Winchester, VA 
Jim Barnett Park Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #12 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Long Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Nice Place

1    10/15/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful Park
-Nice variety of holes
-Easy to read signs with two tee pads
Cons: -Flow of the course can be difficult but the next tee signs on the baskets helped alot.
-A couple tees were muddy and somewhat covered.
Other Thoughts: I was in town for the day so stopped by and put a game in. Overall great course and would love to play it again. There are not really any cons unless you are just that picky over little things. If you love disc golf and like to have fun or looking for a challenge then you will like it here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 like the course dont like the upkeep

5+    8/18/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: adamisawesome777
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun course to play at. Makes for a good hour to hour and half play. Good mix of short and long holes.
Cons: You run the risk of hitting someone with a disc. Its in the middle of the public area where people could be anywhere and you might not necessarily see them. The grass on holes 5, 8, and 13 needs mowed always. I and people I know have lost discs in the middle of fields because the grass is so high on some holes. And there's usually litter at every hole. Not a lot but just enough to wonder what the park and rec people actually do.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. I live right down the street from Jim Barnett park. I play here all week long and do enjoy every round I play there. But something has to be done about about the upkeep of the grass on some of the holes. It would be a lot better if there wasn't the chance of losing a disc in the middle of a field (which happened to me the other day).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Has all the fix ins on a good course

2-4    4/20/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Kent18
Played: 121  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In terms of amenities this course has it all. Two concrete teepads, benches, signs to next hole, tee signs with distances from short/long, trash cans. Course is situated in a nice clean city park. Course itself flows nicely from hole to hole. Equal number of shots for lefty's and righty's. Uses what elevation it has in grand fashion on a small handful of holes.
Cons: About 3 holes from the longs/blues are poke and pray holes with no professional route or fairway available. Really that might be the biggest knock about this course. I played it several times from both tee pad locations and those holes were very frustrating considering how fair the other holes were. I would guess the city park probably prevents these trees from coming down? Several of the holes do play close to shelters and park grills. I would bet some of these holes do have poor drainage.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my rounds at Jim Barnett park overall but didn't leave with a passionate desire to come back in the near future. Besides maybe 6-8 holes the rest don't have a ton of character and play kind of eh. I would be very happy if this was my local course with all the great amenities and to get some good practice in but I wouldn't stop in or go out of my way to play here unless it really was easy to pull off.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course

5+    5/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 10/23/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Jim Barnett is a great park in general. The course for the most part is isolated from other park goers
- great mix of open and narrow wooded holes
- signs are awesome, there are regular and pro tees that both offer different experiences
- easily navigable, with arrows pointing to where the next basket is
- lots of parking
Cons: - can sometimes run into other park goers, but very rarely
- poor drainage, this place can get soggy and muddy after the sprinklers turn on or on a rainy day. Even a full day of sun sometimes does not dry the sloshiness of the course at times.
- easier to lose your disc here vs Sherando Park (the other local course), keep your eyes peeled
Other Thoughts: The highlight of this course is hole 13, a "top of the world" type hole. I mostly play the regular tees on this course, but on this hole I play the pro tee because its so much fun to watch your disc glide down into the "stone henge" surrounded basket. Be careful not to lose your disc on the following holes:
Hole 7: on your left is the freeway and massive amounts of shrubbery, so try to avoid a shot that curves too much to the left.
-NOTE: in the pictures, I believe he lists hole 7 as "hole 6". Hole 7 is the photo with the telephone/electricity poles to the left
Hole 13: if you accidentally throw your shot too far to the right, you risk losing the disc in those parts of the woods as its full of thick bushes. Other than that, this course is awesome and may be my 2nd favorite course I've ever played (I've played 9 courses total up to this point).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Nice course in a park

5+    7/30/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: Jer13
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -A very beautiful park
-A good mix of wooded and open holes
-All the holes have a novice and advanced teepad
-No cost to play
Cons: -The largest criticism I have with the course is that it is in a park and a couple of the holes are designed around picnic shelters as well as a playground or two. Hole 8 has been rendered unplayable at times due to people cooking out on the teepad as well as tying up their animals on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: It can be hard to gauge when the park will be busy and when it won't be. Weekends are the worst but there are sporting events throughout the week that can make it busy. Weekdays seem to be the best if possible.

