Layout Extinct

Centreville, VA 
Bull Run Regional Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #12 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 183ft.   3 / 209ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Ummm... Not So Much.

5+    7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/18/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent short range practice or beginner course for kids.

It's a disc golf course.
Cons: Short, short, short. Extremely short. Way too short.

Flat, flat, flat.

One short rainstorm makes it a swamp for a week.

There are always lots of mosquitoes in the area.

For as crummy as it is, there is a lot of traffic there because of the campground and the course's proximity to I-66. Many of these folks are not fun to play disc golf around.

Poorly maintained.

Concrete teepads are falling apart, and are too small.

Lots of garbage. No trash cans, either. So, you can't even clean up if you wanted to.
Other Thoughts: Do yourself a favor and stay away. If you must come, save it for a fall day when the mosquitoes are dead and it hasn't rained in awhile.

UPDATE: The powers that be have taken some steps to lengthen the course, and I'll give them credit for their efforts. Several holes have been lengthened. In fact, it appears that construction may not be complete. Right now they're tearing out a putt-putt course that went mostly unused, so who knows? However, whoever is working on this has quite a task ahead of them. In order to make this course even DECENT, they'd have to cut through a lot of the woods that currently surround the course. Plus, there are still serious drainage and mosquito issues. We'll see... but for now I'll give them credit for trying.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short, repetitive, but a great place to up your ace count or work on putter uphots

1    6/12/2008   7/18/2008
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is well shaded with lots of trees and very little underbrush. It's pretty easy to find your way through the course (I think you can see all 18 baskets from the parking lot), though sometimes it is a little confusing which basket you are throwing to, since they are all so close together. Most shots are in the 150-250' range with a few trees in the way on each shot.

This is a great place to host an Ace Race event, and the historical significance of Bull Run is really cool (yes, this park is the site of the Battle of Bull Run). Great park for all sorts of other diversions, and lots of great big fields in the park that are perfect for throwing practice shots with your drivers...
Cons: Holes get repetitive and similar. No elevation change. Single chain baskets. Long dirt tees are very, very poorly marked and seem like an afterthought.

It is a looong drive into the park before you get to the disc golf course (just keep driving, you'll get there eventually).
Other Thoughts: I visited the course as an excuse to wait out traffic one afternoon and didn't know what to expect. I took my whole bag and threw through the course the first round just launching 3-4 discs off each box to loosen up and see what the course looked like. Hit several sets of chains and several baskets (nothing stuck).

After the first survey round, I put everything back except two putters (Wizard, Magic) and two midranges (Ontario Roc and CE Classic Roc) and played a normal round (no extra shots) with one of the locals. It only took me 38 throws to complete the course (-16 par), which is undoubtedly the lowest score I've ever shot on 18 holes. And shooting a -16 down felt like I took two bogies.

For any advanced or pro player, this should basically be played as a par 2 course and is a great place to work on your putts and putter/midrange upshots. There are enough trees in the way to force you to shape your lines and practice a variety of shots and distances. It's a great practice course for that reason.

For a rec/intermediate player, this is a decent course to work on your game and enjoy a lazy afternoon with friends.

For a person with young children or a girlfriend who's never played, this is a great starter course to get their confidence up.

I originally gave this course a 2.5 rating because I think this is a pretty fun course for less-skilled players and a good putter par-2 course for more experienced players. It's relaxing. A round only takes 30-40 minutes, and it's the site of some great American history. Of course, when I went, I wasn't asked to pay anything to play.

Since learning that this course is typically a $7-$9 experience, I'm dropping a half star from the rating. This is a fun little course when it's free. But for $9, save your time and go somewhere else. The only reason I'm not dropping the rating more is because I understand the course is free in the off-season. So check with parks and rec and find out if they're going to charge you before you head over there. Fun for locals if it's free. A huge disappointment if you're paying to play.

So take the family, bring a picnic and enjoy the day. This is a great park for a day of many activities -- of which casual disc golf with friends can be one small element.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 OK Rec Course

7/13/2003   2/26/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's cool in the shade. You can easily birdie every hole. It's a total little rec/family/biginner course. Take your child here to teach him the game. The course is played completely under the shade of some big trees. The holes are all flat, weaving around the trees.
Cons: Old baskets with single chains. The terrain doesn't have a whole lot going.
Other Thoughts: If you're here, get out and work on your short game. But don't drive out of your way looking for it like we did. That's why this is such a great site.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Short Course on Civil War Battlefield

5/8/2004   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool, quiet setting
Cons: Baskets, length, cost
Other Thoughts: The Bull Run Regional Park disc golf course is a small part of a very large complex of battefield sites, picnic areas, a small water park, nature trails, and a campground. So the park is full of great stuff. The course is one of the older ones in the state, is very short, and is set entirely in a quiet and sometimes boggy set of woods. The course has concrete tee pads, but they're small, and the baskets only have a single row of chains. On the plus side, it's nice and cool in the woods, the forest is mostly comprised of well established hardwoods, and if you want to get good at using your putters and mid-range discs, well, this is the place to do it.

I didn't need my driver on any of Bull Run's 18 holes. I threw a Shark or occasionally a Roc off the tee, and then putted (when I didn't hit a nearby tree). The course is all in the woods, but is not too tight, and would be good for beginners to learn control. Experienced players, however, often break par out here, I'm sure. The course did have straight shots plus enough holes requiring controlled left and right turns off the tee, and did not have any weird or unreasonable demands. It's just short, flat, and basic; good for beginners and those needing to work on their control.

Favorite Hole - #18, fairly open, gradual hook shot.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.