Oconto, WI 
Mikel J. Wittkopf Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: Shuie  
Course Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great little Course

1    8/15/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: NateTGreat
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Each hole is a challenge with variety of wooded and open shots
-Decent course design with nice hole lengths
-Well kept fairways
-Very difficult to lose a disc
-Camping and sports complex on site
Cons: -Tee boxes are too short
-Virtually no elevation changes throughout the entirety of the course
-Can get mucky after a good rain
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed the course. For a small 9 hole ride, I felt satisfied coming out of it. Most of the holes are at least 280 feet or longer, and the low ceilings and dog legs make for some tight skill shots. If you are around the area, I would recommend stopping by for a fling.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Labor Of Love

1    5/24/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 200  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Mikel Wittkopf loved disc golf. He often found himself at Shu Pond, a local private nine-hole course. So, when Mikel tragically passed away before his time, his parents approached Shu Pond's designer/owner and the local town's Parks Department to create a memorial course in his honor. Casey Shufelt provided the design, the Wittkopf's generously donated the funding, and the city provided the parkland. A large sign with a picture of Mikel graces the beginning of the course, and serves to remind loved ones of a friend and son lost way before his time.
- This course is tucked into a small flood plain. Tall grass comprises much of the rough, with a decent mix of large old-growth trees and younger or smaller varieties. A small campground sits to one side of the course. Ball fields and other park activities and roads sit to the other side. Although located in what looked to be a fairly used multi-purpose park, the course for the most part does a good job staying away from other activities. The course threads in and out of the semi-wooded terrain. Wittkopf is mostly flat, and though there are some small wrinkles of "up and down" to contend with, not enough elevation exists to really alter any shots.
- A decent variety in hole types and shots required prevent this course from feeling 100% park-styley. The trees do a good job in giving the course a sort of secluded feeling. Advanced players will see this as a slightly challenging deuce-or-die while newbies and lesser players will struggle to par or birdie several of the holes, especially the couple that play on the longer side. Recovery shots are usually to be had, but will cut in on your scoring.
- Short cement tees, signage, and decent baskets comprise the bulk of the amenities. Port-a-johns are located in a couple of spots. Mikel's mother was tending to flowers in a small garden underneath the memorial sign. She thanked us for playing the course. This course is a labor of love.
Cons: - It's obvious that a lack of routine maintenance by parks & rec is the main issue with this layout. The grass rough was tall, thick, and probably a huge pain in the arse in the summer. Luckily, the fairways had been cut recently, so the course was very playable.
- A lot of players will probably find the concrete pads too short. I really didn't have any problem with them, and thought they provided a better option than natural or gravel tees.
- #1 and #4 have changed pin positions since the signage went in. Both have two pin positions, although #1's is apparently lost under a pile of mulch and needs to be found again. #4's pin has been moved to the left; the sleeve for the location on the sign is readily visible.
Other Thoughts: - While certainly not a prime piece of land to work with, the course does its best to avoid cliche, boring golf. Casey's got a good eye for interesting lines and often gives players a couple of choices on how to approach a hole.
- Located near Shu Pond, this couples well with that course, providing a good warm-up for The Pond's tougher brand of discin'.
- Thanks to the Wittkopf family for their devotion to their son's passion and pastime, and for turning their personal loss into a positive gain for the community at large. It is because of their love for a lost family member that this course exists. Please treat the course with respect and care in order to honor their commitment to disc golf, and to honor the memory of Mikel Wittkopf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wittkopf Wonders

