Olathe, KS 
California Trail Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #1 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 good practice spot

1    10/22/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: buzzz killington
Played: 36  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: learned how to play the game here.
can be a nice challenge in kansas wind
4 nice ace runs
good quick 9
Cons: no tee pads
weak signage
at a school with lots of recess activities going on after class.
not a good course to go out of your way for.
Other Thoughts: every community needs a course like this to gain awareness of the sport and serve as a good practice spot for the serious player.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Practice

5+    7/2/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: Governor_ Stumpy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: This course is a Great practice course. All the holes are wide open. I'm new to this game and like to practice here. I can really throw the disc and start to learn the flight patterns without worrying about hitting a tree 10 ft in front of me.
Cons: There are no launch/ tee pads. Basically there are some dirt patches you can kind of use but other than that nothing but grass.
Other Thoughts: This is really only a course you'd want to practice on. Throw some discs and learn flight patterns, and work on perfecting your drives.

 Quick/Practice Course

5+    6/24/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Penichillin
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is where I went to perfect my backhand (started out flicking only); it's great place for honing your skills as it is never crowded.
It's a good course to teach someone the game; there are no obstacles so they can focus solely on their throw.
The only other use this course has is if you want to get a superquick round in and are running out of daylight.
Cons: The other review are pretty accurate; not much to this place. Mostly open fields with some baskets.
Other Thoughts: Not worth a trip, but if it's convenient you can't complain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Uuuuhhhhh...

1    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: seymourdiscgolf
Played: 120  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well I guess there are baskets. The best thing I can think about this course is I would have loved to have had a disc golf course at my junior high, no matter the difficulty. There are posts (they used to all have signs on them) at every dirt/grass tee pad. Lot of birdie/ace holes. Holes 8 & 9 are fairly long.
Cons: The course is only 9 holes, the "pads" are pretty dismal, the baskets are definitely in need of repair and the course is flat. Probably the worst part about the course is my +2 score.
Other Thoughts: HAPPY DISCIN'!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 California "Wagon" Trail

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some longer holes and is pretty flat for those who do not like elevation. It is on a school property so be warned. Navigation is simple. If you need to practice throwing straight, this is you practice place. Finding your discs won't be a problem here either. It is certainly not a very crowded 9 holer. There are posts for signs that have the footage on them. OK, I can't be more positive than that.
Cons: Tee pads are actually dirt ruts in the ground. The baskets are looking worse for wear. Technicality is a misnomer at this course. There is no "available" restroom. There are no seating or trash cans here either. Some of the hole posts are broken.
Other Thoughts: My Fun Factor was non-existent. With so many great choices in this area, just pass this by. However if you want to finish 9 hole in under 20 minutes, you can do that! ;) It is functioning and playable,

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   3/3/2010
Review By: wraithman
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: This Course is in a school. Mostly flat. One blind shot, A couple with distance. Short. Can play it twice.
Cons: Short only nine holes, Muddy tees, not really any signage. some are broken. closed during school hours. needs concrete pads.

 monotonous

1    7/29/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: kcplease
Played: 99  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Open and thats about it. a couple holes to throw real drives.
Cons: the tees are almost non exsistent. Holes are sunken into the ground and it horrible condition.
Other Thoughts: this is not my first choice. I only came because I had no option because of worlds. It was fun because disc golf is fun.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Open spaces

1    10/10/2008   11/26/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well… it's at a Junior High so there's potential to introduce young people to the sport. There are baskets visible as soon as you drive onto the campus.
There's good variety of holes lengths… for more experienced players. 3<299/ 4 of 300-399/ 1 of 480/ 1 of 540
Cons: Almost everything...
-The lack of fairway diversity makes a boring round. 8 holes are straight, with one slightly curving left.
-The course is totally flat and almost completely wide open with only a stray tree here and there. It's impossible to lose a disc, though.
-Most of the holes are too long for junior high kids.
-Safety issues- The holes play around, between, and through other sports fields, so watch out if people are around on the ball fields.
-Tee signs are only tiny placards on small posts 3 ft high., and they only have the hole length.
-There are no marked teepads. You just throw from the grass near the small sign.
-Baskets are old DISCatchers and some have rusted chains. The basket on hole 9 is broken so you can't really complete the hole, so it's a disappointing way to finish a round.
-There are no amenities- no practice basket or message board, no bathroom, no score cards, maps, or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925) Probably not well suited for most Junior High kids.

Course Difficulty: 4 (out of 10) There are no obstacles, so all difficulty comes from length alone.

The main reason to play here would be to rip long drives that unimpeded by any foliage. I'm afraid, though, that beginning teenagers will find it too long and more experienced players will get bored quickly.

If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf @ gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.

You can also read more of my reviews at http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...ourseReviews/

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 WIDE OPEN

5+    3/12/2009   4/22/2008
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/23/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open fairways so you don't have to worry about hitting anything.
Course has a good variety of hole length which allowed for airing it out on every hole without worry of losing a disc.
Very easy to navigate without a map - first tee is right adjacent to parking lot and is marked by a post about 2 feet off the ground. the post faces the direction of the basket. Tees indicate distance to baskets.
Terrain is not a factor with this course
Cons: No bathrooms when the school is closed - the course is on a public school piece of property.
Tees were aweful - it rained the night before so there was alot of water in low lying areas.
Not much hole type variety - mainly straight shots with no hurdles - wind is your only enemy.
Would benefit from a few planted trees around each hole and concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: This is not a course of choice geven we have so many in Kansas City to pick from. The only value this course really offers is for practice before you play somewhere else. It is a great course to just let it fly - but then that's not much of a challenge for the experienced d-golfer. it was fun for me since i am still learnign the game, but there was really no challenge for someone with a good distance game - accuracy was pretty much irrellavant

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.