Oconto, WI 
Mikel J. Wittkopf Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: OParks1 Hole #6 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Really nice spin in a fun park.

1    6/8/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 hole course set up in the middle of a campground/park, with many other activities within. A nice spot for a day with the family.

Concrete tee pads, all in great shape, and plenty long/wide. No issues whatsoever with these. One tee per hole.

Nice Chainstar baskets, that did all you'd expect them to. One pin position per hole.

Mostly, this park is just wonderfully carved out in the thicket of trees in the middle of the park. There is nary a throwaway hole on the course. Every hole offers some sort of fair line, with most having several, including some over the top shots, if that's your thing. The holes all had their own personality, and I never got a repetitive feeling here. Very well done.

The area it is in is exclusively for disc golf, so you shouldn't have to worry about other foot traffic. Nice tee signs help with navigation. No issues here.

Nice set of distances. While there's nothing too crazy long, there's also nothing too crazy short, either. Twos are possible on every hole, but you'll have to earn them.

A river runs behind hole 9 (although you'd have to seriously jam up to get near it), and a small drainage creek runs alongside a couple holes.

Cart friendly.

Cons: There's really not a lot of cons to this spot. It's somewhat low-lying, so it can hold water in spots.

Quite flat. It is what it is.

One or two holes run close to the road that crosses to the campground. If something really go away from you, you could conceivably end up over there.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is just a fun spot to throw some frisbees. It's not crazy hard, but it's not crazy easy. Just a nice test of skills for the Int/Adv player, and probably a lot of fun for all others.

Worth a stop if you're in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Extended tee boxes

1    8/6/2016   8/6/2016
Review By: Primer74
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice level concrete pads. Looks like they added a few feet to each one, making them longer.
Good markers showing location of next hole and layouts of holes
All of the baskets were I'm perfect shape
Some pretty technical shots through the woods.
Lots of other stuff to enjoy at the park
I saw port a Jons, but I'm betting there was an indoor bathroom around
Cons: Some or the holes needed I bit of tending (grass mowed some fallen trees and brush piles cleared). But none of these things were bad to the point that I effected play.
No elevation change.
Other Thoughts: Fun nine hole course, kind of out there for some, but if you are from the area it is definitely worth checking out

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nicely done

1    9/21/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 232  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun, well designed course. The baskets are chainstars that are all in great shape and catch great. The flow of the course is very easy to follow. The course is flat with multiple trees to contend with on every hole. The lines are fair on each hole though. There are nice tee signs at each hole. these have a basic hole layout, distance, hole number and par. Everything you need out of a tee sign. The tees are all concrete. These are all level and grip just right. There's a great mix of shot shaping required here for a nine hole course. The distances are all around 300' which is a plus compared to most nine holers. The course is permanent and free to play. It is also set up in a disc golf exclusive area which is always a bonus. Wouldn't ever seem to be to busy either. The course was very clean and well taken care of. There's pencils and scorecards provided too which is nice.
Cons: There are a few spots toward the beginning of the course that seem like they could get swampy in wetter months. The tees are a bit short, not a big deal for me but could be for some. The bugs can be bad but it's WI so yeah.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun, excellently designed course in a nice town. It's not really worth a long drive out of the way to play, but if in the area it's definitely worth a round or three.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great little Course

1    8/15/2015   8/15/2015
Review By: NateTGreat
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Each hole is a challenge with variety of wooded and open shots
-Decent course design with nice hole lengths
-Well kept fairways
-Very difficult to lose a disc
-Camping and sports complex on site
Cons: -Tee boxes are too short
-Virtually no elevation changes throughout the entirety of the course
-Can get mucky after a good rain
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed the course. For a small 9 hole ride, I felt satisfied coming out of it. Most of the holes are at least 280 feet or longer, and the low ceilings and dog legs make for some tight skill shots. If you are around the area, I would recommend stopping by for a fling.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Labor Of Love

