Borger, TX 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: Bassclown Hole #8 (Taken 12/2010)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Course

5+    3/19/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: txdive88
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Unique and challenging course. Several holes use the terrain to force you to use a shot you may not normally use. The course is mostly secluded, so there's rarely any interference to your play.
Cons: It is a very rugged, long course. What makes the course great, also may make it challenging for players that are in poor shape. Forget bringing a push cart or a stroller. You will most likely find every sharp, pokey type of plant known to man on this course. It's a long couse, so a quick round will take approximately 1.5 hrs.
Other Thoughts: If you are passing even remotely nearby, you'd really be missing out if you didnt come play this course. I've met lots of players from other states that go on and on about what an awesome course this is in the middle of nowhere. If you're looking for something other than a stroll through a park style course, this is it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 What a place to start playing!

5+    12/29/2010   2/4/2011
Review By: Bassclown
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tough course that makes you use ALOT of different throws! Punished for bad throws. Very good workout and challenging!
Cons: Not for the newbie at all! During the summer you really need to watch where you step (snakes)!
Other Thoughts: My first 5 rounds ever where at this course and it was a living nightmare for me! But it was a lot of fun! I learned a lot about trying different throws because I had to. Very good workout especially if you throw as bad as I do. Accuracy is the key here!

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/20/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: tyocky
Played: 51  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXTREMELY CHALLENGING. I've played a lot of tough courses but this one takes the cake. I gave it a score of 4 out of 5 based solely on it being so challenging.
Cons: The terrain is extremely rugged and difficult to walk through at times. Steep cliffs, landslide type hills, every type of thorny, prickly, blood drawing plant imaginable. Just getting through the course is an accompishment in itself and quite a workout. Any players who have physical limitations due to health or age will have a lot of trouble with the terrain.
Other Thoughts: Firsty, be sure to get a map from the proshop building up above 18's basket. The course starts off pleasant. Throwing from an elevated tee over a pretty grassy meadow to a basket tucked into some trees. It was a nice and "normal" level of challenging. The next hole or two are about the same level but the terrain gets a tiny bit more rugged with each. By hole 6, you are way back into the wilderness and then suddenly the course turns EVIL and INSANE. It became more of an endurance test and not so much about making good disc golf shots. Honestly by the end I was kinda pissed. Granted I had my kids walking with me but they were actually pretty good considering. Don't bring your family on this course and be sure to bring a lot of water and good shoes. I'm glad I played it but I doubt I will ever play it again. The Pro shop should sell some kind of t-shirt or sticker saying "I survived Johnson Disc Golf Course" I would have bought one.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  watch for wild life

1    9/18/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: South_Paw
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: lots of change in elevation and the view was beautifull the corse just got better every hole.
the wild life is nice to see something you dont get to see much of. There is always danger in every throw. Getting across the water was very easy thanks to the bridge
Cons: tee pad not mark well. and direction to the next hole are not mark well. you did more looking for the disc then u do playing the hole sometimes. WATCH FOR PORCUPINES.
Other Thoughts: could use more trash can and a bathroom also would be nice to have a display bord with a garphic of the corse map

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Very Hard

5+    7/5/2010   8/22/2010
Review By: truckergemi
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very difficult course for anyone looking for a real challenge. Great baskets and a beautiful course.
Cons: Can be very difficult to find your way around the course if you have never played it. The course is WAY too long. Every hole is a par 3 but there is several holes that would be rated par 4's at any other course. Can be very very frustrating for anyone who is not a pro.
Other Thoughts: Hole 11 is one of the coolest holes you will ever play. You throw from an elevated cliff side down to a lower cliff side across a valley.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center