Olathe, KS 
California Trail Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  No Thanks

1    3/27/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: Bitter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are 9 Holes, and two are P4's
Cons: Ugh. OK
1. No pads just dirt.
2. 3-4 holes are not marked and one is completely missing a starting point.
3. Grass is about 10-12" tall very unkept.
4. Place is "Under Construction" and on a tuesday evening 3 holes are intruded by soccer players.
Other Thoughts: Unless you live 0-5 min. away dont even show up. Or just play "#8-#9" 9 times in a row for practice on accuracy and distance.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 monotonous

1    7/29/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 101  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and thats about it. a couple holes to throw real drives.
Cons: the tees are almost non exsistent. Holes are sunken into the ground and it horrible condition.
Other Thoughts: this is not my first choice. I only came because I had no option because of worlds. It was fun because disc golf is fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open spaces

1    10/10/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 304  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well… it's at a Junior High so there's potential to introduce young people to the sport. There are baskets visible as soon as you drive onto the campus.
There's good variety of holes lengths… for more experienced players. 3<299/ 4 of 300-399/ 1 of 480/ 1 of 540
Cons: Almost everything...
-The lack of fairway diversity makes a boring round. 8 holes are straight, with one slightly curving left.
-The course is totally flat and almost completely wide open with only a stray tree here and there. It's impossible to lose a disc, though.
-Most of the holes are too long for junior high kids.
-Safety issues- The holes play around, between, and through other sports fields, so watch out if people are around on the ball fields.
-Tee signs are only tiny placards on small posts 3 ft high., and they only have the hole length.
-There are no marked teepads. You just throw from the grass near the small sign.
-Baskets are old DISCatchers and some have rusted chains. The basket on hole 9 is broken so you can't really complete the hole, so it's a disappointing way to finish a round.
-There are no amenities- no practice basket or message board, no bathroom, no score cards, maps, or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925) Probably not well suited for most Junior High kids.

Course Difficulty: 4 (out of 10) There are no obstacles, so all difficulty comes from length alone.

The main reason to play here would be to rip long drives that unimpeded by any foliage. I'm afraid, though, that beginning teenagers will find it too long and more experienced players will get bored quickly.

If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf @ gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.

You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.