1    5/24/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Mikel Wittkopf loved disc golf. He often found himself at Shu Pond, a local private nine-hole course. So, when Mikel tragically passed away before his time, his parents approached Shu Pond's designer/owner and the local town's Parks Department to create a memorial course in his honor. Casey Shufelt provided the design, the Wittkopf's generously donated the funding, and the city provided the parkland. A large sign with a picture of Mikel graces the beginning of the course, and serves to remind loved ones of a friend and son lost way before his time.
- This course is tucked into a small flood plain. Tall grass comprises much of the rough, with a decent mix of large old-growth trees and younger or smaller varieties. A small campground sits to one side of the course. Ball fields and other park activities and roads sit to the other side. Although located in what looked to be a fairly used multi-purpose park, the course for the most part does a good job staying away from other activities. The course threads in and out of the semi-wooded terrain. Wittkopf is mostly flat, and though there are some small wrinkles of "up and down" to contend with, not enough elevation exists to really alter any shots.
- A decent variety in hole types and shots required prevent this course from feeling 100% park-styley. The trees do a good job in giving the course a sort of secluded feeling. Advanced players will see this as a slightly challenging deuce-or-die while newbies and lesser players will struggle to par or birdie several of the holes, especially the couple that play on the longer side. Recovery shots are usually to be had, but will cut in on your scoring.
- Short cement tees, signage, and decent baskets comprise the bulk of the amenities. Port-a-johns are located in a couple of spots. Mikel's mother was tending to flowers in a small garden underneath the memorial sign. She thanked us for playing the course. This course is a labor of love.
Cons: - It's obvious that a lack of routine maintenance by parks & rec is the main issue with this layout. The grass rough was tall, thick, and probably a huge pain in the arse in the summer. Luckily, the fairways had been cut recently, so the course was very playable.
- A lot of players will probably find the concrete pads too short. I really didn't have any problem with them, and thought they provided a better option than natural or gravel tees.
- #1 and #4 have changed pin positions since the signage went in. Both have two pin positions, although #1's is apparently lost under a pile of mulch and needs to be found again. #4's pin has been moved to the left; the sleeve for the location on the sign is readily visible.
Other Thoughts: - While certainly not a prime piece of land to work with, the course does its best to avoid cliche, boring golf. Casey's got a good eye for interesting lines and often gives players a couple of choices on how to approach a hole.
- Located near Shu Pond, this couples well with that course, providing a good warm-up for The Pond's tougher brand of discin'.
- Thanks to the Wittkopf family for their devotion to their son's passion and pastime, and for turning their personal loss into a positive gain for the community at large. It is because of their love for a lost family member that this course exists. Please treat the course with respect and care in order to honor their commitment to disc golf, and to honor the memory of Mikel Wittkopf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wittkopf Wonders

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: Jake920
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the course sign and the Bulletin Board with league information and Lost Disc sign in sheet. Also, think that is really awesome that there are scorecards and pencils at hole 1! The course is constantly evolving bit by bit, from new pins placements a few holes to benches and trash cans and every other hole. All the amenities really make for a nice casual round. The course itself is pretty awesome, there is a lot of variety here, some flex shots, right doglegs and left doglegs, a few aces runs and a few holes to kinda left you rip it but nothing over four hundred. I also like how the course played through a moderately wooded area. There is camping available less than 100 yard from the course.
Cons: The course can be rather muddy during the really rainy month in spring and late fall but not unplayable. The rough isn't very punishing, most players should be able to save par with an errant drive. Bugs are bad in the wet months too!
Other Thoughts: Wittkopf is really a great place for beginners who are looking to be challanged while more seasoned played will still enjoy the shot shaping with all the amount of trees in play with that being said its gonna be more of a birdie fest!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 256  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mikel Wittkopf Memorial DGC has a really nice sign and memorial plaque at the start of the course and has scorecards available there also. There are concrete pads and nice tee signs that list distance and par. The chainstar baskets are in great condition. Navigation is easy with the tee signs on 4x4 posts and there are even next tee signs pointing the way.

The course is moderately to heavily wooded with lots of mature trees. There is a great shot variety here, especially considering it's only 9 holes. All but one hole is in the 250' to 325' range (one is longer at 370') so every hole is reachable, but all the trees force you to hit your lines if you want to have a chance at a birdie, especially on some of the tighter holes. Miss your line or hit an early tree and you'll still have a chance for par on some holes, but there are definitely enough trees on others to make you earn it.
Cons: The tees are a little on the short side.

I played here in the winter and didn't see any underbrush, but I see others have mentioned it so maybe it's still an issue in the warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Despite being fairly wooded, it's just short enough to be manageable to newer players. More advanced golfers will be challenged to hit their lines and will be rewarded with birdies when they do.

