add some length to the course. On most baskets there has also been a second set of chains added. The round didn't start off that great for me as I was throwing two games at once, flick and my second game of backhanded throwing ever(figured short course good way to practice it). You notice the changes if not the on the first hole then on the second and the third and fourth are completely new. The third however literally throws through a poorly cleared swampy area which may dry up a bit in the summer but IMO will always be damp. The fourth throws from the swamp back into the field through another poorly cleared or super tight fairway with a completely blocked basket. The rest of the course was dry and in the flat old tree section. Hole 14 leads off into a poorly cleared section of woods then makes you walk the hole or tromp the woods to get to 15's tee right next to 14's. Then you have to walk back past 16 to get to 17's tee. Overall the signage wasn't terrible and navigating the course wasn't bad, but it will need a lot of work to get it were it needs to be for people to want to pay to play it. (Were does that money go because it doesn't seem like the course sees it). I didn't have to pay to get into the park so I can't complain there but I wasn't anymore pleased with the changes then the short course I played the first time. It's improved in some areas but fallen in others. Maybe in another year I'll see if it's improved.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 C'mon $9!! For disc golf!

1    9/13/2008   9/16/2008
Review By: mviemaker07
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Surrounding amenities are nice. Send your kids off to play mini-golf or go swimming while you enjoy a nice SHORT round of Disc Golf. Definitely has potential for aces. It was nicely shaded and I was very comfortable even on a HOT day. Plus you can't lose your discs on this course.
Cons: The price is a bit ridiculous. $7 parking fee plus a $2 honesty box=$9 for a round of golf.. Not worth it in my book. I urge you to look elsewhere to play a round. As most others have said, the concrete tees need some serious TLC.
Other Thoughts: Played this course wit the man, nygfaninva. We had a nice relaxing round with no interference with other players. Good competition due to the short holes (even me as a "beginnner" gave him a run for his money). However, I would never pay again for this course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Price is NOT Right!

2-4    9/13/2008   9/14/2008
Review By: nygfaninva
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All wooded short Ace course. Easy to find the tees from one hole to the next. Nice setting near a playground, mini golf course and pool. No chance for lost discs.
Cons: Oh boy, OK. Real short. Good for beginners and average players, but for advanced DGers it will seem like a joke. Concrete Tee Pads are falling apart with no repairs in sight. Overlapping fairways (if you can call them that), if it gets crowded it could be a problem. Just not a very challenging course.
Other Thoughts: Now I have read all the other reviews and I don't agree that its as bad as it has been portrayed. Yes, its short, EVERYONE has covered that to death, but it is a fun quick 18. Just shooting for aces can be fun and a friend and I had a great time pushing each other in a bit of competition there.

Here is my main issue with it: MONEY! It cost $7 just to enter the park! And then it has an honor envelope for you to place an additional $2 in a lock box to pay to play! So in total you will be required to pay $9 dollars to play here and that is ridiculous! It is no where and I repeat, Nowhere near worth that price! Yes, its a cute fun course but for $9 it should play like a resort and it is hardly that.

If you are a local and have a year long membership to the park (and therefore free to get in and only required to pay the $2 fee) I guess it would be much better. The location is awesome and if you make a nice day of it with family and kids, they have a Mini Golf and pool literally right beside it, and it would be a fun place for a BBQ outing with a pool and some DG for the day, BUT if your driving a distance or just want to play a good round of DG there are far better courses that are a lot cheaper. That's as fair as I can be about Bull Run.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 OK Rec Course

7/13/2003   2/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's cool in the shade. You can easily birdie every hole. It's a total little rec/family/biginner course. Take your child here to teach him the game. The course is played completely under the shade of some big trees. The holes are all flat, weaving around the trees.
Cons: Old baskets with single chains. The terrain doesn't have a whole lot going.
Other Thoughts: If you're here, get out and work on your short game. But don't drive out of your way looking for it like we did. That's why this is such a great site.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.