Winchester, VA
Jim Barnett Park Share
Uploaded By: amlenke Hole #11 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 280ft.   4 / 347ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Place

1    10/15/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Park
-Nice variety of holes
-Easy to read signs with two tee pads
Cons: -Flow of the course can be difficult but the next tee signs on the baskets helped alot.
-A couple tees were muddy and somewhat covered.
Other Thoughts: I was in town for the day so stopped by and put a game in. Overall great course and would love to play it again. There are not really any cons unless you are just that picky over little things. If you love disc golf and like to have fun or looking for a challenge then you will like it here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 like the course dont like the upkeep

5+    8/18/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: adamisawesome777
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course to play at. Makes for a good hour to hour and half play. Good mix of short and long holes.
Cons: You run the risk of hitting someone with a disc. Its in the middle of the public area where people could be anywhere and you might not necessarily see them. The grass on holes 5, 8, and 13 needs mowed always. I and people I know have lost discs in the middle of fields because the grass is so high on some holes. And there's usually litter at every hole. Not a lot but just enough to wonder what the park and rec people actually do.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I live right down the street from Jim Barnett park. I play here all week long and do enjoy every round I play there. But something has to be done about about the upkeep of the grass on some of the holes. It would be a lot better if there wasn't the chance of losing a disc in the middle of a field (which happened to me the other day).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has all the fix ins on a good course

2-4    4/20/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Kent18
Played: 114  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In terms of amenities this course has it all. Two concrete teepads, benches, signs to next hole, tee signs with distances from short/long, trash cans. Course is situated in a nice clean city park. Course itself flows nicely from hole to hole. Equal number of shots for lefty's and righty's. Uses what elevation it has in grand fashion on a small handful of holes.
Cons: About 3 holes from the longs/blues are poke and pray holes with no professional route or fairway available. Really that might be the biggest knock about this course. I played it several times from both tee pad locations and those holes were very frustrating considering how fair the other holes were. I would guess the city park probably prevents these trees from coming down? Several of the holes do play close to shelters and park grills. I would bet some of these holes do have poor drainage.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my rounds at Jim Barnett park overall but didn't leave with a passionate desire to come back in the near future. Besides maybe 6-8 holes the rest don't have a ton of character and play kind of eh. I would be very happy if this was my local course with all the great amenities and to get some good practice in but I wouldn't stop in or go out of my way to play here unless it really was easy to pull off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    5/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 33  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 10/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Jim Barnett is a great park in general. The course for the most part is isolated from other park goers
- great mix of open and narrow wooded holes
- signs are awesome, there are regular and pro tees that both offer different experiences
- easily navigable, with arrows pointing to where the next basket is
- lots of parking
Cons: - can sometimes run into other park goers, but very rarely
- poor drainage, this place can get soggy and muddy after the sprinklers turn on or on a rainy day. Even a full day of sun sometimes does not dry the sloshiness of the course at times.
- easier to lose your disc here vs Sherando Park (the other local course), keep your eyes peeled
Other Thoughts: The highlight of this course is hole 13, a "top of the world" type hole. I mostly play the regular tees on this course, but on this hole I play the pro tee because its so much fun to watch your disc glide down into the "stone henge" surrounded basket. Be careful not to lose your disc on the following holes:
Hole 7: on your left is the freeway and massive amounts of shrubbery, so try to avoid a shot that curves too much to the left.
-NOTE: in the pictures, I believe he lists hole 7 as "hole 6". Hole 7 is the photo with the telephone/electricity poles to the left
Hole 13: if you accidentally throw your shot too far to the right, you risk losing the disc in those parts of the woods as its full of thick bushes. Other than that, this course is awesome and may be my 2nd favorite course I've ever played (I've played 9 courses total up to this point).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Excitement for a 9-holer!

1    11/11/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - To start off, the teepads and signage are heavenly. Great grip and size. Dual tees are provided to placate both recreational players as well as more experienced ones.

- Absolutely stunning in the autumn season. I'm no stranger to fall foliage, but the colors in the nearby trees is great. I can imagine this place getting ridiculously crowded around the pool in the summer months, however.

- Most of the holes play in the wooded section of the park, which I enjoyed. Technical challenges require threading rows of trees and some baskets are well-guarded. However, there are one or two holes that are more open and #6 gives you a chance to really bomb your disc.

- Very well-maintained and already has the sign of being slightly broken-in despite its youth.

- LOVE those "next tee" metal placards that are on each basket. Definitely gets the award for best "next tee" marker out of all the courses I've visited!
Cons: - A lot of people were walking their dogs and jogging here when I was playing. Not sure if that's common, but make sure to watch out for other park patrons while you're driving. The several blind drives (notably 3,5, and 9) make this even more imperative.