This well designed 9 hole course is one of the better 9 holers I've played. I suggest checking this course out if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Off the beaten path with potential

1    5/28/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 479  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Port-o-potty by Hole #8.
2) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and sponsors of the hole. Map is also helpful.
3) Garbage cans on every other hole if I counted correctly. The course was pretty free of garbage.
4) Concrete tee-pads are always a positive in my eyes. Good consistent footing is always preferred when driving for me.
5) There were a few directionals that were helpful in finding the next tee. They were consistent and attractive so they were easy to spot.
6) Excellent mix of holes both in shot required as well as foliage density and challenge. Most of the course is in the woods but there were a couple that started or ended in the woods, and 2 that were completely outside of the woods with just a smattering of trees.
7) Plenty of mature trees to get in your way or force you to throw around them.
8) The area this course plays in has a pretty cool feel being completely covered by trees, but not quite throwing through dense woods the entire way.
9) Nice Chainstar baskets, my all time favorite baskets for disc golf.
Cons: 1) The concrete tees were just a little short in my opinion and I am a short person with short legs so I would imagine a taller player might struggle to do a full run-up.
2) Campground is close to the course, which isn't necessarily a negative for the disc golfers, but I would imagine it might be a negative for the campers right along the wood-line. It felt like I was walking through their backyard as they were making the eggs and breakfast.
3) Fairways are mowed, but they could really use some grading to level them out and make them safer to walk. It wasn't terrible or un-walkable but I did pay close attention to where I was stepping so as to not twist an ankle.
4) A couple of the baskets are installed a little bit lower than I am used to.
5) #5 sign is really dangerously close to the end of the tee-pad and I could see someone slicing off their hand if they overthrow their arm too much.
6) Distance variation is a little lacking here with most holes in the 250-300' range and only a couple above 300'. No shorter 150-250' length holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great property for disc golf because they have a nice patch of woods to use. I had fun playing this course. The unevenness of the fairways was a little frustrating because run-ups were difficult, and this was even after it had been freshly mowed. I pretty much threw all upshots from a standstill which I am pretty good at but also leads to slightly errant shots sometimes. I would have liked to see some grading done to make the rolling terrain in the woods more consistent. Maybe in time this will happen.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My area favorite

1    10/27/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 17.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Chainstar baskets. Concrete tee pads. Map box with maps in it.
Nice tee signs with good info. Well defined, well mowed fairways. Good solid design for interesting and challenging tee shots. Plays at an advanced level though pars are set at a red level.
Cons: No under 200' ace run. No over 500' par 4. Tee pads are minimum size at 4x8. Need "next tee" signs to holes #6 #9.
I played this course in late October when summer plants had died off and disc finding was easy. It is plain to see though that in mid summer, lots of waist high weed schule could make disc losing and finding a major part of a round.
Other Thoughts: Character: Very nice big park right in Oconto is on the river and has camping. Totally flat! The course utilizes mostly wooded areas a bit away from the water. This is a technical course that demands accurate and well crafted shots.

HOLE NOTES:
#1 RHBH "S". Tree gate halfway.
#2 RHBH Hyzer. Maybe a little long at 315 - plays about 2.8.
#3 RHBH sharp anhyzer to VERY tight putting zone. Lots of heavy schule (tall, thick, brush) trouble available.
#4 RHBH gentle anhyzer. Mowed around big trees to left and tree schule right.
#5 Open mowed w/ more trees right. Shot around left or straight through tree gate. Almost grey zone about 2.6. Need next tee sign to #6!
#6 Almost straight slightly left. Nice width mowed fairway with schule both sides. Solid 3.0 grey zone hole!
#7 Tough RHBH S with heavy schule on all sides. Probably not aceable.
#8 RHBH hyzer mostly open with schule sides and tough guarded goal. Need a "next tee" sign to go back to left on path.
#9 RHBH hyzer. A tight touch shot through heavy tall schule. Tough approach from outside putting zone. Doe following me last half of this hole.

My take: If I lived nearby this would be my favorite in the area for fall, winter and spring disc golf. Maybe not in mid-summer on account of heavy (off fairway) weeds. I wouldn't even stop in Peshtigo, and I prefer the more interesting technical holes in Oconto to the more variable length holes in Marinette. Maybe hole #5 could be lengthened to over 500' and #6 could become that ace run, and maybe this course would have about everything I could expect without hills or water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Par course

1    10/19/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic use of the real estate available. Most holes require a very good drive in order to birdie. Decent balance of left right shots, I found myself throwing uncommon shots like sidearm anhyzers to negotiate tricky fairways. Concrete tees are in, fairways are maintained appropriate for a woodland Disc Golf Course.
Cons: Holes 8-9 were nothing special. Tees could be longer, and I hate it when signs are in the front of the tee box (big steps and long arms). Seriously I saw a guy break his hand on a sign off to the front right of a tee...
Other Thoughts: Course rewards skill, not always strength. I recommend it to anybody coming through the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.