Penn Valley, CA 
Hanging Oaks Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #8
3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great front 9

1    6/28/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course starts off in some scattered oaks, then moves into a more brushy wooded area for most of the front 9. This part of the course offers some really nice technical lines with a good variety of left and right turning shots. There is enough rough that you'll have to work for a par after a shanked shot, but not so much that you'll lose discs.

The second half of the course plays a little longer and more open. There are still plenty of mature trees defining the fairways, but less underbrush and smaller trees around them. The tees are plenty grippy and roomy for the length of the course. The alternate pin positions really add some variety, especially on the front 9, without changing the difficulty of individual holes too much. The signs have indicators for pin position and make navigation easy.
Cons: There are too many straight shots here, especially on the back 9. The layout of the second half of the course forces a bunch of straight shots going back and forth parallel to one another so there's not a lot of room for creative hole design. It's too bad the variety and challenge of the front 9 didn't carry over.

The course is pretty short, a lot of players won't need to throw too many distance driver shots here. A few holes play right along one another, we saw a few shots go into adjacent fairways. This seems like a pretty popular course so that could be a safety issue on a crowded day.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable and fun. There is some challenge without any real punishment or frustration for less accurate throwers. More experienced players will find a handful of fun shots, but not enough length or variety to challenge many different parts of a complete skill set. This course is worth a stop if you're in the area, but I wouldn't go out of your way expecting a championship type test.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  2 things Water and Trees

1    4/17/2011   4/18/2011
Review By: Hangtownchucka
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Terrain is not super rugged and very easy to traverse, pretty hard to lose discs. Setup for each hole is excellent, signs and hole placement are a part of every tee-pad. Many long drives with a few fun water hazards that are not very deep.
Cons: Some Holes are very close together, actually saw someone catch a disc to the face while they were on the tee-pad. A lot of the course has water on it so the ground does get saturated after rain.
Other Thoughts: All in all it's not my favorite course but because of the challenge that it can be it would be a course for any golfer to hone their skills when dealing with throwing through a forrest

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Is the Moat still there?

1    6/1/2005   1/2/2009
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.5 Years
Pros: Requires smart play and well placed shots. Punishes poor choices and requires imagination at times. The layout is fairly balanced, with some unique holes (water was in play on several holes, not sure if it is still there).
Cons: I felt like I had the brakes on for much of the round. Although several holes were technical, they were not particularly attractive.
Other Thoughts: We went swimming in a river not far from the course after the round and that cold water felt great in the middle of summer.

 Nice complement to Condon

1    7/14/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Some elevation change.
-Some left and right handed turns.
-Island pin looks cool, but not in use while I was there.
-Concrete teepads.
-Water on a few holes.
-Multiple pin placements for lots of variety.
-Swimin' hole on site.
Cons: -Feels repetitive after a while.
-Lots of holes too straight for my taste.
-Man made obsticles do feel kinda lame.
Other Thoughts: This course is a nice course to have close to Condon Park in Grass Valley you can play both in a day with ease, but if I had to chose one I would go to Condon. This is a great course for beginers to help them learn the game. The multiple pin placements are probably fun for people who live there and play the course alot to keep it interesting, but for visiters that have never played the course before can have a hard time finding which pin to head for.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Leaning on the Fence

7/2/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: SmileyMax@aol.com
Played: 38  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 14.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found a number of layouts that were REALLY very fun, and a few of the pins I saw that weren't currently being used were pretty nifty.

One hole has a pin on an island that is surrounded by a moat, and I'm sure this pin is
used during the wet season.

Nicely maintained, and signs are fairly descriptive of pin locations with temp marking for current pin placement (which was accurate most the time)
Cons: Many prison shots at baskets. About a third of the course (in the pins i played) were Just throw your disc and pray type holes, even with really great shots.

Kinda sad to see a huge nice green park right next to the DG course that is completely ignored. I'm sure they were not allowed to put any of the course on there, but it kinda playing ball golf on the beach at pebble beach and not being able to use any of the nice green fairway = )

There are manmade obstacles on a couple of holes. I believe this was do to natural obstacle being removed at one point, but put up made made ones is VERY cheesy, and feels like the game just isn't even serious anymore. Makes it feel like you are playing PUTT PUTT more than a serious round of golf.

Other Thoughts: It seems there are almost TOO many pin placements. I feel that I didn't really get to see the best of this course considering that each hole had about an average of 6 pin locations.

It seems that people get really bored win the same pins and kinda ruin good holes by trying to make them "more difficult" with very odd pin locations.

Half of this course I really enjoyed, the other half not so much... like previously mentioned it seems this could vary a lot depending on pin placement.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.