- Some holes play close to the road

- Only 9 holes--which I know isn't a fair criticism, but this course really leaves you craving for more!

- I'd like to see another hole or two be situated in the open fields for more balance in terms of terrain and shot variety.
Other Thoughts: Hole for hole, I think this course is actually better than the nearby Sherando due to a more technical challenge, longer distances to the basket, and a topographic endowment that makes for some steep drops. There's no doubt that this would get a solid 4-disc rating if it could be expanded to 18.

Regardless, it's a great companion to Sherando and a fantastic place to work on your technical game. Definitively one of the better 9-holes I've ever played!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in a very nice park

1    9/29/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: cccp00a
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course is located in a nice city park with many activities; fitness trail, indoor or outdoor pools, tennis, basketball, horseshoes, and miniature golf. There is also a fitness room and a racquetball court. Many picnic areas - and rest room facilities
* Two (long and short) excellent, large concrete tee pads at each hole - many of the longer tees do not just add length but require a different path to the basket.
* Very nice hole sign located at the long tees
* Distance from short tees marked on some of the short tee pads
* The park, including the disc golf area is very well maintained.
* New baskets with signs indicating the direction to the next tee box.
* A variety of semi-wooded holes may offer a challenge for the veteran player while not being too frustrating for a new player. Very little underbrush to speak of through the woods - a little on holes 8 and 9.
* Located within minutes of a large number of eateries, shopping and entertainment opportunities - Right off of Interstate 81.
* Only slight elevation changes throughout the course
* Nice distances on the holes, giving you the opportunity to try technical shots
* Large course layout sign at the beginning of the course near the swimming pool parking lot.
Cons: * Not many negatives to speak of
* While there is not a great deal of distance between basket and next tee, the flow of the course is broken from hole 5 to hole 6. You must cross over the road and down to your left past the pavilion.
* Only one very open hole to air out your driver.
* The day we played there was not many park users but you can see where people using other areas of the park may come into play.
Other Thoughts: Had the opportunity to play here while passing through Winchester. Wish it was closer than the 90 minutes. We stopped in Winchester to eat and shop on our way through. Will certainly head this direction in the future because of this park. Set in a beautiful city park that offers many activities for the family you could certainly make a day for your family hear. Should be great when they open up the additional nine holes. Is not to strenuous a trek through the woods with hole 8 playing slightly up hill and then a little climb up to the tee pad for hole 9. Also, not much poison ivy on this course like many I have seen in the MD, PA, WV, VA area. Course was filled with many, many squirrels and my wife almost took one out. Can't wait to get back here in the future!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A good course with more to come

5+    8/2/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: FierceTable
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide concrete teepads are nice (wish they were a half step longer, but I'm greedy like that). Multiple teepads per hole. In most instances the short tees are slightly offset from the long tees so it's not just a shorter course, but there is actually a different look at each hole offering new lines and closing some old ones.

There are signs on each basket guiding you to the next hole. Some of them don't seem to be as accurate as they could be, but if you glance at the course layout prior to starting you should have no difficulties finding the next hole.

The course is brand new as is all of the equipment, so everything is in great shape at this point. Parking is ample and is right next to the first hole.
Cons: The park is heavily used on weekends and there are just a few too many amenities too near the course. Most of the actual playgrounds are a safe distance beyond baskets meaning you would have to really over-cook a throw to hit someone, but there are a few shelters and volleyball courts next to fairways leaving plenty of potential to hit someone on a throw that isn't even that bad. Some of the shelters have paths connecting them across fairways and people tend to wander through the middle of the fairway without realizing they could be in danger.
Other Thoughts: This is an 18 hole course in the making. There are already plans for the next nine and I'll come back to rerate this once the final nine is put in, but I thought the course deserved some attention in the meantime since they've done such a nice job with it so far. You finish where you started which is nice right now, but once the final nine is put in there will be quite a hike back to where you started.

Right now the flow is pretty good with the small exception of hole six which is segregated from the rest of the holes by being on the other side of the road, but it's a short walk that doesn't greatly interrupt the flow of play. There are a few holes with sizable slopes near the basket which makes for some interesting choices in going for a putt or laying up to prevent the 30' uphill putt on the comeback if you miss. There is a reasonable amount of variety in terms of right and left shaping holes, so the course shouldn't favor a particular type of throw over another. The rough can be brutal in a few places, but the worst areas are visible from the tee and should be fairly easy to avoid barring a risky line or a horrible ricochet.

It's more of a technical course than anything else with only one bomber hole right now (possibly two if you want to try your luck on the first hole). There isn't any one factor that stands out for me, but it's a solid course on the whole leaving me patiently waiting for the completion of the final nine.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.