Marysville, WA 
Strawberry Fields for Rover DGC Share
Uploaded By: Adrenalinedan Hole #7 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 166ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Don't Bother - Course is effectively gone

1    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: 53Clubs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 0.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Uh,... Pros... Hmmm... Uh,... I wasn't beaten up in the parking lot.
Yup,... that's pretty much it.
Oh, and there's a sign and bathrooms with running water on the adjacent soccer fields.
Cons: This course has been forgotten and is no longer playable.
Tall grass (5'+ tall grass) has overgrown the entire area. The grass has completely obscured the teepads, the fairways, and has grown up through the baskets to the point where you can see the tops of some of the baskets, and you can find many of the signs marking the teepads (but not all).
Even if you were to somehow decide to actually 'throw' a disk (someone had actually knocked down a 'teepad shaped area' of grass roughly where the first tee would be - if they threw a disk, its still out there somewhere) and you were able to 'find' the disk you threw (lol) when you got to the basket to put, even the perfect throw would likely be rejected by the tall grass before it ever makes contact with the chains.
The fact is, you would have more fun playing disc golf in the shower.
Other Thoughts: After a frustrating day of finding only half of the holes at Twin Rivers playable, we wandered off with tears in our eyes (and our pants, boots, and socks soaked through from trying to navigate the Arlington woods) we set off for the next nearest course that I'd never played. Got pulled over by a state trooper in the middle of the 5 mile trip, and got to 'Strawberry Fields for Rover' park (Nice sign, bathroom facilities, parking - all pretty much for soccer and on-leash dog walking trails) and got out our disk bags, changed shoes and socks, and traipsed off to find the first tee... and this was the fun part...
It was a truly frustrating day for me and my daughter.
In case you were curios - we did leave from there to arrive at the next closest park (Lake Stevens DGC) at 5:20 on this fine Memorial day evening only to find their Monday Night Doubles tournament registering and starting at 5:30, so this too (through no fault of the park, facilities, or even tournament) was not a welcoming place for me and my daughter to throw, and we finally proceeded on to Blyth Park (Howling Coyote DGC) in Bothell where we played through the course twice and I played abysmally and never shook the frustration of the day...
Until this day, I had the feeling the Disc Golf was immune (for me, at least) to full days of continued frustration, but this day has shattered that illusion (And this Marysville Park worst of all) - though it does prove that it takes a pretty extreme bad day to kill a day of DG.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Waste?

1    8/31/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: Dadio
Played: 74  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is in a pretty area. There are tee boxes with gravel, and while I needed to smooth a couple out before throwing, I have thrown from way worse. There is a dog park in same park and the dog owners were all polite, couple even asked me about course and sport.
Signs are good and show mando's, even if it doesn't have MANDO on it.
It is a challenging course, but mostly due to length of holes and course conditions.
There are only 2 interesting holes. one is a super short U out of and back into a grove of trees, and one mando around the only tree in the field area.
Cons: There are many. Holes are challenging, which is good, but mostly because they are long and I throw 300' tops. As others have stated, ruts in field that you can't see through grass and slick mown grass make long 2nd shots extra difficult.
Cross wind, which I suspect is common, made long accurate shots, drive or putt, more difficult.
Again, the ruts. Worth mentioning again as I about twisted an ankle a couple of times.
Very repetative. By the 5th of 12 holes I was thinking "yay, another extra long open shot with a cross wind. Are we there yet?"
Other Thoughts: I won't play this course again, even tho it is only a few miles from my sister's house. Why bother? There are areas I can do field practice closer, and Lk Stevens or Twin Rivers are only a few minutes further away in either direction and are much more fun, even if neither of them have as good of tee pads.
I really only played this one because I'm shooting for 50 this year, this was 45.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Epic Fail

2-4    12/28/2011   3/28/2012
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A few interesting holes in a single-use area of the park. Nice baskets and some very pretty scenery because of the wide open nature of the course.
Cons: As one of the previous reviewers stated, how can we fit all the cons in here.
- Ground is terribly uneven and soggy so fairway drives and approaches are quite difficult even when the drive is 'placed' properly
- Insane mandatory doglegs
- Blackberry bushes line many fairways
- Longer holes are nearly entirely 'tweener' par 3/4 for anyone who throws over 300' but less than 550' (nearly everyone) - you'll throw a drive and then you'll be looking at an ultra easy 100'-200' wide open approach, the only reason you didn't score a 3 is if you missed your 10-15 footer
- Awful teeing areas
- Need I continue?
Other Thoughts: This is really one of the few 'don't even bother' courses on my list. I've played over 500 and this is one of perhaps 10 courses that fall into this category.

