Oconto, WI 
Mikel J. Wittkopf Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: OParks1 Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/29/2013   3/29/2013
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mikel Wittkopf Memorial DGC has a really nice sign and memorial plaque at the start of the course and has scorecards available there also. There are concrete pads and nice tee signs that list distance and par. The chainstar baskets are in great condition. Navigation is easy with the tee signs on 4x4 posts and there are even next tee signs pointing the way.

The course is moderately to heavily wooded with lots of mature trees. There is a great shot variety here, especially considering it's only 9 holes. All but one hole is in the 250' to 325' range (one is longer at 370') so every hole is reachable, but all the trees force you to hit your lines if you want to have a chance at a birdie, especially on some of the tighter holes. Miss your line or hit an early tree and you'll still have a chance for par on some holes, but there are definitely enough trees on others to make you earn it.
Cons: The tees are a little on the short side.

I played here in the winter and didn't see any underbrush, but I see others have mentioned it so maybe it's still an issue in the warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Despite being fairly wooded, it's just short enough to be manageable to newer players. More advanced golfers will be challenged to hit their lines and will be rewarded with birdies when they do.

This well designed 9 hole course is one of the better 9 holers I've played. I suggest checking this course out if you're in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Off the beaten path with potential

1    5/28/2012   6/2/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 704  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Port-o-potty by Hole #8.
2) Nice signs with Hole #, Par, Distance, and sponsors of the hole. Map is also helpful.
3) Garbage cans on every other hole if I counted correctly. The course was pretty free of garbage.
4) Concrete tee-pads are always a positive in my eyes. Good consistent footing is always preferred when driving for me.
5) There were a few directionals that were helpful in finding the next tee. They were consistent and attractive so they were easy to spot.
6) Excellent mix of holes both in shot required as well as foliage density and challenge. Most of the course is in the woods but there were a couple that started or ended in the woods, and 2 that were completely outside of the woods with just a smattering of trees.
7) Plenty of mature trees to get in your way or force you to throw around them.
8) The area this course plays in has a pretty cool feel being completely covered by trees, but not quite throwing through dense woods the entire way.
9) Nice Chainstar baskets, my all time favorite baskets for disc golf.
Cons: 1) The concrete tees were just a little short in my opinion and I am a short person with short legs so I would imagine a taller player might struggle to do a full run-up.
2) Campground is close to the course, which isn't necessarily a negative for the disc golfers, but I would imagine it might be a negative for the campers right along the wood-line. It felt like I was walking through their backyard as they were making the eggs and breakfast.
3) Fairways are mowed, but they could really use some grading to level them out and make them safer to walk. It wasn't terrible or un-walkable but I did pay close attention to where I was stepping so as to not twist an ankle.
4) A couple of the baskets are installed a little bit lower than I am used to.
5) #5 sign is really dangerously close to the end of the tee-pad and I could see someone slicing off their hand if they overthrow their arm too much.
6) Distance variation is a little lacking here with most holes in the 250-300' range and only a couple above 300'. No shorter 150-250' length holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a great property for disc golf because they have a nice patch of woods to use. I had fun playing this course. The unevenness of the fairways was a little frustrating because run-ups were difficult, and this was even after it had been freshly mowed. I pretty much threw all upshots from a standstill which I am pretty good at but also leads to slightly errant shots sometimes. I would have liked to see some grading done to make the rolling terrain in the woods more consistent. Maybe in time this will happen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One of the better niners

