Brooklyn, MS 
Ashe Lake DGC - 9 Share
Uploaded By: Dan39465 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 91ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Take it for what it is.

1    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well maintained park
-Nice tee markers
-Bells on baskets for visually impaired players
-Several wheelchair accessible holes
-Benches and trash cans aplenty
-Convenient restrooms
-Putting game with rules listed near restrooms
Cons: -$5 entry fee
-Short and easy
Other Thoughts: This course is for players with special needs. I think it's great! Most players will not find it challenging at all. But with bells on the baskets for visually impaired players and some wheelchair accessible holes ANYONE can play this course.
This course is unique and it accomplishes exactly what it was intended to.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Visually Impaired Baskets

5+    3/1/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: demamazins
Played: 68  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bells are strategically placed on top of the basket and are rung so that the visually impaired can locate the basket to throw their disc(s) at.
-Nicely groomed.
-Wheelchair Accessible.
-Restrooms
Cons: -$5 park fee. Entrance has Drop Box Envelopes.
-Don't forget to pay otherwise:
Forestry Service hands you a $120 ticket as a door prize and make you pay the entrance fee in addition.
-No alcoholic beverages allowed; bring alternative containers at your own risk.
Other Thoughts: Wish the course across the pond was groomed like this one

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for what it is

1    12/23/2010   2/3/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around a small mulit-use area across the lake from the 18 hole course on site. There are some small elevation changes on a few holes to add some variety. A couple holes near the end bring some bushes into play. The baskets are in great shape, and almost all have bells for blind players to hear where the basket is, very cool adaptation! The tees are all level, they're small but that doesn't matter on this short a course. The signage is great, with a large sign explaining the purpose and layout of the course at the beginning, and good tee signs on all holes. The property was nicely maintained, and free of garbage or vandalism.
Cons: I love the idea of a course that's playable for people with various handicaps, and for the most part this course is ideal for that purpose. One concern I had was how spread out the course was, to play the whole thing there are some long walks across roads and parking lots which means that some players won't be able to successfully navigate the course without significant help.

I do rate all courses on the same scale, if I were rating courses for kids and for a handicapped population, this one would get a pretty good score from me. It does have some safety issues, with parking lots and park roads in play, as well as some picnic areas and walking paths. The whole course is short, easy, and straightforward, so it doesn't offer any challenges for a serious player.
Other Thoughts: For the intended audience, this course does a nice job, it's short and not frustrating, and designed well to accommodate various disabilities. Kids and really new players will find it friendly, and not punishing. It gets more difficult as the course goes on, which is a good way to design it for this demographic imo. More experienced players won't find any challenges here, even with a superclass lid, but there's a tougher course right across the lake designed for more serious players, I like to see that balance in a complex like this.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice warm up course

1    1/2/2011   1/2/2011
Review By: Zootaroonee
Played: 88  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Its a nice course to warm up with. Well maintained grass, trash cans, restroom, and bench areas. They have a sign that shows the whole course layout and the tees are marked pretty well.
Cons: only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: I put as a con that its only 9 holes but luckily there is the 18 hole course right across the water there so its not much of a con. I drove an hour from Biloxi to play and if the 18 hole course wasnt there i probably wouldnt be back very often. For locals around Hattiesburg tho i think it'd be great. With the 18 hole course being so close i think it was certainly worth the hour ride.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting...not bad for a short course

1    12/16/2010   12/16/2010
Review By: Nathanbr2
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1) Well kept up part of the park (the big 18 was nearly unplayable)

2) nice area, with benches, trash cans, ect

3) Took my girlfriend along with me on this one, and she loved that she didn't have to drive 300' to make par.

4)Good signage
Cons: 1) Short holes.

2) only 9 holes. would have loved to play an 18 hole round here.

3) tee pads are short, but generally a runup is not needed on these holes
Other Thoughts: Took my Girlfriend with me, and ended up playing this one twice in one day when the "big 18" was too overgrown. nice little course to pick up and play once or twice if you're in the area

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A little gem.

1    8/21/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: Dan39465
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is built for disabled people. There are concrete tee pads and sidewalks on a majority of the holes. Each hole has a tee sign with the hole layout and yardage.

On top of each basket is a bell. The bell is rung so visually impared players will have a direction to aim in.

Great for little ones too. The shorter distances will help build confidence.

Full facilities are close by. Including a large pavilion, restrooms and water fountains.

It is in a pay to play area. keeps out the "lurkers" you find in a lot of public parks.

Beautiful setting with tall pines scattered around course. Just across the lake from the "Big18". The area is maintained by the US Forestry Service so the grass is kept short.

It even has a practice basket near the pavilion and a sign with a game for the practice basket.

Cons: Only 9 holes.

A couple of blind tee shots on a course that is perfect for an Ace Race.

Out of the way. The park is about 20 miles south of Hattiesburg. (The only flaw IMHO)
Other Thoughts: For what it is, an ADA course, you can't ask for much more. Great warm up for the Big 18 Across the lake.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

fun!

2-4    7/21/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 103  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2014
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: concrete tee pads. Course is well marked with signs giving yardage. Nice park setting with restrooms and water fountains.well designed for what it is. 18 more challenging holes in the same location.
Cons: only 9 holes. not very challenging.
Other Thoughts: This is a very short handicap friendly course. It is great for practice, warming up, or playing with kids or a wife or girlfriend who is not very good. For experienced players it is an Ace Run. I really enjoyed playing there. It's not a course you would want to play all the time but was a fun change of pace. It would also lend itself well to "safari" golf. we noticed some great holes you could make. Good for a putter round

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.