Disc Golf Store
Wyandotte, MI 
Wyandotte Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: Innovadude Hole #8 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket. Wall and fence are no longer there



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Flatlanders

1    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 244  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays around a multi-use park. plays very very dangerously close to ALL amenities. Dear god be careful!

Baskets-- all in good repair and accounted for.

Routing/nav-- pretty easy actually. I was prepared for a nightmare but it wasn't to be.
Cons:
Teesignage-- the most basic possible. most tee numbers are missing or bent to hell. but finding your way to the next tee is easy.

Variety/Challenge/Danger-- plays down paths, near amenities and near parking lots. a lot of danger here. the course is entirely flat. no elevation and very spotty trees provide little to challenge.

Risk v Reward-- Not for disc golfers, maybe for walkers!
Other Thoughts:
not good.
not good at all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 FORE!

1    8/19/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very clean play no rough
- Well mowed and clean
- A few shots with trees in the way but not for a pro
- Good baskets
Cons: - Almost every hole has parking lot/skatepark/baseball field/bathrooms or walking paths in play, very hard to throw without risking hitting someone if it's busy there
- There are only about 3 different lengths- 480ft, 305-325ft, and 240-250ft. of holes
- Distance marked on signs off by 35+ft. sometimes
- Last holes shoots over fenced in area can't retrieve discs and if you throw to the pin you can't see if there's someone off to the right in harms way (takes 350ft to get there)
Other Thoughts: There's really nothing here to be worth the stop- Riverview is minutes away and has more trees, less risk of injuring a kid

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not a fan

5+    6/13/2012   6/13/2012
Review By: PerfectPair
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Neighborhood. Course easy to get to. Ample parking near course. Park is pretty clean, not alot of trash or broken bottles near the tees like at some courses.
Nice for some basic shot practice, or for working on your short game.
Cons: Layout can be very confusing, especially for newer players and course newbies.

Certain holes are difficult to do during ball games because of spectators walking through course, and sitting in bleachers nearby.

Tees are not very informative as to which way to the pin. Pin not informative as to which way to next Tee.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great idea, POOR execution

2-4    5/10/2012   5/20/2012
Review By: MikelNovack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice Innova baskets.

Very very well kept park.

Water fountains along the course.
Cons: Pretty much everything, it's a waste of 9 good Discatcher baskets. I think they could've put the course elsewhere in Wyandotte and had great success.

During the spring/summer it's nearly impossible to play in the afternoon and evening. The chance of injuring an innocent bystander is extremely high.

As mentioned by others the bike/walk path goes right through the course. There are three (IIRC) baseball diamonds which if in use draw lots of people that easily interfere. The skatepark is a huge downer for me, it's always packed in the summer with skaters. Which is great for them, but is really unfortunate that the disc golf course is so close..

Other Thoughts: I've played the course 3.5 times all well before noon and have only seen one other golfer. I unfortunately had to cut one round short due to a truck aimlessly driving around the course (park maintenance I assume).

I don't like the course, makes me nervous with how many people could possibly get injured. It's not very playable in the afternoon due to all the people.

If you're in the area and it's not in the afternoon give it a shot. I'd suggest going right down Sibley to Seitz Middle School to play Riverview Grasslands though.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 HEADS UP!

1    3/28/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: otherguy14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9
Pros: Lil tee numbers
Good baskets
Plenty of parking
Free
Cons: Bike path going through most holes
In the middle of bussy park
No obsticles no real curves to holes mostly straight on shots
Have to shoot around people
No real tee's
Other Thoughts: Quickly built course without much thought or work put into it. The only thing that makes this course worth it is you can combine this course with the one a mile down the road in riverview to make a decent 18 game

 Skip at all costs

1    3/13/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: Robocision
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets
Cons: Most poorly laid out course I've ever seen. People walking through the fairways, rollerblade paths crossing fairways, the skate park mentioned by others.

