Sunapee, NH
Tilton Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: philvil Hole #4 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    9/27/2013   10/7/2013
Review By: KMG365
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clearly marked fairways.

Well marked tees and baskets. (Didn't have a map and had no problems navigating)

Nice elevation changes.

A few holes in the woods that are pretty challenging.

Discatcher baskets that are in very good condition.

Cons: No tee pads. Well marked area letting you know from where to throw, but no actual pads.
Other Thoughts: I doubt the "Big Arms" or the experts would think too much of this course; however, for we mere mortals this is fun little course in a beautiful area. Although I would not go out of my way to play this course I am glad we were in the area and stopped to play a fun nine holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/17/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 187  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 18.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice mix of shots. From the road it looks like the back nine at Black Mountain NC (baskets in an open hilly field). But 4 of the holes run through thick woods and the other 5 have a tree or two and some elevation.
Well maintained - grassy fairways were mowed all week and the rough (grass) wasn't thick enough to lose your disc in. Tee signs, next -tee markers, and the numbers on the basket are visible from the tee (so you're never throwing at the wrong basket). Pretty woods shots and pretty views from the open holes. It's just a 9-hole course. Good when rushed and great warm-up for the other area courses. Also a good course for beginners. Don't throw green discs - 6" grass off the fairway
Cons: Grass tee pads. A hole in the ground by #5. Not much length variation. No benches or trash cans. You can't always see the basket right away (it's just a square market with the hole #). The course map on this site is very helpful though
Other Thoughts: I stayed at the beautiful, peaceful, perfect lake nearby for a week. Played the 3 area courses. Almost skipped this one. It looks like a middle school course from the road. I pulled up and thought - 9 holes, I might shoot ten under. But the woods shots are tight. And the open shots have some trees (and boulders on the left on hole 8). It ends up a really fun little 9-hole. A great warmup if you're playing another area course. Park amenities nearby if you've got the fam with you. And a nice 30 minute break if you just have some time and energy to burn. Met a few locals - very friendly. I wouldn't travel to play this course, but I'd certainly play it if I ever make it up this way again

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Course

5+    4/20/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: roBailey
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great beginner course. If you want to find out how your disc's fly, this will be a good practice round. Also, if you are introducing someone to the sport it is a fast easy course to play. There is a mix of woods/fields to help you improve different skill sets.
Cons: Not for experts; this is a free public course for all ages to have fun (this is a pro/con). The design is simple and you can finish a round in as little as half an hour (this is a pro/con).
Other Thoughts: This course really depends on your skill level and how long you want to be out. Great for a time-killer and testing new discs!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Only if you have to

1    9/30/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 73  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really the only thing this course has going for it is its in a brand new park with new baskets. There is a very nice playground with picnic benches, trash cans, and a clean porta pottie. Since the park is brand new there are nine new discatchers. Both the baskets and post by the tees are numbered. A map is available near the first "tee box". The field holes are mostly mowed. There are some clusters of trees and wooded holes that mix up the monotony of a wide open field.
Cons: Oh, where to start? First off, the design is terrible. There are a ton of woods available and only four holes are in the woods. There is more than enough land to do eighteen holes but it feels as if nine are jammed in. The course turns over on itself and several times you are walking in the middle of another holes fairway. The stakes that mark the tee box are almost chest high which means I am teeing off several feet back so I don't hit my hand. Hole seven's tee pad is on a steep hill and very uneven. The wooded holes could use some serious clean up. It looks like the course was cut and then forgotten about. The tee signs just have a number. This is bad because from any given tee in the field you can see multiple baskets.
Other Thoughts: PLAY PINNACLE INSTEAD!!!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: great white buffalo
Played: 54  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This nine hole is a nice start to a good 18 someday if the town owns enough adjoining land. The first few holes are pretty much wide open, and birdieable. Then you make your way into the woods for a some really cool holes. The last couple are back out in the open. The woods holes are far more enjoyable and challenging that the open ones. There is varied terrain here and nice play. The course is easy to follow and well marked.
Cons: All of the holes out in the open are in need of more mowing. What they have done is just mow fairways into an open rolling field. It is sad when you can loose a disc in an open field with no trees, but that is absolutely possible here. Also the first hole should have been moved farther away from the playground and picnic tables. You will have kids and parents as obstacles to shoot around if they are there when you play. Not a good combo. A good work day could take care of most of the dead fall in the trees, and that would make them pretty much as good as can be.
Other Thoughts: For a quick nine after work this is a good spot. With a little more work the course would be much more enjoyable.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.