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: Jake920
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the course sign and the Bulletin Board with league information and Lost Disc sign in sheet. Also, think that is really awesome that there are scorecards and pencils at hole 1! The course is constantly evolving bit by bit, from new pins placements a few holes to benches and trash cans and every other hole. All the amenities really make for a nice casual round. The course itself is pretty awesome, there is a lot of variety here, some flex shots, right doglegs and left doglegs, a few aces runs and a few holes to kinda left you rip it but nothing over four hundred. I also like how the course played through a moderately wooded area. There is camping available less than 100 yard from the course.
Cons: The course can be rather muddy during the really rainy month in spring and late fall but not unplayable. The rough isn't very punishing, most players should be able to save par with an errant drive. Bugs are bad in the wet months too!
Other Thoughts: Wittkopf is really a great place for beginners who are looking to be challanged while more seasoned played will still enjoy the shot shaping with all the amount of trees in play with that being said its gonna be more of a birdie fest!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 244  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mikel Wittkopf Memorial DGC has a really nice sign and memorial plaque at the start of the course and has scorecards available there also. There are concrete pads and nice tee signs that list distance and par. The chainstar baskets are in great condition. Navigation is easy with the tee signs on 4x4 posts and there are even next tee signs pointing the way.

The course is moderately to heavily wooded with lots of mature trees. There is a great shot variety here, especially considering it's only 9 holes. All but one hole is in the 250' to 325' range (one is longer at 370') so every hole is reachable, but all the trees force you to hit your lines if you want to have a chance at a birdie, especially on some of the tighter holes. Miss your line or hit an early tree and you'll still have a chance for par on some holes, but there are definitely enough trees on others to make you earn it.
Cons: The tees are a little on the short side.

I played here in the winter and didn't see any underbrush, but I see others have mentioned it so maybe it's still an issue in the warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Despite being fairly wooded, it's just short enough to be manageable to newer players. More advanced golfers will be challenged to hit their lines and will be rewarded with birdies when they do.

This well designed 9 hole course is one of the better 9 holers I've played. I suggest checking this course out if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Off the beaten path with potential

1    5/28/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 858  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Port-o-potty by Hole #8.
2) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and sponsors of the hole. Map is also helpful.
3) Garbage cans on every other hole if I counted correctly. The course was pretty free of garbage.
4) Concrete tee-pads are always a positive in my eyes. Good consistent footing is always preferred when driving for me.
5) There were a few directionals that were helpful in finding the next tee. They were consistent and attractive so they were easy to spot.
6) Excellent mix of holes both in shot required as well as foliage density and challenge. Most of the course is in the woods but there were a couple that started or ended in the woods, and 2 that were completely outside of the woods with just a smattering of trees.
7) Plenty of mature trees to get in your way or force you to throw around them.
8) The area this course plays in has a pretty cool feel being completely covered by trees, but not quite throwing through dense woods the entire way.
9) Nice Chainstar baskets, my all time favorite baskets for disc golf.
Cons: 1) The concrete tees were just a little short in my opinion and I am a short person with short legs so I would imagine a taller player might struggle to do a full run-up.
2) Campground is close to the course, which isn't necessarily a negative for the disc golfers, but I would imagine it might be a negative for the campers right along the wood-line. It felt like I was walking through their backyard as they were making the eggs and breakfast.
3) Fairways are mowed, but they could really use some grading to level them out and make them safer to walk. It wasn't terrible or un-walkable but I did pay close attention to where I was stepping so as to not twist an ankle.
4) A couple of the baskets are installed a little bit lower than I am used to.
5) #5 sign is really dangerously close to the end of the tee-pad and I could see someone slicing off their hand if they overthrow their arm too much.
6) Distance variation is a little lacking here with most holes in the 250-300' range and only a couple above 300'. No shorter 150-250' length holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great property for disc golf because they have a nice patch of woods to use. I had fun playing this course. The unevenness of the fairways was a little frustrating because run-ups were difficult, and this was even after it had been freshly mowed. I pretty much threw all upshots from a standstill which I am pretty good at but also leads to slightly errant shots sometimes. I would have liked to see some grading done to make the rolling terrain in the woods more consistent. Maybe in time this will happen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My area favorite

1    10/27/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 16.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Chainstar baskets. Concrete tee pads. Map box with maps in it.
Nice tee signs with good info. Well defined, well mowed fairways. Good solid design for interesting and challenging tee shots. Plays at an advanced level though pars are set at a red level.
Cons: No under 200' ace run. No over 500' par 4. Tee pads are minimum size at 4x8. Need "next tee" signs to holes #6 #9.
I played this course in late October when summer plants had died off and disc finding was easy. It is plain to see though that in mid summer, lots of waist high weed schule could make disc losing and finding a major part of a round.
Other Thoughts: Character: Very nice big park right in Oconto is on the river and has camping. Totally flat! The course utilizes mostly wooded areas a bit away from the water. This is a technical course that demands accurate and well crafted shots.