No tee boxes at all. Just a single post in the lawn indicating where to shoot from. Not even a patch of dirt.
Other Thoughts: You may be thinking this course is worth playing once. It is not. Skip this course at all costs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Bad layout

1    4/23/2011   4/23/2011
Review By: HeyYoNick
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/24/2011
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Clean park, decent baskets
Cons: Everything its a waste of 9 baskets
busy park with everything too close (right in the middle) to the DG course
Other Thoughts: Its nice to see more courses in the area but this was really disappointing. The concrete walking paths as fairways is probably the dumbest thing ever and trashed one of my new discs.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 MEH

1    11/6/2010   11/17/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: "Park" is really a well-kept area in a grade school's side yard. You play around the jungle gym for the lil' kids (hole #2), the skate park for the teens (holes #6 and #8), and the baseball field for the jocks (hole #4). Tees have no pads but are marked with 4X4 painted stakes in the ground showing hole number. Baskets are bright yellow and easy to see on the flat terrain. Course is laid out fair enough, as you play in a giant circle around the aforementioned obstacles. There are several mature trees that come into play, and absolutely no brush/schoal to ruin your day.
Cons: Stakes in ground do NOT point in the correct direction on many holes. See the pics I posted for a visual. Dunno if the installers were drunk or what. Fortunately, the land is flat and the baskets are bright yellow. Everything is fairly open so it is quite difficult to aim at the incorrect basket.

Course is not very challenging. I have a feeling that kids play this at recess or for P.E. class. Awesome beginner's course. And by beginner I mean under the age of 15. Still, for what it is it was enjoyable to play through. No major flaws in design, just very simple.

I played in the early morning so there was nothing going on, but I can imagine if it's a summer afternoon and the park busy you will have to play conservatively around the playground and baseball field.
Other Thoughts: Comparable courses: Riverview Grasslands is more secluded and layed out quite a bit better, but this is a nice compliment to play a full 18 in the downriver area. Lenawee Christian School also plays in a school's backyard, but the holes are very short there and not all baskets have metal chains (plastic). Wyandotte Memorial is a step up from that one in Adrian, MI.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Eh...

2-4    9/2/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: Viper124
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice new baskets.
- Simple layout which pretty much circles the entire park.
- Fairly open shots on every hole.
- Clean.
Cons: - Safety was over looked. There are some shots where you could tell that one bad throw or a sudden cross-wind could result in injuring someone.

- The baseball diamonds come into play on three holes. A bad throw could result in your disc landing on the infield.

- The skatepark comes into play on two holes. A big gust of wind happened on one of my drives and I nearly nailed a little skater kid.

- The markers are a bit confusing. On hole 8 I shot towards the buildings thinking the basket was tucked behind the old swimming pool. Little did I know, the fairway was literally the track that goes between the building and the skate ramp.

- There's a bench right next to the hole 1 basket. I had to bogey the hole because I was afraid of hitting the guy taking a nap.

- The little skater kids. These little 10 year olds were too busy swearing ("F my bike. It sucks." "F you!" "F I hurt my knee."), that they couldn't hear me yelling for them to watch out. Then when my disc landed next to the ramp they just said, "This is an f-ing skatepark, what the hell are you doing, man."
Other Thoughts: I'm sure if there was absolutely no one at this park, it would have been ok, but people were just oblivious to what was going on. There were three people walking their dogs, two guys jogging, and kids on bikes coming in and out of the place.

- It seems like they planted some new trees, probably to make the course a little more challenging once they mature. Though, I think I would rather drive the extra two miles to play the grasslands.

- Tee off for hole 1 is located a few feet from the hole 9 basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great for learning the game !!!

5+    8/25/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: zookept
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2010
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Excellent newbie course, the pin and tees are all well marked and easy to see (it was just made this year) so its all new. No busy at all as many do not know its here, its close and easy to get to and play for anyone downriver. The shot are nice and straight with very little trees, i have been there a number of times already and it is helping me learn the game so i can play at the bigger courses.
Cons: If you are an experienced DG, then maybe the course might not be that challlenging to you but its still fun and a great place to bring a starting player.
Other Thoughts: I am just learning the game and have played at the larger course like firefighter park in troy and although nice, this course boosts the confidence more because i can drive up to the basket and par more shots. Have FUN !!!!

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.