 An unexpected great course

1    4/7/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: raj5021
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well designed. Lots of variety and very memorable holes. Tees and tee signs were top notch. Park has alot of amenities to include many pavilions, pool, playgrounds, rc car track, putt-putt course. Great family day and a stellar course
Cons: The only criticism I have is not really a criticism but philosophical point on Par. Par on this course is set right for casual or rec players. The question is whether to set par for a pro or rec player and I am on the fence since I believe there is good reason to set par for rec players as it serves to encourage them when courses eem a bit challenging. This is a very small point but if you are advertising a par 70 course to an experienced player, the expectations are different. Like I said, not a criticism but a clarification. This is a very challenging fantastic course and you shoot what you shoot regardless. Thanks to all whole put together and support this course.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be back soon and hope to hear of a tournament to enjoy the course with the locals and other players. Thanks again for a great afternoon of disc golf

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well cared for

5+    7/2/2011   7/3/2011
Review By: ibekent
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent tee and direction signs, large, grippy tee pads, ubiquitous benches, water, and garbage cans, quality baskets, convenient parking, and central location in Winchester make this course an enjoyable outing. The newly expanded, 18-hole layout improves the course tremendously. Each hole has clearly marked pro and am tees which provide significantly different levels of difficulty. The flow, aided by good signage, is pretty good, though it's a single-loop course with some long walks. And the park is very well mowed and kept. Woods with thick underbrush are available if you really have no control, but the places you're disc will probably land are pretty well thinned out.

The course winds through a manicured and heavily used multi-function park (with lots and lots of facilities). The most unique part of this course is that although I had to throw past 12 parties, volleyball, horseshoes, model car races, playgrounds, and more, the holes are laid out so that no one was in direct danger from my throws. That's pretty impressive.
Cons: There are long (though mostly well marked) walks between holes, and a few sketchy throws around the many, many people and facilities. The course hosts lots of poison ivy, one (otherwise-nice) shot across a paved road, and a fair amount of debris on the tee pads. Distance is a challenge on a few holes, but apart from that, the shots in general aren't demanding. A few fairways are sort-of tight, but they require no technical expertise apart from moderate accuracy. There is no real danger (to your disc - pedestrians are occasionally in danger). Risk-reward decisions are lacking, recoveries are easy, and you can play the whole course with a basic, straight, RHBH throw. Also, the new number 6 is a bit gimmicky and its basket is too high. I guess that was a necessary evil of expanding the course; they had to cram one more, short hole in and make it as interesting as possible.

I recently played this course in the rain; both of #17's tees were under more than a foot of water.
Other Thoughts: Several fairways - particularly #18 - provide no possible path to the pin on your drive. Some people find this objectionable,so I thought I'd mention it.

Hole #15, for some reason, is not as well marked as the rest of the course. You get to it by walking around the brick wall, not up the rocky path, and after #15, go up the steep hill to the left of the pavement.

Lastly, hole #1 is in the back-middle of the park, across the parking lot from the main pool building.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 New holes + New Layout = A Worthy Course

5+    5/22/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: amlenke
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All holes have white (novice) and blue (advanced) concrete tees with good grip on them.

Good mixture of course features. First portion of the course is made up of the original 1st 9 that have been there for awhile plus the new ones. There has been some reconfiguration with the new integrated 9, so if you have played before prepare for some changes.

There are a few holes worth mentioning. The first is hole 6 which is a faux water hazard course. If you land outside of the ring off the tee then you automatically get a stroke and will have to throw from the alternate pad. This is more of a skill shot. The other one I really liked is hole number 13. It is a nice long downhill shot over the road and into the woods. This hole could be done in one with a really really good well placed shot but that is unlikely. I have managed to deuce it a few times. The pin stands behind a row of boulders so that normally stops you but if you have a good arm and good driver... well you can really sail on this one. A fantastic hole to air out your driver!