Epic fail.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 It's all in your perspective...

2-4    3/27/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: Dscgl4
Played: 114  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.2 Years
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: As the other reviewers note, this course is long and open, and there are no trees or tight fairways to contend with. That said, coming out of here with par will be an accomplishment. You need to be accurate with your drives and you need to be able to throw in the wind. This is a great course to practice your drives, 150ft - 200ft up shots, and strategy for addressing wind and distance challenges.
Cons: Very few--if you accept the course for what it is. The tee pads are gravel, but the course is well laid out and signed. When I was there, the fairways were mowed and there was only one fairway (8) that was wet (and that area was avoidable). Over three rounds, I lost no discs and I walked away dry (mostly--watch the hazard between fairways 2 and 12).
Other Thoughts: First note: In my book, a "0" rating would be for a course that is dangerous (this one is not) or unplayable (also, this one is not). I think the other reviews are overly harsh.

This course exemplifies a couple of debates in the disc golf community. Is distance and accuracy (landing your distance shots within a 30ft circle 300 feet down the fairway) important? Or is avoiding obstacles the main goal? Is disc golf about course management and throwing your best game (even if that's over par), or about getting birdies?

This is a long course and requires driving accuracy and placement (hitting the best line to the hole to set up the next shot). There are very few "twos" here (maybe 2?), but there are great opportunities to lose par by not managing the course well (over-throwing, gacking an upshot, leaving yourself a headwind putt, etc.). I enjoyed this course immensely (although I should be at par, best finish only 4 over) and will go back again the next time I'm driving by.

One other note--one of the reviewers didn't like the mandos. I agree that it is hard to tell if you missed them or not (a spotter would solve that issue), but they are interesting additions to the course. They in effect cause you to throw a true dog leg--lay up tight to the mando, upshot to the pin, get a par.

As I see it, the whole course is laid out more like a ball golf course, and requires a similar strategy in play. In many ways, this course is the antithesis of the pitch and putt course in Mt. Vernon. I also disagree with the review who wanted this to be a shorter 18 hole course--disc golf has plenty of pitch and putt courses, and very few courses that give players a chance to grow their drives. I hope the other reviews will not dissuade you from giving the ourse a shot.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely awful

1    11/15/2010   12/29/2010
Review By: b-mart
Played: 44  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2012
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The holes are sponsored and there is ample signage to guide you from hole to hole. The baskets are brand new and in incredible condition because of this. All of the baskets are visible from the teepad.
Cons: Is there enough room for all of the cons? The grass is three inches deep with another two inches of water underneath. The fairways aren't mowed. Take a note from Juel in Redmond (another course that hucks around an open field) and at least mow a swath from the tee pad to the basket, and from there to the next tee pad. Your disc disappears the instant it lands, and you can't take your eyes off of the spot or you'll never find it. I was wearing waterproof shoes and still got drenched slogging through the swamp on holes 1 and 2... And those are the easy holes. After that the designer decided that it would be a good idea to place the baskets a quarter of a mile away. I give the necessary props to the kid that got this place set up, but he should have spent less time finding sponsors and more time talking to people who have actually played the game. If the park can't afford to mow, why not talk to the sponsors who have their names on each hole? More people would play if the fairways were mowed and drained, and also if the baskets were moved about 200 feet closer. I still won't recommend a course with no obstacles, but at least the sponsors' signage would be viewed by more than three people a year. One final complaint: 12 holes? This field is huge. Make the drives shorter and add 6 more baskets... And plant a few trees.

*UPDATE*

I played this course again in the summer just because I really needed to finish it. It was the only course I'd never played to the end. I still almost quit after three holes. The strawberry ridges mentioned by Valkyrie Kid are exhausting and uncomfortable, and make run ups on those second shots (which are necessary for all but the biggest arms) virtually impossible. That is the most tired I've ever been after playing a course, which is really saying something about a course with no elevation. The course was mowed, but was still a problem because they had mowed it with a brush mower and the tall grass lying on top was just waiting to eat our discs (as already stated by Valkyrie Kid). The course equipment is still in great shape because no kids want to hike out here, let alone hike out here to vandalize and climb on things. The only thing worse than my last visit was that the teepads were overgrown and one was dangerously gouged and eroded. I agree with every other con that cefire and the three reviewers I respect most said here, so there's no need to reiterate all of it now that I've finished it... Except this: Hole 7 really is the worst disc golf hole I've ever seen.
Other Thoughts: I seldom review a course unless I've played it a few times all the way through, but this one was so bad that I couldn't even finish it once. I had read the other reviews on here and didn't give them credit. They aren't exaggerating. Stay away from this one.