1    10/4/2010   10/7/2010
Review By: superberry
Played: 167  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 16.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice wooded course with good solid design. Fairways were cleared nicely, leaving strategic trees and bushes in place to shape the 'airways' and require specific flights (mini S-shots for the most part) and also offer multiple routes to the pin.
The hole distances varied nicely from around 370' to 225' or so.
The greens are nicely designed, not just stupidly wide open, but near some trees and bushes to create some obstacles.
I enjoyed #1-3 a lot. #2 was my second favorite hole on the course. Had a nice gently twisting fairway with a huge tree splitting the routes, and ROUGH grasses and bushes off the fairway. Favored a gentle anny off the tee to clear the large tree and then a slight fade at the end to the pin. I drove 3 times here for the fun of watching the disc sail. Multiple routes are offered on holes 1 and 2 which is a MUST design element to make a course good. Hoel 6 is also like this where an awesome large tree with wide reaching branches frames out an excellent tee shot. The designer did a GREAT job using the elements here and not just plopping a pin and tee down around existing features. This course was designed and constructed, not just 'put in'!
Hole #7 I enjoyed a lot, but the tee box didn't lend to a very favorable route (or at least what I had in my bag). A large mass of tree with vines blocks most of the approach, but small trees litter the fairway to keep you from going too wide around it. Then the pin is protected by a couple shorter trees that are covered in vines - very neat pin protectors!
#8 is an EXCELLENT hole and could be better I think if the tee was a bit further back and to the right. It would allow hyzers more time to work. Right now you can just toss a hard hyzxer into the tree branches, get knocked down and be within putting range. Moving the tee could allow awesome ace runs through the great trees at 350'.
The rough is ROUGH, bad shots should be punished.
The navigation and signs are great. The course feels secluded and quiet in the middle of the fall day that I played. Although in the middle of camping season I'd imagine it is pretty loud and busy in the surrounding areas.
Cons: Only one set of tees and the tee boxes are dismal at best. They're old minigolf sections of raised wood and astroturf. They are only 2' wide, 4"+ raised, and often times far too short for even a 2-3 step approach. And you do need to drive on most of these holes. They were so bad that I threw from the side and I know this will create erosion problems in the future (sorry). Just lay some crusher dust down at a minimal cost and effort.
The tee signs offer no hole layout or depictive diagram, often requiring you to walk down the fairway and verify pin location.
Hole #4 is a throwaway, and on a 9 hole course, having a throwaway hurts. It is a 280' slight RHBH anny with a tree line on the right. Moving the tee back 100' into the brush and requiring much more of an anny would make it more interesting, although errant drives would end up in #5.
#5 is longer and offers you some chance to air it out, but why not make it really longer and add obtsacles? Put the pin 100' back and around the bush off the corner of the driveway area. Then you'd add a 400'+ shot to the mix, and still have obstacles, keeping it from being a boring wide open ripper.
The course is predominantly RHBH anny favored routes (slight anny off the tee to take the widest fairway route around trees). Until #8 and #9 balance it out with harder left turns.
The rough is ROUGH - you may lose discs. I was fortunate to be in the fairway or not too far off, but the rough could discourage many players.
Poison ivy can be seen sprouting all around, most notably on fairway 6 and 9, but also lots of places in the rough.
Unfortunately the lay of the land is essentialy flat. So no neat hills or ravines.
No water hazards, no defined OB.
Variety is lacking. This is mainly a flat wooded course. 2 holes are thrown in to the mix to add open park like shots, but they could both be better IMO.
Other Thoughts: I think with some simple changes, I'd really up the rating of this course...
Eliminate the minigolf tees!
Install two sets of tees, use crusher dust or just put concrete in. Make the short tees very easy for all the potential newbies you'll have being in the middle of the city. Move some of the long tees more strategically back, left, or right (especially #8).
Change the tee for #4 to eliminate it as a throwaway easy hole.
Make #5 longer, pin behind the bush.
Add tee signs with a diagram of the hole layout and flight path to eliminate walking so far up some fairways.

I really think that city courses need a long and short set of tees. Increased traffic helps keep your brush down (hopefully d-bags stay out though), and also increases publicity for you to expand and improve.
I actually liked this course very much. The fact that it was actually designed and created is evident. This is carved through a previously dense and unusable area. Great use of the space and actually a great design that I would only tweak a bit. I stopped here during my travels north, and was not disappointed at all. I enjoyed the course and could see this pushing to be a 3.5 rated niner with some improvements and maybe a few more very unique features put into play. That says a LOT, especially considering the list of courses it would be associated with that I have rated at 3.5 and 4 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New course!

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: simm
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is yours! Very little traffic. A variety of holes-woods and open field. Close to park/town.
Cons: If you plan on going in the rough, you will want to be wearing pants-my legs got pretty scratched up. VERY thick brush. Lots of mosquitos as well.
Other Thoughts: I was ecstatic to find out Oconto added a DG course. It's not bad-some tough holes with narrow shots that require accuracy. Plan on digging a disc or two out of the undergrowth.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.