All in all a very good but very technical course. The nearby Sherando course is also good if you want fun but not too technical.

Officially kicks the crap out of Sherando at this point. PDGA needs to get over here and make it official as this is one of the best courses I have ever played.
Cons: Be prepared for a walk and follow the arrows toward the next holes, they are in that direction, really I promise.

Sometimes you may have to walk a bit along forest paths, around large obstacles, or up the big sledding hill (follow the white arrows on the ground).
Other Thoughts: There are several places that are very marshy, bring shoes that you don't mind getting muddy. Hopefully this will get better as we get into the drier summer days.

Leave yourself a good amount of time to find the holes the first time you play it through. You can also make a day of it and play a first round of 18 from the novice pads and then a second round of 18 after lunch from the advanced pads. Two completely different experiences.

One more thought that needs mentioning. May 1st was Weekend in the park event with thousands of people. I highly recommend that you avoid the course when there is a large event going on as we had to dodge cars at some places and the first hole was completely unplayable because of all the cars in the way.

There is adequate trash cans and restroom facilities throughout the course but I always carry a trashbag to help keep the mess down and pickup the trash that others leave.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  9 more holes

5+    3/5/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: bghst03
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of tight wooded holes with open field shots. The white and blue tee pads offer different shots at each hole. The course flows much better with the new holes. Hole 18(previously hole 9) from longs is the equalizer hardest hole I have ever played. Great long course with a great variety of shots. New holes are a great extension on the previous 9.
Cons: There are not signs for the new holes yet. There is always trash to pick up. Some areas of the park hold water and is almost like a swamp through the winter or when it rains.
Other Thoughts: The course added 9 more holes, 2 tee pads each and one basket. Hole 6 a green island will be built up throwout the year. 1-5 stayed the same 6 added, old 6 becomes 7 holes 8-15 added old 7-9 becomes 16-18. When it is nice out watch out for people

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Itís Always The Little Ones That Get You

2-4    2/20/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/31/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent long, wide, and grippy concrete tees at both the long and short positions. Fantastic colour signs at the long tees showing the location of the short tee, baskets, and both distances. Next-tee signs on top of baskets. Just off I81, near many amenities. For something different and if you have the time, checkout the Alamo Drafthouse Cinema just off exit 310 for a unique experience.
Cons:
Hole-6 breaks both the flow and concept of the course. A good deal of trash in the woods.
Other Thoughts:
Except for number-6, the course plays along the wooded slope in the midst of a large, multi-purpose park. The trees on the slope vary from quite large, i.e., you'll be throwing beneath their branches, to quite small - and it is these little ones that always manage to keep any particular line to the basket from being perfectly clear. With a few exceptions, holes are relatively short, so the emphasis is control, vice power. The straightest line will typically be the narrowest line, but there are too many trees to simply swing wide - subtle S-shaped shots will definitely be required as you experiment with which line is best suited to your abilities. Several baskets are located near/on slopes to add to the challenge.

From basket-5, a right turn will lead you to ... tee-7. To find tee-6, turn about 45-degrees to the left, cross the road, and head for I81. After you find the tee, look right - basket-6 is several hundred feet away, with I81 on your left and the driveway leading to the pavilion and shelter on your right. After completing the hole, hopefully having avoided the pavilion and any parked cars, re-trace your steps back across the parking lot to find tee-7

Good course, and another nine holes of equal quality would certainly make it even better. Looking at the current online map, it appears as if some of the holes will be re-numbered and current-6 will be better incorporated into the flow.

Update 12/31/11: Now has 18=holes, with the excellent teepads and signage continued on the newer nine (6, 9-17). The newer holes are more open but longer than the original nine, providing a nice spectrum of hole types.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.