HOLE NOTES:
#1 RHBH "S". Tree gate halfway.
#2 RHBH Hyzer. Maybe a little long at 315 - plays about 2.8.
#3 RHBH sharp anhyzer to VERY tight putting zone. Lots of heavy schule (tall, thick, brush) trouble available.
#4 RHBH gentle anhyzer. Mowed around big trees to left and tree schule right.
#5 Open mowed w/ more trees right. Shot around left or straight through tree gate. Almost grey zone about 2.6. Need next tee sign to #6!
#6 Almost straight slightly left. Nice width mowed fairway with schule both sides. Solid 3.0 grey zone hole!
#7 Tough RHBH S with heavy schule on all sides. Probably not aceable.
#8 RHBH hyzer mostly open with schule sides and tough guarded goal. Need a "next tee" sign to go back to left on path.
#9 RHBH hyzer. A tight touch shot through heavy tall schule. Tough approach from outside putting zone. Doe following me last half of this hole.

My take: If I lived nearby this would be my favorite in the area for fall, winter and spring disc golf. Maybe not in mid-summer on account of heavy (off fairway) weeds. I wouldn't even stop in Peshtigo, and I prefer the more interesting technical holes in Oconto to the more variable length holes in Marinette. Maybe hole #5 could be lengthened to over 500' and #6 could become that ace run, and maybe this course would have about everything I could expect without hills or water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Par course

1    10/19/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic use of the real estate available. Most holes require a very good drive in order to birdie. Decent balance of left right shots, I found myself throwing uncommon shots like sidearm anhyzers to negotiate tricky fairways. Concrete tees are in, fairways are maintained appropriate for a woodland Disc Golf Course.
Cons: Holes 8-9 were nothing special. Tees could be longer, and I hate it when signs are in the front of the tee box (big steps and long arms). Seriously I saw a guy break his hand on a sign off to the front right of a tee...
Other Thoughts: Course rewards skill, not always strength. I recommend it to anybody coming through the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better niners

