Olathe, KS 
California Trail Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #9 (Taken 7/2013)
4 / 540ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
California Trail

1    5/19/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Jayhawker10
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: - Course is short with little to no obstacles so it is good for people just starting.
- Holes are, for the most part, on wide open fields around the east and south side of California Trail Middle School.
- Easy to locate baskets.
- Grass was mowed and the chances of losing a disc here are slim to none.
Cons: - Tee boxes are not maintained one bit.
- Pretty boring course to play but I wanted to give it a shot anyway.
- The tee box for hole number 2 is non-existent. I could not locate it so I picked a reasonable spot where I thought it would be.
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you are in the area and have time to kill but not enough time to go to Blue Valley or Olathe, this is a good option. I must add that Academy Sports right across the street has a wide selection of discs at fairly reasonable prices. I picked up one before I went which is the reason why I went here. I would say this is a good course to work on your form, technique and "bomb" shots. However, I would not tell people to drive more than 10 minutes to play this course.

Only if you're in the area...

2-4    7/23/2013   7/29/2013
Review By: phantom51
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found this course about ten minutes from my work. With an hour lunch, I can throw the nine in under 30 minutes and still make it back with time to spare. Therefore, the course is only good for beginners and for practice.
Side plus, which gave it an extra .5 on my rating, is the lack of trees and grass. No fear of losing a disc!
Cons: No trees or grass to create fairways. Its located at a middle school, which is overrun during school season with activities. Very, very little elevation changes. The baskets are short in height compared to other courses Ive been to around town. Little to no signage and the tees are bits of dirt that you'd be lucky to find.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what to feel about this one. I like it that its close to my work. I enjoy being able to practice almost daily out here, if I cant play my home course out at Shawnee Mission Park. However, the course is in need of major improvements. If only a beginner/practice course, improvements still seem neccesary.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

plain jane course.

2-4    8/15/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: teddster06
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find and surprisingly easy to follow the course.
Good course for quick 9.
No trees....
No chance of losing a disc
Cons: Where to start.....
-No tee pads (ur lucky to even see a patch of dirt to throw from)
-Signage is no help and missing at some holes.
-No trees.....
-No restrooms or rest areas.
-No trash cans
Other Thoughts: I almost didn't play this course cause of all the poor reviews but in the end I'm glad I did. It is a very very simple and easy course (about aced 3 holes and had 3 birdies) but gave me a great opportunity to practice on drives and because it's so open u can really see flight patterns without any fear of losing a disc. Overall do NOT play this course if u want any sort of challenge but if it's just u and a buddy wanting to kill some time it's a great course to just screw around on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Flawed

5+    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: austinpetz
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 44.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of Distances
Cons: All holes are essentially the same.
No obstacles.
There's a 300 foot par 4 on the course (which might actually be a pro for beginners).
Other Thoughts: I like this course, but only as a place to practice. It has a variety of distances which is perfect for working with many discs. That being said, the actual holes aren't very good at all. It would almost be easier on this course to just play 8 and 9 (the long holes) to work on driving.

Overall, don't go to this course if you really want to play a serious round. However, if you'd like a place to empty your bag on a couple of holes, this would be the place.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for beginners

5+    7/20/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's the only course within 15 minutes of my house (next closest is prarie center)

Short and wide open makes it decent for beginners

Regularly mown (or maybe just so hot and dry the grass doesn't grow)

Third hole is interesting large hill on the left forces a left to right throw

9 short holes is good if you're low on time

Parking lot is close to first tee
Cons: Pretty much none of the holes have any elevation change from tee to basket.

Seven of the nine holes are completely straight

It's at a school so activities frequently get in the way depending on time of day and year.

Tee signs are present, but most are missing the board that gives hole length and direction, and the ones that do have them don't really help with the direction.

No tee pads makes it hard to tell where the holes go. The first time I played, I didn't even see the fifth basket, I just thought the fifth tee went to where the sixth basket is.

Second hole tee sign is gone. Sometimes I throw from the first tee and make it a par 4 to make it more interesting.

There are about 5 trees on the course, only three holes where they can be much of a factor at all, and last hole is the only one that's significant at all

The lack of elevation changes on the holes is made even worse since there are several places with hills on the school grounds. It would be nice if they could use them a little bit.

No alternate hole positions makes the course get a little boring after playing it a few times, but since it's only really meant to be a practice course or a course to learn the game it's okay.

No benches and little shade
Other Thoughts: Not bad for beginners if you're close, but if you're going to make any drive at all head down to Blue Valley of Kansas instead, it's a much better beginner course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  No Thanks

1    3/27/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: Bitter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are 9 Holes, and two are P4's
Cons: Ugh. OK
1. No pads just dirt.
2. 3-4 holes are not marked and one is completely missing a starting point.
3. Grass is about 10-12" tall very unkept.
4. Place is "Under Construction" and on a tuesday evening 3 holes are intruded by soccer players.
Other Thoughts: Unless you live 0-5 min. away dont even show up. Or just play "#8-#9" 9 times in a row for practice on accuracy and distance.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/14/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: jeffreyjeanshorts
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 24.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick 9er for those who live close. Good for young peoples learning the game. No chance of losing a disc.
Cons: No tee boxes. No trees. No chance of losing a disc. Around a school.
Other Thoughts: Take the newbies and the kiddos.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course and training grounds

5+    5/8/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: kcmike
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most forgiving courses I've played. It's perfect for beginners to develop their skills (speaking from experience in doing just that). It is easy to find the next hole, plays quick, and is rarely crowded. Long and short holes.
Cons: As I soon found out, this course can give beginners a false sense of ability in that your disc can take just about any line and will wind up looking like a fair shot. There are no trees around to remind you that you're not throwing straight.
Other Thoughts: I can hit this course with a friend and be back in the car in 35 minutes. It's great for getting that "quick 9" in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Quick 9

5+    4/18/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: josh_carson20
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.8 Years
Pros: This course is great if you are passing by or live near by and have an itch to get out and throw the plastic. It plays really quick, so if you are in a hurry and want to get a round in this is a great course. Some looks at ace, even for inexperienced players.
Cons: Not much difficulty here, every hole is open. most holes just straight on. No real tee boxes, once was signage, but most is ripped off now.
Other Thoughts: Would not go out of my way to play this course. But if you are in the area and want a quick 9 holes, this is the place to go.

 good practice spot

1    10/22/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: buzzz killington
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: learned how to play the game here.
can be a nice challenge in kansas wind
4 nice ace runs
good quick 9
Cons: no tee pads
weak signage
at a school with lots of recess activities going on after class.
not a good course to go out of your way for.
Other Thoughts: every community needs a course like this to gain awareness of the sport and serve as a good practice spot for the serious player.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.