Olathe, KS 
California Trail Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #9 (Taken 7/2013)
4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Only if you're in the area...

2-4    7/23/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: phantom51
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this course about ten minutes from my work. With an hour lunch, I can throw the nine in under 30 minutes and still make it back with time to spare. Therefore, the course is only good for beginners and for practice.
Side plus, which gave it an extra .5 on my rating, is the lack of trees and grass. No fear of losing a disc!
Cons: No trees or grass to create fairways. Its located at a middle school, which is overrun during school season with activities. Very, very little elevation changes. The baskets are short in height compared to other courses Ive been to around town. Little to no signage and the tees are bits of dirt that you'd be lucky to find.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what to feel about this one. I like it that its close to my work. I enjoy being able to practice almost daily out here, if I cant play my home course out at Shawnee Mission Park. However, the course is in need of major improvements. If only a beginner/practice course, improvements still seem neccesary.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Flawed

5+    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 45 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of Distances
Cons: All holes are essentially the same.
No obstacles.
There's a 300 foot par 4 on the course (which might actually be a pro for beginners).
Other Thoughts: I like this course, but only as a place to practice. It has a variety of distances which is perfect for working with many discs. That being said, the actual holes aren't very good at all. It would almost be easier on this course to just play 8 and 9 (the long holes) to work on driving.

Overall, don't go to this course if you really want to play a serious round. However, if you'd like a place to empty your bag on a couple of holes, this would be the place.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Quick 9

5+    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: josh_carson20
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great if you are passing by or live near by and have an itch to get out and throw the plastic. It plays really quick, so if you are in a hurry and want to get a round in this is a great course. Some looks at ace, even for inexperienced players.
Cons: Not much difficulty here, every hole is open. most holes just straight on. No real tee boxes, once was signage, but most is ripped off now.
Other Thoughts: Would not go out of my way to play this course. But if you are in the area and want a quick 9 holes, this is the place to go.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good practice spot

1    10/22/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: buzzz killington
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: learned how to play the game here.
can be a nice challenge in kansas wind
4 nice ace runs
good quick 9
Cons: no tee pads
weak signage
at a school with lots of recess activities going on after class.
not a good course to go out of your way for.
Other Thoughts: every community needs a course like this to gain awareness of the sport and serve as a good practice spot for the serious player.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Practice

5+    7/2/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: Governor_ Stumpy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: This course is a Great practice course. All the holes are wide open. I'm new to this game and like to practice here. I can really throw the disc and start to learn the flight patterns without worrying about hitting a tree 10 ft in front of me.
Cons: There are no launch/ tee pads. Basically there are some dirt patches you can kind of use but other than that nothing but grass.
Other Thoughts: This is really only a course you'd want to practice on. Throw some discs and learn flight patterns, and work on perfecting your drives.

 Quick/Practice Course

5+    6/24/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Penichillin
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is where I went to perfect my backhand (started out flicking only); it's great place for honing your skills as it is never crowded.
It's a good course to teach someone the game; there are no obstacles so they can focus solely on their throw.
The only other use this course has is if you want to get a superquick round in and are running out of daylight.
Cons: The other review are pretty accurate; not much to this place. Mostly open fields with some baskets.
Other Thoughts: Not worth a trip, but if it's convenient you can't complain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.