*UPDATE*

If you've read this far you know that I did finish it. In the end, this course needs a redesign. The "mandos" mentioned below aren't actually marked as mandos on the tee signs or the "mandos" themselves, so I just ignored them. They really are stupid lines that no player in their right mind would ever take without being told to.

In the end, my esteemed reviewers below said it best. This course needs a redesign so that it can be an enjoyable afternoon for a family being introduced to the game rather than (as JR so eloquently described the throws here) "gut wrenching". Then if the course actually was used, our great sport could continue to grow. I overheard a lady asking another discer (he said it was his first and last time here) what disc golf was. She said she'd just heard about it yesterday. Being that she walks past baskets and a big sign that says "disc golf course" every time that she takes her dog to the park, that should really tell us something: She didn't understand what it was because she's never seen someone playing it who could tell her (and her two kids with her) about it. So redesign the course, we'll come out and play it again, and more people will learn about what we do. Otherwise I still stand by my original conclusion the first time I reviewed this: Stay away from this one.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Strawberry Fields Forever!

1    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'll start out by giving the proper accolades to eagle scout Christian Hauer. His time, work and dedication to this project is truly remarkable and probably surpasses what is needed for the eagle scout badge. To seek out and then obtain the sponsorships for the baskets and signs and then perfom all the neccessary physical tasks is quite impressive indeed.
Cons: With Christian having been giving his "attaboys", this is just NOT a good design and NOT a good piece of land for a course. The large wide open expanse of former strawberry field still has the ridges from the strawberry rows making it uncomfortable to walk over. The grass is currently about a foot tall with the old mowed grass lying there making finding discs very difficult. The county parks maintenance people aren't going to mow it unless the disc golfers play it. Disc golfers aren't going to play it unless it's mowed. It's the classic stand-off! I played alone and spent probably an hour hunting for discs, some in the middle of the fairway as well as one blown off course. As previously mentioned, this course doesn't reach it's target audience, which is families and rec players. I would have made this a rec course with holes maybe 200 ft. The mando on # 12 is silly. The holes with deep grass and rough bordering the fairway for 500 ft. are scary. The winds were howling. And, I'm sure this field would be a bog in winter and the grass would be three feet high in spring making this virtuallya two season course. And to the slobs who left their beer cans and bottles at every tee pad-PACK EM WITH YOU! You're freaking disgusting!
Other Thoughts: In conclusion, I don't give 0 as a rating. Christian put forth an incredible amount of work here. He could have used some guidance from someone from the disc golf community. Someone now needs to step in and do a re-design here in order to maybe save this course. Or else I can see it falling in to disrepair and becoming an eyesore.

Maybe it's a great area for the doggies but not for us disc golfers.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Strawberry Fields DGC

1    8/11/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Strawberry Fields is a 12 hole disc golf course located just minutes off I-5 in the city of Marysville, WA. The course is located in a beautiful multi-use park, which includes a soccer field, walking trail, and massive dog park. The park amenities include a water fountain (near the soccer field), bathrooms, garbage cans, and a few benches, including one by hole one.

The course itself is wide open, with holes winding around and across several acres, and little to no elevation or obstacles. Distance of holes vary from 166-600 feet, with all par 3's except hole five which is a par 4. However, with the exception of hole seven (166 ft.), the average hole length on the course is around 450 feet. As the other reviewer stated, this course challenges people through distance alone!

Navigation on the course is straight forward, with a new sign pointing players toward tee one, large wooden tee posts with metal tee signs, and bark/mowed paths linking players from hole to hole. Maneuverability and flow is not an issue. Baskets are Mach 3, very new, and catch great. Tee pads have wooden frames with gravel packed on top. Tee signs are metal, and include distance, par, pin location (straight), and mando's if necessary. The local parks dept. and Christian from local Boy Scout Troop 419 did a nice job providing and installing the supplies needed to build a course, it is just the design that is flawed.
Cons:
The course has a lot of issues regarding design. First, the hole length is absolutely ridiculous for it's target audience, families and casual golfers. With gravel tee pads, no elevation or obstacles, and tall grass, distance holes make little sense. A pitch n' putt would have made a lot more sense, and the few obstacles they do have on this course would have gone a lot further.

