Layout Extinct

Centreville, VA 
Bull Run Regional Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: mtomlin05 Hole #17 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 181ft.   3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Course Redesigned

5+    6/18/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: grantaustin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Much more challenging than the 1979 layout.Of course,most of us aren't throwing "trash can lids" now.There are par 4s now,some which are tough.
Cons: Most tees are dirt(and many are more like mud).The course has always been swampy @ times,so footing can be a problem!
Other Thoughts: This course favors lefties,especially from the blue tees-might have given it a higher rating otherwise.And hole 18 is a serious hazard,with a pavilion too close to the fairway.Beware trying to play this hole if anyone is there!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

New Layout

5+    6/7/2014   6/7/2014
Review By: Bigpan50
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new layout is way better than the old one. The holes are decent lengths now. Still some ace chances, but also some very challenging holes. You will have to use a variety of different shots, and this course takes a lot of precision or you could be in trouble.
Cons: Very flat. No elevation changes at all. Also a very buggy course. Bring bug spray. If it's hot out, there will be thousands upon thousands of gnats all over you. If it is wet or darker or colder out, there will be hundreds of mosquitoes swarming you.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good little course if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Short but fun

5+    3/2/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 29  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: This is a fun little course with a bunch of ace runs if you hit the right lines. During the offseason, there is rarely more than two or three groups on this course, meaning you generally don't have people in your way. It is in a park with nice amenities, and is right next to a water park. Most holes have concrete tee pads, though some are a bit worn.
Cons: The course is pretty compact, so if it is crowded, other groups would get in the way, as holes play close to eachother. Parts of the course, especially holes 2 and 3 can get a little wet after rain or after snow melts.
Other Thoughts: This course appears to have had a couple of redesigns. When I first played this course, they had converted a couple of holes in to slightly longer holes, and there was no hole 3, which some of the older reviews mention. It appears to have reverted to an older layout with all relatively short holes. While short, they are still technical enough to present some challenge. While the layout may appear to be somewhat haphazard the first time through, once you know the layout, you do recognize where the fairways are, and it makes more sense. I never played this course in the summer due to the park entrance fee. I don't mind pay-to-play (and at times prefer it), but the park entrance fee plus $2 for the course seemed a bit steep for what this course is. I don't know how crowded the course gets in the summer when the water park is open, but if it gets a crowd, there could be issues with groups throwing into eachother, as the holes are packed in pretty tight. This is not a very challenging course, and for any player at or above intermediate skill level, there are only a few holes where you really have to work for a 3 unless you get unlucky with the hitting the trees. All that being said, this is still a fun little course as long as you don't come here expecting a big test.

Ace Run Park

2-4    5/11/2013   5/11/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole you have a chance at getting an ace which is kinda fun. It is very easy to navigate since the tee pads are very close to each other. Will help you practice your putting and abilities to throw straight. The course has two different tee off areas.
Cons: No real long holes to air it out. If you are not a resident you have to pay to enter the park. If more people were playing the course it could get a little nuts with discs flying everywhere since the holes are very close together. If it rains it is like playing in a swamp. Tee pads are a little short.
Other Thoughts: Go with a county resident. Great beginner course because it is hard for your confidence to be hurt at this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  I like the course.

1    9/12/2011   6/12/2012
Review By: JamesRuth
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You can play Bull Run in about a hour. You have a decent chance of hitting birdies which is good for people who do not play disc golf very often and newbies. It is a great course to start learning the game. My mid range game has improved because of Bull Run. I often Roc the entire course.

You can play the course like three - four times and make a afternoon of fun. You will not birdie as much as you think and when you do hit a ace the thrill is just as great.

I love this course. Don't listen to all the naysayer's. Bull Run is a small course but fun.
Cons: $5-$7 park entrance fee
Other Thoughts: Bull Run is a great course to play if you don't have alot of time but want to get exercise and practice your skills. There are a ton of trees and you really have to aim well to birdie most holes.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  You should pass on this course

1    3/3/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: chaddukes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There aren't many. You can get through the course in under an hour if you're in a pinch. I guess the best part is it's next to a water park so you might have SOME fun while you are at Bull Run.
Cons: If it rains, don't even bother. The entire course becomes deluged and turns into a muddy pit. The baskets & tee-boxes are in awful condition. There don't appear to be any baskets missing, but the compliments end there. The course is too tight and the holes are too close to one another. Honestly, they should just remove the course since the park doesn't seem to have any interest in it's upkeep.
Other Thoughts: It's worth the the 30 minute drive to leave Bull Run and play Burke Lake Park.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 once is enough

