Long Creek, SC 
Chattooga Belle Farm Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #17 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 256ft.   3 / 256ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beautiful views!

5+    9/1/2013   9/2/2013
Review By: Marge
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great mountain views
-long distance through hilly terrain makes for a solid workout- bring water
-good use of water hazards
-awesome incorporation of the course into the working farm, orchards and cows galore
-new touches to the farm each time we play, including increasingly impressive tree house platform with hammocks
-all around beautiful, secluded place to play a round
Cons: -tall grass at times
-no shade for the most part
-the fields have claimed 4 of our discs thus far
-tees are not really established, no tee pads or clear markings. grab a map.
Other Thoughts: lost 2 discs on hole 12- one champion leopard in transparent yellow and one opaque yellow with a lazy frog dye bought on our honeymoon in marthas vineyard....if anyone finds them, would be very very thankful if returned

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth it for the view alone

2-4    9/28/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Everyone says it: THE VIEWS. I've played at dawn both times I've been here, and there's no better way to play it. The beauty of the Sun rising over the crest of the Blue Ridge Mtns is amazing.
The apples. It's awesome playing around an apple orchard. If you visit during the proper season, the apples are huge and delicious.
Not many people. Both times I've played, there was nobody else there, and I would assume that even during the peak times, this is not a crowded course.
Lots of elevation changes add a bit of challenge to walking through the course and gives it a nice "day-hike" feel.
It's clean, quiet, and tranquil. All the things we love about mountain courses.
Open fairways and mountain-top tees make this a great course to bomb some long shots. It makes you feel pretty good about your game while still requiring a fair amount of skill. Unforgiving roughs and sloping terrain will make you think about placement and shot selection rather than just ripping a power drive out in a general direction.
Cons: Not really anything in the way of benches or trash cans. I usually like to see at least 1 trash can per 9 holes on pay-to-play courses.
It's a pretty open course, with little opportunity to shape shots around trees or other obstacles.
I've played at dawn both times I've been here, and the morning mountain dew can really soak through shoes and pants quickly. Especially when the grass is long. Not really anything to do about this, but it does come into play.
The grass can be longer than I'd like, but it is a mountain top farm, not a country club.
Tees are just plastic strips on the ground, so it can be hard to find them, especially with the tall grass.
No signs to indicate fairway lines on a couple of blind holes.
It can be hard to find your disc, even in the middle of the fairway. This isn't all bad though, as it forces you to pay attention to placement more so than many other courses.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. It offers panorama views of the surrounding mountains, clean air, and long drives. It's not tight or technical, but it is a fun course to play. I've rode up from Atlanta both times I've played it, and it is well worth the 2 hour drive and the $3 to play. I understand the owners don't want to cut into the woods to make wooded fairways, and that's fine. This course is about having fun and getting out to throw some discs on long drives. It's family-friendly, so bring the wife and ankle-biters out for a day in the Blue Ridge Mountains of apples and disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course design clarifications

5+    8/21/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: mwierda
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Big open course, beautiful views.
Cons: Big open course.
Other Thoughts: I am posting this to clarify a few things on the design of this course. I was one of the designers and I have seen lots of comments about how the woods are not used. The woods were not used and are not likely to get used b/c the owner of the farm did not want to cut any trees. So, don't expect that to change. This course was specifically designed to be a long bomber course. If you don't have a big arm and don't like long holes I would suggest playing somewheres else. We (the designers) are discussing a few tweaks to the course but no major changes.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Drive

1    7/24/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: TheOtherBill
Played: 112  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2011
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For the grand opening 5 players of varying skill (one big arm, some Recs and an Int) drove the 75 minutes from Greenville to check out the hubub and none of us were disappointed at all, what a great facility run by super nice people. We all finished within 5 strokes of each other, so there is not a major advantage for people who can drive an extra 50-80 feet, but it sure comes in handy. There is a lot more up and down than you realize, and with the mountains in the background judging a baskets distance was tricky sometimes. We'd throw what was thought to be a good upshot only to crest a hill and realize it was 25+ feet short of where we thought, or even the reverse on a few drastic downhill angles.
Favorite holes were pretty unanimous- #4, #9 and #12, but no one had any holes that felt 'thrown in' or just filler to make 18.
This course is less than a week old, and there is plenty of space available for any design tweaking that may need to take place, or perhaps just to put a few baskets even closer to water. I fully expect this rating to improve as the course gets seasoned.
Cons: Only one real 'con' and it's the reason the rating wasn't higher - the lack of teepads. We had to move to the side of the flags to tee off on two occasions due holes that would easily turn an ankle or worse on the run-up.
Some people may have issue with the front 8 being so open on most holes, and then finishing up with 3 open holes but I saw that as a benefit, and should add to the challenge if it ever gets breezy. Players who like the nearby Elberton or Walhalla courses will really like this one, but there are even less wooded holes as there are no real "woods" to shape fairways.
Other Thoughts: 1. The scenery is amazing. Be prepared to take some extra time to just look around and enjoy the place, maybe bring lunch and enjoy the hospitality.
2. Wear high socks or pants if you are not a terribly accurate driver, even when mowed the grass is still tall and there are ticks, etc.
3. Bring friends or headphones as it does take some time to play the whole 18.

UPDATED 2/9/11: Winter has really lowered the grass level over most all of the course and visibility for wayward discs is excellent. Great time to make the trip before it greens up.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.