Oconto, WI 
Mikel J. Wittkopf Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: OParks1 Hole #8 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wittkopf Wonders

1    9/27/2014   9/27/2014
Review By: Jake920
Played: 53  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like the course sign and the Bulletin Board with league information and Lost Disc sign in sheet. Also, think that is really awesome that there are scorecards and pencils at hole 1! The course is constantly evolving bit by bit, from new pins placements a few holes to benches and trash cans and every other hole. All the amenities really make for a nice casual round. The course itself is pretty awesome, there is a lot of variety here, some flex shots, right doglegs and left doglegs, a few aces runs and a few holes to kinda left you rip it but nothing over four hundred. I also like how the course played through a moderately wooded area. There is camping available less than 100 yard from the course.
Cons: The course can be rather muddy during the really rainy month in spring and late fall but not unplayable. The rough isn't very punishing, most players should be able to save par with an errant drive. Bugs are bad in the wet months too!
Other Thoughts: Wittkopf is really a great place for beginners who are looking to be challanged while more seasoned played will still enjoy the shot shaping with all the amount of trees in play with that being said its gonna be more of a birdie fest!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My area favorite

1    10/27/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: tick
Played: 187  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New Chainstar baskets. Concrete tee pads. Map box with maps in it.
Nice tee signs with good info. Well defined, well mowed fairways. Good solid design for interesting and challenging tee shots. Plays at an advanced level though pars are set at a red level.
Cons: No under 200' ace run. No over 500' par 4. Tee pads are minimum size at 4x8. Need "next tee" signs to holes #6 #9.
I played this course in late October when summer plants had died off and disc finding was easy. It is plain to see though that in mid summer, lots of waist high weed schule could make disc losing and finding a major part of a round.
Other Thoughts: Character: Very nice big park right in Oconto is on the river and has camping. Totally flat! The course utilizes mostly wooded areas a bit away from the water. This is a technical course that demands accurate and well crafted shots.

HOLE NOTES:
#1 RHBH "S". Tree gate halfway.
#2 RHBH Hyzer. Maybe a little long at 315 - plays about 2.8.
#3 RHBH sharp anhyzer to VERY tight putting zone. Lots of heavy schule (tall, thick, brush) trouble available.
#4 RHBH gentle anhyzer. Mowed around big trees to left and tree schule right.
#5 Open mowed w/ more trees right. Shot around left or straight through tree gate. Almost grey zone about 2.6. Need next tee sign to #6!
#6 Almost straight slightly left. Nice width mowed fairway with schule both sides. Solid 3.0 grey zone hole!
#7 Tough RHBH S with heavy schule on all sides. Probably not aceable.
#8 RHBH hyzer mostly open with schule sides and tough guarded goal. Need a "next tee" sign to go back to left on path.
#9 RHBH hyzer. A tight touch shot through heavy tall schule. Tough approach from outside putting zone. Doe following me last half of this hole.

My take: If I lived nearby this would be my favorite in the area for fall, winter and spring disc golf. Maybe not in mid-summer on account of heavy (off fairway) weeds. I wouldn't even stop in Peshtigo, and I prefer the more interesting technical holes in Oconto to the more variable length holes in Marinette. Maybe hole #5 could be lengthened to over 500' and #6 could become that ace run, and maybe this course would have about everything I could expect without hills or water.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Par course

1    10/19/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: ACE_Holes4Life
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fantastic use of the real estate available. Most holes require a very good drive in order to birdie. Decent balance of left right shots, I found myself throwing uncommon shots like sidearm anhyzers to negotiate tricky fairways. Concrete tees are in, fairways are maintained appropriate for a woodland Disc Golf Course.
Cons: Holes 8-9 were nothing special. Tees could be longer, and I hate it when signs are in the front of the tee box (big steps and long arms). Seriously I saw a guy break his hand on a sign off to the front right of a tee...
Other Thoughts: Course rewards skill, not always strength. I recommend it to anybody coming through the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course!!!!!

5+    8/10/2010   7/24/2010
Review By: Shuie
Played: 631  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/20/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice tee pad, they are all concrete now
- nice discraft chainstars
-decent signs with distances and hole layout
- lay out is easy to follow(specailly with the next tee signs)
- course yardage is fairly long( no hole under 250' most holes over 300')
-port-a-potties on site
-scorecards and pencils available at 1st teepad
- Course offers a Good amount of variety and shot selection.
-Most of the course shoots thru a moderately wooded area with holes 4-5 being open holes with a few trees scattering the fairway.
Hole by Hole Walk thru(all the rough is fairly heavily wooded.)
1- 275' straight shot with a few trees in fairway
2- 315' slight dog leg left with many mature trees
3- 255' hard dog leg to the right with the last 65' narrowing down to 15' wide gap
4- 280' slight right with tree line in play on the right and everything left is wide open
5- 326' straight with trees in the fairway shaping ur shot, it shoots slightly up hill and the basket is tucked in a little gully guarded by a few trees
6- 368' slight left dogleg shooting back into the wooded area so there are several mature tree in fairway forcing better shot shaping and disc placement.
7- 285' "s' curve fairways with many trees in the fairway and guarding the pin.
8- 291' first 80' straight then a hard dog leg left few trees in fairway closer to basket....
9- 255' Slight dog leg to the left after first 135'
Cons: -being so close to the river there is a decent amount of mesquitos
- no sub 200 ace run
- some low spots that are real soggy
- rough is very unforgiving and thick
Other Thoughts: -R.I.P Mikel, you will be missed but the course will forever remind us of you....
-with concreate tees its got about everything you could want.(needs more elevation and water in play)
- brand new course will only get better with play
- (4/2013)the area just got a club started and have raised funds for a practice basket and 5 new pin positions for the course(Holes 1 and 9 will have longer positions, 4 will bring more trees into play on your drive and the other 2 we are gonna figure out as a club.)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.