1    7/30/2008   3/30/2011
Review By: tehrain
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's a course, and if you're into playing them all you can finish this one in half an hour. It reminds me of mini-golf. No distance and some obstacles to play around with.
Cons: See 'Pros'

If anyone else is on the course look out. The space is barely big enough for 2 holes, not to mention a full course.
Other Thoughts: Been there, done that.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More Like Cow Walk

1    11/27/2010   12/13/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Plenty of opportunities to work on your left- and right-turning mid-range shots.
Cons:
Basket #3 missing. Some teepads not properly aligned with basket positions. Quite flat, quite short - used a fairway driver a couple of times, at most. On weekends and holidays, March-October, it costs non-NoVa residents $7 to enter the park and $2 to play disc golf.
Other Thoughts:
Course is located on a piece of flat land somewhat-filled with mid-sized trees, located between a road, a parking lot, a pool, and a wilder tree-n-brush-n-swamp portion of woods. This is part of a large park, with a pool, shelters, and camping.

The course is definitely in a state of flux, as some of the concrete teepads are in decent shape, while some are quite tired and worn - the same could be said for the baskets. Some of the baskets are being re-located in an attempt to lengthen the course, so the teesigns aren't always correct - about the time, the basket will be farther than indicated by the old signage. The teesigns show a second tee position for each hole, but this second location is typically just a compacted section of dirt, at times marked by a small medal post protruding a few inches out of the ground.

Some navigation tips:
- Basket-3 is missing, so when teeing from tee-2, note basket-4 to your right. After throwing your left-turning shot on #2, look for tee-4 on your right halfway down as you walk towards basket-2.
- From tee-10, the most visible basket, barely visible straight ahead, is actually basket-12. Go to the front left corner of the teepad, lean forward, and look right - you'll see basket -10. Alternatively, from the back right corner of the teepad, lean right, and look forward, and you'll see the basket.
- New holes 14 and 15 take you into, then out of, the rougher section of trees/brush.
- New tee-17, a patch of dirt, is located up by the corner of the swimming pool fence.
- Tee-18 has a very natural look to ... basket-17. Basket 18 is much farther right, near the edge of the treeline, near a picnic table. An alternate teepad for #18 is an unmarked piece of concrete not too far from tee-16, requiring a left-turning ~225' shot around some trees.

An OK course for a local or if you're into bagging courses, but certainly NOT worth paying for the privilege to do so.


13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Worst disc golf course I have ever played!

1    8/7/2010   9/4/2010
Review By: solidhummer
Played: 50  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a course. what can I say. Think of it like a few practice baskets in trees while your kids swim at the pool.
Cons: Fairways cross (if you can find which one that your sapposed to throw down) 9$ to play??? Baskets and tees do not line up. I couldn't find all the baskets or tees or signs.
Other Thoughts: Ok so just so people know that I'm not talking out of just a bad experience, I want to say that... I have been playing disc golf for almost 30 years.. I played when courses this size were the norm. However, one of the reasons that disc golf is so appealing to some people is the price. I love golf. (traditional or disc) but the price of disc golf has always attracted many to it. You would think that as much as you pay that you would be able to play a higher caliber course. NO WAY! As far as the park the staff were rude! They told me I could get something to eat by the pool but when I went up to the OUTSIDE WINDOW the teenager said I would have to pay to come in the pool and then they would serve me. Why have the out side walk up window. It must have been too hard for him to walk the money 15 steps to the register and then the food back to me... hmmm. So I said forget it and just proceeded to the disc golf course. A nice round of golf would make things all better. NOT!! 2 more additional dollars to play for "upkeep to the course" what a laugh. Who ever pays this is just donating to the person that collects the money. After hole 2, I had no clue where to go and I'm not new to this. Tees and baskets did not match up and it looked like the fairways were crossing several times. You would think with as much land the park has that they could come up with something better than this. Well I learned my lesson and the next time I'm in the area I'll be more productive with my time and clip my toenails. I have no idea how this course existed for so long.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't waste your time

2-4    7/23/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: macqude
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a swimming pool and campground close by.
Cons: I actually paid to play this course. Baskets missing, pads missing, tee signs missing. What are we paying for? I have played in parks for free that I would have gladly given $5.
Other Thoughts: Gotta give them some credit for trying. This course has been around for over 20 years.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.