Olathe, KS 
California Trail Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #4 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not bad for beginners

5+    7/20/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's the only course within 15 minutes of my house (next closest is prarie center)

Short and wide open makes it decent for beginners

Regularly mown (or maybe just so hot and dry the grass doesn't grow)

Third hole is interesting large hill on the left forces a left to right throw

9 short holes is good if you're low on time

Parking lot is close to first tee
Cons: Pretty much none of the holes have any elevation change from tee to basket.

Seven of the nine holes are completely straight

It's at a school so activities frequently get in the way depending on time of day and year.

Tee signs are present, but most are missing the board that gives hole length and direction, and the ones that do have them don't really help with the direction.

No tee pads makes it hard to tell where the holes go. The first time I played, I didn't even see the fifth basket, I just thought the fifth tee went to where the sixth basket is.

Second hole tee sign is gone. Sometimes I throw from the first tee and make it a par 4 to make it more interesting.

There are about 5 trees on the course, only three holes where they can be much of a factor at all, and last hole is the only one that's significant at all

The lack of elevation changes on the holes is made even worse since there are several places with hills on the school grounds. It would be nice if they could use them a little bit.

No alternate hole positions makes the course get a little boring after playing it a few times, but since it's only really meant to be a practice course or a course to learn the game it's okay.

No benches and little shade
Other Thoughts: Not bad for beginners if you're close, but if you're going to make any drive at all head down to Blue Valley of Kansas instead, it's a much better beginner course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/14/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick 9er for those who live close. Good for young peoples learning the game. No chance of losing a disc.
Cons: No tee boxes. No trees. No chance of losing a disc. Around a school.
Other Thoughts: Take the newbies and the kiddos.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Uuuuhhhhh...

1    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 120  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well I guess there are baskets. The best thing I can think about this course is I would have loved to have had a disc golf course at my junior high, no matter the difficulty. There are posts (they used to all have signs on them) at every dirt/grass tee pad. Lot of birdie/ace holes. Holes 8 & 9 are fairly long.
Cons: The course is only 9 holes, the "pads" are pretty dismal, the baskets are definitely in need of repair and the course is flat. Probably the worst part about the course is my +2 score.
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 California "Wagon" Trail

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some longer holes and is pretty flat for those who do not like elevation. It is on a school property so be warned. Navigation is simple. If you need to practice throwing straight, this is you practice place. Finding your discs won't be a problem here either. It is certainly not a very crowded 9 holer. There are posts for signs that have the footage on them. OK, I can't be more positive than that.
Cons: Tee pads are actually dirt ruts in the ground. The baskets are looking worse for wear. Technicality is a misnomer at this course. There is no "available" restroom. There are no seating or trash cans here either. Some of the hole posts are broken.
Other Thoughts: My Fun Factor was non-existent. With so many great choices in this area, just pass this by. However if you want to finish 9 hole in under 20 minutes, you can do that! ;) It is functioning and playable,

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: This Course is in a school. Mostly flat. One blind shot, A couple with distance. Short. Can play it twice.
Cons: Short only nine holes, Muddy tees, not really any signage. some are broken. closed during school hours. needs concrete pads.

 WIDE OPEN

5+    3/12/2009   4/22/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open fairways so you don't have to worry about hitting anything.
Course has a good variety of hole length which allowed for airing it out on every hole without worry of losing a disc.
Very easy to navigate without a map - first tee is right adjacent to parking lot and is marked by a post about 2 feet off the ground. the post faces the direction of the basket. Tees indicate distance to baskets.
Terrain is not a factor with this course
Cons: No bathrooms when the school is closed - the course is on a public school piece of property.
Tees were aweful - it rained the night before so there was alot of water in low lying areas.
Not much hole type variety - mainly straight shots with no hurdles - wind is your only enemy.
Would benefit from a few planted trees around each hole and concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: This is not a course of choice geven we have so many in Kansas City to pick from. The only value this course really offers is for practice before you play somewhere else. It is a great course to just let it fly - but then that's not much of a challenge for the experienced d-golfer. it was fun for me since i am still learnign the game, but there was really no challenge for someone with a good distance game - accuracy was pretty much irrellavant

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.