1    10/4/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 194  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 17.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice wooded course with good solid design. Fairways were cleared nicely, leaving strategic trees and bushes in place to shape the 'airways' and require specific flights (mini S-shots for the most part) and also offer multiple routes to the pin.
The hole distances varied nicely from around 370' to 225' or so.
The greens are nicely designed, not just stupidly wide open, but near some trees and bushes to create some obstacles.
I enjoyed #1-3 a lot. #2 was my second favorite hole on the course. Had a nice gently twisting fairway with a huge tree splitting the routes, and ROUGH grasses and bushes off the fairway. Favored a gentle anny off the tee to clear the large tree and then a slight fade at the end to the pin. I drove 3 times here for the fun of watching the disc sail. Multiple routes are offered on holes 1 and 2 which is a MUST design element to make a course good. Hoel 6 is also like this where an awesome large tree with wide reaching branches frames out an excellent tee shot. The designer did a GREAT job using the elements here and not just plopping a pin and tee down around existing features. This course was designed and constructed, not just 'put in'!
Hole #7 I enjoyed a lot, but the tee box didn't lend to a very favorable route (or at least what I had in my bag). A large mass of tree with vines blocks most of the approach, but small trees litter the fairway to keep you from going too wide around it. Then the pin is protected by a couple shorter trees that are covered in vines - very neat pin protectors!
#8 is an EXCELLENT hole and could be better I think if the tee was a bit further back and to the right. It would allow hyzers more time to work. Right now you can just toss a hard hyzxer into the tree branches, get knocked down and be within putting range. Moving the tee could allow awesome ace runs through the great trees at 350'.
The rough is ROUGH, bad shots should be punished.
The navigation and signs are great. The course feels secluded and quiet in the middle of the fall day that I played. Although in the middle of camping season I'd imagine it is pretty loud and busy in the surrounding areas.
Cons: Only one set of tees and the tee boxes are dismal at best. They're old minigolf sections of raised wood and astroturf. They are only 2' wide, 4"+ raised, and often times far too short for even a 2-3 step approach. And you do need to drive on most of these holes. They were so bad that I threw from the side and I know this will create erosion problems in the future (sorry). Just lay some crusher dust down at a minimal cost and effort.
The tee signs offer no hole layout or depictive diagram, often requiring you to walk down the fairway and verify pin location.
Hole #4 is a throwaway, and on a 9 hole course, having a throwaway hurts. It is a 280' slight RHBH anny with a tree line on the right. Moving the tee back 100' into the brush and requiring much more of an anny would make it more interesting, although errant drives would end up in #5.
#5 is longer and offers you some chance to air it out, but why not make it really longer and add obtsacles? Put the pin 100' back and around the bush off the corner of the driveway area. Then you'd add a 400'+ shot to the mix, and still have obstacles, keeping it from being a boring wide open ripper.
The course is predominantly RHBH anny favored routes (slight anny off the tee to take the widest fairway route around trees). Until #8 and #9 balance it out with harder left turns.
The rough is ROUGH - you may lose discs. I was fortunate to be in the fairway or not too far off, but the rough could discourage many players.
Poison ivy can be seen sprouting all around, most notably on fairway 6 and 9, but also lots of places in the rough.
Unfortunately the lay of the land is essentialy flat. So no neat hills or ravines.
No water hazards, no defined OB.
Variety is lacking. This is mainly a flat wooded course. 2 holes are thrown in to the mix to add open park like shots, but they could both be better IMO.
Other Thoughts: I think with some simple changes, I'd really up the rating of this course...
Eliminate the minigolf tees!
Install two sets of tees, use crusher dust or just put concrete in. Make the short tees very easy for all the potential newbies you'll have being in the middle of the city. Move some of the long tees more strategically back, left, or right (especially #8).
Change the tee for #4 to eliminate it as a throwaway easy hole.
Make #5 longer, pin behind the bush.
Add tee signs with a diagram of the hole layout and flight path to eliminate walking so far up some fairways.

I really think that city courses need a long and short set of tees. Increased traffic helps keep your brush down (hopefully d-bags stay out though), and also increases publicity for you to expand and improve.
I actually liked this course very much. The fact that it was actually designed and created is evident. This is carved through a previously dense and unusable area. Great use of the space and actually a great design that I would only tweak a bit. I stopped here during my travels north, and was not disappointed at all. I enjoyed the course and could see this pushing to be a 3.5 rated niner with some improvements and maybe a few more very unique features put into play. That says a LOT, especially considering the list of courses it would be associated with that I have rated at 3.5 and 4 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New course!

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: simm
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is yours! Very little traffic. A variety of holes-woods and open field. Close to park/town.
Cons: If you plan on going in the rough, you will want to be wearing pants-my legs got pretty scratched up. VERY thick brush. Lots of mosquitos as well.
Other Thoughts: I was ecstatic to find out Oconto added a DG course. It's not bad-some tough holes with narrow shots that require accuracy. Plan on digging a disc or two out of the undergrowth.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Keep it in the fairway

1    7/24/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: Ckuxmann
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
Easy layout
Course is basically yours
Camping is right near the course
Cons: Tees are vary narrow, short and raised of the ground
NETTLE is HORRRIABLE.
Bring BUG SPRAY
Other Thoughts: This course needs the Rough cleaned up. The course is new, so it is understandable. The fairways aren't level so water can puddle up. I would not recomend this course for newer players.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.