Disc Golf Store
Penn Valley, CA
Hanging Oaks Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #2
3 / 159ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very enjoyable experience

1    4/13/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 16
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Variety of shots required
2. Multiple pin locations
3. Other golfers on the course were helpful
4. Tee pads were in great condition
5. Signage was excellent!
6. Layout was challenging, but not difficult
Cons: Since the course has some signature holes, I would like to see the placement of the pins on those holes in those locations. The island hole was not in place and the "volcano" hole was not either.
Too many pin placements on some of the holes. I can see having 3-4, but some have up to 7.
Most of the holes were a little too short. The technicality of the shots made the shortness of the holes not that much of a challenge.
Other Thoughts: I would come and play this course again. I would tandem this course with either Auburn or Condon Park for a nice weekend of disc play. I would consider this the 3rd best course in the area. Condon being #1 and Auburn being #2 (or vice/versa). This is a must play if you are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    1/12/2014   1/12/2014
Review By: cefire
Played: 627  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, variety, variety! This course has every type of shot off the tee. During my round I was throwing RHBH, RHFH, Thumber, several rollers all off the tee as well as plenty of other utility approach shots when I did get into trouble.

On top of shot type variety there was also plenty of variety in distances required off the tee. With 5-6 (or even 7!) pin placements per hole, its easy to see why this would be the case.

Finally, the park has plenty of natural beauty along with good tee pads and signage throughout.
Cons: First off, lets play it straight Penn Valley…that 'volcano' is nothing to brag about. Its just a plain ol' dirt mound. No biggie though, still a fun hole. The only other 'con' that I have is that there aren't really any true par 4 holes to speak of. Sure there are a few holes that might average more than 3 strokes even for a pro field, but this would be due to significant errors and OB versus a hole design that requires a full drive and approach to achieve a birdie three.
Other Thoughts: If you are on the fence about whether to play Condon or here - HERE!!! This course is everything that Condon is trying to be, less crowded, better cared for. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite

5+    3/23/2013   3/25/2013
Review By: Sam U
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superb tee signs with washer system
Multiple pin locations on each hole
Elevation changes
Nice tee pads
Great baskets
No pedestrian traffic
Not crowded
Technically challenging
Pleanty of benches and trash cans
Course sits on a beautiful park
Couse flows nicely
Cons: 18th tee pad needs to be replaced
No practice basket near hole 1
Hole 2 has some "unfair" pin locations

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good Times

1    3/10/2013   3/11/2013
Review By: ecv_onion
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played Hanging Oaks for the first time today, after playing at Condon park. The tee signs are amazingly detailed, and have the easy to follow washer on each pole. A very well kept park. Asked a local where to find the first tee when we got there and not only did he tell us where to go, but also gave us a map to follow. Although it wasn't needed, because the layout made sense and there were signs if it was even close to being confusing.
Cons: No pro shop. Seemed a little short. Most of the holes didn't need a driver, and if you're good with a fairway driver, birdies should be fairly easy. Signs to get to the park would be good, according to the gps we had arrived while still on hwy 20 at the back side of the park.
Other Thoughts: If only other parks would use the lettered washer technique that this park, and Shady Oaks, use, it would make it easier for first time course players. All together I will be making it back here soon, and making a day of hitting a couple of the others in the vicinity.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: mattjlegg
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
Pros: great layout.
good course map on each hole
most multiple hole options i've seen.
great park, nice trees.
not to many people.
Cons: a bit of the same drive on a lot of holes, straight. which i didnt mind, it let me work on throwing hard but straight aka it was forgiving.
Other Thoughts: bring a hat and or sunscreen.
plenty of water.
played 36-40 holes in about 2 hours on a friday around 1pm-3pm.

 AWESOME

1    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a sign at each tee. There are cement tees. Excellent intermediate course. This course is more user friendly then Condon by far. There are less tight oak areas and closer baskets.
Cons: Could use a few more signs to next tees as you play along.
Other Thoughts: heads up watch out for the other players as the tee's are often in the same throwing area as the next guy. If you do start on hole 17 clear down by the baseball field, the tee1 start is just behind tee 18 to the west. It is easy enough to follow the given directions on this site and find tee 1. Thanks to the locals for the great sign work for the visitors, and keeping the place clean.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hanging Oaks

5+    4/17/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Sluse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very well designed, and maintained, with some tricky basket locations, some real tricky water hazards, as well as some very long holes.
Cons: A lot of trees, and some interesting water hazards, but other than that, very nice course.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is beautiful this time of year.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hanging Oaks Penn Valley

5+    10/15/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: Shaggles
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to throw long drives on,it has a lot of open tees. Good for distance driving. At the same time some of the holes onthe first nine are moderatly wooded and good for technical shots. I like this course because its layout is well designed, so props to the designers of this course for that!!! All the tees are well marked and te basket locations on the signs are accurate. It is a great course because it has multiple pin locations on all 18 holes and the pins are moved often(about every twoweeks or so) The people there are nice and will let you play through if you are a small/ single person group. Also if you lose a disc and other people find it they return it to you, great player ettiquete! Has everything from tight gaps to multiple water traps to a volcano on hole 6. All in all it is a fun course to play (thoguh I must mention I have only played three courses thus far)
Cons: Can be a little crowded on weekend afternoons but other than that I can`t think of any
Other Thoughts: This is the first DGC (disc golf course) that I have ever played on, I must say it is a good course to learn on because it has so much variety!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

1    10/26/2008   10/29/2008
Review By: J.Koeberlein
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice course layout, excellent challenges but not too hard. Many multiple pin locations. New players can have fun and not be overwhelmed.
Cons: Perhaps too many pin locations.
Other Thoughts: This course is my new favorite next to Shady Oaks, Auburn, and Rocklin courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center