Strawberry Fields is a family park and therefore will be filled with families. Nobody learning the game in their right mind would want to learn a sport where the object to the game is to throw gut wrenchingly far throws on every hole. On top of that, to then lose it in the brambles along the perimeter, or even worse, in the tall grass on the fairway. No thanks.

Second, the mando's on holes ten,and eleven were ridiculous! To throw a 90 degree turn around one tiny pine tree with nothing else out there is ridiculous. There is no chance to birdie, and no real way to judge if you clear the mando or not unless you throw is four feet high.

Last, the design on hole seven is confusing and pointless. To have the pin located directly right of the tee 166 feet with a mando having players throw directly out in to a field rather than toward the basket is crazy. Hole seven is the worst disc golf hole ever made. Period.
Other Thoughts:
I always appreciate the work and effort that goes in to building a new course, along with the blood, sweat, and tears that goes in to the course being installed. However, it is unfortunate to see good equipment go to waste. I can understand if this is the only park that Marysville had to offer up for disc golf but use the land you have sensibly. If the land is wide open, make it more of an instructional course where new players can learn the game and be successful. Don't make pro caliber holes, regarding distance, with little else. It is not the proper venue. Seek out another piece of land in Snohomish County and carry out the dream. I hope one day they will either plant a whole lot more trees, or do a complete redesign.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 BORING!!!!!

2-4    8/11/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2010
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Strawberry Fields is a large piece of wide open land that not only sports a disc golf course but a huge soccer/lacrosse field, a walking trail and one of the bigger dog parks that I have ever seen.

Christian Hauer is a local boyscout who was the driving force for installing this course and did a lot of work both physically and politically to get this course in. I have given this course a 0.0 but if I would factor in hard work just for putting in a course then I would have given Christian a 5.0. I have to rate and review the course on its own merits though as a course so this is why I have given it such a low rating but I'll go more in depth on that later.

Navigation is fairly easy once you reach the first tee which can a little tricky to find. Once you find the parking lot follow the walking trail on the side of the large soccer field and then when it comes to a fork you will see the tee sign for hole three; turn around and go left from there and look for a small hill with a tee sign on it, this is hole number one.

All of the tee signs have a boyscout saying on the top of them like this one: "Boy Scout Law: A Scout is loyal" with every tee sign having a different saying. The tee signs show the flight path on them, distance and even tell you which of the local businesses have sponsored that hole and in some cases there are more than one sponsor of each hole. The tee pads are all gravel inside of wood boxes and are generally in good shape with most of the gravel still inside the boxes; we'll see how that lasts over time. All of the baskets are Mach III, brand new and catch very well.
Cons: The course is just baskets in the middle of large semi mowed fields and this is boring after the first two holes. With no obstacles and massive distance this course is just so boring. This just isn't the greatest piece of land to build a disc golf course on in my opinion. I think what could have been done better is if they mowed a fairway and left the long grass off the fairway to be out of bounds as this would add some sort of obstacle or goal to create scoring separation. The grass isn't always mowed and the course very frequently is soggy in the field even in the summer time.

Holes 8 and 11 - These are the only two holes on the course in the large field where they have planted a young, small tree. They have made these trees a mandatory to go around in order to get to the basket so now you have to throw 200 feet off to the left and then come back throw the other way another 200 feet to the hole and putt when you could just throw across the wide open field. There is no reason for the mandatory as it does nothing to create scoring separation and does not protect a fairway or tee pad. Mandos for no reason make little sense to me.

Hole 7 - This is another hole with a useless mandatory. This is the shortest hole on the course (166 feet) and there is virtually no hope for a birdie or at least a very low percentage for a birdie anyway. The tee box is near a wooded section and makes you throw all the way back out in the field and around the wooded section to the basket in sort of a horseshoe shaped throw. There is a hole in the trees here where you could just throw it through straight and have a nice wooded short throw but the designer has decided to create another useless mando. The way the hole is now you throw a 100 foot shot back in to the field and then another 100 foot up shot to the basket.
Other Thoughts: As I stated I respect Christian for putting forth the effort and getting another course put in Snohomish County but I think other pieces of land would have been a lot better. Beware during hot days as there is no shade and you will burn your skin very fast out here. I will say if you just want to practice drives in an open field you could always come here and develop your form and distance.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.